DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office Action responds to reply filed on 6/11/26 regarding application 19/007419 that was initially filed on 12/31/24. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for a provisional application filed on 1/7/24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chiang et al., US 2025/0234035 A1 (hereinafter Chiang).
As for claim 15, Chiang discloses a computing system, comprising: one or more processors ([0349], e.g., CPU), and a computer-readable storage medium communicatively coupled to the one or more processors, the computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions executable by the one or more processors that, when executed by the one or more processors, perform associated operations comprising: generating a first prediction block ([0137], e.g., predicting) by a CCP model ([0137], e.g., models); generating a second prediction block ([0157], e.g., additional motion-compensated prediction signals) by an inter mode ([0157], e.g., inter prediction) or an IBC mode; and blending ([0157], e.g., weighted superposition) the first prediction block and the second prediction block based on a fusion weight ([1058], e.g., weighting factor).
As for claim 16, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 15. In addition, Chiang further discloses the operations further comprise: selecting the fusion weight from a fusion weight list based on a signaled syntax element ([0158], e.g., add_hyp_weight_idx).
Response to Arguments
Applicant 's arguments are not filed with RCE filed on 6/11/26, thus, there is no response to arguments.
.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14 are allowable.
Claims 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
1. US 2003/0108099 discloses picture encoding method and apparatus, picture decoding method and apparatus and furnishing medium.
2. US 2005/0053294 discloses techniques and tools for progressive and interlaced video coding and decoding.
3. US 2006/0126962 discloses methods and systems for reducing blocking artifacts with reduced complexity for spatially-scalable video coding.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jay Patel can be reached on 571-272-2988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSEPH SUH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485