Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04/28/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 04/28/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would not be a serious search and examination burden if the restriction were not required. This is not found persuasive because the inventions require a separate status in the art in view of their different classifications.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites that each of component A and component B comprise 0-20 parts expansion-layer reinforcing agent. However, claim 3, on which claim 4 depends, recites that “the component A and the component B of the bottom fire-retardant coating material further comprise an expansion-layer reinforcing agent”. Therefore, given that claim 3 requires an expansion-layer reinforcing agent, it is not clear how component A and component B can each comprise “0” parts expansion-layer reinforcing agent.
Claim 8 recites that each of the first component and second component comprise 0-20 parts expansion-layer reinforcing agent. However, claim 7, on which claim 4 depends, recites that “the first component and the second component of the surface fire-retardant coating material further comprise an expansion-layer reinforcing agent”. Therefore, given that claim 7 requires an expansion-layer reinforcing agent, it is not clear how the first component and the second component can each comprise “0” parts expansion-layer reinforcing agent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (CN 110,183,884 A).
Regarding Claims 1, 5, and 9, Cheng discloses a composite fireproof coating comprising a thick non-intumescent fireproof coating (i.e. bottom fire-retardant coating material) and a thin intumescent fireproof coating (i.e. surface fire-retardant coating material) (pg 1, lines 31-32). Since the thin intumescent fireproof coating is intumescent, the composite fireproof coating is intumescent.
The thick non-intumescent fireproof coating comprises expanded vermiculite and perlite (i.e. physical expansive agent as claimed) (pg 2, lines 5-6).
The thin intumescent fireproof coating comprises melamine (pg 2, lines 16-17), which is a nitrogen-containing compound and gas-foaming expansive agent as claimed, according to pg 5, lines 9-12 of the present specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of the evidence of Glastrup (“Degradation of polyethylene glycol. A study of the reaction mechanism in a model molecule: Tetraethylene glycol”).
Regarding Claims 2-4, Cheng discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Cheng further discloses the thick non-intumescent fireproof coating comprises dry powder mixture and water in a ratio of 1:(0.8-1.2) and the dry powder mixture comprises 100 parts silicate cement, 15-30 parts high-aluminum cement, 20-40 parts fire-resistant soil, 50-90 parts expanded vermiculite, 15-50 parts perlite, 25-30 parts sepiolite, 25-30 parts ceramic fiber, 6 parts polyethylene glycol 2000, 6 parts hydrophobic agent, 1 part sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, and 2 parts redispersible latex powder (pg 2, lines 11-15).
Therefore, the total parts of dry powder mixture is 265 to 385 parts (100+15+20+50+15+25+25+6+6+1+2 to 100+30+40+90+50+30+30+6+6+1+2), and the water is 212 to 462 parts (265*0.8 to 385*1.2).
According to the evidence of Glastrup, polyethylene glycol produces formic acid during thermal degradation (Abstract) and is therefore an acid catalyst according to the present specification (pg 3, line 26).
Therefore, the thick non-intumescent fireproof coating comprises a Component A, including the 100 parts silicate cement, the 15-30 parts high-aluminum cement (i.e. 115-130 parts binder), the 6 parts polyethylene glycol 2000 (i.e. acid catalyst), and half of the ceramic fiber which would be 12.5-15 (25/2 – 30/2) parts ceramic fiber (i.e. expansion-layer reinforcing agent according to pg 4, lines 11-13 of the present specification), which corresponds to a Component A comprising 19.2-21.7 parts binder (115/6 to 130/6), 1 part acid catalyst, and 2.1-2.5 parts expansion-layer reinforcing agent (12.5/6 to 15/6).
The thick non-intumescent fireproof coating also therefore comprises a Component B, including the 212-462 parts water (i.e. curing agent for the concrete binder), 50-90 parts expanded vermiculite, 15-50 parts perlite (i.e. 65-140 total parts physical expansive agent), and half of the ceramic fiber which would be 12.5-15 (25/2 – 30/2) parts ceramic fiber, which corresponds to a Component B comprising 30.3-66 parts curing agent (212/7 to 462/7), 9.3-20 parts physical expansive agent (65/7 to 140/7), and 1.8-2.1 parts expansion-layer reinforcing agent (12.5/7 to 15/7).
In light of the overlap between the claimed bottom fire-retardant coating material and that disclosed by Cheng, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use bottom fire-retardant coating material that is both disclosed by Cheng and is encompassed within the scope of the present claims, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 6-8, Cheng discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Cheng further discloses the thin intumescent fireproof coating comprises 15-30 parts acrylic emulsion, 20-30 parts ammonium polyphosphate, 10-25 parts melamine, and 5-10 parts pentaerythritol, and 1-5 parts silicon-modified sepiolite (pg 2, lines 20-22).
Therefore the thin intumescent fireproof coating comprises a Compound A, including the 15-30 parts acrylic emulsion (i.e. binder), the 20-30 parts ammonium polyphosphate (i.e. acid catalyst according to pg 4, lines 1-2 of the present specification), and half the silicon-modified sepiolite which would be 0.5-2.5 (1/2-5/2) parts silicon-modified sepiolite (i.e. expansion-layer reinforcing agent).
The thin intumescent fireproof coating also therefore comprises a Compound B, including the 10-25 parts melamine (i.e. gas-foaming expansive agent), the 5-10 parts pentaerythritol (i.e. curing agent for acrylic emulsion), and half the silicon-modified sepiolite which would be 0.5-2.5 (1/2-5/2) parts silicon-modified sepiolite (i.e. expansion-layer reinforcing agent).
In light of the overlap between the claimed surface fire-retardant coating material and that disclosed by Cheng, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use surface fire-retardant coating material that is both disclosed by Cheng and is encompassed within the scope of the present claims, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/BETHANY M MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1787