DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to the following communications: the Application filed December 30, 2024 and the information disclosure statement (IDS) filed December 30, 2024. This application is a CON of 17/819,724.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 11 and 17 are independent.
The present application is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 30, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Independent claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over independent claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 12,243,579.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant Application
US Patent 12,243,579
Comment
Claim 1 An apparatus, comprising:
a first pull-up sense amplifier;
a first pull-down sense amplifier;
a first pair of lines electrically connecting the first pull-up sense amplifier to the first pull-down sense amplifier;
a second pull-up sense amplifier;
a second pull-down sense amplifier; and
a second pair of lines including one or more wiring twists and electrically connecting the second pull-up sense amplifier to the second pull-down sense amplifier.
Claim 1. An apparatus, comprising:
a first sense amplifier comprising:
a first pull-up sense amplifier; and
a first pull-down sense amplifier;
a first pair of lines comprising electrically conductive material, the first pair of lines electrically connecting the first pull-up sense amplifier to the first pull-down sense amplifier;
a second sense amplifier adjacent to the first sense amplifier, the second sense amplifier comprising:
a second pull-up sense amplifier; and
a second pull-down sense amplifier; and a second pair of lines comprising electrically conductive material, the second pair of lines electrically connecting the second pull-up sense amplifier to the second pull-down sense amplifier, parallel running distances between lines of the first pair of lines and the second pair of lines equalized by a wiring twist of the first pair of lines and three wiring twists of the second pair of lines.
Note footnote1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okawa (US 2010/0002528).
Regarding independent claims 1, 11 and 17, Okawa discloses an apparatus (see e.g., FIGS. 2 and 5), comprising:
a first pull-up (FIG. 2: MP11) sense amplifier;
a first pull-down (MN11) sense amplifier;
a first pair of lines electrically connecting (see FIG. 5: pair of DT lines) the first pull-up sense amplifier to the first pull-down sense amplifier;
a second pull-up (FIG. 2: MP12) sense amplifier;
a second pull-down (MN12) sense amplifier; and
a second pair of lines including one or more wiring twists and electrically connecting (see FIG. 5: pair of DN lines) the second pull-up sense amplifier to the second pull-down sense amplifier.
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1, Okawa discloses the first pair of lines includes a wiring twist (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 1, Okawa discloses the one or more wiring twists of the second pair of lines includes three wiring twists (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 4, which depends from claim 1, Okawa discloses one wiring twist of the one or more wiring twists of the second pair of lines is between a pull-up sense amplifier region and a first pull- down sense amplifier region, the pull-up sense amplifier region including the first pull-up sense amplifier and the second pull-up sense amplifier, the first pull-down sense amplifier region including a first pull-down transistor of the second pull-down sense amplifier (FIGS. 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 4, Okawa discloses another wiring twist of the one or more wiring twists of the second pair of lines is between the pull-up sense amplifier region and a second pull- down sense amplifier region, the second pull-down sense amplifier region including a second pull-down transistor of the second pull-down sense amplifier (FIGS. 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 6, which depends from claim 1, Okawa discloses running distances between lines of the first pair of lines and the second pair of lines are equalized, at least partially, by the one or more wiring twists (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 7, which depends from claim 1, Okawa discloses running distances between lines of the first pair of lines and the second pair of lines are equalized by a wiring twist of the first pair of lines and the one or more wiring twists of the second pair of lines (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 12, which depends from claim 11, Okawa discloses one wiring twist of the one or more wiring twists is between the first region of pull-up sense amplifiers and the second region of pull-down sense amplifiers (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 13, which depends from claim 11, Okawa discloses one wiring twist of the one or more wiring twists is between the first region of pull-up sense amplifiers and a third region of pull-down sense amplifiers (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 14, which depends from claim 11, Okawa discloses one wiring twist of the one or more wiring twists is in the first region of the pull-up sense amplifiers (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 15, which depends from claim 11, Okawa discloses a first wiring twist of the one or more wiring twists is between the first region of pull-up sense amplifiers and the second region of pull-down sense amplifiers; a second writing twist of the one or more wiring twists is between the first region of pull-up sense amplifiers and a third region of pull-down sense amplifiers; and a third wiring twist of the one or more wiring is in the first region of pull-up sense amplifiers (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 16, which depends from claim 11, Okawa discloses the at least one wiring twist is in the first region of pull-up sense amplifiers (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 18, which depends from claim 17, Okawa discloses the two or more wiring twists are in a region of pull-up sense amplifiers including the pull-up sense amplifier (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 19, which depends from claim 17, Okawa discloses two wiring twists of the two or more wiring twists are outside a region of pull-up sense amplifiers including the pull-up sense amplifier (FIG. 5 along with FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 20, which depends from claim 17, Okawa discloses a second pull-up sense amplifier; a second pull-down sense amplifier; and a third line and a fourth line including at least one wiring twist therebetween and electrically connecting the second pull-up sense amplifier to the second pull-down sense amplifier (FIG. 5 along with FIG. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okawa (US 2010/0002528) in view of Lee et al. (US 10,658,014).
Regarding claim 8, Okawa teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Okawa further teaches digit lines electrically connected to gates of transistors of the first pull-down sense amplifier (FIGS. 2 and 5).
Okawa is silent with respect to pre-charge transistors electrically connected between the digit lines and drains of the transistors of the first pull-down sense amplifier.
Lee et al. teach the deficiencies in e.g., FIG. 5, PEQ(“H”) transistors (col. 20, lines 39-52: … the precharge voltage VBL in response to the equalizing signal PEQ of logic high) between VBL (claimed digital lines) and drains of the pull-down SA.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teaching of Lee et al. to the teaching of Okawa such that a sense amplifier, as taught by Okawa, utilizes a pre-charging transistor, as taught by Lee et al., for the purpose of performing pre-charging operation effectively in sensing operations.
Regarding claim 9, Okawa and Lee et al., as combined, teaches the limitations of claim 8.
Lee et al. further teach at least one isolation transistor electrically connected between the digit lines and the drains of the transistors of the first pull-down sense amplifier (see e.g., FIG. 5 and accompanying disclosure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of Lee et al. for the same purpose of performing pre-charging operation effectively in sensing operations
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SUNG IL CHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825
1 Re independent claims 1, 11 and 17, claims of US Patent recites all the claimed limitations. The various dependent claims are anticipated by/obvious in view of the conflicting patent.