DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke et al, US Pub. 2019/0303917, in view of XU CN 211319265.
Locke et al disclose a dynamic transaction card including a secure payment chip comprising: a top output layer and a top protective layer (see paragraphs [0059], [0111], figure 2 ); a card backing (see paragraph [0128], figure 2); a potting including hot lamination of the outer films to the body of the card using thermoactivated adhesive (see paragraph [0112], figure 2); the secure payment chip included in the dynamic transaction card (see paragraph
[0059], figure 2); and a chassis constructed out of a conductive material as a frame or supporting structure (see paragraph [0128], figure 2).
To further clarify the examiner position Locke et al disclose (fig. 2) a transaction card, comprising: a first rigid layer (204, 206, these elements formed the first rigid layer) having a first external surface and a first internal surface, the first rigid layer comprising a pocket (fig. 2, pocket in layer 206) within the first external surface of the first rigid layer; a second rigid layer (232) having a second external surface and a second internal surface; a binding layer ("hot lamination") between the first rigid layer and the second rigid layer, the binding layer comprising a binding medium affixing the first internal surface of the first rigid layer to the second internal surface of the second rigid layer; an integrated circuit chip (216) affixed within the pocket of the first rigid layer.
Locke et al fail to explicitly disclose that a metallic rim extending from a first external surface of first rigid layer around a first edge of a first rigid layer and a second edge of a second rigid layer and onto a second external surface of the second rigid layer.
Xu discloses an intelligent card with metal frame comprising: a metal frame having U-shaped cross-section, wherein an opening position of the U-shaped cross-section is engaged with the circumference of a smart card body and a front top and a back bottom of the metal frame are respectively flush with a front top and a back bottom of the smart card (see paragraph [0034], claim 1, figures 1-12).
In view of the teachings Xu, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to combine Locke et al and Xu to arrive at the claimed subject matter. Such combination would provide a card with greater intensity/strength and enhance the appearance of the card. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Regarding claims 2-4, 10-11, 17, further comprising a magnetic stripe attached to the second rigid layer and positioned on the external surface of the second rigid layer. With respect to the position of the magnetic stripe, such limitation is a matter of meeting specific customer requirements in order to effectively read the information on the magnetic stripe, which therefore, obvious.
Regarding claims 5 and 12, further comprising an antenna positioned between the first rigid layer and the second rigid layer, the antenna being inductively coupled to the integrated circuit chip (fig. 2 of Locke et al).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, further comprising an antenna positioned between the first rigid layer and the second rigid layer, the antenna being connected to the integrated circuit chip via a contact pad (fig. 2 of Locke et al).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, wherein the integrated circuit chip (EMV chip par. 0112) further comprises an antenna (fig. 2 of Locke et al).
Regarding claims 8, 15, and 20, Locke et al as modified by Xu fail to disclose wherein the first rigid layer and the second rigid layer comprise a chemically strengthened glass. However, the type of material used for manufacturing the card’s layers is a matter of engineering choice for meeting specific customer requirements, wherein such material (i.e. glass) is well known in the art for producing cars. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by Locke et al as modified by Xu.
Regarding claims 18-19, the limitations have been met above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,217,113 (hereinafter ‘113 Patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claimed invention recites similar limitations as the ‘113 Patent. For instance, in claim 1 of the current application and in the ‘113 Patent, the applicant claims:
Application No. 19/005,273
Patent No. 12,217,113
A transaction card, comprising: a first rigid layer having a first external surface and a first internal surface; a second rigid layer having a second external surface and a second internal surface; a binding layer between the first internal surface of the first rigid layer and the second internal surface of the second rigid layer, the binding layer comprising a binding medium; a pocket within the first external surface of the first rigid layer; an integrated circuit chip affixed within the pocket of the first rigid layer; and a metallic rim extending around an edge of the transaction card, the metallic rim comprising a first lip adjacent to the first external surface of the first rigid layer and a second lip adjacent to the second external surface of the second rigid layer.
A transaction card manufactured by a process comprising: placing a first rigid layer of a transaction card within a first recess of a first metallic sheet, the first recess comprising a lip and an opening; placing a binding layer on top of the first rigid layer of the transaction card, the binding layer comprising a binding medium; placing a second rigid layer on top of the binding layer; placing a second metallic sheet on top of the first metallic sheet, the second metallic sheet having a second recess with a lip and an opening; fusing the lip of the first metallic sheet together with the lip of the second metallic sheet to form a fused metal band; cutting the fused metal band along a border of the opening of the first recess; and removing the first metallic sheet and the second metallic sheet
Thus, in respect to above discussions, it would have been obvious to an artisan at the time the invention was made to use the teaching of claims 1-20 of the ‘113 Patent as a general teaching for a transaction card, to perform the same function as claimed in the present invention. The instant claims obviously encompass the claimed invention of the ‘113 Patent and differ only in terminology. The extent that the instant claims are broaden and therefore generic to claimed invention of ‘113 Patent [species], In re Goodman 29 USPQ 2d 2010 CAFC 1993, states that a generic claim cannot be issued without a terminal disclaimer, if a species claim has been previously been claimed in a co-pending application.
The obviousness-type double patenting rejection is a judicially established doctrine based upon public policy and is primarily intended to prevent prolongation of the patent term by prohibiting claims in a second patent not patentably distinct from the claims in a first paten. IN re Vogel, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 C.F.R. & 1.321(b) would overcome an actual or provisional rejection on this ground provided the conflicting application or patent is shown to be commonly owned with this application. See 37 C>FR> &1.78(d).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See examiner remarks.
Remarks:
In response to the applicant’s argument regarding claim 1, the examiner respectfully disagrees. All the limitations of the claim were considered in making the rejection. The examiner position is that Locke et al disclose (fig. 2) a transaction card, comprising: a first rigid layer (204, 206, these elements formed the first rigid layer) having a first external surface and a first internal surface, the first rigid layer comprising a pocket (fig. 2, pocket in layer 206) within the first external surface of the first rigid layer; a second rigid layer (232) having a second external surface and a second internal surface; a binding layer ("hot lamination") between the first rigid layer and the second rigid layer, the binding layer comprising a binding medium affixing the first internal surface of the first rigid layer to the second internal surface of the second rigid layer; an integrated circuit chip (216) affixed within the pocket of the first rigid layer. Locke et al do not explicitly disclosed a metallic band extending from the first external surface of first rigid layer around a first edge of the first rigid layer and a second edge of the second rigid layer and onto the second external surface of the second rigid layer which relates to problem of providing a more rigid card. Xu teaches U-shaped metal frame for a smart card for improving the strength of the card. Therefore, to modify the teachings of Locke et al with a metal rim would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art in order to improve the card strength. The applicant seems to misread and comprehend the prior art teaching of Locke et al in fig. 2. As shown in fig. 2, elements 204 and 206 form the first rigid layer having a pocket for receiving the integrated circuit 216 (see the argument response). A pocket is merely a position where the IC is inserted, it is shown in fig. 2, the portion 206 of the first rigid layer has a pocket for inserting the IC 216. With respect to the argument that the reference XU fails to disclose a solid metal frame, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Metals turn into solid rigid material when the are used to manufacture cards, while the metals can be provided in liquid form when melting, but they are in solid rigid form when the cards are manufactured. The applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Refer to the rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DANIEL ST CYR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/DANIEL ST CYR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876