DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,5-12, 14-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meyers et al. (US 2017/0102612).
Regarding Claims 1,5-6, 16, and 20, Meyers et al. (US’612) teach a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising: depositing a resist layer over a substrate by chemical vapor deposition [0033,0076-0079,0082], wherein the resist layer is a reaction (i.e. hydrolysis) product of a first precursor and second precursor [0080,0046,0068]. The first precursor can include (C6H5)CH2Sn(NMe2)3, or benzyl tris(dimethylamino) tin, which is represented by the structure in row 1, column 3 of Claims 1 and 16; (C6H5)CH3CHSn(NMe2)3-, represented by the structure in row 1, column 2 of Claims 1 and 16. Furthermore, US’612 teaches patternwise exposing the resist layer to actinic radiation (e.g. electron beam or extreme UV) (Abstract; [0002,0012,0029,0057,0087]) and applying a developer to the patternwise exposed resist layer to form a pattern in the resist layer [0089-0090,0097,0116].
Regarding Claims 11,14, 16, and 20, Meyers et al. (US’612) teach a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising: depositing a first organometallic material layer over a substrate, and depositing a gaseous material (e.g. vapor) over the first organometallic material layer (Claim 2; [0033,0145]; reacting the gaseous material with the first organometallic material layer to form a first layer of reaction product; depositing a second organometallic material layer of the organometallic material over the first layer of reaction product (i.e. “hydrolysable precursor is sequentially adsorbed, chemisorbed, or decomposed on the substrate surface, and the residual film reacted with a second reactive precursor through multiple deposition/reaction cycles to deposit the corresponding organotin oxide hydroxide” in an ALD process, which is a type of CVD process [0033,0078]); depositing an additional amount of the gaseous material over the second organometallic material layer; reacting the additional amount of the gaseous material with the second organometallic material layer to form a second layer of reaction product (id.; [0031,0082]); selectively exposing (i.e. patterning) the first and second layers of reaction product to actinic radiation (e.g. electron beam or extreme UV) (Abstract; [0002,0012, 0029,0057,0087]); and developing the selectively exposed first and second layers of reaction product, necessarily formed by the multiple deposition/ reaction cycles taught, to form a pattern in the resist layer [0005,0033,0089-0090,0097,0116]. US’612 teaches that an organometallic material for forming the first precursor can include (C6H5)CH2Sn(NMe2)3, or benzyl tris(dimethylamino) tin, which is represented by the structure in row 1, column 3 of Claims 11 and 16; (C6H5)CH3CHSn(NMe2)3-, represented by the structure in row 1, column 2 of Claims 11 and 16.
Regarding Claim 2, US’612 teaches that the developer can be a dry developer (e.g. gas, radiation) [0005].
Regarding Claim 3, US’612 teaches a dry developer, including a chemical vapor (i.e. reactive gas, which is necessarily a chemical) [0005].
Regarding Claim 7, US’612 teaches that the second precursor can be a gas [0033, 0143-0145].
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, US’612 teaches a deposition temperature (i.e. both first and second precursors) of between 50 and 160 C [0082,0143-0145].
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, US’612 teaches a pressure range between 10 mmTorr (0.01 Torr) and 25 Torr during deposition of the resist layer [0082, 0143-0145].
Regarding Claims 10 and 15, US’612 teaches after patternwise exposing the resist layer to actinic radiation and before applying a developer, heating the resist layer at a temperature ranging from 50 0C to 190 °C, including between 60 and 175 C [0088], including specific examples at 170 C [0116,0132].
Regarding Claim 12, US’612 teaches deposition of first and second layers of reaction product by atomic layer deposition (ALD) [0033].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 13, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyers et al. (US 2017/0102612).
Regarding Claims 4, 13, and 17, US’612 teaches heating the resist layer before exposing the resist layer to actinic radiation (e.g. during deposition [0079,0082], during hydrolysis [0032], after hydrolysis and before exposure to drive off solvent and promote densification [0074]) at a temperature, for example baking between 100 and 600 C [0098], including examples at 100 C [0115,0131,0134,0139]; or at a hydrolysis/ solvent removal temperature between 45 C and 250 C [0075], which substantially and obviously overlaps the claimed range. Moreover, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the process to a temperature within the recited range to adequately drive off solvent and/ or densify the resist while avoiding damage to the resist or other layers. Also, generally, differences in temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such temperature is critical.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,222,643. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Claims 4, 14, and 19 of US’643 require every limitation of present Claims 1, 11, and 16, including
Depositing a resist layer over a substrate by chemical vapor deposition, ALD
Identical first precursors
A second precursor (e.g. water, also water vapor, Claim 18)
Patternwise exposure to actinic radiation, including EUV (Claims 1, 2, 12)
Applying developer
Application US’643
Claims 2-3 Claims 4-6
Claim 4,13,17 Claim 7
Claim 5,14,20 Claim 2
Claim 6 Obvious form of actinic radiation and conventional patterning radiation
Claim 7,12 Claims 8, 18 and CVD and ALD process
Claim 8,18 obvious/ typical temperature range for CVD/ALD
Claim 9,19 obvious/typical pressure range for CVD/ALD
Claim 10,15 Claim 3
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
ALEXANDER M WEDDLE
Examiner
Art Unit 1712
/ALEXANDER M WEDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712