DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LeBoeuf et al., U.S. Patent No. 8,888,701, patented on November 18, 2014 (LeBoeuf).
As to Claim 1, LeBoeuf discloses a wearable component [900], comprising: a carrier [901]; an electronic component [700] at least partially embedded within the carrier [901] (see Fig. 9A) and having an active surface [720]; and a flexible connection element [750] connected to the active surface [720] of the electronic component [700] (wires are connected to the surface [720]; col. 17, lines 37-42; see Figs. 7-8), wherein the carrier [901] and the electronic component [700] define a space configured for audio transmission (an audio cavity is formed between speaker [910] and opening [903]; col. 18, lines 29-31; see Fig. 9A).
As to Claim 2, LeBoeuf remains as applied above to Claim 1. LeBoeuf further discloses a plurality of electrical contacts connected to the active surface of the electronic component [700] (the active surface [720] is a PCB, which would have electrical contacts; col. 17, lines 27-29).
As to Claim 3, LeBoeuf remains as applied above to Claim 1. LeBoeuf further discloses that the flexible connection element [750] extends away from the space (see Figs 7-9A).
As to Claim 6, LeBoeuf discloses wearable component [900], comprising: a carrier [901]; and an electronic component [700] at least partially embedded within the carrier [901] (see Fig. 9A) and having an active surface [720], wherein the carrier [901] and the electronic component [700] define a space configured for audio transmission (an audio cavity is formed between speaker [910] and opening [903]; col. 18, lines 29-31; see Fig. 9A), and wherein the active surface [720] of the electronic component [700] faces away from the space (see Figs. 7-9A).
As to Claim 7, LeBoeuf remains as applied above to Claim 6. LeBoeuf further discloses that a width of the space is greater than a width of the electronic component [700] from a cross-sectional view (see Fig. 9A).
As to Claim 9, LeBoeuf remains as applied above to Claim 6. LeBoeuf further discloses that the active surface [720] of the electronic component is non-coplanar with an outer surface of the carrier [901] (see Fig. 9A).
As to Claim 10, LeBoeuf remains as applied above to Claim 6. LeBoeuf further discloses a flexible connection element [750] having a surface facing the active surface [720] of the electronic component [700] (wires are connected to the surface [720]; col. 17, lines 37-42; see Figs. 7-8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 8, and 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 recites the unique features of the flexible connection element extending along the active surface of the electronic component and bending on a lateral surface of the electronic component. Claim 5 recites the unique features of a supporting element disposed over a backside surface of the electronic component opposite to the active surface of the electronic component. Claim 8 recites the unique feature of the active surface of the electronic component being substantially parallel to an outer surface of the carrier. Claim 11 recites the unique features of the surface of the flexible connection element bending on a lateral surface of the electronic component and configured to support a sensing element.
Claims 13-20 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Claim 13 recites the unique features of a connector disposed under the carrier, and a portion of the electronic connection element being exposed from the carrier contacting the connector. The closest prior art does not disclose or suggest such features.
Conclusion
/RYAN ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694