Status of the claims
Claim 1 is/are amended, claim 6 is/are cancelled. Currently claims 1-5, 7-9 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Tiberghien et al (20130319558).
Regarding claim 1, Tiberghien (when oriented such that 3d is at bottom) discloses a quick connect female coupler structure, comprising: an outer sleeve 3d internally defining a receiving space and including a radially inward extended annular stop section (inner stepped section of 3d hosting 8e) provided around a lower end thereof (when oriented such that 3d is at bottom); a fixed member 8 having a spring 3f fitted around an outer side thereof and a movable member 3b axially movably fitted around an upper end thereof; and the fixed member 8 including a lower end formed into a limiting section 8e, and the limiting section 8e being rest on the stop section (inner stepped section of 3d hosting 8e) of the outer sleeve 3d; and a coupling sleeve 3a having the fixed member 8 received therein with a lower end of the coupling sleeve 3a pressed on the limiting section 8e and assembled to the outer sleeve 3d. The coupling sleeve 3a internally defines a plugging passage for a plug section (section of a coupler 2a on the left side in fig 1) of a male coupler 2a (2a is male coupler with respect to 3a) to plug thereinto; the coupling sleeve 3a includes an inner wall surface with a stepped portion (inner stepped portion adjacent to 3c as surface for radial extension of 3b), and an axially inward tapered guiding surface (right end opening of 3a in fig 1) formed in around an upper part of the inner wall surface, and a cylindrical section (straight section of 3a which has groove 3h on which 3b slides) of extending axially between the stepped portion and the axially inward tapered guiding surface.
As to claim 3, the fixed member 8 includes a radially outward expanded section 8a formed at an upper end thereof; the radially outward expanded section 8a having a first annular sealing member 8g fitted therearound, and the first annular sealing member 8g being in contact with an inner wall surface of the movable member 3b to provide a waterproof sealing effect.
As to claim 9, the spring 3f has a bottom end pressed against the limiting section 8e of the fixed member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiberghien et al (20130319558) in view of Cornford et al (6328348).
As to claims 2, 7, Tiberghien (when oriented such that 3d is at bottom) discloses the outer sleeve 3d is provided on an inner wall surface with a coupling section (for coupling with 3a) and has a lower part formed into a connection section; and the outer sleeve being connectable to another device via the connection section (lower part nipple is seen as connection for another device), the coupling sleeve has a third annular sealing member 3g1 fitted on around an inner wall surface thereof; the third annular sealing member being in contact with an outer surface of the movable member 3b to provide a waterproof sealing effect; and the coupling sleeve having a lower part formed into an engagement section which is for entering the receiving space of the outer sleeve.
Tiberghien fails to disclose coupling section as a threaded section with the coupling sleeve being externally provided with a thread formeshing with the threaded section on the inner wall surface of the outer sleeve. Cornford teaches an analogous device with the outer sleeve 51 is provided on an inner wall surface with a threaded section 53b with the coupling sleeve72 being externally provided with a thread formeshing with the threaded section 53b on the inner wall surface of the outer sleeve 51.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device disclosed by Tiberghien with a threaded connection between coupling sleeve and outer sleeve as taught by Cornford as an art-recognized functionally equivalent substitute assembly mechanism yielding predictable results of providing a removably fixed assembly.
As to claim 5, Tiberghien fails to disclose wherein the movable member has a second annular sealing member fitted on around an outer side thereof; and the second annular sealing member being in contact with an inner wall surface of the coupling sleeve to provide a waterproof sealing effect. Cornford teaches an analogous device wherein the movable member 74 has a second annular sealing member 94 fitted on around an outer side thereof; and the second annular sealing member 94 being in contact with an inner wall surface of the coupling sleeve 72 to provide a waterproof sealing effect.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device disclosed by Tiberghien with movable member having an annular sealing member at mating surface with coupling sleeve as taught by Cornford in order to improve valve sealing.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiberghien et al (20130319558) in view of Jacobsen et al (20230220936)
Tiberghien discloses the movable member 3b as a hollow member for axially movably fitted on around the radially outward expanded section 8a at the upper end of the fixed member 8; and the movable member 3b including a radially outward protruded annular portion (left end portion of 3b in fig 1) provided around a bottom end thereof and a connection end surface (flat surface of 3b at right end in fig 1) provided on around a top end thereof.
Tiberghien discloses spring 3f pressing against movable member 3b but fails to disclose spring pressing against protruded annular portion of movable member. Jacobsen teaches an analogous couple with spring 128 pressing against protruded annular portion of movable member 126.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device disclosed by Tiberghien with spring pressing against protruded annular portion of movable member as taught by Jacobsen as an art-recognized functionally equivalent substitute spring seating yielding predictable results of providing biasing mechanism for movable member.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiberghien et al (20130319558) in view of Cornford et al (6328348), further in view of Marques et al (20190301651)
Tiberghien fails to disclose coupling sleeve being externally provided with a thread formeshing with the threaded section on the inner wall surface of the outer sleeve.
Cornford teaches an analogous device with the outer sleeve 51 is provided on an inner wall surface with a threaded section 53b with the coupling sleeve72 being externally provided with a thread formeshing with the threaded section 53b on the inner wall surface of the outer sleeve 51.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device disclosed by Tiberghien with a threaded connection between coupling sleeve and outer sleeve as taught by Cornford as an art-recognized functionally equivalent substitute assembly mechanism yielding predictable results of providing a removably fixed assembly.
Tiberghien as modified fails to disclose coupling sleeve top end surface being flush with top end surface of the outer sleeve when the coupling sleeve is fully threaded into the outer sleeve. Marques teaches outer sleeve P2 and coupling sleeve 26 ends flush with each other in fully assembled state (fig 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device disclosed by Tiberghien with coupling sleeve top end surface being flush with top end surface of the outer sleeve in fully assembled state as taught by Marques as an art-recognized functionally equivalent substitute assembly mechanism yielding predictable results of providing a removably fixed assembly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments that “Examiner did note … inner wall surface 54 …between 541 and 542 does not appear to be taught by the Tiberghien … no teaching … in Tiberghien … to form … cylindrical section … between a tapered guiding surface and a stepped portion” are not persuasive since Tiberghien discloses a cylindrical section (straight section of 3a which has groove 3h on which 3b slides) of extending axially between the stepped portion and the axially inward tapered guiding surface. In the interview Examiner suggested adding language to include cylindrical section including an upper (towards the coupling end) portion beyond the movement range of movable member 3b.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ATIF H CHAUDRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753