CTNF 19/005,943 CTNF 81636 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (US 2005/0274324, previously applied in the parent application, now IDS Document) . Regarding Claim 1 , Takahashi discloses a substrate support (Figures 1-10), comprising: a body (comprising 42, Figures 1, 2A, 6) having an upper surface configured to receive a substrate and a bottom surface (42 having upper surface receiving wafer W and a bottom surface, Figure 1), the body comprising a dielectric material (42 comprising dielectric plate 43, Figure 1, Paragraph 19, “…dielectric plate 43”) and coupled to a support arm (comprising 5, 61, Figures 1, 2A, 2B, 5), the support arm including a cable guide (comprising 52, Figure 1); a first foil (comprising 44, Figures 1, 6, Paragraph 19, “…..a foil-shaped electrode 44 at a top surface side of a dielectric plate 43”) embedded in the body between the upper surface and the bottom surface (44 embedded in 42 between the upper surface and the bottom surface, Figures 1, 6); an electrically conductive mesh (comprising 45, Figures 1, 6, Paragraph 19, “….a heater 45 (having, e.g., a mesh shape) embedded in the body between the upper surface and the bottom surface (45 embedded in 42 between the upper surface and the bottom surface, Figures 1, 6); and a center tap structure formed in a bottom surface of the body that is in electrical communication with the electrically conductive mesh (Figure 2A shows the center tap structure on 42 with 46, 47 in electrical communication with the mesh, Figures 1, 2B). Regarding Claim 8 , Takahashi discloses the substrate support of Claim 1, wherein the foil is positioned between the electrically conductive mesh and the upper surface of the body (44 positioned between 45 and the upper surface of 42, Figure 1) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-7, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Takahashi et al. (US 2005/0274324, previously applied in the parent application, now IDS Document) in view of Chew et al. (US 5,522,937, IDS Document) . Regarding Claim 2 , Takahashi does not disclose the substrate support of Claim 1, wherein the body is coupled to a support arm in a cantilevered manner. Chew discloses a substrate support (1-18) comprising a body (comprising 32, Figures 1, 5, 8) having a substrate receiving surface (top surface of 32), the body coupled to a support arm in a cantilevered manner (comprising 131, Figure 5), the support arm including a cable guide (comprising 155, 161 Figure 5, Column 7, lines 38-41) and a center tap structure formed in a bottom surface of the body that is in electrical communication with the body (center tap comprising 94 in Figures 5, 8 formed in a bottom surface of 32, Figures 5, 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the substrate support structure of Takahashi, a support arm as taught by Chew, to facilitate firm, secure, shielded ground connection to eliminate substrate support warpage during normal processing cycles for precise and reliable processing of the substrate (see Chew Column 1, lines 40-45). Regarding Claim 3 , combination of Takahashi and Chew discloses the substrate support of Claim 1, wherein the support arm contains a ground cable that couples with the center tap structure (ground cable 121, 123 coupled to 94, 32, Figures 5, 7). Regarding Claim 4 , combination of Takahashi and Chew discloses the substrate support of Claim 1, wherein the support arm contains a temperature sensor coupled between the body and the hollow shaft (Chew, Figure 14, hollow shaft including spacing for thermocouple lead 178 and ground cable 121). Regarding Claim 5 , combination of Takahashi and Chew discloses the substrate support of Claim 1, wherein the support arm comprises a spacing member positioned between the temperature sensor and the ground cable (Chew, Figure 14 shows lift mechanism 38 to route the thermocouple lead 178 and sealed at the center, Column 8, line 58- Column 9, line 6). Regarding Claim 6 , combination of Takahashi and Chew discloses the substrate support of Claim 6, wherein the spacing member comprises an elongate member comprising a dielectric member (Chew, Figures 5, 14, comprising 182, 182, Column 8, line 58- Column 9, line 6, Column 8, lines 37-39, “…The flanged sleeve 182 is preferably constructed of 304 L stainless steel and is finished with a nickel sulfumate plating 0.0003-0.0005 (0.01 mm) thick. This plating prevents corrosion and extends the life of the assembly”). Regarding Claim 7 , combination of Takahashi and Chew discloses the substrate support of Claim 6, wherein the spacing member comprises a plurality of dielectric members (Chew, Figure 14, comprising potting plug 180 and O-ring 192). Regarding Claim 18 , Takahashi discloses a substrate support (Figures 1-10), comprising: a composite body (comprising 42, Figures 1, 2A, 6) having an upper surface configured to receive a substrate and a bottom surface (42 having upper surface receiving wafer W and a bottom surface, Figure 1), the composite body comprising a dielectric material (42 comprising dielectric plate 43, Figure 1, Paragraph 19, “…dielectric plate 43”) and coupled to a support arm (comprising 5, 61, Figures 1, 2A, 2B, 5), the support arm including a cable guide (comprising 52, Figure 1); a first foil (comprising 44, Figures 1, 6, Paragraph 19, “…..a foil-shaped electrode 44 at a top surface side of a dielectric plate 43”) embedded in the composite body between the upper surface and the bottom surface (44 embedded in 42 between the upper surface and the bottom surface, Figures 1, 6); an electrically conductive mesh (comprising 45, Figures 1, 6, Paragraph 19, “….a heater 45 (having, e.g., a mesh shape) embedded in the composite body between the upper surface and the bottom surface (45 embedded in 42 between the upper surface and the bottom surface, Figures 1, 6); and a center tap structure formed in a bottom surface of the composite body that is in electrical communication with the electrically conductive mesh (Figure 2A shows the center tap structure on 42 with 46, 47 in electrical communication with the mesh, Figures 1, 2B). Takahashi does not disclose a support arm extending from a center of the composite body that supports the composite body in a cantilevered manner; a ground cable and a temperature sensor coupled to the composite body and housed in a parallel relationship within the support arm; and a dielectric member separating the ground cable and the temperature sensor. Chew discloses a substrate support (1-18) comprising: a body (comprising 32, Figures 1, 5, 8) having a substrate receiving surface (top surface of 32), a center tap structure formed in a bottom surface of the body that is in electrical communication with the body (center tap comprising 94 in Figures 5, 8 formed in a bottom surface of 32, Figures 5, 8); a support arm extending from the center of the body that supports the body in a cantilevered manner (comprising 131, Figure 5); a ground cable (ground cable 121, 123 coupled to 94, 32, Figures 5, 7) and a temperature sensor coupled to the body and housed in a parallel relationship within the support arm (comprising thermocouple lead 178 in 131, Figure 5,14); and a dielectric member separating the ground cable and the temperature sensor (comprising 182, 182, Figures 5, 14, Column 8, line 58- Column 9, line 6, Column 8, lines 37-39, “…The flanged sleeve 182 is preferably constructed of 304 L stainless steel and is finished with a nickel sulfumate plating 0.0003-0.0005 (0.01 mm) thick. This plating prevents corrosion and extends the life of the assembly”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the substrate support structure of Takahashi, a support arm , ground cable and temperature sensor as taught by Chew, to facilitate firm, secure, shielded ground connection to eliminate substrate support warpage during normal processing cycles for precise and reliable processing of the substrate (see Chew Column 1, lines 40-45). Regarding Claim 20 , combination of Takahashi and Chew discloses the substrate support of Claim 18, wherein the foil is positioned between the electrically conductive mesh and the upper surface of the composite body (Takahashi, 44 positioned between 45 and the upper surface of 42, Figure 1) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 2005/0274324) in view of Kawajiri et al. (US 2008/0138645, previously applied in the parent application/IDS Document) . Regarding Claim 10 , Takahashi discloses a substrate support (Figures 1-10), comprising: a body (comprising 42, Figures 1, 2A, 6) having an upper surface configured to receive a substrate and a bottom surface (42 having upper surface receiving wafer W and a bottom surface, Figure 1), the body comprising a dielectric material (42 comprising dielectric plate 43, Figure 1, Paragraph 19, “…dielectric plate 43”) and coupled to a support arm (comprising 5, 61, Figures 1, 2A, 2B, 5), the support arm including a cable guide (comprising 52, Figure 1); a first foil (comprising 44, Figures 1, 6, Paragraph 19, “…..a foil-shaped electrode 44 at a top surface side of a dielectric plate 43”) embedded in the body between the upper surface and the bottom surface (44 embedded in 42 between the upper surface and the bottom surface, Figures 1, 6); an electrically conductive mesh (comprising 45, Figures 1, 6, Paragraph 19, “….a heater 45 (having, e.g., a mesh shape) embedded in the body between the upper surface and the bottom surface (45 embedded in 42 between the upper surface and the bottom surface, Figures 1, 6); and a center tap structure formed in a bottom surface of the body that is in electrical communication with the electrically conductive mesh (Figure 2A shows the center tap structure on 42 with 46, 47 in electrical communication with the mesh, Figures 1, 2B). Takahishi does not disclose a second foil embedded in the body between the mesh and the bottom surface. Kawajiri discloses a substrate support (Figures 1-3), comprising: a body (comprising 11, Figures 1-3) having a substrate receiving surface (11a), the body comprising a dielectric material (Paragraph 21, “ceramic body 11”) a first foil (comprising 22, Figures 1-3) embedded in the body below the substrate receiving surface (22 embedded below 11a, Figures 1-3); an electrically conductive mesh (comprising 21, Figures 1-3) embedded in the body below the first foil (Paragraphs 23, body 21 is made of a composite material of porous ceramic and a metallic material filled in pores of the porous ceramic…”); and a second foil embedded in the body between the mesh and the bottom surface (comprising 32, Figures 1-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the substrate support structure of Takahashi, a second foil having high thermal conductivity as taught by Kawajiri, to reduce the effect of temperature variations within in the substrate body . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 2005/0274324, IDS Document) in view of Kawajiri et al. (US 2008/0138645, IDS Document) and Chew et al. (US 5,522,937, IDS Document) . Regarding Claim 11 , combination of Takahashi and Kawajiri does not disclose the substrate support of Claim 10, wherein the body is coupled to a support arm in a cantilevered manner. Chew discloses a substrate support (1-18) comprising a body (comprising 32, Figures 1, 5, 8) having a substrate receiving surface (top surface of 32), the body coupled to a support arm in a cantilevered manner (comprising 131, Figure 5), the support arm including a cable guide (comprising 155, 161 Figure 5, Column 7, lines 38-41) and a center tap structure formed in a bottom surface of the body that is in electrical communication with the body (center tap comprising 94 in Figures 5, 8 formed in a bottom surface of 32, Figures 5, 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the substrate support structure of Takahashi, a support arm as taught by Chew, to facilitate firm, secure, shielded ground connection to eliminate substrate support warpage during normal processing cycles for precise and reliable processing of the substrate (see Chew Column 1, lines 40-45). Regarding Claim 12 , combination of Takahashi, Kawajiri and Chew discloses the substrate support of Claim 11, wherein the support arm is constructed to contain a ground cable that couples with the center tap structure (ground cable 123 coupled to 94, 32, Figures 5, 7). Regarding Claim 13 , combination of Takahashi, Kawajiri and Chew discloses the substrate support of Claim 12, wherein the support arm contains a temperature sensor coupled between the body and the hollow shaft (Chew, Figure 14, hollow shaft including spacing for thermocouple lead and head ground cable 121). Regarding Claim 14 , combination of Takahashi, Kawajiri and Chew discloses the substrate support of Claim 13, wherein the support arm comprises a spacing member positioned between the temperature sensor and the ground cable (Chew, Figure 14 shows lift mechanism 38 to route the thermocouple lead 178 and sealed at the center, Column 8, line 58- Column 9, line 6). Regarding Claim 15 , combination of Takahashi, Kawajiri and Chew discloses the substrate support of Claim 14, wherein the spacing member comprises an elongate member comprising a dielectric member (Chew, Figures 5, 14, comprising 182, Column 8, line 58- Column 9, line 6, Column 8, lines 37-39, “…The flanged sleeve 182 is preferably constructed of 304 L stainless steel and is finished with a nickel sulfumate plating 0.0003-0.0005 (0.01 mm) thick. This plating prevents corrosion and extends the life of the assembly”). Regarding Claim 16 , combination of Takahashi, Kawajiri and Chew discloses the substrate support of Claim 11, wherein the foil is positioned between the electrically conductive mesh and the upper surface of the body (Takahashi, 44 positioned between 45 and the upper surface of 42, Figure 1). Regarding Claim 17 , combination of Takahashi, Kawajiri and Chew discloses the substrate support of Claim 11, wherein the second foil is positioned between the electrically conductive mesh and the bottom surface of the body (32 Figure 1 of Kawajiri positioned between the second foil 32 and the bottom surface of the body in the combination) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Takahashi et al. (US 2005/0274324) in view of Chew et al. (US 5,522,937, IDS Document) and Li et al. (US 6,342,705) . Regarding Claim 9 , combination of Takahashi and Chew does not specifically disclose the substrate support of Claim 1, wherein the body comprises a plurality of centering features positioned about a periphery of the upper surface. Li discloses a substrate support (Figures 2A, 2B, 4A, 4B), comprising: a body having a substrate receiving surface (comprising 130 having a substrate receiving surface 134, Figure 2B), wherein the body comprises a plurality of centering features positioned about a periphery of the upper surface comprising 133a 133b, 133c, Figure 2B, Column 3, lines 60-65, “….(edge 132 having chuck 130 has wafer-centering elements 133a, 133b, and 133c which can be pins or stubs extending from the chuck surface 134, as indicated schematically in FIG. 2B”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the combination, to provide centering features as taught by Li to facilitate precise aligning, centering and positioning of the substrate on the support receiving surface. Claim 19 recites the same limitations as Claim 9, except that the substrate support of Claim 18 is recited. Therefore, Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as for Claim 9 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nishioka (US 20110063771, IDS Document) discloses a substrate support structure including embedded electrode/s including center tap in Figures 1-4G; Hausmann (US 6,067,222, IDS Document) discloses a substrate support 300 in Figure 3 comprising a body 302 and a foil 312 and a mesh 308 entirely embedded in the body; Augustino et al. (US 10,153,136) discloses substrate support system (Figures 1-6) comprising a body and support extending in a cantilevered manner ( 200 including 216 with support arm 208, Figure 2) . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LUCY M THOMAS whose telephone number is (571)272-6002. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 9:30 am - 5:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Crystal L Hammond can be reached at (571)270-1682. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LUCY M THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 2838, 6/13/2026 /CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 Application/Control Number: 19/005,943 Page 2 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 19/005,943 Page 3 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 19/005,943 Page 4 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 19/005,943 Page 5 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 19/005,943 Page 6 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 19/005,943 Page 7 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 19/005,943 Page 8 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 19/005,943 Page 9 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 19/005,943 Page 10 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 19/005,943 Page 11 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 19/005,943 Page 12 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 19/005,943 Page 13 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 19/005,943 Page 14 Art Unit: 2838