DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 2020/0389972) in view of Kim et al. (US 11,272,611; hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1,Yu teaches a connection member (Fig. 1) comprising:
a first region (such as region on left side of right most 530 in Fig. 1), a second region (such as region that overlaps 530 in Fig. 1), and a third region (such as region on right side of right most 530 in Fig. 1; see cropped Fig. 1 below);
a first conductive layer (right most 530, Fig. 1);
a first insulating layer (same as 510, Fig. 1); and
a cover layer (600, Fig. 1),
wherein the first conductive layer is disposed in the second region (right most 530 in second region in Fig. 1),
the third region and the first region do not overlap the first conductive layer (as shown in Fig. 1),
the first insulating layer directly contact the first conductive layer and has an edge overlapping the third region (510 directly contacting 530 and right edge of 510 not overlapping 530),
the cover layer is disposed on the first conductive layer and overlaps the second region and the third region (600 overlap all regions as shown in Fig. 1).
Yu does not teach a side surface of the first insulating layer at the edge is covered by the cover layer. However, Kim teaches a connection member (Figs. 1-2) comprising: a side surface of a first insulating layer (same as right side surface of 120, Figs. 1, 2) at an edge is covered by a cover layer (200, Figs. 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a side surface of the first insulating layer at the edge is covered by the cover layer in Yu, as taught by Kim, in order to prevent damage to the side surface of the first insulating layer.
Regarding claim 2, Yu in view of Kim teaches the connection member of claim 1, and Yu further teaches further comprising a second conductive layer (right most 540 in Fig. 1); a third conductive layer (right most 840 in Fig. 1); and a second insulating layer (same as 700, Fig. 1) disposed between the second conductive layer and the third conductive layer, wherein the first insulating layer is disposed between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer (as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Yu in view of Kim teaches the connection member of claim 2, and Yu further teaches wherein the third conductive layer is disposed in the second region (right most 840 in second region in Fig. 1), and the third region and the first region do not overlap the third conductive layer (as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Yu in view of Kim teaches the connection member of claim 2, and Yu further teaches the cover layer include a polyimide ([0041]). Yu does not teach the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer include a polyimide. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer include a polyimide in Yu in view of Kim, since it has been held that a selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Selecting a known compound to meet requirements is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (citing Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). In this case, polyimide is a well-known material for good structural integrity and resist crack, and selecting this material does not yield any unexpected results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, Yu in view of Kim teaches the connection member of claim 1, and Yu further teaches a second layer (650, Fig. 1), which is a lowermost layer of the third region, extends to the second region (as shown in Fig. 1); and wherein the cover layer includes a first layer (same as 600, Fig. 1), which is an uppermost layer of the second region, and extends to the third region (as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Yu in view of Kim teaches the connection member of claim 1, and Yu further teaches a number of conductive layers in the second region is greater than a number of conductive layers in the first region and is greater than a number of conductive layers in the third region (as shown in cropped Fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 9, Yu teaches a display device ([0002]) comprising:
a display panel ([0002]: “…display device such as a portable electronic device.”);
a body unit (portable electronic device inherently have a body unit); and
a connection member (Fig. 1) which connects the display panel and the body unit to each other ([0002]: “…a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) … often used for transmitting data signals between devices to a display device…”), wherein the connection member includes a first region (such as region on left side of right most 530 in Fig. 1), a second region (such as region that overlaps 530 in Fig. 1), and a third region (such as region on right side of right most 530 in Fig. 1; see cropped Fig. 1 below),
a first conductive layer (right most 530, Fig. 1),
a first insulating layer (same as 510, Fig. 1), and
a cover layer (600, Fig. 1),
wherein the first conductive layer is disposed in the second region (right most 530 in second region in Fig. 1),
the third region and the first region do not overlap the first conductive layer (as shown in Fig. 1),
the first insulating layer directly contacts the first conductive layer and having an edge overlap the third region (510 directly contacting 530 and right edge of 510 not overlapping 530),
the cover layer is disposed on the first conductive layer and overlaps the second region and the third region (600 overlap all regions as shown in Fig. 1).
Yu does not teach a side surface of the first insulating layer at the edge is covered by the cover layer. However, Kim teaches a connection member (Figs. 1-2) comprising: a side surface of a first insulating layer (same as right side surface of 120, Figs. 1, 2) at an edge is covered by a cover layer (200, Figs. 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a side surface of the first insulating layer at the edge is covered by the cover layer in Yu, as taught by Kim, in order to prevent damage to the side surface of the first insulating layer.
Regarding claim 10, Yu in view of Kim teaches the display device of claim 9, and Yu further teaches the connection member further includes a second conductive layer (right most 540 in Fig. 1), a third conductive layer (right most 840 in Fig. 1), and a second insulating layer (same as 700, Fig. 1) disposed between the second conductive layer and the third conductive layer, wherein the first insulating layer is disposed between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer (as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Yu in view of Kim teaches the display device of claim 10, and Yu further teaches wherein the third conductive layer disposed in the second region (right most 840 in second region in Fig. 1), the third region and the first region do not overlap the third conductive layer (as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Yu in view of Kim teaches the display device of claim 10, and Yu further teaches the cover layer include a polyimide ([0041]). Yu does not teach the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer include a polyimide. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer include a polyimide in Yu, since it has been held that a selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Selecting a known compound to meet requirements is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (citing Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). In this case, polyimide is a well-known material for good structural integrity and resist crack, and selecting this material does not yield any unexpected results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 13, Yu in view of Kim teaches the display device of claim 9, and Yu further teaches wherein the connection member further includes a second layer (650, Fig. 1), which is a lowermost layer of the third region, extends to the second region (as shown in Fig. 1); and wherein the cover layer includes a first layer (same as 600, Fig. 1), which is an uppermost layer of the second region, extends to the third region (as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Yu in view of Kim teaches the display device of claim 9, and Yu further teaches a number of conductive layers in the second region is greater than a number of conductive layers in the first region and is greater than a number of conductive layers in the third region (as shown in cropped Fig. 1 above).
Claims 7-8 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Kim, and further in view of Takahashi et al. (US 8,071,883; hereinafter “Takahashi”).
Regarding claims 7-8, Yu in view of Kim teaches the connection member of claim 5, and Yu further teaches wherein the first layer is one selected from an insulating layer including a black material, a shielding film, and a stacked structure of the insulating layer including the black material and the shielding film; wherein the second layer is one selected from an insulating layer including a black material, a shielding film, and a stacked structure of the insulating layer including the black material and the shielding film. However, Takahashi teaches a first layer including a shield film (137, Fig. 3) and a second layer including a shield film (136, Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first layer is one selected from an insulating layer including a black material, a shielding film, and a stacked structure of the insulating layer including the black material and the shielding film; wherein the second layer is one selected from an insulating layer including a black material, a shielding film, and a stacked structure of the insulating layer including the black material and the shielding film in Yu in view of Kim, as taught by Takahashi, in order to shield unwanted electromagnetic noise.
Regarding claims 15-16, Yu in view of Kim teaches the display device of claim 13, and Yu further teaches wherein the first layer is one selected from an insulating layer including a black material, a shielding film, and a stacked structure of the insulating layer including the black material and the shielding film; wherein the second layer is one selected from an insulating layer including a black material, a shielding film, and a stacked structure of the insulating layer including the black material and the shielding film. However, Takahashi teaches a first layer including a shield film (137, Fig. 3) and a second layer including a shield film (136, Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first layer is one selected from an insulating layer including a black material, a shielding film, and a stacked structure of the insulating layer including the black material and the shielding film; wherein the second layer is one selected from an insulating layer including a black material, a shielding film, and a stacked structure of the insulating layer including the black material and the shielding film in Yu in view of Kim, as taught by Takahashi, in order to shield unwanted electromagnetic noise.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-16 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841