DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a decompression unit configured to decompress a refrigerant in claims 1, 3, 6, and 9-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beckey (US 4,848,099).
As to claim 1, Beckey discloses a refrigeration cycle device comprising:
a decompression unit 13 configured to decompress a refrigerant;
an evaporator 14 configured to evaporate the decompressed refrigerant;
a pressure detector 17 configured to detect evaporator outlet pressure;
a temperature detector 16 configured to detect evaporator outlet temperature; and
a controller 18/20 configured to control an operation of the decompression unit 13,
wherein the controller 18/20 is configured to obtain a delayed outlet-side temperature by performing a delay process on the outlet-side temperature, and to control the decompression unit 13 by using the outlet-side pressure and the delayed outlet-side temperature (col. 1, lines 54-62); and
wherein the controller determines a superheat of the refrigerant using the outlet-side pressure and outlet side temperature, and decreases a degree of delay in the delay process in accordance with a decrease in superheat variation of the superheat per a predetermined reference time when the superheat is equal to or less than a reference high superheat (col. 4, lines 63-68; note that as variation decreases the unfiltered feedback loop with less delay is utilized).
As to claim 3, Beckey teaches a control where a decompression unit target throttle opening is controlled using the outlet side pressure and the delayed temperature (col. 2, lines 40-56).
As to claim 4, Beckey teaches performing a differential control in which an operation of the decompression unit 13 is controlled to reduce a difference between the superheat and a predetermined target super heat (shown in Fig. 2 as “setpoint value” for superheat).
As to claim 5, Beckey teaches performing the differential control when the claimed conditions exist (Fig. 2).
As to claims 6, 8-10, and 12, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as discussed in the rejections above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckey as applied above.
As to claim 11, Beckey does not explicitly teach parallel evaporation circuits as claimed. However, Official Notice is taken that such a circuit configuration is a common and typical feature of a refrigeration circuit that would have been obvious to use in conjunction with the circuit of Beckey for the purpose of providing separate cooling control to a plurality of zones.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Specifically, it is noted that Beckey teaches adjusting the degree of delay based on a rate of change of detected superheat, and thus does not include increasing a degree of delay in accordance with an increase in superheat.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN BRADFORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763