DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is not clear what the applicant means by “amount of gradient is maximum amount”, or “the amount of gradient decreases”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by N. Yamazaki (Japanese Patent: 2015-011964, here after Yamazaki).
Claim 1 is rejected. Yamazaki teaches a method of manufacturing a lithium-ion secondary battery [page 1, paragraph 2], the method comprising:
preparing an unwinder (20) supplying a current collector (2, electrode foil) to be coated to a predetermined position, a coating device (31) coating a coating liquid on the current collector, a drying device including a driving roll (66) and a drying nozzle (70) and drying the coated current collector, and a rewinder winding (50) the coated current collector passing through the drying device at a predetermined position [fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 4-8];
coating, by the coating device, a coating liquid(slurry) on the current collector unwound from the unwinder [page 4 paragraph 6];
drying the coated current collector by the driving device; and
rewinding, by the rewinder, the current collector in which the coating liquid is dried, at a predetermined position [page 4 paragraphs 7-8].
Claim 2 is rejected. Yamazaki teaches the limitation of claim 1 and also teaches preparing a sensor sensing a degree of drying of a coating layer coated on the current collector, and a controller controlling driving of the drying nozzle on the basis of information sensed by the sensor [page 2 paragraph 2].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over N. Yamazaki (Japanese Patent: 2015-011964, here after Yamazaki).
Claim 9 is rejected. Yamazaki teaches the limitation of claim 1 and also teaches sensing, by sensors, temperature of the upper surface and lower surface, and by control board controlling driving of the drying nozzle on the basis of sensed information [page 5 last paragraph, page 6 paragraphs 1-3]. Although Yamazaki doesn’t teach sensing a degree of drying of a coating layer coated on the current collector, however simulated work and temperature sensors and control board acts as a sensor to sense (or calculate) the degree of drying of the coating material.
Claim 10 is rejected. Yamazaki teaches the controlling the driving of the drying nozzle on the basis of the sensed information is performed by allowing a maximum amount of air to be sprayed from the drying nozzle such that an amount of gradient is maximum in a state in which the coating layer has fluidity, and by allowing an amount of air sprayed from the drying nozzle to be decreased such that the amount of gradient decreases as the degree of drying of the coating layer increases temperature gradient [page 7 paragraph 3-page 11 paragraph 3], in fact with higher amount of solvent in coating, heat transfer coefficient and heat conductivity changes, and the control board adjust parameters such as rotational speed of the fan[page 6 paragraph 1, last 4 lines], which the wind speed and air volume of the hot air coming out from the hot air nozzle are changed [page 4 paragraph 7].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Yamazaki does not teach forming a gradient on each of the driving roll and the drying nozzle in a width direction of the current collector. Casey E. Walker et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2014/0116275) teaches creating an air flow gradient along width of a web for drying [0044], but is it related to a print head and paper coating and can not fairly combine with Yamazaki.
/TABASSOM TADAYYON ESLAMI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718