DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to the following communications: the Application filed December 30, 2024 and the information disclosure statement (IDS) filed December 30, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 13 and 20 are independent.
The present application is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 30, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2012/0033503).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kim et al. disclose a method of operating a nonvolatile memory device that includes a plurality of memory blocks (FIG. 1 and para. 0050: the memory cell array 100 … a plurality of memory blocks MB), each of the plurality of memory blocks including a plurality of cell strings where each of the plurality of cell strings includes a string selection transistor, a plurality of memory cells, and a ground selection transistor which are connected in series and arranged in a vertical direction between each of a plurality of bit-lines and a common source line (see FIGS. 1-2) on and/or in a substrate (see FIGS. 14-15, and para. 0106: … a semiconductor substrate), the method comprising:
receiving an erase command and a block address designating a target memory block among the plurality of memory blocks (e.g., FIG. 3: S1000);
sensing an operating temperature of the nonvolatile memory device (S1100 and e.g., para. 0124: … the temperature detection …); and
adjusting an erase execution time interval of each of word-lines of the target memory block, respectively, based on the sensed operating temperature (see FIG. 4: Normal Erase and Modified Erase (Cold Temp), and accompanying disclosure, e.g., para. 0075-0078, i.e., adjusted erase loop based on Cold Temp),
wherein the vertical direction is perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate (see FIGS. 14-15).
Regarding claim 9, which depends from claim 1, Kim et al. disclose determining a temperature range of the sensed operating temperature among a plurality of temperature ranges (e.g., para. 0089: …the temperature detection … to a room temperature or a hot temperature).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2012/0033503) in view of Oh et al. (US 9,437,310).
Regarding claim 2, Kim et al. teach the limitations of claim 1.
Kim et al. do not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 2.
Oh et al. teach the deficiencies, i.e., erase distribution width of ones of the plurality of memory cells connected to the word-lines of the target memory block, generated by a change of the operating temperature is configured to be reduced by adjusting the erase execution time interval of each of the word-lines of the target memory block, respectively (e.g., FIGS. 21-22, and accompanying disclosure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teaching of Oh et al. to the teaching of Kim et al. such that a flash memory, as taught by Kim et al., utilizes a erase pulse width, as taught by SEC et al., for the purpose of performing temperature-compensated erase operations in flash memory.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2012/0033503).
Regarding independent claim 13, the device claim 13 is rejected for the same reason set forth above as applied to the method claim 1 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. except for a digital temperature sensor configure to sense an operating temperature of the nonvolatile memory device, i.e., Kim’s temperature detecting sensors (e.g., para. 0061) do not explicitly disclose a digital temperature sensor.
However, a digital temperature sensor is a well-known technology for a type of flash memory for its purpose.
For support, of the above asserted facts, see for example, Chin et al. (US 11,705,203), e.g., col. 25, lines 43-52: … a digital temperature code ….
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teaching of Chin et al. to the teaching of Kim et al. such that a flash memory, as taught by Kim et al., utilizes a digital temperature sensor, as taught by Chin et al., for the purpose of utilizing digital value to the storage region, and further these conventional technology are well established in the art of the memory devices.
Regarding claim 14, Kim et al. teach the limitations of claim 13.
Kim et al. further teach a voltage generator configured to generate word-line voltages including an erase voltage, a word-line erase voltage, and an erase inhibit voltage based on control signals; and an address decoder configured to provide the word-line voltages to the target memory block based on a row address (FIG. 1 and accompanying disclosure; further it’s an inherent characteristic of memory device).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 10-12 and 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 is allowed.
Conclusion
/SUNG IL CHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825