Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-10, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bushnell (US 20170086743) in view of Nothacker (US 20190290197) and Yao (US 20150148774).
Regarding claim 1 Bushnell teaches a composite device (fig. 2A-2B, fig. 11) comprising:
a sensor device (fig.11, 100) including a first communication portion (fig. 11, item 1155), a sensor portion (1154, 1152), and a display portion ([0058] touch display); and
an information processing device (fig.11, 1150) comprising a second communication portion (fig.11, 1156) and an image generation portion ([0099] FIG. 11 shows a block diagram illustrating example components that may be utilized in the wearable electronic device 100… cameras, i.e. image generation portion ),
Bushnell is silent on wherein the second communication portion is configured to output data included in the signal to the image generation portion and transmit the image signal to the sensor device, and wherein the image generation portion is configured to generate an image signal on the basis of the data included in the signal
wherein the display portion is configured to display an image on the basis of the image signal and
wherein the sensor device is capable of being worn on an eyeball.
However, Nothacker teaches wherein the second communication portion is configured to output data included in the signal to the image generation portion and transmit the image signal to the sensor device, and wherein the image generation portion is configured to generate an image signal on the basis of the data included in the signal
wherein the display portion is configured to display an image on the basis of the image signal (fig.1 and fig.6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Bushnell in light of Nothacker teaching so that it may include wherein the second communication portion is configured to output data included in the signal to the image generation portion and transmit the image signal to the sensor device, and wherein the image generation portion is configured to generate an image signal on the basis of the data included in the signal
wherein the display portion is configured to display an image on the basis of the image signal.
The motivation is to provide a method for monitoring health related information of a user.
Further Yao teaches wherein the sensor device is capable of being worn on an eyeball (0030] Configuring the reader to be frequently worn in proximity to one or more contact lenses enables the lenses to have a reliable external power source and/or storage for sensor data collection, processing of sensor data, and transmission of unprocessed and/or processed sensor data to additional devices; e.g., the above-mentioned display device. Thus, the herein-described reader can provide valuable support functionality, including but not limited to power, communication, and processing resources, to enhance use of contact lenses with embedded sensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Bushnell in light of Yao teaching so that it may include wherein the sensor device is capable of being worn on an eyeball.
The motivation is to provide methods and systems for controlling analyte levels that may include receiving a sensor measurement relating to an eye-mountable device.
Claims 2-4. (Canceled)
Regarding claim 5 Bushnell in view of Nothacker teach wherein a user is capable to see an image displayed on the display portion in a state where the image is superimposed on a transmission image that is transmitted through the sensor device (fig.6, fig.1, [0024] method can include aggregating data (e.g., intoxication metric time series) at a database. Aggregated data can be used as a training dataset for building models of user intoxication state and/or related parameters in relation to a wide range of factors. Building models of breathalyzer sensor state based on training data can be performed using any suitable machine learning algorithm).
Regarding claim 7 Bushnell in view of Nothacker teach a control portion, wherein the control portion is configured to return from a resting state in accordance with the signal (Nothacker :fig. 9D, when user select N).
Regarding claim 8 Bushnell in view of Yao teach wherein the sensor device is used as a contact lens (Yoa: [0030]).
Regarding claim 9 Bushnell teaches a composite device (fig. 2A-2B, fig. 11) comprising:
a sensor device (fig.11, 100) including a sensor portion (fig.11, 1156) and a display portion ([0058] touch display); and
an information processing device (fig.11, 1150) comprising an image generation portion ([0099] FIG. 11 shows a block diagram illustrating example components that may be utilized in the wearable electronic device 100… cameras, i.e. image generation portion),
wherein the sensor device is capable of being worn on an eyeball (Yao: (0030] Configuring the reader to be frequently worn in proximity to one or more contact lenses enables the lenses to have a reliable external power source and/or storage for sensor data collection, processing of sensor data, and transmission of unprocessed and/or processed sensor data to additional devices; e.g., the above-mentioned display device. Thus, the herein-described reader can provide valuable support functionality, including but not limited to power, communication, and processing resources, to enhance use of contact lenses with embedded sensor),
wherein the sensor device is configured to transmit a signal including information obtained by the sensor portion (Nothacker :fig.2, 230) to the information processing device (Nothacker: fig.1, fig. 6),
wherein the information processing device is configured to generate an image signal on the basis of data included in the signal received from the sensor device(Nothacker :fig.2, 230), and wherein the display portion is configured to display an image on the basis of the image signal (Nothacker: fig.1, fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10 the limitations are similar to claim 5 so rejected same way.
Regarding claim 12 the limitations are similar to claim 7 so rejected same way.
Regarding claim 13 the limitations are similar to claim 8 so rejected same way.
Claim(s) 6, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bushnell (US 20170086743) in view of Nothacker (US 20190290197), Yao (US 20150148774) and further in view of Baranski (US 20160255944).
Regarding claim 6 Bushnell is silent on wherein the sensor portion is configured to detect one or more of a blood sugar level, a heart rate, a blood pressure, a body temperature, a degree of oxygen saturation, and a neutral fat concentration.
However, Baranski teaches wherein the sensor portion is configured to detect one or more of a blood sugar level, a heart rate, a blood pressure, a body temperature, a degree of oxygen saturation, and a neutral fat concentration ([0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Bushnell in light of Baranski teaching so that it may include wherein the sensor portion is configured to detect one or more of a blood sugar level, a heart rate, a blood pressure, a body temperature, a degree of oxygen saturation, and a neutral fat concentration.
The motivation is to provide a method of adjusting the fit of a wearable electronic device secured by a band to a user for fitness/health tracking.
Regarding claim 11 the limitations are similar to claim 6 so rejected same way.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any of the new reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Pletcher US 20140085600
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOWFIQ ELAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625