DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leibrook (2,863,405).
Leibrook, fig. 1, teaches a roofing shingle comprising:
a roofing material configured to be installed on a roof deck (“roof”, column 1, line 26),
wherein the roofing material comprises a top (exposed) surface and a bottom (unexposed) surface,
wherein the bottom surface comprises a fastener zone (zone zf is a reasonable representation of a region capable of locating nails); and
a patterned adhesive disposed over the bottom surface of the roofing material,
wherein the patterned adhesive (the line of adhesive squares D) is located within the fastener zone,
wherein the patterned adhesive comprises a pattern selected from the group consisting of three or more dashes (adhesive squares are essentially dashes, fig. 1), wherein the patterned adhesive is configured to contact a second roofing material installed on the roof deck, and
wherein the patterned adhesive is arranged to overlap at least one fastener within the fastener zone between the roofing material and the second roofing material when the roofing material is installed on the roof deck, col. 1, lines 26-50.
Annotated fig. 1
2. Leibrook teaches the roofing shingle of claim 1, Leibrook further teaching the fastener zone comprises a plurality of fines (granules are fines).
4. Leibrook teaches the roofing shingle of claim 1, Leibrook further teaching the patterned adhesive directly contacts at least a portion of the plurality of fines within the fastener zone without any intervening layer between the patterned adhesive and the plurality of fines, fig. 7.
6. Leibrook teaches the roofing shingle of claim 1, Leibrook further teaching an area including the patterned adhesive includes a length L and a width w, wherein the fastener zone includes a length and a width, and
wherein the width of the fastener zone is greater than the width of the area, annotated fig. 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leibrook.
Claims 7 and 9 – The claims recite an obvious method of using the shingle of claims 1, 2, and 4.
Claim 8 – The claim recites an obvious method of using the shingle of claim 5.
Claim 10 – The claims recite and obvious method of using the shingle of claim 1, except Leibrook does not expressly teach attaching the bottom surface of the second roofing material to the top surface of the first roofing material comprises inserting at least one fastener into the fastener zone of the top surface of the first roofing material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the bottom surface of the second roofing material to the top surface of the first roofing material by inserting at least one fastener into the fastener zone of the top surface of the first roofing material to keep the shingles from blowing off.
Claim 3 – is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leibrook in view of Aschenbeck (2017/0321423).
3. Leibrook does not expressly teach the fines comprises sand. Aschenbeck teaches fines comprise sand, para. 121. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the fines to comprise sand for cost effectiveness.
Claim 5 – is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leibrook in view of Jones (2007/0130863).
5. Leibrook does not expressly teach the adhesive is a fiberized adhesive. Jones teaches adhesive is a fiberized adhesive, abstract. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the adhesive to be fiberized adhesive for strength.
Conclusion
/DANIEL J KENNY/Examiner, Art Unit 3633