DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made that the instant application is a continuation of application PCT/US2023/070966, filed on 7/25/2023, which claims priority from US provisional application 63/393161, filed on 7/28/2022.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: processing block 426 (see para. [0158]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 9 and 21, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 9 and 21 recites the broad recitation “wherein the specified vibration mode frequency is 2 Hz to 10 kHz,” in lines 1-2 of claim 9 and lines 1-2 of claim 21 and the claims also recite “2 Hz to 5 kHz, 2 Hz to 1 kHz, 2 Hz to 500 Hz, 2 Hz to 300 Hz, 2 Hz to 200 Hz, or 2 Hz to 100 Hz” in lines 2-3 of claim 9 and lines 2-3 of claim 21, which are narrower statements of the broader range/limitation. The claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For the purposes of examination, the limitations are being interpreted as meaning wherein the specified vibration mode frequency is 2 Hz to 10 kHz. Thus, claims 9 and 21 are rejected as being indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-13, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binnard et al. (US PGPub 2022/0111521, Binnard hereinafter) in view of Sato et al. (US Patent No. 5,757,149, Sato hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Binnard discloses a method (Figs. 1-14, abstract, vibration is reduced), comprising:
receiving data of a position of a structural element (Figs. 1-14, paras. [0021], [0049], [0085], [0092]-[0093], [0096], [0103]-[0104], [0110], [0118], position sensors 142 measure the position of a carrier element 14 or an end effector coupled to the carrier element);
determining a position error signal based at least in part on the position data and a specified position of the structural element (Figs. 1-14, paras. [0021], [0049], [0092]-[0096], [0103]-[0104], [0108], an error signal based on the trajectory or specified position of the carrier element 14 or end effector coupled to the carrier element 14 and the measured position data is determined);
determining a force command to damp a specified vibration mode frequency of the structural element based at least in part on the position error signal and the specified vibration mode frequency (Figs. 1-14, paras. [0022], [0049], [0056]-[0058], [0087], [0092]-[0093], [0098]-[0099], [0103]-[0104], a force command is determined based on position error and is filtered to determine or controlled to determine high frequency component and a low frequency component of vibration of the end effector); and
transmitting the force command to an actuator such that the actuator applies force to the structural element and damps vibration of the structural element at least at the specified vibration mode frequency of the structural element (Figs. 1-14, paras. [0022], [0049], [0056]-[0058], [0087], [0092]-[0093], [0098]-[0099], [0103]-[0104], the force command is transmitted to the actuators to dampen the high or low frequency components to control vibration of the end effector). Binnard does not appear to explicitly describe an exposure apparatus, applying a phase correction to the position error signal, determining the force based on the position error signal to which the phase correction has been applied.
Sato discloses receiving data of a position of a structural element of an exposure apparatus (Figs. 1, 7, 11, col. 8, lines 26-67, col. 11, lines 22-35, col. 11, lines 52-67, a laser interferometer 9 obtains the position information of the stage 1, and the control system controls the wafer stage in an exposure apparatus);
applying phase correction to the position error signal (Figs. 1, 7, 8, 10, 11, col. 8, lines 25-67, col. 9, lines 1-15, col. 9, lines 41-67, col. 10, lines 10-24, col. 10, lines 39-57, col. 11, lines 7-13, col. 11, lines 36-67, col. 12, lines 1-6, a phase compensator 13 applies correction to the position deviation e);
determining a force command of the structural element based at least in part on the position error signal to which the phase correction has been applied (Figs. 1, 7, 8, 10, 11, col. 8, lines 25-67, col. 9, lines 1-15, col. 9, lines 41-67, col. 10, lines 10-24, col. 10, lines 39-57, col. 11, lines 7-13, col. 11, lines 36-67, col. 12, lines 1-6, a driver supplies the driving signal to the linear motor based on output u, which is the output of the phase compensator 13 that applies correction to the position deviation e).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an exposure apparatus, applying a phase correction to the position error signal, determining the force based on the position error signal to which the phase correction has been applied as taught by Sato in the method as taught by Binnard since including an exposure apparatus is commonly used to produce large semiconductor chips in an exposure process (Sato, col. 1, col. 24-32), and since including applying a phase correction to the position error signal, determining the force based on the position error signal to which the phase correction has been applied is commonly used to improve control performance in the movable region of the controlled object to remove deviation nonuniformity (Sato, col. 12, lines 14-23).
Regarding claim 8, Binnard as modified by Sato discloses wherein data of the position of the structural element is based on a signal received from a sensor coupled to the structural element at a location remote from the actuator (Sato, Figs. 1, 7, 11, col. 8, lines 26-67, col. 9, lines 1-5, col. 11, lines 22-35, col. 11, lines 52-67, a laser interferometer 9 obtains the position information of the stage 1 using mirror 10, and laser interferometer 9 is apart from the linear motor including stator 5).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Binnard as modified by Sato discloses wherein the specified vibration mode frequency is 2 Hz to 10 kHz, 2 Hz to 5 kHz, 2 Hz to 1 kHz, 2 Hz to 500 Hz, 2 Hz to 300 Hz, 2 Hz to 200 Hz, or 2 Hz to 100 Hz (Binnard, para. [0093], the frequency is 1 Hz to 100 Hz).
Regarding claim 10, Binnard as modified by Sato discloses wherein the specified vibration mode is lower than a vibration mode frequency of the actuator (Binnard, Figs. 1-14, paras. [0022], [0049], [0056], [0092]-[0093], [0098]-[0099], [0103]-[0104], the force command is transmitted to the low frequency actuators to dampen the low frequency component to control vibration of the end effector, the low frequency being below the high frequency component).
Regarding claim 11, Binnard as modified by Sato discloses wherein determining the force command further comprises determining the force command to damp a plurality of specified vibration mode frequencies of the structural element (Binnard, Figs. 1-14, paras. [0022], [0049], [0056], [0092]-[0093], [0098]-[0099], [0103]-[0104], the force command is transmitted to the actuators to dampen the high and low frequency components to control vibration of the end effector).
Regarding claim 12, Binnard as modified by Sato discloses wherein the structural element is an optical surface plate, a substrate stage, or a mask stage of the exposure apparatus (Binnard, Figs. 1-14, paras. [0022], [0049], [0056], [0092]-[0093], [0098]-[0099], [0103]-[0104], the force command is transmitted to the actuators to dampen components of vibration, and as modified by Sato, Figs. 1, 7, 11, col. 8, lines 26-67, col. 11, lines 22-35, col. 11, lines 52-67, a laser interferometer 9 obtains the position information of the stage 1, and the control system controls the wafer stage in an exposure apparatus).
Regarding claim 13, Binnard discloses a system (Figs. 1-14, abstract, vibration reduction system), comprising:
a structural element (Figs. 1-14, paras. [0021], [0049], [0092]-[0096], [0103]-[0104], [0108], a carrier element 14 or an end effector coupled to the carrier element);
an actuator system coupled to the structural element, the actuator system comprising an actuator and a sensor (Figs. 1-14, paras. [0084]-[0085], [0091]-[0096], [0103]-[0104], [0108], actuator systems 84, 32, 34, 35 are coupled to the carrier element for an end effector, and sensors 142 measure the position of the carrier element 14 and/or end effector); and
a control system (Figs. 3-4B, paras. [0091]-[0096], [0103]-[0104], control system 100) configured to:
receive data of a position of the structural element from the sensor (Figs. 1-14, paras. [0021], [0049], [0085], [0092]-[0093], [0096], [0103]-[0104], [0110], [0118], position sensors 142 measure the position of a carrier element 14 or an end effector coupled to the carrier element);
determine a position error signal based at least in part on the position data and a specified position of the structural element (Figs. 1-14, paras. [0021], [0049], [0092]-[0096], [0103]-[0104], [0108], an error signal based on the trajectory or specified position of the carrier element 14 or end effector coupled to the carrier element 14 and the measured position data is determined);
determine a force command to damp a specified vibration mode frequency of the structural element based at least in part on the position error signal and the specified vibration mode frequency (Figs. 1-14, paras. [0022], [0049], [0056]-[0058], [0087], [0092]-[0093], [0098]-[0099], [0103]-[0104], a force command is determined based on position error and is filtered to determine or controlled to determine high frequency component and a low frequency component of vibration of the end effector); and
transmit the force command to the actuator such that the actuator applies force to the structural element and damps vibration of the structural element at least at the specified vibration mode frequency of the structural element (Figs. 1-14, paras. [0022], [0049], [0056]-[0058], [0087], [0092]-[0093], [0098]-[0099], [0103]-[0104], the force command is transmitted to the actuators to dampen the high or low frequency components to control vibration of the end effector). Binnard does not appear to explicitly describe an exposure apparatus, the control system configured to apply phase correction to the position error signal, determine the force based at least in part on the position error signal to which the phase correction has been applied.
Sato discloses an exposure apparatus including a structural element (Figs. 1, 7, 11, col. 8, lines 26-67, col. 11, lines 22-35, col. 11, lines 52-67, a exposure apparatus comprises wafer stage 1);
a control system (Figs. 1, 7, 11, col. 8, lines 24-67, col. 9, lines 1-15, col. 9, lines 41-67, col. 10, lines 10-24, col. 10, lines 39-57, col. 11, lines 7-13, col. 11, lines 36-67, col. 12, lines 1-6, a control system controls the scanning of the wafer stage 1) configured to:
apply phase correction to the position error signal (Figs. 1, 7, 8, 10, 11, col. 8, lines 25-67, col. 9, lines 1-15, col. 9, lines 41-67, col. 10, lines 10-24, col. 10, lines 39-57, col. 11, lines 7-13, col. 11, lines 36-67, col. 12, lines 1-6, a phase compensator 13 applies correction to the position deviation e);
determine the force based at least in part on the position error signal to which the phase correction has been applied (Figs. 1, 7, 8, 10, 11, col. 8, lines 25-67, col. 9, lines 1-15, col. 9, lines 41-67, col. 10, lines 10-24, col. 10, lines 39-57, col. 11, lines 7-13, col. 11, lines 36-67, col. 12, lines 1-6, a driver supplies the driving signal to the linear motor based on output u, which is the output of the phase compensator 13 that applies correction to the position deviation e).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an exposure apparatus, the control system configured to apply phase correction to the position error signal, determine the force based on the position error signal to which the phase correction has been applied as taught by Sato in the system comprising the control system as taught Binnard since including an exposure apparatus is commonly used to produce large semiconductor chips in an exposure process (Sato, col. 1, col. 24-32), and since including the control system configured to apply phase correction to the position error signal, determine the force based on the position error signal to which the phase correction has been applied is commonly used to improve control performance in the movable region of the controlled object to remove deviation nonuniformity (Sato, col. 12, lines 14-23).
Regarding claim 20, Binnard as modified by Sato discloses wherein the sensor is spaced apart from the actuator on the structural element (Sato, Figs. 1, 7, 11, col. 8, lines 26-67, col. 9, lines 1-5, col. 11, lines 22-35, col. 11, lines 52-67, a laser interferometer 9 obtains the position information of the stage 1 using mirror 10, and laser interferometer 9 is apart from the linear motor including stator 5).
Regarding claim 21, as best understood, Binnard as modified by Sato discloses wherein the specified vibration mode frequency is 2 Hz to 10 kHz, 2 Hz to 5 kHz, 2 Hz to 1 kHz, 2 Hz to 500 Hz, 2 Hz to 300 Hz, 2 Hz to 200 Hz, or 2 Hz to 100 Hz (Binnard, para. [0093], the frequency is 1 Hz to 100 Hz).
Regarding claim 22, Binnard as modified by Sato discloses wherein the structural element is an optical surface plate, a substrate stage, or a mask stage of the exposure apparatus (Binnard, Figs. 1-14, paras. [0022], [0049], [0056], [0092]-[0093], [0098]-[0099], [0103]-[0104], the force command is transmitted to the actuators to dampen components of vibration, and as modified by Sato, Figs. 1, 7, 11, col. 8, lines 26-67, col. 11, lines 22-35, col. 11, lines 52-67, a laser interferometer 9 obtains the position information of the stage 1, and the control system controls the wafer stage in an exposure apparatus).
Regarding claim 23, Binnard discloses a method (Figs. 1-14, abstract, vibration is reduced), comprising:
receiving data of a position of a structural element (Figs. 1-14, paras. [0021], [0049], [0085], [0092]-[0093], [0096], [0103]-[0104], [0110], [0118], position sensors 142 measure the position of a carrier element 14 or an end effector coupled to the carrier element);
determining a position error signal based at least in part on the position data and a specified position of the structural element (Figs. 1-14, paras. [0021], [0049], [0056], [0092]-[0096], [0103]-[0104], [0108], an error signal based on the trajectory or specified position of the carrier element 14 or end effector coupled to the carrier element 14 and the measured position data is determined);
filtering the position error signal with a low-pass filter including derivative control (Figs. 3-4B, paras. [0049], [0092]-[0095], the error signal is applied with derivative control, and low-pass filter 118 filters the low-frequency component of the force command);
determining a force command to damp a specified vibration mode frequency of the structural element based at least in part on the filtered, position error signal (Figs. 1-14, paras. [0022], [0049], [0056], [0092]-[0093], [0098]-[0099], [0103]-[0104], a force command is determined based on position error and is filtered to determine or controlled to determine high frequency component and a low frequency component of vibration of the end effector); and
transmitting the force command to an actuator coupled to the structural element such that the actuator applies force to the structural element and damps vibration of the structural element at least at the specified vibration mode frequency of the structural element (Figs. 1-14, paras. [0022], [0049], [0056], [0092]-[0093], [0098]-[0099], [0103]-[0104], the force command is transmitted to the actuators to dampen the high frequency component or low frequency component to control vibration of the end effector). Binnard does not appear to explicitly describe an exposure apparatus, applying phase correction to the position error signal, determining the force command based at least in part on the phase-corrected position error signal.
Sato discloses receiving data of a position of a structural element of an exposure apparatus (Figs. 1, 7, 11, col. 8, lines 26-67, col. 11, lines 22-35, col. 11, lines 52-67, a laser interferometer 9 obtains the position information of the stage 1, and the control system controls the wafer stage in an exposure apparatus);
applying phase correction to the position error signal (Figs. 1, 7, 8, 10, 11, col. 8, lines 25-67, col. 9, lines 1-15, col. 9, lines 41-67, col. 10, lines 10-24, col. 10, lines 39-57, col. 11, lines 7-13, col. 11, lines 36-67, col. 12, lines 1-6, a phase compensator 13 applies correction to the position deviation e);
determining a force command of the structural element based at least in part on the phase-corrected position error signal (Figs. 1, 7, 8, 10, 11, col. 8, lines 25-67, col. 9, lines 1-15, col. 9, lines 41-67, col. 10, lines 10-24, col. 10, lines 39-57, col. 11, lines 7-13, col. 11, lines 36-67, col. 12, lines 1-6, a driver supplies the driving signal to the linear motor based on output u, which is the output of the phase compensator 13 that applies correction to the position deviation e).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an exposure apparatus, applying a phase correction to the position error signal, determining the force based at least in part on the phase-corrected position error signal as taught by Sato with the low-pass filter applied to the position error signal in the method as taught by Binnard since including an exposure apparatus is commonly used to produce large semiconductor chips in an exposure process (Sato, col. 1, col. 24-32), and since including applying a phase correction to the position error signal with the low-pass filter, determining the force based at least in part on the filtered, phase-corrected position error signal is commonly used to improve control performance in the movable region of the controlled object to remove deviation nonuniformity (Sato, col. 12, lines 14-23).
Claims 2-5 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binnard as modified by Sato as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Uno et al. (US Patent No. 5,233,797, Uno hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, Binnard as modified by Sato does not appear to explicitly describe obtaining the position data by integrating an acceleration signal received from a sensor.
Uno discloses obtaining the position data by integrating an acceleration signal received from a sensor (Figs. 7-9, abstract, col. 2, lines 33-53, col. 6, lines 44-68, col. 7, lines 1-32, the acceleration signal from an acceleration sensor is integrated to obtain the displacement signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included obtaining the position data by integrating an acceleration signal received from a sensor as taught by Uno in the method as taught by Binnard as modified by Sato since including obtaining the position data by integrating an acceleration signal received from a sensor is commonly used to quickly sense vibration and enable effective vibration suppression (Uno, col. 2, lines 25-32, col. 2, lines 54-63).
Regarding claim 3, Binnard as modified by Sato in view of Uno discloses wherein determining the force command further comprises filtering the position error signal with a low-pass filter (Binnard, Figs. 3-4B, paras. [0092]-[0093], a low-pass filter 118 is applied to the signal resulting from the error signal).
Regarding claim 4, Binnard as modified by Sato in view of Uno discloses wherein the low-pass filter includes derivative control (Binnard, Figs. 3-4B, paras. [0092]-[0095], the signal is applied with derivative control and low-pass filter).
Regarding claim 5, Binnard as modified by Sato in view of Uno discloses wherein the phase correction is applied with the low-pass filter (Binnard, Figs. 3-4B, paras. [0092]-[0093], a low-pass filter 118 is applied to the signal, and as modified by Sato, Figs. 1, 7, 8, 10, 11, col. 8, lines 25-67, col. 9, lines 1-15, col. 9, lines 41-67, col. 10, lines 10-24, col. 10, lines 39-57, col. 11, lines 7-13, col. 11, lines 36-67, col. 12, lines 1-6, a phase compensator 13 applies correction to the position deviation e).
Regarding claim 14, Binnard as modified by Sato does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the control system is further configured to obtain the position data by integrating an acceleration signal received from a sensor.
Uno discloses wherein the control system is further configured to obtain the position data by integrating an acceleration signal received from a sensor (Figs. 7-9, abstract, col. 2, lines 33-53, col. 6, lines 44-68, col. 7, lines 1-32, the acceleration signal from an acceleration sensor is integrated to obtain the displacement signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the control system is further configured to obtain the position data by integrating an acceleration signal received from a sensor as taught by Uno in the system as taught by Binnard as modified by Sato since including wherein the control system is further configured to obtain the position data by integrating an acceleration signal received from a sensor is commonly used to quickly sense vibration and enable effective vibration suppression (Uno, col. 2, lines 25-32, col. 2, lines 54-63).
Regarding claim 15, Binnard as modified by Sato in view of Uno discloses wherein the control system is further configured to filter the position error signal with a low-pass filter (Binnard, Figs. 3-4B, paras. [0092]-[0093], a low-pass filter 118 is applied to the signal resulting from the error signal).
Regarding claim 16, Binnard as modified by Sato in view of Uno discloses wherein the low-pass filter includes derivative control (Binnard, Figs. 3-4B, paras. [0092]-[0095], the signal is applied with derivative control and low-pass filter).
Regarding claim 17, Binnard as modified by Sato in view of Uno discloses wherein the phase correction is applied with the low-pass filter (Binnard, Figs. 3-4B, paras. [0092]-[0093], a low-pass filter 118 is applied to the signal, and as modified by Sato, Figs. 1, 7, 8, 10, 11, col. 8, lines 25-67, col. 9, lines 1-15, col. 9, lines 41-67, col. 10, lines 10-24, col. 10, lines 39-57, col. 11, lines 7-13, col. 11, lines 36-67, col. 12, lines 1-6, a phase compensator 13 applies correction to the position deviation e).
Claims 6-7 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binnard as modified by Sato as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Yuan et al. (US PGPub 2007/0097340, Yuan hereinafter).
Regarding claim 6, Binnard as modified by Sato does not appear to explicitly describe wherein determining the force command further comprises filtering the position error signal with a bandpass filter.
Yuan discloses filtering the position error signal with a bandpass filter (Figs. 5a-c, paras. [0042], [0072], a bandpass filter is applied in the controller).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included filtering the position error signal with a bandpass filter as taught by Yuan in determining the force command in the method as taught by Binnard as modified by Sato since including wherein determining the force command further comprises filtering the position error signal with a bandpass filter is commonly used to suppress the desired frequencies (Yuan, para. [0072]).
Regarding claim 7, Binnard as modified by Sato does not appear to explicitly describe wherein determining the force command further comprises filtering the position error signal with a notch filter.
Yuan discloses filtering the position error signal with a notch filter (Figs. 5a-c, paras. [0042], [0045]-[0047], [0072], a notch filter is applied in the controller).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included filtering the position error signal with a notch filter as taught by Yuan in determining the force command in the method as taught by Binnard as modified by Sato since including wherein determining the force command further comprises filtering the position error signal with a notch filter is commonly used to absorb energy around the natural frequency of the vibrating object while suppressing vibrations at the desired frequencies (Yuan, para. [0072]).
Regarding claim 18, Binnard as modified by Sato does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the control system is further configured to filter the position error signal with a bandpass filter.
Yuan discloses filtering the position error signal with a bandpass filter (Figs. 5a-c, paras. [0042], [0072], a bandpass filter is applied in the controller).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included filtering the position error signal with a bandpass filter as taught by Yuan in the control system of the system as taught by Binnard as modified by Sato since including wherein the control system is further configured to filter the position error signal with a bandpass filter is commonly used to suppress the desired frequencies (Yuan, para. [0072]).
Regarding claim 19, Binnard as modified by Sato does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the control system is further configured to filter the position error signal with a notch filter.
Yuan discloses filtering the position error signal with a notch filter (Figs. 5a-c, paras. [0042], [0045]-[0047], [0072], a notch filter is applied in the controller).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included filtering the position error signal with a notch filter as taught by Yuan in the control system in the system as taught by Binnard as modified by Sato since including wherein the control system is further configured to filter the position error signal with a notch filter is commonly used to absorb energy around the natural frequency of the vibrating object while suppressing vibrations at the desired frequencies (Yuan, para. [0072]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882