DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 02/25/2026 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Powles (US 2022/0391627 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 15, Powles discloses a method comprising:
[claims 9 and 11 disclose A system comprising: a processing device; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions executable by the processing device to cause the processing device to perform operations comprising: (see paragraphs 197 and 478 of Powles)]
receiving image data representing a two-dimensional image; (figure 3, 302)
extracting, using a trained detection service, a plurality of symbols from the image data, (figure 3, 304) wherein each symbol of the plurality of symbols is extracted for a distinct symbol included in the two-dimensional image; (paragraphs 6, 64, 241 and 246; YOLO and R-CNN)
encoding the plurality of symbols to generate a plurality of representation vectors, (paragraph 349) wherein each representation vector of the plurality of representation vectors is an encoding of a different symbol of the plurality of symbols; (paragraph 349)
generating a labeled two-dimensional image, wherein generating the labeled two-dimensional image comprises, for each symbol of the plurality of symbols: (figure 10A, paragraph 457)
performing a comparison between a corresponding representation vector of the plurality of representation vectors and one or more representation vectors corresponding to one or more symbols included in a library of known symbols; and (figure 3, 310; paragraph 377)
in accordance with ascertaining that the corresponding representation vector exceeds a threshold similarity with a particular representation vector of the one or more representation vectors, applying a first label to the symbol, wherein the first label is a label of a symbol stored in the library and that is represented by the particular representation vector; or (figure 3: the “YES” branch of “object recognized by one-shot learning module”)
in accordance with ascertaining that the corresponding representation vector does not exceed the threshold similarity with any representation vectors of the one or more representation vectors, applying a second label to the symbol of the plurality of symbols, wherein the second label is provided by an entity associated with the two-dimensional image; and (figure 3: the “NO” branch of “object recognized by one-shot learning module”)
providing the labeled two-dimensional image for facilitating a real-world operation involving the two-dimensional image. (figure 10A; paragraph 457)
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 16, Powles discloses the claimed invention wherein encoding the plurality of symbols to generate the plurality of representation vectors comprises, for each symbol of the plurality of symbols: generating, using one or more supervised layers of a hybrid machine-learning model, features based on image data corresponding to the symbol; and generating, by using an unsupervised layer of the hybrid machine-learning model, the corresponding representation vector for the symbol by transforming the features into a predetermined number of numerical representations corresponding to the features. (paragraphs 65, 69, 108, 111, 262)
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 17, Powles discloses the claimed invention wherein applying the second label to the symbol comprises adjusting the library of known symbols to include an association between the second label and the corresponding representation vector of the symbol. (section 6.8)
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 18, Powles discloses the claimed invention wherein the library of known symbols comprises a partitioned, cloud-based library, wherein each partition of a plurality of partitions included in the cloud-based library corresponds to a different tenant of a plurality of tenants, wherein applying the second label to the symbol comprises adjusting data within a particular partition of the plurality of partitions, and wherein the particular partition corresponds to a user associated with the two- dimensional image. (cloud storage in section 6.9)
Regarding claims 5, 13 and 19, Powles discloses the claimed invention wherein providing the labeled two-dimensional image comprises generating and outputting a graphical user interface that comprises a list of labeled symbols and a count of each labeled symbol included in the list of labeled symbols, and wherein the graphical user interface comprises one or more interactive elements that, when selected for a corresponding symbol of the list of labeled symbols, highlights each instance of the corresponding symbol in the labeled two-dimensional image. (section 6.8)
Regarding claims 6, 14 and 20, Powles discloses the claimed invention wherein extracting the plurality of symbols from the image data comprises generating a plurality of bounding boxes, wherein each bounding box of the plurality of bounding boxes corresponds with a different symbol of the plurality of symbols, and wherein each bounding box of the plurality of bounding boxes indicates a location of the different symbol within the two-dimensional image. (paragraphs 240, 255-256 and 275)
Regarding claim 7, Powles discloses the claimed invention wherein encoding the plurality of symbols to generate the plurality of representation vectors comprises, for each symbol of the plurality of symbols, using a corresponding bounding box of the plurality of bounding boxes, and location indicated thereby, to encode the symbol into the corresponding representation vector. (paragraphs 240, 255-256 and 275)
Regarding claim 8, Powles discloses the claimed invention wherein extracting the plurality of symbols from the image data comprises: dividing the two-dimensional image into a plurality of sub-images that have a smaller resolution than the two-dimensional image; and applying the trained detection service to each sub-image of the plurality of sub-images to extract the plurality of symbols. (paragraphs 240, 255-257, 328, 343 and 384)
Conclusion
/BOBBAK SAFAIPOUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665