DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
In the IDS filed 12/31/2024, the citation to “U.S. Application No. 15/482,219, Filed on April 7, 2017, 50 pages” has not been submitted, so it has been crossed out.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a flow control device” in claims 1 and 20; “a sensor cleaning unit” in claims 1 and 20; “the first flow control device” in claim 11; “a first sensor cleaning unit” in claim 11; “a second flow control device” in claim 12; “a second sensor cleaning unit” in claim 12.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,518,754. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from the conflicting claims because the instant claims are directed to substantially similar subject matter, while being generally broader, or having only minor obvious differences or minor differences in language. For instance, the instant and conflicting claims include a sensor cleaning system for a sensor of an autonomous vehicle comprising a fluid source comprising a tank that stores a pressurized volume of fluid, and a flow control device located within the pressurized volume of the fluid. Additionally, regarding differences between the instant and conflicting claims, see the following discussion of the prior art for what is considered to be known and obvious to a PHOSITA.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,857,980. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from the conflicting claims because the instant claims are directed to substantially similar subject matter, while being generally broader, or having only minor obvious differences or minor differences in language. For instance, the instant and conflicting claims include a sensor cleaning system for a sensor of an autonomous vehicle comprising a fluid source comprising a tank that stores a pressurized volume of fluid, and a flow control device located within the pressurized volume of the fluid. Additionally, regarding differences between the instant and conflicting claims, see the following discussion of the prior art for what is considered to be known and obvious to a PHOSITA.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,801,808. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from the conflicting claims because the instant claims are directed to substantially similar subject matter, while being generally broader, or having only minor obvious differences or minor differences in language. For instance, the instant and conflicting claims include a sensor cleaning system for a sensor of an autonomous vehicle comprising a fluid source comprising a tank that stores a pressurized volume of fluid, and a flow control device located within the pressurized volume of the fluid. Additionally, regarding differences between the instant and conflicting claims, see the following discussion of the prior art for what is considered to be known and obvious to a PHOSITA.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,755. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from the conflicting claims because the instant claims are directed to substantially similar subject matter, while being generally broader, or having only minor obvious differences or minor differences in language. For instance, the instant and conflicting claims include a sensor cleaning system for a sensor of an autonomous vehicle comprising a fluid source comprising a tank that stores a pressurized volume of fluid, and a flow control device located within the pressurized volume of the fluid. Additionally, regarding differences between the instant and conflicting claims, see the following discussion of the prior art for what is considered to be known and obvious to a PHOSITA.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the first flow control device." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka et al. (US 2013/0092758).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka discloses a sensor cleaning system comprising: a fluid source that supplies a fluid, wherein the fluid source comprises a tank that stores a pressurized volume of the fluid (Figure 20: 10c); a flow control device, wherein the flow control device controls a flow of the fluid from the fluid source (10d); a sensor cleaning unit to clean a sensor of an autonomous vehicle using the fluid from the fluid source that is controlled by the flow control device, wherein the sensor cleaning unit is associated with the sensor (13, 14); and a controller configured to determine that the sensor requires cleaning (15; paragraphs 235-240; Figures 6, 7: S102).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Tanaka discloses wherein the fluid comprises at least one of (i) a gas or (ii) a liquid (Fig. 20: 10, 10c); wherein the gas is compressed by a compressor (10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-11, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dominique et al. (US 2014/0367488; cited by Applicant) in view of Newman (US 2018/0143298; cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Dominique discloses a sensor cleaning system comprising: a fluid source that supplies a fluid, wherein the fluid source comprises a tank that stores a pressurized volume of the fluid (Figure 1: 108; Figure 2: 202); a flow control device, wherein the flow control device controls a flow of the fluid from the fluid source (Figure 1: 300; Figure 2: 206); a sensor cleaning unit to clean a sensor of an autonomous vehicle using the fluid from the fluid source that is controlled by the flow control device, wherein the sensor cleaning unit is associated with the sensor (Figure 1: 304; Figure 2: 210).
Dominique does not expressly disclose a controller configured to determine that the sensor requires cleaning. Dominique does further disclose that a nozzle may be located at a windshield, headlight, or other equipment in the vehicle (paragraph 42), and there is a control unit (116) connected to a controllable valve (Figure 1: 116, 300).
Newman discloses an autonomous vehicle (abstract, paragraphs 44, 45) having a number of sensors (Figures 1-2: paragraphs 43, 47), a vehicle control system (Figure 3: 348), and sensor cleaning systems (370; paragraph 70) that receive a command or instruction from sensor processors (340) or the vehicle control system (348) to initiate a cleaning operation (paragraph 70). Newman also discloses determining if a sensor is obstructed by dirt, debris, or detritus and sending a command signal to the cleaning system to automatically remove the obstruction (abstract).
Because it is known in the art to wash other equipment and to automatically wash a sensor of a vehicle, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing automatic means of washing a sensor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a controller configured to determine that the sensor requires cleaning.
Regarding claims 9, and 10, are considered to be met by the combination of Dominique, in view of Newman, as relied upon as applied above and which results in: wherein the fluid comprises at least one of (i) a gas or (ii) a liquid (Dominique: abstract; paragraphs 12, 16, 35, 39); wherein the gas is compressed by a compressor (Dominique: 104; paragraph 39, 41).
Regarding claim 11 and 20, Dominique, in view of Newman, is relied upon as above, but does not expressly disclose an autonomous vehicle, an autonomous vehicle control system, comprising: a plurality of sensors; and a sensor cleaning system that performs individualized cleaning of the plurality of sensors.
Newman discloses an autonomous vehicle (abstract, paragraphs 44, 45) having a number of sensors (Figures 1-2: paragraphs 43, 47), a vehicle control system (Figure 3: 348), and sensor cleaning systems (370; paragraph 70) that receive a command or instruction from sensor processors (340) or the vehicle control system (348) to initiate a cleaning operation (paragraph 70). Newman also discloses determining if a sensor is obstructed by dirt, debris, or detritus and sending a command signal to the cleaning system to automatically remove the obstruction (abstract).
Because it is known in the art to wash other equipment, have an autonomous vehicle with sensors, and to automatically wash a sensor of a vehicle, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing an autonomous vehicle with an automatic means of washing the sensors, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an autonomous vehicle control system, comprising: a plurality of sensors; and a sensor cleaning system that performs individualized cleaning of the plurality of sensors.
Claims 18 and 19 are considered to be met by considered to be met by the combination of Dominique, in view of Newman, as relied upon as applied above and which results in: wherein the fluid comprises at least one of (i) a gas or (ii) a liquid (Dominique: abstract; paragraphs 12, 16, 35, 39); wherein the gas is compressed by a compressor (Dominique: 104; paragraph 39, 41).
Claim(s) 2-4, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dominique et al. (US 2014/0367488; cited by Applicant), in view of Newman (US 2018/0143298; cited by Applicant), and further in view of Kikuta et al. (US 2015/0040953; cited by Applicant).
Regarding claims 2, and 13, Dominique, in view of Newman, is relied upon as above, but does not expressly disclose wherein the sensor cleaning unit comprises an air knife for cleaning the sensor; or wherein the first sensor cleaning unit comprises an air knife for cleaning the first sensor.
Kikuta discloses a cleaning device (6) for an optical sensor/camera (5) at a back door of a vehicle (2), including a movable nozzle (11) and a discharge port (11a) that is rectangular and elongated (paragraph 38; Figure 1B, 5, 12). The nozzle is connected to a liquid pump (62) to deliver a cleaning liquid and an air pump (64) to deliver air (paragraphs 40-41).
Because it is known in the art to use a nozzle with an elongated outlet to deliver cleaning liquid and/or air, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a known nozzle for a known purpose, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the sensor cleaning unit comprises an air knife for cleaning the sensor; wherein the first sensor cleaning unit comprises an air knife for cleaning the first sensor.
Claims 3-4, 14, and 15 are considered to be met by Dominique, in view of Hampton, and further in view of Kikuta, as applied above and which results in: wherein the air knife comprises a slit through which the fluid is released (Kikuta: 11a); wherein the air knife is configured such that the fluid is released through the slit perpendicular to the sensor and sweeps over a face of the sensor (Kikuta: Figures 1B, 3A, 3B, 5, 12); wherein the air knife is configured such that the fluid is released perpendicular to the first sensor and sweeps over a face of the first sensor (Kikuta: Figures 1B, 3A, 3B, 5, 12).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dominique et al. (US 2014/0367488; cited by Applicant), in view of Newman (US 2018/0143298; cited by Applicant), and further in view of Hampton (US 2010/0154534; cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 5, Dominique, in view of Newman, is relied upon as above, but does not expressly disclose wherein the flow control device is located within the pressurized volume of the fluid. Rather, Dominique discloses that the controllable valve (300, or 206) is located externally and adjacent to the volume of fluid (Figures 1, 2).
Hampton discloses a material transfer system having a vessel (108) connected to a fluid conduit (122), and a fluid control device that is a valve (120) connected to a controller via a wire and is located inside the vessel to control the connection to the conduit (Figure 1; paragraphs 41, 42).
Because it is known in the art to provide the valve inside or outside the vessel it controls fluid from exiting, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a known valve/tank configuration for a known purpose, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the flow control device is located within the pressurized volume of the fluid.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dominique et al. (US 2014/0367488; cited by Applicant), in view of Newman (US 2018/0143298; cited by Applicant), and further in view of Fukuyo et al. (US 5,333,836; cited by Applicant).
Regarding claims 7, 8, 16, and 17, Dominique, in view of Newman, is relied upon as above, but does not expressly disclose wherein the flow control device comprises a solenoid, the solenoid configured to control a respective flow of the fluid; wherein the solenoid is located within the flow control device; or wherein the first flow control device comprises a solenoid, the solenoid configured to control the first flow of the fluid; wherein the solenoid is located within the first flow control device. Rather, Dominique discloses that the controllable valve (300, or 206) is located externally and adjacent to the volume of fluid (Figures 1, 2).
Fukuyo discloses a solenoid valve having a housing (1) and a core assembly (2) and a coil assembly (3) mounted in the housing (Figure 1; col. 2, lines 60-63).
Because it is known in the art to provide a solenoid valve and a solenoid in a housing, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a known electronically controlled valve, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the flow control device comprises a solenoid, the solenoid configured to control a respective flow of the fluid; wherein the solenoid is located within the flow control device; or wherein the first flow control device comprises a solenoid, the solenoid configured to control the first flow of the fluid; wherein the solenoid is located within the first flow control device
Conclusion
DAVID G. CORMIER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/DAVID G CORMIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711