DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-13 are pending and presented for examination.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1-10 and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-11 of copending Application No. 18/891222 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 2-11 of Application No. 18/891222 anticipate claims 1-10 and 13.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites that “the ceramic powder is discontinuous”. It is unclear what it means for a powder to be discontinuous. Therefore, claim 10 is indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim has been interpreted as “the ceramic powder forms a discontinuous structure”.
Claim 10 also recites “ceramic sections free of ceramic powder”. This language is contradictory; and therefore, indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim has been interpreted as “fabric sections free of ceramic powder”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
3. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Ozawa et al. (JPH02182968, reference is made to the provided English translation).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8 and 9, Ozawa teaches a fabric panel including natural or synthetic fibers (abstract and top of page 2) comprising: a portion covered with ceramic powder (abstract), such as silica (top of page 2), which retains heat (abstract). Ozawa teaches that the ceramic powder can be on an inner, user-facing side of the fabric panel (middle of page 2). Ozawa teaches all the critical limitations of claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8 and 9; therefore, Ozawa anticipates the claims.
4. Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Chapuis (WO 2011/114025, reference is made to the provided English translation).
Regarding claims 1-12, Chapuis teaches a compression garment fabric panel (abstract), made out of fibers, such as natural, synthetic and/or elastic fibers (middle of page 4), and including portions covered with ceramic powder (top of page 4), such as silica powder (middle of page 4), which retains heat (middle of page 4). Chapuis teaches the fabric panel having the ceramic powder arranged in a plurality of spaced apart linear members forming a broken border (a line of separated hexagons forms a linear member having a broken border), such that the ceramic powder forms a discontinuous coating having fabric sections covered with the powder and sections free of powder (Figure 1). Chapuis also teaches the compression garment can be a t-shirt which has a torso portion and a sleeve (Figure 5), and that the ceramic powder may penetrate to the user-facing side of the t-shirt (middle of page 8). Chapuis teaches all the limitations of claims 1-12; therefore, Chapuis anticipates the claims.
5. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 13 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Wang (CN 101632507, reference is made to the provided English translation).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4 and 13, Wang teaches a shoe upper (abstract) comprising a cloth layer (see abstract, comparable to a fabric panel) made of natural fiber (claim 2) covered with ceramic powder with heat retention properties (claim 6). Wang teaches all the critical limitations of claims 1, 2, 4 and 13; therefore, Wang anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
6. Claims 6, 7 and 10 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ozawa in view of Worley et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2003/0054141).
Regarding claims 6, 7 and 10, Ozawa teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 5 (see above) including incorporating the fabric into a garment (bottom of page 3), but fails to teach the ceramic powder arranged in spaced apart linear members forming a broken border, wherein the ceramic powder coating is discontinuous having sections covered with ceramic powder and sections not covered with ceramic powder.
However, Worley teaches a garment (abstract), such as a jacket (0030), with a discontinuous coating (0028) on the surface of the fabric (0016) and may have a pattern of spaced apart linear members forming a broken border as shown in Figure 1. Worley teaches the coating including a phase change material which has the capacity to both absorb and release thermal energy (0033), and that the coating can include a ceramic, such as silica (0044). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Ozawa’s fabric panel by having the ceramic material applied as a discontinuous pattern of linear members forming a broken border as disclosed by Worley. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Worley teaches that providing a discontinuous pattern provides the fabric/garment with improved flexibility and air permeability (0007).
Conclusion
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claims 1-13 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
January 26, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717