Response to Arguments
112(b) rejection set forth on 7/3/2025 has been withdrawn due to the amendments filed on 11/3/2025.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/3/2025 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive
The applicants representative initially contends that Vaisman doesn’t qualify as prior art under 35 U.S.C § 102(a)(1). However, the office respectfully disagrees. The office observes that item #4 clearly indicates that Vaisman “benefits of priority to provisional US patent application 63/214,431, filed on 6/24/2021, which overcomes the priority date of 4/11/2022”. The office further notes that the provisional application contains information substantially similar to that found in the figures and specification of publication 2022/0412624 A1, thereby allowing Vaisman to benefit from the filing date of 6/24/2021.
Secondly, the applicant’s representative argued that the outstanding rejections of claims 1, 8 and 16 are improper due to “cherry picking different features from different embodiments. However, the office disagrees. The office notes each independent claim is treated on its own merits, regardless of how the other independent claims are rejected. The office notes independent claim 1 was rejected using figures 2 and 5 of Vaisman. However, with respect to paragraph [0140], TMS 500 and TMS 100-300 exhibit structural and functional similarities, thus representing a similar embodiment. Similarly, claims 8 and 16 were both rejected using figure 4, therefore, the arguments presented are not persuasive.
Lastly applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vaisman (U.S 2022/0412624 A1).
In regards to Claim 1, Vaisman discloses a two-phase coolant loop for cooling one or more heat-generating components (Fig.2 & 5, #200/500, the office notes that the components included in #200 are the same for #500 (with additional components)), the coolant loop comprising: a pump (Fig.5, #504 and paragraph [0141], furthermore, the office notes that the pump can be including in the configuration #200, see paragraph [0140]) configured to urge a coolant to circulate through the coolant loop (Fig.2 & 5, #504 is used to circulate fluid through the coolant loop to cool the one or more heat sources); a distribution manifold (Annotated Fig.2, liquid manifold) fluidly coupled with the pump to receive the coolant from the pump (Fig.2, liquid manifold is fluidly connected to #504); a plurality cooling branches (Fig.2, multiple evaporators #116 each coupled to a heat source #118) fluidly coupled with the manifold to receive the coolant from the distribution manifold (Fig.2, receive coolant from the liquid manifold), each branch having a flow-regulator (Fig.2, #114, see paragraphs [0080-0081]) and a cooling node (Fig.2, #116) configured to transfer heat from a heat source (Fig.2, #118) to the coolant passing through the corresponding cooling branch (Paragraph [0107-0110], which discloses regulating the flow rate), wherein each flow-regulator limits a flow-rate of coolant through the corresponding branch, proportionately balancing to proportionately balance a flow-rate of coolant among the plurality of cooling branches (Fig.2, valves are used to balance a flow rate of coolant amount the plurality of cooling branches to ensure proper cooling is provided to each heat source and furthermore, the office notes the following limitation as intended use, and therefore notes that the flow regulators #114 are capable of balancing a flow rate among the cooling branches), wherein the coolant passing through at least one of the cooling nodes is so configured that coolant passing therethrough boils, generating a saturated mixture of vapor-phase and liquid-phase coolant (Fig.2 & 5 and paragraph [0094]); a collection manifold (Annotated Fig.2, collection manifold) fluidly coupled with each in the plurality of cooling branches to receive a flow of heated coolant in a liquid-phase or a saturated mixture of vapor-phase and liquid-phase from each of the cooling branches (Fig.2) and to combine the received flows into a flow of heated coolant (Fig.2); a condenser (Fig.2, #106) fluidly coupled with the collection manifold to receive the flow of heated coolant, the condenser being configured to reject heat from the heated coolant and to condense the heated coolant to a sub-cooled liquid phase (Fig.2 and paragraph [0096], discloses the heated coolant received at the #106 and condense to a sub cooled liquid phase); and a fluid coupling from the condenser to the pump such that the pump is configured to receive the sub-cooled liquid phase of coolant (Fig.2 and 5, #504 is placed such that it received the sub cooled liquid phase of the coolant prior to cooling said heat sources).
Annotated Figure 2 of Vaisman:
In regards to Claim 8, Vaisman discloses a two-phase coolant loop for cooling one or more heat-generating components, the coolant loop comprising: a compressor (Fig.4, #104) configured to urge a flow of coolant to circulate through the coolant loop (Fig.4, #104 urges coolant to fluid through the coolant loop #500); a condenser (Fig.4, #106) fluidly coupled with the compressor to receive the flow of coolant from the compressor (Fig.4), the condenser being configured to reject heat from the coolant and to condense the heated coolant to a sub-cooled liquid phase (Fig.4, #106 and paragraph [0092]); an expansion valve (Fig.4, #114 paragraph [0081]) and a fluid coupling from the condenser to the expansion valve such that the expansion valve is configured to receive condensed coolant (Fig.4, #114 received the condensed coolant from #106), the expansion valve configured to adjust a pressure of the condensed coolant to a saturation pressure (paragraph [0082]); a distribution manifold (Fig.4, liquid manifold) fluidly coupled with the expansion valve to receive the saturated coolant from the expansion valve (Fig.4); a plurality of cooling branches (Fig.4, cold pates 1-N) fluidly coupled with the manifold to receive the coolant from the distribution manifold (Fig.4), each branch having a flow-regulator (Fig.4, control valve 1-N) and a cooling node (Fig.4, #116) configured to transfer heat from a heat source to the saturated coolant passing through the corresponding cooling branch (Fig.4 and paragraph [0074]), wherein each flow-regulator limits a flow-rate of saturated coolant through the corresponding branch (Paragraph [0107-0110], which discloses regulating the flow rate), proportionately balancing to proportionately balance a flow-rate of saturated coolant among the plurality of cooling branches (Fig.4, valves are used to balance a flow rate of coolant amount the plurality of cooling branches to ensure proper cooling is provided to each heat source and furthermore, the office notes the following limitation as intended use, and therefore notes that the flow regulators #114 are capable of balancing a flow rate among the cooling branches), wherein the coolant exhausts from each cooling node is so configured that the coolant exhausts therefrom as a saturated mixture of vapor-phase and liquid-phase coolant (Fig.4 and paragraph [0094]); a collection manifold (Fig.4 #124 in conjunction with vapor manifold) fluidly coupled with each in the plurality of cooling branches to receive a flow of heated coolant from each of the cooling branches (Fig.4) and to combine the received flows into a flow of heated coolant; and a fluid coupling from the collection manifold to the compressor such that the compressor is configured to receive flow of heated coolant (Fig.4, #104 is connected to the collection manifold, see paragraph [0094-0096]).
In regards to Claim 15, Vaisman discloses the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 1, further comprising an accumulator (Fig.2, #124 which is a suction accumulator) configured to regulate, in cooperation with the pump (Fig.5, #504), a thermodynamic state of the coolant entering a selected one or more of the cooling nodes (paragraph [0094], which discloses the accumulator configured to regulate and assist the state of the coolant entering the one or more cooling nodes, by assisting in the coolant being in the correct thermodynamic state for proper cooling).
In regards to Claim 16, Vaisman discloses the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 8, further comprising an accumulator (Fig.4, #124 which is a suction accumulator) configured to regulate, in cooperation with the compressor (Fig.4, #104), a thermodynamic state of the coolant entering a selected one or more of the cooling nodes (paragraph [0094], which discloses the accumulator configured to regulate and assist the state of the coolant entering the one or more cooling nodes, by assisting in the coolant being in the correct thermodynamic state for proper cooling).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaisman (U.S 2022/0412624 A1) in view of Lyon (U.S 2013/0025818 A1).
In regards to Claim 2, Vaisman disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 1, wherein the cooling node (Fig.2, #116) corresponding to the at least one the cooling branches comprises a cold plate (Fig.2 and #116 is consider a cold plate, see paragraph [0074 & 0138] configured to receive heat generated by the heat-generating electronic device (Paragraph [0094]).
Vaisman fails to explicitly disclose: Wherein at least one of the heat-generating components comprises a server and wherein the heat source comprises a heat-generating electronic device in the server, wherein at least one of the cooling branches extends into, through, and out-from the server.
However, Lyon discloses: Wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a server (Lyon, Fig.1-2, #112a) and wherein the heat source comprises a heat- generating electronic device in the server (Lyon, Fig.2, #112a includes processors which is consider the heat source), wherein at least one of the cooling branches extends into, through, and out-from the server (Lyon, Fig.1-2), and wherein the cooling node (Fig.2, #120a) corresponding to the at least one the cooling branches comprises a cold plate (Fig.2 and 6, #120 is consider a cold plate), configured to receive heat generated by the heat-generating electronic device (Lyon, Fig.2 and paragraphs [0071-0072], which discloses #120a received heat from the processor and transfers said heat to the coolant, as such the office notes that with the combination of Vaisman in view of Lyon, the one or more heat generating components coupled to a cold plate for heat dissipation (as taught by Vaisman) would be modified such that the one or more heat generating components are servers (as taught by Lyon) to dissipate heat generated via the components of said server).
Therefore, MPEP 2143.02 (I) notes that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention could have combined and/or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination and/or modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. As such, by modifying one heat source with another heat source would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Vaisman and Lyon both disclose cooling a plurality of heat generating components using one or more cold plates (See MPEP 2143.02, citing, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
In regards to Claim 3, Vaisman in view of Lyon disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 2, wherein the heat-generating electronic device comprises processing unit, a memory device, or both (Lyon, Fig.2, #120a is over a processor unit, see paragraph [0051]).
In regards to Claim 4, Vaisman disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 1.
Vaisman fails to disclose: Wherein at least one of the heat-generating components comprises a plurality of rack-mounted servers, each server the plurality of rack-mounted servers having one or more heat-generating electronic devices, wherein at least one of the cooling branches extends into, through, and out from one or more of the servers, and wherein the cooling node corresponding to the at least one of the cooling branches comprises a cold plate configured to receive heat generated by at least one of the one or more heat-generating electronic devices corresponding to each of the one or more of the servers.
However, Lyon discloses: Wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a plurality of rack-mounted servers (Fig.2 and 6, #112a-n), each server the plurality of rack-mounted servers having one or more heat-generating electronic devices (Fig.2, #112a have one or more components), wherein at least one of the cooling branches extends into, through, and out from one or more of the servers (Fig.1-2), and wherein the cooling node (Fig.2, #120a/b) corresponding to the at least one of the cooling branches comprises a cold plate configured to receive heat generated by at least one of the one or more heat-generating electronic devices corresponding to each of the one or more of the servers device (Fig.2 and paragraphs [0071-0072], which discloses #120a/b received heat from the processor’s and transfers said heat to the coolant, as such the office notes that with the combination of Vaisman in view of Lyon, the one or more heat generating components coupled to a cold plate for heat dissipation (as taught by Vaisman) would be modified such that the one or more heat generating components are servers (as taught by Lyon) to dissipate heat generated via the components of said servers).
Therefore, MPEP 2143.02 (I) notes that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention could have combined and/or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination and/or modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. As such, by modifying one heat source with another heat source would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Vaisman and Lyon both disclose cooling a plurality of heat generating components using one or more cold plates (See MPEP 2143.02, citing, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
In regards to Claim 5, Vaisman in view of Lyon disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 4, wherein the at least one of the cooling branches comprises a plurality of cooling branches, wherein each of the plurality of cooling branches extends into, through, and out-from a corresponding one of the plurality of rack-mounted servers (Lyon, Fig.2, which discloses the cooling branch comprises a plurality of cooling branches (multiple processors) which extend through the server #112a and out of said server).
In regards to Claim 9, Vaisman disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 8, wherein the cooling node corresponding to the at least one the cooling branches comprises a cold plate configured to receive heat generated by the heat-generating electronic device (Fig.4, #116 is a cold plate which is configured to received heat from #118).
Vaisman fails to disclose: Wherein at least one of the heat-generating components comprises a server and wherein the heat source comprises a heat-generating electronic device in the server, wherein at least one of the cooling branches extends into, through, and out-from the server.
However, Lyon discloses: Wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a server (Lyon, Fig.1-2, #112a) and wherein the heat source comprises a heat- generating electronic device in the server (Lyon, Fig.2, #112a includes processors which is consider the heat source), wherein at least one of the cooling branches extends into, through, and out-from the server (Lyon, Fig.1-2), and wherein the cooling node (Fig.2, #120a) corresponding to the at least one the cooling branches comprises a cold plate (Fig.2 and 6, #120 is consider a cold plate) configured to receive heat generated by the heat-generating electronic device (Lyon, Fig.2 and paragraphs [0071-0072], which discloses #120a received heat from the processor and transfers said heat to the coolant as such the office notes that with the combination of Vaisman in view of Lyon, the one or more heat generating components coupled to a cold plate for heat dissipation (as taught by Vaisman) would be modified such that the one or more heat generating components are servers (as taught by Lyon) to dissipate heat generated via the components of said server).
Therefore, MPEP 2143.02 (I) notes that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention could have combined and/or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination and/or modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. As such, by modifying one heat source with another heat source would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Vaisman and Lyon both disclose cooling a plurality of heat generating components using one or more cold plates (See MPEP 2143.02, citing, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
In regards to Claim 10, Vaisman in view of Lyon disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 9, wherein the heat-generating electronic device comprises processing unit, a memory device, or both (Lyon, Fig.2, #120a is over a processor unit, see paragraph [0051]).
In regards to Claim 11, Vaisman disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 8.
Vaisman fails to disclose: wherein at least one of the heat-generating components comprises a plurality of rack-mounted servers, each server the plurality of rack-mounted servers having one or more heat-generating electronic devices, wherein at least one of the cooling branches extends into, through, and out from one or more of the servers, and wherein the cooling node corresponding to the at least one of the cooling branches comprises a cold plate configured to receive heat generated by at least one of the one or more heat-generating electronic devices corresponding to each of the one or more of the servers.
However, Lyon discloses: Wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a plurality of rack-mounted servers (Lyon, Fig.2 and 6, #112a-n), each server the plurality of rack-mounted servers having one or more heat-generating electronic devices (Lyon Fig.2, #112a have one or more components), wherein at least one of the cooling branches extends into, through, and out from one or more of the servers (Lyon, Fig.1-2), and wherein the cooling node (Lyon, Fig.2, #120a/b) corresponding to the at least one of the cooling branches comprises a cold plate configured to receive heat generated by at least one of the one or more heat-generating electronic devices corresponding to each of the one or more of the servers device (Lyon, Fig.2 and paragraphs [0071-0072], which discloses #120a/b received heat from the processor’s and transfers said heat to the coolant as such the office notes that with the combination of Vaisman in view of Lyon, the one or more heat generating components coupled to a cold plate for heat dissipation (as taught by Vaisman) would be modified such that the one or more heat generating components are servers (as taught by Lyon) to dissipate heat generated via the components of said server).
Therefore, MPEP 2143.02 (I) notes that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention could have combined and/or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination and/or modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. As such, by modifying one heat source with another heat source would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Vaisman and Lyon both disclose cooling a plurality of heat generating components using one or more cold plates (See MPEP 2143.02, citing, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
In regards to Claim 12, Vaisman in view of Lyon disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 11, wherein the at least one of the cooling branches comprises a plurality of cooling branches, wherein each of the plurality of cooling branches extends into, through, and out-from a corresponding one of the plurality of rack-mounted servers (Lyon, Fig.2, which discloses the cooling branch comprises a plurality of cooling branches (multiple processors) which extend through the server #112a and out of said server).
Claims 6-7 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaisman (U.S 2022/0412624 A1) and in view of Fried (U.S 2008/0259566 A1).
In regards to Claim 6, Vaisman disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 1.
Vaisman fail to disclose: Wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a plurality of rack-mounted servers and wherein the heat source comprises a secondary cooling loop configured to remove heat from the plurality of rack-mounted servers by circulating a secondary cooling medium through the secondary cooling loop, wherein the coolant comprises a primary cooling medium and the cooling node configured to transfer heat from the heat source comprises an evaporator configured to transfer heat from the secondary cooling medium to the primary cooling medium.
However, Fried discloses: Wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a plurality of rack-mounted servers (Fig.16-20) and wherein the heat source (Fig.20) comprises a secondary cooling loop (Fig.18-20, #203, which discloses a second cooling loop) configured to remove heat from the plurality of rack-mounted servers by circulating a secondary cooling medium through the secondary cooling loop (Fig.18-20 and paragraph [0119], which discloses cooling medium cooling the heat source), wherein the coolant comprises a primary cooling medium (Fig.19-20, #220/222) and the cooling node (Fig.18-20, #214) configured to transfer heat from the heat source comprises an evaporator (Fig.18-20, #214) configured to transfer heat from the secondary cooling medium to the primary cooling medium (Fig.20, #202 primary cooling loop cools the secondary cooling loop via #203, as such the office notes that with the combination of Vaisman in view of Fried, the one or more heat generating components (as taught by Vaisman) would be modified to include a separate cooling loop which is cooled by a primary cooling loop (as taught by Fried) to cool the heat source within the one or more heat generating components).
Therefore, MPEP 2143.02 (I) notes that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Invention could have combined and/or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination and/or modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. As such, by changing a single cooling loop with a dual cooling loop system would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Vaisman in view of Fried both discloses in combination cooling electronic components via liquid coolant (See KSR, citing, Int’l Co, v. Teleflex Inc, 550 U.S. 398, 82 U3PQ2d 1385 (2007)).
In regards to Claim 7, Vaisman disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 1.
Vaisman fail to disclose: wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a server having one or more heat-generating electronic devices, and wherein the heat source comprises a secondary cooling loop configured to remove heat from the one or more heat-generating electronic devices by circulating a secondary cooling medium through the secondary cooling loop, wherein the coolant comprises a primary cooling medium and the cooling node configured to transfer heat from the heat source comprises an evaporator configured to transfer heat from the secondary cooling medium to the primary cooling medium.
However, Fried discloses: Wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a plurality of rack-mounted servers (Fig.16-20) and wherein the heat source (Fig.20) comprises a secondary cooling loop (Fig.18-20, #203, which discloses a second cooling loop) configured to remove heat from the plurality of rack-mounted servers by circulating a secondary cooling medium through the secondary cooling loop (Fig.18-20 and paragraph [0119], which discloses cooling medium cooling the heat source), wherein the coolant comprises a primary cooling medium (Fig.19-20, #220/222) and the cooling node (Fig.18-20, #214) configured to transfer heat from the heat source comprises an evaporator (Fig.18-20, #214) configured to transfer heat from the secondary cooling medium to the primary cooling medium (Fig.20, #202 primary cooling loop cools the secondary cooling loop via #203, as such the office notes that with the combination of Vaisman in view of Fried, the one or more heat generating components (as taught by Vaisman) would be modified to include a separate cooling loop which is cooled by a primary cooling loop (as taught by Fried) to cool the heat source within the one or more heat generating components).
Therefore, MPEP 2143.02 (I) notes that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Invention could have combined and/or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination and/or modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. As such, by changing a single cooling loop with a dual cooling loop system would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Vaisman in view of Fried both discloses in combination cooling electronic components via liquid coolant (See KSR, citing, Int’l Co, v. Teleflex Inc, 550 U.S. 398, 82 U3PQ2d 1385 (2007)).
In regards to Claim 13, Vaisman disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 8.
Vaisman fail to disclose: wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a server having one or more heat-generating electronic devices, and wherein the heat source comprises a secondary cooling loop configured to remove heat from the one or more heat-generating electronic devices by circulating a secondary cooling medium through the secondary cooling loop, wherein the coolant comprises a primary cooling medium and the cooling node configured to transfer heat from the heat source comprises an evaporator configured to transfer heat from the secondary cooling medium to the primary cooling medium.
However, Fried discloses: Wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a plurality of rack-mounted servers (Fig.16-20) and wherein the heat source (Fig.20) comprises a secondary cooling loop (Fig.18-20, #203, which discloses a second cooling loop) configured to remove heat from the plurality of rack-mounted servers by circulating a secondary cooling medium through the secondary cooling loop (Fig.18-20 and paragraph [0119], which discloses cooling medium cooling the heat source), wherein the coolant comprises a primary cooling medium (Fig.19-20, #220/222) and the cooling node (Fig.18-20, #214) configured to transfer heat from the heat source comprises an evaporator (Fig.18-20, #214) configured to transfer heat from the secondary cooling medium to the primary cooling medium (Fig.20, #202 primary cooling loop cools the secondary cooling loop via #203, as such the office notes that with the combination of Vaisman in view of Fried, the one or more heat generating components (as taught by Vaisman) would be modified to include a separate cooling loop which is cooled by a primary cooling loop (as taught by Fried) to cool the heat source within the one or more heat generating components).
Therefore, MPEP 2143.02 (I) notes that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Invention could have combined and/or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination and/or modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. As such, by changing a single cooling loop with a dual cooling loop system would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Vaisman in view of Fried both discloses in combination cooling electronic components via liquid coolant (See KSR, citing, Int’l Co, v. Teleflex Inc, 550 U.S. 398, 82 U3PQ2d 1385 (2007)).
In regards to Claim 14, Vaisman disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 8.
Vaisman fail to disclose: wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a server having one or more heat-generating electronic devices, and wherein the heat source comprises a secondary cooling loop configured to remove heat from the one or more heat-generating electronic devices by circulating a secondary cooling medium through the secondary cooling loop, wherein the coolant comprises a primary cooling medium and the cooling node configured to transfer heat from the heat source comprises an evaporator configured to transfer heat from the secondary cooling medium to the primary cooling medium.
However, Fried discloses: Wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a plurality of rack-mounted servers (Fig.16-20) and wherein the heat source (Fig.20) comprises a secondary cooling loop (Fig.18-20, #203, which discloses a second cooling loop) configured to remove heat from the plurality of rack-mounted servers by circulating a secondary cooling medium through the secondary cooling loop (Fig.18-20 and paragraph [0119], which discloses cooling medium cooling the heat source), wherein the coolant comprises a primary cooling medium (Fig.19-20, #220/222) and the cooling node (Fig.18-20, #214) configured to transfer heat from the heat source comprises an evaporator (Fig.18-20, #214) configured to transfer heat from the secondary cooling medium to the primary cooling medium (Fig.20, #202 primary cooling loop cools the secondary cooling loop via #203, as such the office notes that with the combination of Vaisman in view of Fried, the one or more heat generating components (as taught by Vaisman) would be modified to include a separate cooling loop which is cooled by a primary cooling loop (as taught by Fried) to cool the heat source within the one or more heat generating components).
Therefore, MPEP 2143.02 (I) notes that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Invention could have combined and/or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination and/or modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. As such, by changing a single cooling loop with a dual cooling loop system would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Vaisman in view of Fried both discloses in combination cooling electronic components via liquid coolant (See KSR, citing, Int’l Co, v. Teleflex Inc, 550 U.S. 398, 82 U3PQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835