DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5-6 and 15-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, line 1, “a first spring component” should be changed to --a first of said spring components--.
Claim 5, line 2, “a second spring component” should be changed to --a second of said spring components--.
Claim 6, line 1, “a first spring component” should be changed to --a first of said spring components--.
Claim 6, line 2, “a second spring component” should be changed to --a second of said spring components--.
Claim 15, line 1, “a first spring component” should be changed to --a first of said spring components--.
Claim 15, line 2, “a second spring component” should be changed to --a second of said spring components--.
Claim 16, line 1, “a first spring component” should be changed to --a first of said spring components--.
Claim 16, line 2, “a second spring component” should be changed to --a second of said spring components--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Brunt et al. (4547623).
Van Brunt et al. discloses a cable gland comprising: a gland nut (12) defining a longitudinal axis, the gland nut comprising an interior wall defining a gland nut opening; a bushing(33) disposed within the gland nut, wherein the bushing defines a bushing opening configured to receive a cable therein; a compression limiting assembly comprising a compression limiter (37) moveably disposed at least partially within the gland nut, and a spring (34/42/35) disposed between the compression limiter and the bushing; and a body (13) defining a body opening configured to receive at least a portion of the cable therein, the body configured to couple to the gland nut, wherein upon coupling of the gland nut to the body, the gland nut moves along the longitudinal axis compressing the bushing between the gland nut and the compression limiting assembly and around the cable (re-claims 1 and 20). Van Brunt et al. also discloses that the cable gland further comprises a grounding mechanism (27/28) disposed within the body opening (re-claim 8); the grounding mechanism comprising a spring (27/28) configured to ground and/or retain the cable (re-claim 9); the compression limiting assembly and the busing are secured within the gland nut opening such that the cable gland is a two-piece design (re-claim 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Brunt et al. in view of Jeng et al. (2022/0381311).
Re claims 2-5, Van Brunt et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the spring comprising a stacked wave spring which is comprised of a plurality of spring components diposed on top of each other, wherein each spring component comprises a plurality of waves extending around the spring component, and wherein the waves of a first one of the spring components are offset from the waves of a second one of the spring components
Jeng et al. discloses a stacked wave spring used in electrical connectors ([0006]), wherein the stacked wave spring comprises a plurality spring components disposed on top of each other, wherein each spring component comprises a plurality of waves extending around the spring component, and wherein the waves of the first spring component are offset from the waves of the second spring component adjacent to the first.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the stacked wave spring as taught by Jeng et al. for spring (34/42/35) of Van Brunt et al. since such spring has much higher performance in load bearing, stress strain properties and reduced height.
Re claims 12-15, Van Brunt et al. and Jeng et al. disclose the invention as claimed, see rejection of claims 2-5 above, including the cable gland comprising a grounding mechanism (27/28, see Van Brunt) and a stacked wave spring (see Jeng) (re-claim 12).
Claims 2-4, 6, 12-14, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Brunt et al. in view of Watson (2010/0167582).
Re claims 2-4 and 6, Van Brunt et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the spring comprising a stacked wave spring which is comprised of a plurality of spring components diposed on top of each other, wherein each spring component comprises a plurality of waves extending around the spring component, and wherein the waves of a first one of the spring components are nested within the waves of a second one of the spring components.
Watson discloses a cable gland (Fig. 1) comprising a stacked wave spring (52, Fig. 8), wherein the stacked wave spring comprises a plurality spring components disposed on top of each other, wherein each spring component comprises a plurality of waves extending around the spring component, and wherein the waves of the first spring component are nested within the waves of the second spring component adjacent to the first (Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the stacked wave spring as taught by Watson for spring (34/42/35) of Van Brunt et al. to increase spring constant (Watson, [0036]).
Re claims 12-14, 16, and 18, Van Brunt et al. and Watson disclose the invention as claimed, see rejection of claims 2-4 and 6 above, including the cable gland further comprising a grounding mechanism which is comprised of a spring (27/28, see Van Brunt) configured to ground and/or retain the cable (re-claim 18) and a stacked wave spring (see Watson) (re-claim 12).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Brunt et al. in view of Jeng et al. as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Meernik (2005/0103579).
Claims 7 and 17 additionally recite the spring having a height of less than about 0.25 inches. Meernik discloses a gland (10) comprising a wave spring (22) which has a height of less than about 0.25 inches ([0028], 0.9 mm = 0.035 in.). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the spring in the modified cable gland of Van Brunt et al. with a height of less than about 0.25 inches as taught by Meernik to meet the specific use of the resulting gland.
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Brunt et al.
Van Brunt et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the spring or the stacked wave spring being formed from steel. Although not disclosed in Van Brunt et al., it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use steel for the spring or stacked wave spring in the modified cable gland of Van Brunt et al. to meet the specific use of the resulting gland since steel is known in the art for being used to form springs because of its high strength.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12184049. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of said patent disclose the invention as claimed.
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841