DETAILED ACTION
The instant action is a non-final office action on the merits. Claims 1-10 are pending and rejected.
Election/Restrictions
On 6/12/26 applicant responded to a restriction requirement by electing claims 1-0 and withdrawing claims 11-20 with “traverse”. However, it is noted that the “traverse” is not paired with an argument or amendment and thus the restriction is made Final. However, it is agreed that applicant they may pursue the corresponding claims by divisional application.
35 USC § 101
Considerations for not applying 35 USC 101 are that the existing claims are directed to an improved interface to allow the shopper to signing without leaving the shopping page, resizing the frames automatically.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
US Patent Publication to Bernert 20240202717, in view of US Patent to Greenberg 9285977
As per claim 1 Bernert discloses;
A computerized system comprising: one or more computer processors; and computer memory storing computer-useable instructions that, when used by the one or more computer processors, cause the one or more computer processors to perform operations, the operations comprising: (pre-amble has minimum patentable weight)
accessing, via a parent page, a request that triggers a sign-in form to access a checkout process,
Bernert (0109, checkout process)
the parent page is associated with a first domain; based on the request, generating a modal overlay window comprising the sign-in form associated with a sign-in service domain that is different from the first domain;
Bernert (0039 checkout button, modal overlay window, 0040, overlay)
determining that a first user input triggers resizing the modal overlay, B(0174)
generating a resized modal overlay window, Bernert (008 modal window, integrated into the merchant site 0039) wherein the first user input is received via the sign-in form; Greenberg(col. 30 lines 45-50)
based on determining that the first input triggers resizing the modal overlay window, Greenberg(col. 36 resizing, lines 20-25)
communicating a resize event to the parent page, wherein the resize event is a cross-origin secure communication associated with the sign-in service domain
Greenberg(col. 36 resizing, lines 20-25, col. 43, lines 35-40 cross sell…)
and the first domain; based on communicating the resizing event to the parent page,
Greenberg(col. 36 resizing, lines 20-25)
the resized modal overlay window comprising an updated sign-in form associated with the sign-in service domain; and authenticating access to the checkout process based on a second user input received via the updated sign-in form.
Greenberg(col. 36 resizing, lines 20-25, and 8B for checkout)
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the user interface of Bernert with the resizing of Greenberg for the motivation of “presenting content to users” (col. 2 lines 45-50)
As per claim 2, Bernert discloses;
The system of claim 1, wherein the request corresponds to a seamless login interaction selected from one of the following: cart access request, quick account actions request, in-product promotions request, and abandoned cart reminder request.
Bernert(054)
As per claim 3 Bernert discloses;
The system of claim 1, wherein the parent page is a cart page associated with a cart service
domain or a checkout page associated with checkout service domain.
Bernert(0131)
As per claim 4, Bernert discloses;) The system of claim 1, wherein the modal overlay window supports a modular architecture with embedded inline frame to load the sign-in form from the sign-in service domain operating as an existing authentication infrastructure that supports a full-page sign-in process associated with the sign-in service domain. Bernert (0079)
As per claim 5 Bernert the system of claim 1, wherein the modal overlay window is an inline frame, the inline frame is parameterized to enable selectively removing unessential elements and wherein the modal overlay window is a lightbox user interface that causes dimming or blurring of background content.
Bernert (fig. 5 is a lightbox modal, it blocks unessential elements and blurs or dims them into the background, of course “unessential” could be in the eyes of the beholder)
As per claim 6 Bernert discloses; The system of claim 1, wherein generating the modal overlay windows is associated with resizing the modal overlay window based on an … event that is communicated to the parent page for an initial display of the modal overlay window.
Bernert (0114)
In regards to resize, Bernert does not explicitly disclose what Greenberg teaches “resizing “;
Greenberg(col. 36 resizing, lines 20-25, and 8B for checkout)
The motivation for the combination would be similar to that for claim 1.
As per claim 7 Bernert discloses; The system of claim 1, wherein cross-origin secure communications enable communications between parent pages and child inline frames, the cross-origin secure communications enable using an existing infrastructure of the sign-in service domain via the first domain. Bernert(0038)
AS per claim 8 Bernert does not explicitly disclose; what Greenberg teaches; The system of claim 1, wherein the resizing event supports dynamic modal resizing that allows adjusting the modal overlay window based on a current step of an authentication process associated the sign-in service domain.
Greenberg(col. 36 resizing, lines 20-25)
The motivation for the combination would be similar to that provided for claim 1.
As per claim 9 Bernert discloses; the system of claim 1, wherein the resizing event is associated with a postMessage Application Programming Interface (API) to adhere to security policies associated with resizing inline frames, the postMessage API supports custom resize events from the modal overlay window to the parent page. Bernert (0046)
As per claim 10 Bernert discloses; The system of claim 1, wherein the modal overlay window supports multi-step authentication while dynamically adjusting the modal overlay window, wherein the multi-step authentication is associated with one or more authentication security mechanisms.
Bernert (0073, authentication can include operations… direct and additional communications)
Conclusion
A search of IP.com revealed the following references;
Solutions to the Problem, IEEE 2012
Smart City IoT Platform Respecting GDPR Privacy and Security Aspects, IEEE 2020
/BRUCE I EBERSMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693