DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Communication received on December 31, 2024 for application number 19/006,599. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 31, 2024 was submitted in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2024-013683 filed on January 31, 2024.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-3 are pending in this application.
Claims 1-3 are rejected.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting enough structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“Calculator”, “Estimator” and “Vibration Suppression Controller” in claims 1-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (McCann – US 2006/0293815 A1).
Regarding claim 1, McCann discloses:
A vibration control device (vehicle weight estimating method that is based on a determined vertical oscillation frequency of an unpowered vehicle such as a semi-trailer 10: Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a calculator for calculating a weight of a trailer (semi-trailer 10: Fig. 1) based on acceleration and driving force when a vehicle driven by a motor toes the trailer (semi-trailer 10: Fig. 1) ([0014]: “The invention is a vehicle weight estimating method that is based on a determined vertical oscillation frequency of an unpowered vehicle such as a semi-trailer 10. The system utilizes an accelerometer 12 with sensitivity in at least the vertical axis. The accelerometer 12 is preferably housed within the control module 14 for ABS, EBS, Suspension and/or Roll Control on board the semi-trailer. The control module 14 can be configured to also use the signal from the accelerometer 12 to determine the approximate vertical oscillation frequency of the semi-trailer 10. An estimate of the approximate sprung vehicle weight can be calculated using the vertical oscillation data and by approximating the spring constant of the vehicle suspension”);
an estimator for estimating a resonance frequency between the vehicle and the trailer based on the weight of the trailer (semi-trailer 10: Fig. 1) and a weight of the vehicle ([0017, 0030]: “By contrast, the subject invention comprises a method to continuously estimate the weight, preferably the sprung weight, of semi-trailer 10 on the single or closely co-located dual axles 16 in order to optimize control of the semi-trailer 10 when it is in motion by analysis of, primarily, the vertical oscillation frequency of the semi-trailer 10 under varying conditions of being unloaded, partially loaded, or fully loaded” and “The vertical frequency oscillation of a semi-trailer 10 as measured by the vertical axis accelerometer 12 of the present invention will, of course vary depending on a number of factors. It may, generally be said, however, that a low frequency oscillation is an indicator of a heavy load. Conversely, a high frequency oscillation is an indicator of a light load. For purposes of the invention frequencies of from 0.5 to 15 Hz may be potential indicators”); and
a vibration suppression controller for performing vibration suppression control for reducing excitation of the resonance frequency on the motor ([0004, 0027]: “The sensor, or sensors, may be sensitive to particular frequencies, or filters may be used to remove frequencies caused by the engine or frequencies from other mechanical noise. The estimated weight can be made available via a display to the driver, recorded electronically or otherwise in a vehicle log, and/or serve as an input to other vehicle safety or control systems” and “As noted, an estimate of weight is extracted by determining the frequency of the acceleration signal. This estimate is used to enhance the quality of the control outputs to the solenoids 28. For example, if it is known that the rear of the semi-trailer 10 is approximately fully loaded then the control algorithm can allocate more time to the no-control state which actually provides a pressure increase function during the periods that the driver has over braked for the conditions and ABS control is active. As will be understood by those skilled in the art, transitions between the pressure decrease state and the pressure increase state can occur earlier if it is known that the rear of the trailer 10 is loaded. This helps to reduce stopping distance in the loaded condition”).
Regarding claim 2, McCann disclose the vibration control device according to claim 1, and further on McCann also discloses:
wherein the estimator uses a mapping data, which gives a relationship between the weight of the trailer (semi-trailer 10: Fig. 1) and the resonance frequency, to estimate the resonance frequency corresponding to the weight of the trailer (semi-trailer 10: Fig. 1) calculated by the calculator ([0019]: “In a microprocessor in the electronic control module 14, the spring constant or constants of the semi-trailer suspension components or suitable representations thereof, have already been entered. Data recorded by the vertical accelerometer is transferred via an electrical signal to the microprocessor where it is {{{entered into a mathematical algorithm}}}, which calculates the semi-trailer 10 weight. This information could be further compared with one or more set values for optimal control of the semi-trailer 10 under the then-existing conditions. While not part of the present invention, some type of warning could be conveyed to the operator of the vehicle if limits of safe operation were exceeded. Based on the information provided by the method of the present invention, the position of one or more axles/wheels/tires can be changed to provide more stable conditions when the trailer 10 is in motion, or during loading/unloading procedures”).
Regarding claim 3, McCann disclose the vibration control device according to claim 1, and further on McCann also discloses:
wherein the calculator calculates the weight of the vehicle on a basis of acceleration and driving force during non-toeing ([0003-0005]: i.e., system for determining the weight of a vehicle using accelerometers).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 6,067,491 A – Takahashi
WO 2020/194621 A1 - SAWADA
Conclusion
/RUBEN PICON-FELICIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/GRANT MOUBRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747