DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Sherman does not provide vertically stacked appendages and, accordingly, does not provide the internal relative sliding between vertically stacked appendages, thereby reducing shear transmitted through the upper surface of the mattress to the patient. It is worth pointing out that no particular mattress orientation is being claimed and as such, if the Sherman mattress were simply on its side, all of the limitations would still be met. Additionally, “reducing shear transmitted through the upper surface of the mattress to the patient” is not found in the claims. Neither is Applicant claiming the more than two appendages as disclosed by paragraph 38 (which Applicant points to in support of their argument) when it points out the appendages in Fig. 4. As a result, Applicant’s arguments are not found to be persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 9, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPAP 2018/0028000 (Sherman et al. hereinafter).
With regard to claim 1, Sherman et al. discloses a mattress for a patient support apparatus, the mattress comprising:
a body extending between a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end having appendages extending from the body (paragraphs [0004], [0016], Fig. 1), wherein the appendages are stacked in a vertical arrangement (this occurs when the mattress is positioned on its side); and
a liner (100) positioned between the appendages, the liner (100) reducing a shear force between the appendages.
With regard to claim 2, Sherman et al. discloses the mattress of claim 1, wherein the liner (100) includes a sleeve that fits over at least one of the appendages (there are sleeves at the top and bottom of the liner, on either side of the splits (110, 116).
With regard to claim 6, Sherman et al. discloses the mattress of claim 1, wherein the body is made of a foam material (paragraph [0016]).
With regard to claim 9, Sherman et al. discloses a method of manufacturing a mattress for a patient support apparatus, the method comprising:
forming a body that extends between a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end having appendages extending from the body (paragraphs [0004], [0016], Fig. 1) (this occurs when the mattress is positioned on its side); and
inserting a liner (100) between the appendages on the proximal end of the body, the liner (100) reducing a shear force between the appendages.
With regard to claim 12, in that claim 12 is substantially the same as claim 6, claim 12 is similarly rejected.
With regard to claim 13, Sherman et al. discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising:
fitting the liner (100) over at least one appendage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherman et al.
With regard to claim 3, Sherman et al. discloses all of the limitations except for wherein the body includes a plurality of grooves between a plurality of appendages at the proximal end of the body. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to provide a plurality of grooves between a plurality of appendages at the proximal end of the body, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378.
With regard to claim 4, the Sherman et al. modification with regard to claim 3 discloses the mattress of claim 3, wherein the liner includes a plurality of sleeves fitting over each appendage of the plurality of appendages.
Claim(s) 7, 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherman et al. in view of USP 5,473,785 (Lager et al. hereinafter).
With regard to claim 7, Sherman et al. discloses all of the limitations except for wherein the liner is made from a ripstop fabric of nylon material.
Lager et al. teaches a bed sheet made of nylon and coated with a film of polyurethane (col. 2 lines 47-51).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the apparatus disclosed by Sherman et al. by producing making the liner of a ripstop fabric of nylon material with a polyurethane film coating as taught by Lager et al. for the purposes of making it waterproof and easily cleanable (col. 2 lines 47-51 of Lager et al.).
With regard to claim 8, the Sherman et al. modification with regard to claim 7 discloses the mattress of claim 1, wherein the liner is made of a polyurethane film.
With regard to claim 15, the Sherman et al. modification with regard to claim 7 discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the liner is made of a nylon material or a polyurethane film.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherman et al. in view of USPAP 2019/0125096 (Robins et al. hereinafter).
With regard to claim 10, Sherman et al. discloses all of the limitations except for cutting at least one groove into the proximal end of the body to form the appendages. Sherman et al. is silent as to how the body of the foam mattress is manufactured.
Robins et al. teaches a foam mattress (paragraph [0003]) made by both cutting and molding (paragraphs [0012] and [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the apparatus disclosed by Sherman et al. by cutting at least one groove into the proximal end of the body to form the appendages as taught by Finn et al. for the purposes of introducing a known and reliable method of production with a reasonable expectation of success.
With regard to claim 11, the Sherman et al. modification with regard to claim 10 discloses the method of claim 9, wherein forming the body includes molding a shape that includes at least one groove between the appendages on the proximal end of the body.
Claim(s) 16, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherman et al. in view of USPAP 2015/0196147 (Jensen et al. hereinafter).
With regard to claim 16, Sherman et al. teaches all of the limitations except for a base frame;
a lift system supported by the base frame; and
an upper frame connected to the lift system such that the lift system is operable to move the upper frame vertically relative to the base frame, the upper frame including one or more decks articulated relative to a load frame. Sherman et al. is silent as to what type of frame the mattress is placed upon, only stating that it is adjustable.
Jensen et al. teaches an adjustable bed with a base frame (Fig. 1);
a lift system (paragraph [0003]) supported by the base frame (Fig. 1); and
an upper frame (108) connected to the lift system such that the lift system is operable to move the upper frame (108) vertically relative to the base frame (Fig. 1), the upper frame including one or more decks articulated relative to a load frame.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the apparatus disclosed by Sherman et al. by providing a base frame, a lift system supported by the base frame, and an upper frame connected to the lift system such that the lift system is operable to move the upper frame vertically relative to the base frame, the upper frame including one or more decks articulated relative to a load frame as taught by Jensen et al. for the purposes of providing a known adjustable base with a reasonable expectation of success.
With regard to claim 17, the Sherman et al. modification with regard to claim 16 discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 16, wherein the body includes at least one groove between the appendages.
With regard to claim 18, the Sherman et al. modification with regard to claim 16 discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 16, wherein the liner includes a sleeve fitting over at least one of the appendages.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherman et al. in view of Jensen et al. and in further view of Lager et al.
With regard to claim 20, the Sherman et al. modification with regard to claim 16 discloses all of the limitations except for wherein the liner is made of a nylon material or a polyurethane film.
Lager et al. teaches a bed sheet made of nylon and coated with a film of polyurethane (col. 2 lines 47-51).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to further modify the apparatus disclosed by the Sherman et al. modification with regard to claim 16 by making the liner of a fabric of nylon material with a polyurethane film coating as taught by Lager et al. for the purposes of making it waterproof and easily cleanable (col. 2 lines 47-51 of Lager et al.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON R EASTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673