Response to Amendment
This Action is responsive to the Applicant’s Amendment/Remarks filed on 06/17/2026. In the Amendment, applicant amended claims 1, 5-6, 10 and 19.
As to Arguments and Remarks filed in the Amendment, please see Examiner’s responses shown after Rejections - 35 U.S.C § 103.
Please note claims 1-20 are pending.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saini et al. (US PGPUB 2025/0061136, hereinafter Saini), in view of Michael Galli (US PGPUB 2024/0289554, hereinafter Galli) and further in view of Freese et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0311999 hereinafter Freese).
As per as claim 1, Saini discloses:
(Currently Amended) A system, comprising:
one or more processors coupled to non-transitory memory, the one or more processors (Saini, e.g., [0085-0086], “...one or more processors...”) configured to:
maintain a dataset corresponding to a first embeddings space (Saini, e.g., [0028], “...input query to a first lookup vector, and then uses the first lookup vector to identify a first metadata embedding...” and [0079-0080], “... input query into a query embedding...using a first set of training examples...the query embedding being a vector in a first vector space...”);
receive a query to search the dataset, the query corresponding to a second
embeddings space (Saini, e.g., [0028], “... second lookup vector 210 to identify a second metadata embedding E.sub.M2 in a second metadata vector space...”), [0079-0080], “...the metadata embedding being associated with a particular instance of metadata and being a vector in a second vector space...”);
generate a transformed set of query embeddings by applying a set of weight values of a transformation data structure to a set of query embeddings generated based on the query, the transformed set of query embeddings corresponding to the first embeddings space, the set of weight values comprising numerical values trained to transform input embeddings of the second embeddings space to the first embeddings space, wherein the first embeddings space is different from the second embeddings space (Saini, e.g., [0025-0029], [0079-0080], “...first metadata model 202 (M1) transforms the input query 104 to a first lookup vector 204, and then uses the first lookup vector 204 to identify a first metadata embedding E.sub.M1 in a first metadata vector space 206. A second metadata model 208 (M2) transforms the input query 104 into a second lookup vector 210, and then uses the second lookup vector 210 to identify a second metadata embedding E.sub.M2 in a second metadata vector space 2...”); and
execute a search operation for the dataset using the transformed set of
query embeddings (Saini, e.g., [0025-0028], “...The metadata engines (120, . . . , 122) use respective metadata models to transform queries into lookup vectors in different respective vector spaces, and then use the lookup vectors to identify matching metadata embeddings. The query-augmenting component 110 uses an augmentation model to produce augmented embeddings in yet another vector space...”).
To make records clearer regarding to the language of “search operation for the dataset using the transformed set of query embeddings” (although as stated above, Saini functional disclose the features of “search operation for the dataset using the transformed set of query embeddings” (Saini, e.g., [0025-0028]).
However Galli, in an analogous art, discloses “search operation for the dataset using the transformed set of query embeddings” (Galli, e.g., [0015-0016], “... a plurality of resource vectors related to a list of resources, receiving, at a server, a query from a user, embedding, by the sentence transformer, a query vector based on the query, generating similarity scores between the query and the list of resources, and determining, from the list of resources, one or more probable answers to the query based on the similarity scores...” and further see [0044], [0056], [0066-0067], “...system can vectorize it via embedding to generate vectorized query embeddings...first sentence transformer can generate first query vector, second sentence transformer 206 can generate a second query vector 214, and a third sentence transformer 208 can generate a third query vector...). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art BEFORE the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Galli and Saini to searches for content containing the same or similar keywords as the search query and retrieve relevant answers to archiving in improving a search engine in handling search queries (Galli, e.g., [0002-0004]).
To further clarify the features of “applying a set of weight values of a transformation data structure to a set of query embeddings generated based on the query”
However Freese, in an analogous art, discloses “applying a set of weight values of a transformation data structure to a set of query embeddings generated based on the query” (Freese, e.g., [0005], [0023-0024], “… value of a parameter negatively impacts other parameters… he values of the set of parameters to determine tradeoff point of each parameter, wherein the tradeoff point of a parameter occurs when updating the value of the parameter negatively impacts other parameters in the set of parameters, determining one or more weights to apply to the machine learning model based on the tradeoff points of the set of parameters…” and further see [0046], “… parameters representing objectives may be set numerical values or a range of values. Match results of match engine 130 that meet these parameter values representing objectives are presented to the user…”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art BEFORE the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Freese, Galli and Saini to determined one or more weights and applies them to the machine learning model for a search query corresponding to the service (Freese, e.g., [abstract]).
As per as claim 2, the combination of Freese, Galli and Saini disclose:
(Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further
configured to:
select the transformation data structure from a plurality of transformation data structure based on the query (Saini, e.g., [0038-0041], “... selected by the specific user who submitted the input query... adding text to the input query 104 that identifies the location of the user, and then transforming the thus-augmented query into a query embedding...” and [0066-0067]).
As per as claim 3, the combination of Freese, Galli and Saini disclose:
(Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the dataset further comprises a corpus
of text data encoded in the first embeddings space (Saini, e.g., [0025-0028], “...input query to a first lookup vector, and then uses the first lookup vector to identify a first metadata embedding...” and [0079-0080], “... input query into a query embedding...using a first set of training examples...the query embedding being a vector in a first vector space...”).
As per as claim 4, the combination of Freese, Galli and Saini disclose:
(Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the dataset further comprises a corpus
of non-text data encoded in the first embeddings space (Saini, e.g., [0025-0028], “...input query to a first lookup vector, and then uses the first lookup vector to identify a first metadata embedding...” and [0079-0080], “... input query into a query embedding...using a first set of training examples...the query embedding being a vector in a first vector space...”) (the examiner asserts input video, image, audio which is equivalent of non-text).
As per as claim 5, the combination of Freese, Galli and Saini disclose:
(Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further
configured to: generate a set of query embeddings based on the query (Saini, e.g., [0025-0028], (set of queries)).
As per as claim 6, the combination of Freese, Galli and Saini disclose:
(Original) The system of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are further
configured to: apply the transformation data structure to the set of query embeddings by multiplying a set of weight values stored in the transformation data structure by each embedding in the set of query embeddings (Saini, e.g., [0022-0024], “...executing a task using machine-trained weights that are produced in a training operation... “weight” refers to any type of parameter value that is iteratively produced by the training operation... “embedding” refers to a vector in a vector space... , a query encoder 106 transforms the input query 104 into a query embedding E.sub.Q....” and further see [0059-0062]) and further see (Freese, e.g., [0005], [0023-0024], “… value of a parameter negatively impacts other parameters… he values of the set of parameters to determine tradeoff point of each parameter, wherein the tradeoff point of a parameter occurs when updating the value of the parameter negatively impacts other parameters in the set of parameters, determining one or more weights to apply to the machine learning model based on the tradeoff points of the set of parameters…” and further see [0046], “… parameters representing objectives may be set numerical values or a range of values. Match results of match engine 130 that meet these parameter values representing objectives are presented to the user…”).
As per as claim 7, the combination of Freese, Galli and Saini disclose:
(Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further
configured to: train the transformation data structure using a training dataset different from the query (Saini, e.g., [0024-028], “...trained using different respective sets of training... embeddings identified by different models, and the manner in which the query-augmenting component 110 combines the different embeddings into an augmented embedding... first metadata model 202 (M1) transforms the input query 104 to a first lookup vector 204, and then uses the first lookup vector 204 to identify a first metadata embedding E.sub.M1 in a first metadata vector space 206. A second metadata model 208 (M2) transforms the input query 104 into a second lookup vector 210, and then uses the second lookup vector 210 to identify a second metadata embedding...”).
As per as claim 8, the combination of Freese, Galli and Saini disclose:
(Original) The system of claim 7, wherein the training dataset comprises ground
truth data mapping the second embeddings space to the first embeddings space (Saini, e.g., [0024-028], “...different embeddings into an augmented embedding... first metadata model 202 (M1) transforms the input query 104 to a first lookup vector 204, and then uses the first lookup vector 204 to identify a first metadata embedding E.sub.M1 in a first metadata vector space 206. A second metadata model 208 (M2) transforms the input query 104 into a second lookup vector 210, and then uses the second lookup vector 210 to identify a second metadata embedding...”).
As per as claim 9, the combination of Freese, Galli and Saini disclose:
(Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further
configured to: provide a set of query results responsive to executing the query (Saini, e.g., [0025-0030], “... The metadata-generating system 108 includes one more metadata engines (120, . . . , 122). The metadata engines (120, . . . , 122) use respective metadata models to transform queries into lookup vectors in different respective vector spaces, and then use the lookup vectors to identify matching metadata embedding... the quality of search results... produces output results that have some predefined relationship with the output results ...”).
Claims 10-18 are essentially the same as claims 1-9 except that they set forth the claimed invention as a method rather a system, respectively and correspondingly, therefore is rejected under the same reasons set forth in rejections of claims 1-9.
Claims 19-20 contain essentially the same subject matter as claims 1-2 and therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner respectfully reminds applicant of the broadest reasonable interpretation standard (See MPEP 2111), "During examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow." In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 367 F.3d 1359, 1369, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (The USPTO uses a different standard for construing claims than that used by district courts; during examination the USPTO must give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation.) In Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 75 USPQ2d 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court further elaborated on the “broadest reasonable interpretation" standard and recognized that “The Patent and Trademark Office (“PTO") determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction." Thus, when interpreting claims, the courts have held that Examiners should (1) interpret claim terms as broadly as their terms reasonably allows and (2) interpret claim phrases as broadly as their construction reasonably allows.
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/17/2026 with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by applicant's amendment to the claims. Applicant's newly amended features are taught implicitly, expressly, or impliedly by the prior art of record (See the new ground(s) of rejection set forth herein above).
The Examiner respectfully submits that, with respect to the totally newly amended subject matter, the Examiner respectfully cited proper paragraphs from cited reference to reject the claim in responsive to the newly amended, please refer to the corresponding section of the office action.
Additional Art Considered
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the Applicants’ disclosure.
The following patents and papers are cited to further show the state of the art at the time of Applicants’ invention with respect to maintain a dataset comprising a first set of embeddings corresponding to a first embeddings space and stored in association with a set of query results for the first set of embeddings and then train a transformation data structure using the first set of embeddings and the set of query results, further execute a search operation for the second embeddings space by applying the transformation data structure to a second set of embeddings corresponding to the first embeddings space.
a. Bengio et al. (US Patent 89,352,46, hereafter Bengio); “identifying Textual Terms In Response To A visual Query” discloses “ determining one or more textual terms in response to a visual query”.
Bengio also teaches obtaining a weight for the query term by applying the vector of image feature values to a respective image relevance vector for the query term, [claim 1, 8].
Bengio further weight or score is a relevance measure of the visual query to a respective textual term [col. 13, lines 40-55].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUAN A PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163