Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 4/20/2026 have been considered, but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection set forth.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/6/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Sato was disclosed in the IDS filed on 5/6/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (WO 2017051525 A1).
In regards to Claim 8, Sato discloses a two-phase coolant loop for cooling one or more heat- generating components (Fig.9), the coolant loop comprising: a compressor (Fig.9. #710) configured to urge a flow of coolant to circulate through the coolant loop (Fig.9); a condenser (Fig.9. #300) fluidly coupled with the compressor to receive the flow of coolant from the compressor (Fig.9, abstract), the condenser being configured to reject heat from the coolant and to condense the heated coolant to a sub-cooled liquid phase (Fig.9 and abstract); an expansion valve (Fig.9, #720) and a fluid coupling from the condenser to the expansion valve such that the expansion valve is configured to receive condensed coolant (Fig.9, #300 precede the expansion valve, such that the valve received condensed coolant), the expansion valve configured to adjust a pressure of the condensed coolant to a saturation pressure (Fig.9 “the expansion valve 720 is disposed in the middle of the liquid pipe 420 and reduces the pressure of the liquid-phase refrigerant 600 that passes through the liquid pipe 420. By reducing the pressure of the refrigerant 600 in the liquid phase state, the evaporator 200 is easily evaporated, and heat absorption is promoted”); a distribution manifold (Fig.9, the office interprets the manifold to be after #720 and before each of the valves #510a-510d) fluidly coupled with the expansion valve (Fig.9) to receive the saturated coolant from the expansion valve (Fig.9); a plurality of cooling branches (Fig.9, each output from the manifold is connected to a cooling branch (#220a-d/200a-d/411a-d/510a-d, in conjunction make up each cooling branch) fluidly coupled with the distribution manifold to receive the coolant from the distribution manifold (Fig.9), each branch having a flow-regulator (Fig.9, #510a-d) and a cooling node (Fig.9, #200a) configured to transfer heat from a heat source to the saturated coolant passing through the corresponding cooling branch (Fig.9 and “Each of the four evaporators 200a-200d includes an evaporator upper header 210a-210d, an evaporator lower header 220a-220d, and an evaporator fin tube 230a-230d. The evaporators 200a to 200d are arranged to face one or a plurality of electronic devices (not shown in FIG. 9)”), wherein each flow-regulator is configured to automatically and proportionately balance a flow-rate of saturated coolant among the plurality of cooling branches (Fig.9 and “The flow rate control means 500B includes four valves 510a to 510d, a pressure sensor 520, four temperature sensors 530a to 530d, and a flow rate setting unit 540B (not shown in FIG. 9). Valves 510a to 510d are disposed in the liquid branch pipes 421a to 421d, respectively, and adjust the liquid amount of the liquid phase refrigerant 600 that flows into the evaporators 200a to 200d in accordance with the set opening degree V. The flow rate setting unit 540B individually sets the opening V of the valves 510a-510d based on the pressure measurement value P .sub.k input from the pressure sensor 520 and the temperature measurement values T .sub.k1 -T .sub.k4 input from the temperature sensors 530a-530d”), wherein each cooling node is so configured that the coolant exhausts therefrom as a saturated mixture of vapor-phase and liquid-phase coolant (Fig.9, coolant heated from #200 would be in a saturated mix of vapor and liquid phase); a collection manifold (Fig.9, conduits connected before #710 and each input #411a-411d is consider as the collection manifold) fluidly coupled with each in the plurality of cooling branches to receive a flow of heated coolant from each of the cooling branches (Fig.9) and to combine the received flows into a flow of heated coolant (Fig.9, each output of the cooling branches are combined via the collection manifold); and a fluid coupling from the collection manifold to the compressor such that the compressor is configured to receive a flow of heated coolant (Fig.9, #710 is configured to received heated coolant from each of the cooling branches, and send said coolant to the condenser for cooling).
In regards to Claim 10, Sato discloses the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 9, wherein the heat-generating electronic device comprises processing unit, a memory device, or both (Fig.9, #800 is a server (“electronic device 800 such as a server to be cooled”), which includes a processing unit and memory to function).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (WO 2017051525 A1) in view of Lyon (U.S 2013/0025818 A1).
In regards to Claim 1, Sato discloses a two-phase coolant loop for cooling one or more heat- generating components, the coolant loop comprising: a pump (Fig.9, #710) configured to urge a coolant to circulate through the coolant loop (Fig.9. #710 is used to move the coolant within the coolant loop see in figure 9); a distribution manifold (Fig.9, the office interprets the manifold to be after #720 and before each of the valves #510a-510d) fluidly coupled with the pump (Fig.9) to receive the coolant from the pump (Fig.9); a plurality of cooling branches (Fig.9, each output from the manifold is connected to a cooling branch (#220a-d/200a-d/411a-d/510a-d, in conjunction make up each cooling branch) fluidly coupled with the distribution manifold to receive the coolant from the distribution manifold (Fig.9), each branch having a flow-regulator (Fig.9, #510a-d) and a cooling node (Fig.9, #200a) configured to transfer heat from a heat source to the coolant passing through the corresponding cooling branch (Fig.9 and “Each of the four evaporators 200a-200d includes an evaporator upper header 210a-210d, an evaporator lower header 220a-220d, and an evaporator fin tube 230a-230d. The evaporators 200a to 200d are arranged to face one or a plurality of electronic devices (not shown in FIG. 9)”), wherein each flow-regulator is configured to automatically and proportionately balance a flow-rate of saturated coolant among the plurality of cooling branches (Fig.9 and “The flow rate control means 500B includes four valves 510a to 510d, a pressure sensor 520, four temperature sensors 530a to 530d, and a flow rate setting unit 540B (not shown in FIG. 9). Valves 510a to 510d are disposed in the liquid branch pipes 421a to 421d, respectively, and adjust the liquid amount of the liquid phase refrigerant 600 that flows into the evaporators 200a to 200d in accordance with the set opening degree V. The flow rate setting unit 540B individually sets the opening V of the valves 510a-510d based on the pressure measurement value P .sub.k input from the pressure sensor 520 and the temperature measurement values T .sub.k1 -T .sub.k4 input from the temperature sensors 530a-530d”), wherein each cooling node is so configured that the coolant exhausts therefrom as a saturated mixture of vapor-phase and liquid-phase coolant (Fig.9, coolant heated from #200 would be in a saturated mix of vapor and liquid phase); a collection manifold (Fig.9, conduits connected before #710 and each input #411a-411d is consider as the collection manifold) fluidly coupled with each in the plurality of cooling branches to receive a flow of heated coolant from each of the cooling branches (Fig.9) and to combine the received flows into a flow of heated coolant (Fig.9, each output of the cooling branches are combined via the collection manifold); a condenser (Fig.9, #300) fluidly coupled with the collection manifold to receive the flow of heated coolant (Fig.9, #300 received heated coolant after passing through the plurality of cooling branches), the condenser being configured to reject heat from the heated coolant and to condense the heated coolant to a sub-cooled liquid phase (Fig.9 and “when the refrigerant 600 in the gas phase passes through the tubular body of the condenser 300, the heat of the refrigerant 600 is radiated to the outside air through the flat fins, and the refrigerant 600 changes in phase from the gas phase to the liquid phase”).
Sato fails to disclose: A fluid coupling from the condenser to the pump such that the pump is configured to receive the sub-cooled liquid phase of coolant.
However, Lyon discloses: A fluid coupling from the condenser to the pump such that the pump is configured to receive the sub-cooled liquid phase of coolant (Paragraphs [0022-0024 & 0079-0082], which discloses the pump can be placed after the heat exchanger to pump the sub-cooled coolant to the plurality of servers, as such the office notes that with the combination of Sato in view of Lyon, the pump positioned before the condenser to provide heated coolant (as taught by Sato) would be modified to be placed after the condenser (as taught by Lyon) to supply sub-cooled coolant to the plurality of cooling branches).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the pump positioned before the condenser to provide heated coolant (as taught by Sato) would be modified to be placed after the condenser (as taught by Lyon) to supply sub-cooled coolant to the plurality of cooling branches. By modifying the position of the pump to be after the condenser, would ensure sub-cooled liquid coolant is supplied to each of the cooling branches.
Furthermore, MPEP 2143.02 notes a rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art, such as modifying the position of the pump relative to the condenser would be within the purview of the one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed, as Lyon discloses placing the pump on either side of the heat exchanger to provide of flow of coolant throughout the loop (See MPEP 2143.02, citing, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 538, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007); Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976)).
In regards to Claim 2, Sato in view of Lyon discloses the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the heat-generating components comprises a server (Fig.9, #800 (not shown is a server), see (“electronic device 800 such as a server to be cooled”)) a server (Lyon, Fig.1-2, #112a) and wherein the heat source comprises a heat- generating electronic device in the server (Lyon, Fig.2, #112a includes processors which is consider the heat source), wherein at least one of the cooling branches extends into, through, and out-from the server (Lyon, Fig.1-2), and wherein the cooling node (Fig.2, #120a) corresponding to the at least one the cooling branches comprises a cold plate (Fig.2 and 6, #120 is consider a cold plate), configured to receive heat generated by the heat-generating electronic device (Lyon, Fig.2 and paragraphs [0071-0072], which discloses #120a received heat from the processor and transfers said heat to the coolant, as such the office notes that with the combination of Sato in view of Lyon, the one or more heat generating components coupled to an evaporator for heat dissipation (as taught by Sato) would be modified such that the one or more heat evaporators used to for heat dissipation would be cold plates (as taught by Lyon) to dissipate heat generated via the components of said server).
In regards to Claim 3, Sato in view of Lyon discloses the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 2, wherein the heat-generating electronic device comprises processing unit, a memory device, or both (Lyon, Fig.2, #120a is over a processor unit, see paragraph [0051]).
In regards to Claim 4, Sato in view of Lyon discloses the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a plurality of rack-mounted servers (Lyon, Fig.2 and 6, #112a-n), each server the plurality of rack-mounted servers having one or more heat-generating electronic devices (Lyon, Fig.2, #112a have one or more components), wherein at least one of the cooling branches extends into, through, and out from one or more of the servers (Lyon, Fig.1-2), and wherein the cooling node (Lyon, Fig.2, #120a/b) corresponding to the at least one of the cooling branches comprises a cold plate configured to receive heat generated by at least one of the one or more heat-generating electronic devices corresponding to each of the one or more of the servers device (Lyon, Fig.2 and paragraphs [0071-0072], which discloses #120a/b received heat from the processor’s and transfers said heat to the coolant).
In regards to Claim 5, Sato in view of Lyon disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 4, wherein the at least one of the cooling branches comprises a plurality of cooling branches, wherein each of the plurality of cooling branches extends into, through, and out-from a corresponding one of the plurality of rack-mounted servers (Lyon, Fig.2, which discloses the cooling branch comprises a plurality of cooling branches (multiple processors) which extend through the server #112a and out of said server).
In regards to Claim 9, Sato in view of Lyon discloses the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the heat-generating components comprises a server (Fig.9, #800 (not shown is a server, see “electronic device 800 such as a server to be cooled”)).
Sato fails to disclose: Wherein the heat source comprises a heat-generating electronic device in the server, wherein at least one of the cooling branches extends into, through, and out-from the server, and wherein the cooling node corresponding to the at least one the cooling branches comprises a cold plate configured to receive heat generated by the heat-generating electronic device.
Lyon discloses: Wherein at least one of the heat-generating components comprises a server (Lyon, Fig.1-2, #112a) and wherein the heat source comprises a heat- generating electronic device in the server (Lyon, Fig.2, #112a includes processors which is consider the heat source), wherein at least one of the cooling branches extends into, through, and out-from the server (Lyon, Fig.1-2), and wherein the cooling node (Fig.2, #120a) corresponding to the at least one the cooling branches comprises a cold plate (Fig.2 and 6, #120 is consider a cold plate), configured to receive heat generated by the heat-generating electronic device (Lyon, Fig.2 and paragraphs [0071-0072], which discloses #120a received heat from the processor and transfers said heat to the coolant, as such the office notes that with the combination of Sato in view of Lyon, the one or more heat generating components coupled to an evaporator for heat dissipation (as taught by Sato) would be modified such that the one or more heat evaporators used to for heat dissipation would be cold plates (as taught by Lyon) to dissipate heat generated via the components of said server).
Therefore, MPEP 2143.02 (I) notes that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention could have combined and/or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination and/or modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. As such, by modifying one heat source with another heat source would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Sato and Lyon both disclose cooling a plurality of heat generating components using one or more cold plates (See MPEP 2143.02, citing, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
In regards to Claim 10, Sato in view of Lyon disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 9, wherein the heat-generating electronic device comprises processing unit, a memory device, or both (Lyon, Fig.2, #120a is over a processor unit, see paragraph [0051]).
In regards to Claim 11, Sato disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 8.
Sato fails to disclose: wherein at least one of the heat-generating components comprises a plurality of rack-mounted servers, each server the plurality of rack-mounted servers having one or more heat-generating electronic devices, wherein at least one of the cooling branches extends into, through, and out from one or more of the servers, and wherein the cooling node corresponding to the at least one of the cooling branches comprises a cold plate configured to receive heat generated by at least one of the one or more heat-generating electronic devices corresponding to each of the one or more of the servers.
However, Lyon discloses: Wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a plurality of rack-mounted servers (Lyon, Fig.2 and 6, #112a-n), each server the plurality of rack-mounted servers having one or more heat-generating electronic devices (Lyon Fig.2, #112a have one or more components), wherein at least one of the cooling branches extends into, through, and out from one or more of the servers (Lyon, Fig.1-2), and wherein the cooling node (Lyon, Fig.2, #120a/b) corresponding to the at least one of the cooling branches comprises a cold plate configured to receive heat generated by at least one of the one or more heat-generating electronic devices corresponding to each of the one or more of the servers device (Lyon, Fig.2 and paragraphs [0071-0072], which discloses #120a/b received heat from the processor’s and transfers said heat to the coolant as such the office notes that with the combination of Sato in view of Lyon, the one or more heat generating components coupled to a cold plate for heat dissipation (as taught by Sato) would be modified such that the one or more heat generating components are servers (as taught by Lyon) to dissipate heat generated via the components of said server).
Therefore, MPEP 2143.02 (I) notes that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention could have combined and/or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination and/or modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. As such, by modifying one heat source with another heat source would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Sato and Lyon both disclose cooling a plurality of heat generating components using one or more cold plates (See MPEP 2143.02, citing, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
In regards to Claim 12, Sato in view of Lyon disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 11, wherein the at least one of the cooling branches comprises a plurality of cooling branches, wherein each of the plurality of cooling branches extends into, through, and out-from a corresponding one of the plurality of rack-mounted servers (Lyon, Fig.2, which discloses the cooling branch comprises a plurality of cooling branches (multiple processors) which extend through the server #112a and out of said server).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (WO 2017051525 A1) in view of Lyon (U.S 2013/0025818 A1) and further, in view of Fried (U.S 2008/0259566 A1).
In regards to Claim 6, Sato in view of Lyon disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 1.
Sato in view of Lyon fail to disclose: Wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a plurality of rack-mounted servers and wherein the heat source comprises a secondary cooling loop configured to remove heat from the plurality of rack-mounted servers by circulating a secondary cooling medium through the secondary cooling loop, wherein the coolant comprises a primary cooling medium and the cooling node configured to transfer heat from the heat source comprises an evaporator configured to transfer heat from the secondary cooling medium to the primary cooling medium.
However, Fried discloses: Wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a plurality of rack-mounted servers (Fig.16-20) and wherein the heat source (Fig.20) comprises a secondary cooling loop (Fig.18-20, #203, which discloses a second cooling loop) configured to remove heat from the plurality of rack-mounted servers by circulating a secondary cooling medium through the secondary cooling loop (Fig.18-20 and paragraph [0119], which discloses cooling medium cooling the heat source), wherein the coolant comprises a primary cooling medium (Fig.19-20, #220/222) and the cooling node (Fig.18-20, #214) configured to transfer heat from the heat source comprises an evaporator (Fig.18-20, #214) configured to transfer heat from the secondary cooling medium to the primary cooling medium (Fig.20, #202 primary cooling loop cools the secondary cooling loop via #203, as such the office notes that with the combination of Sato in view of Lyon and Fried, the one or more heat generating components (as taught by Sato) would be modified to include a separate cooling loop which is cooled by a primary cooling loop (as taught by Fried) to cool the heat source within the one or more heat generating components).
Therefore, MPEP 2143.02 (I) notes that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Invention could have combined and/or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination and/or modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. As such, by changing a single cooling loop with a dual cooling loop system would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Vaisman in view of Fried both discloses in combination cooling electronic components via liquid coolant (See KSR, citing, Int’l Co, v. Teleflex Inc, 550 U.S. 398, 82 U3PQ2d 1385 (2007)).
In regards to Claim 7, Sato in view of Lyon disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 1.
Sato in view of Lyon fail to disclose: wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a server having one or more heat-generating electronic devices, and wherein the heat source comprises a secondary cooling loop configured to remove heat from the one or more heat-generating electronic devices by circulating a secondary cooling medium through the secondary cooling loop, wherein the coolant comprises a primary cooling medium and the cooling node configured to transfer heat from the heat source comprises an evaporator configured to transfer heat from the secondary cooling medium to the primary cooling medium.
However, Fried discloses: Wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a plurality of rack-mounted servers (Fig.16-20) and wherein the heat source (Fig.20) comprises a secondary cooling loop (Fig.18-20, #203, which discloses a second cooling loop) configured to remove heat from the plurality of rack-mounted servers by circulating a secondary cooling medium through the secondary cooling loop (Fig.18-20 and paragraph [0119], which discloses cooling medium cooling the heat source), wherein the coolant comprises a primary cooling medium (Fig.19-20, #220/222) and the cooling node (Fig.18-20, #214) configured to transfer heat from the heat source comprises an evaporator (Fig.18-20, #214) configured to transfer heat from the secondary cooling medium to the primary cooling medium (Fig.20, #202 primary cooling loop cools the secondary cooling loop via #203, as such the office notes that with the combination of Sato in view of Lyon and Fried, the one or more heat generating components (as taught by Sato) would be modified to include a separate cooling loop which is cooled by a primary cooling loop (as taught by Fried) to cool the heat source within the one or more heat generating components).
Therefore, MPEP 2143.02 (I) notes that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Invention could have combined and/or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination and/or modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. As such, by changing a single cooling loop with a dual cooling loop system would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Sato in view of Fried both discloses in combination cooling electronic components via liquid coolant (See KSR, citing, Int’l Co, v. Teleflex Inc, 550 U.S. 398, 82 U3PQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (WO 2017051525 A1) in view of Fried (U.S 2008/0259566 A1).
In regards to Claim 13, Sato disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 8.
Sato fail to disclose: wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a server having one or more heat-generating electronic devices, and wherein the heat source comprises a secondary cooling loop configured to remove heat from the one or more heat-generating electronic devices by circulating a secondary cooling medium through the secondary cooling loop, wherein the coolant comprises a primary cooling medium and the cooling node configured to transfer heat from the heat source comprises an evaporator configured to transfer heat from the secondary cooling medium to the primary cooling medium.
However, Fried discloses: Wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a plurality of rack-mounted servers (Fig.16-20) and wherein the heat source (Fig.20) comprises a secondary cooling loop (Fig.18-20, #203, which discloses a second cooling loop) configured to remove heat from the plurality of rack-mounted servers by circulating a secondary cooling medium through the secondary cooling loop (Fig.18-20 and paragraph [0119], which discloses cooling medium cooling the heat source), wherein the coolant comprises a primary cooling medium (Fig.19-20, #220/222) and the cooling node (Fig.18-20, #214) configured to transfer heat from the heat source comprises an evaporator (Fig.18-20, #214) configured to transfer heat from the secondary cooling medium to the primary cooling medium (Fig.20, #202 primary cooling loop cools the secondary cooling loop via #203, as such the office notes that with the combination of Sato in view of Fried, the one or more heat generating components (as taught by Sato) would be modified to include a separate cooling loop which is cooled by a primary cooling loop (as taught by Fried) to cool the heat source within the one or more heat generating components).
Therefore, MPEP 2143.02 (I) notes that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Invention could have combined and/or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination and/or modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. As such, by changing a single cooling loop with a dual cooling loop system would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Sato in view of Fried both discloses in combination cooling electronic components via liquid coolant (See KSR, citing, Int’l Co, v. Teleflex Inc, 550 U.S. 398, 82 U3PQ2d 1385 (2007)).
In regards to Claim 14, Sato disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 8.
Sato fail to disclose: wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a server having one or more heat-generating electronic devices, and wherein the heat source comprises a secondary cooling loop configured to remove heat from the one or more heat-generating electronic devices by circulating a secondary cooling medium through the secondary cooling loop, wherein the coolant comprises a primary cooling medium and the cooling node configured to transfer heat from the heat source comprises an evaporator configured to transfer heat from the secondary cooling medium to the primary cooling medium.
However, Fried discloses: Wherein at least one of the heat- generating components comprises a plurality of rack-mounted servers (Fig.16-20) and wherein the heat source (Fig.20) comprises a secondary cooling loop (Fig.18-20, #203, which discloses a second cooling loop) configured to remove heat from the plurality of rack-mounted servers by circulating a secondary cooling medium through the secondary cooling loop (Fig.18-20 and paragraph [0119], which discloses cooling medium cooling the heat source), wherein the coolant comprises a primary cooling medium (Fig.19-20, #220/222) and the cooling node (Fig.18-20, #214) configured to transfer heat from the heat source comprises an evaporator (Fig.18-20, #214) configured to transfer heat from the secondary cooling medium to the primary cooling medium (Fig.20, #202 primary cooling loop cools the secondary cooling loop via #203, as such the office notes that with the combination of Sato in view of Fried, the one or more heat generating components (as taught by Sato) would be modified to include a separate cooling loop which is cooled by a primary cooling loop (as taught by Fried) to cool the heat source within the one or more heat generating components).
Therefore, MPEP 2143.02 (I) notes that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Invention could have combined and/or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination and/or modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. As such, by changing a single cooling loop with a dual cooling loop system would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Sato in view of Fried both discloses in combination cooling electronic components via liquid coolant (See KSR, citing, Int’l Co, v. Teleflex Inc, 550 U.S. 398, 82 U3PQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Claim 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (WO 2017051525 A1) in view of Lyon (U.S 2013/0025818 A1) and further, in view of Vaisman (U.S 2022/0412624 A1).
In regards to Claim 15, Sato in view of Lyon disclose the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 1.
Sato in view of Lyon fail to disclose: Further comprising an accumulator configured to regulate, in cooperation with the pump, a thermodynamic state of the coolant entering a selected one or more of the cooling nodes.
However, Vaisman discloses: Further comprising an accumulator (Fig.2, #124, which is a suction accumulator) configured to regulate, in cooperation with the pump (Fig.2, #104), a thermodynamic state of the coolant entering a selected one or more of the cooling nodes ((paragraph [0094], which discloses the accumulator configured to regulate and assist the state of the coolant entering the one or more cooling nodes, by assisting in the coolant being in the correct thermodynamic state for proper cooling, as such the office notes that with the combination of Sato in view of Lyon and Vaisman, the two phase coolant loop (as taught by Sato in view of Lyon) would be modified to include an accumulator (as taught by Vaisman) to help regulate the coolant within said system).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the two phase coolant loop (as taught by Sato in view of Lyon) to include an accumulator (as taught by Vaisman) to help regulate the coolant within said system. By utilizing an accumulator within the system, would help stabilize pressure, regulate temperature and protect components like a pump from unevaporated coolant which would damage said pump.
Claim 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (WO 2017051525 A1) in view of Vaisman (U.S 2022/0412624 A1).
In regards to Claim 16, Sato discloses the two-phase coolant loop according to claim 8.
Sato fails to disclose: Further comprising an accumulator configured to regulate, in cooperation with the pump, a thermodynamic state of the coolant entering a selected one or more of the cooling nodes.
However, Vaisman discloses: Further comprising an accumulator (Fig.2, #124, which is a suction accumulator) configured to regulate, in cooperation with the pump (Fig.2, #104), a thermodynamic state of the coolant entering a selected one or more of the cooling nodes ((paragraph [0094], which discloses the accumulator configured to regulate and assist the state of the coolant entering the one or more cooling nodes, by assisting in the coolant being in the correct thermodynamic state for proper cooling, as such the office notes that with the combination of Sato in view Vaisman, the two phase coolant loop (as taught by Sato) would be modified to include an accumulator (as taught by Vaisman) to help regulate the coolant within said system).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the two phase coolant loop (as taught by Sato in view of Lyon) to include an accumulator (as taught by Vaisman) to help regulate the coolant within said system. By utilizing an accumulator within the system, would help stabilize pressure, regulate temperature and protect components like a pump from unevaporated coolant which would damage said pump.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kearney (U.S 2007/0044493 A1) - Discloses a two-phase coolant loop comprising a compressor, a condenser, expansion valve, and a plurality of cooling branches each having a cooling node to dissipate heat from a heat source.
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841