DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rider et al. (US20160291671A1) in view of Sadwick et al. (US20110119515A1) and Guan et al. (US20190191518A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rider teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising: receiving power usage data of a functional circuit of a device (Paragraph [0037]: The power management controller module 212 is also configured to determine the global (e.g., system-wide) power status of the computing device(s) 150. To do so, in some embodiments, the power management controller module 212 includes the global power status determination module 216. In such embodiments, the global power status determination module 216 may be configured to receive local power status data from each of the one or more computing devices 150. The received local power status data may include a current power consumption level. Paragraph [0016]: The power management device 110 may be embodied as, or otherwise include, any type of computing device capable of performing the functions described herein including, but not limited to a server computer, a desktop computer, a laptop computing device, a smart television, a smart appliance, a home automation gateway device, a programmable logic controller, a consumer electronic device, a wireless access point, a network switch, a network router, a mobile computing device, a mobile phone, a smart phone, a tablet computing device, a personal digital assistant, and/or other type of computing device. The illustrative power management device 110 includes a processor 112, a memory 114, an input/output (I/O) subsystem 116, communication circuitry 120, a data storage 122, and a power management controller 128. Of course, the power management device 110 may include other or additional components, such as those commonly found in a computer.)
generating, by at least one computer processor, based on the power usage data, an instruction to adjust a function performed by the functional circuit of the device; and transmitting the instruction to the device (Paragraph [0050]: Additionally or alternatively, in some embodiments, the power management device 110 analyzes, in block 406, the local power status data (e.g., a current power consumption level and/or power state) received from each of the computing device(s) 150. Paragraph [0054]: In block 416, the power management device 110 controls (e.g., adjusts) the power consumption level of one or more of the computing devices 150. To do so, in some embodiments, the power management device 110 transmits one or more power control instructions to the computing device(s) 150 for subsequent execution and/or implementation. For example, the power management device 110 may transmit a shutdown instruction 418 (e.g., an instruction to cause initiation of a shutdown or power down process on the computing device(s) 150), a boot instruction 420 (e.g., an instruction to cause initiation of a boot and/or power up process on the computing device(s) 150), a wake instruction 422 (e.g., an instruction to cause initiation of a process to wake up the computing device(s) 150 from a sleep state), a sleep or hibernate instruction 424 (e.g., an instruction to cause initiation of a process to place the computing device(s) 150 to sleep and/or in a hibernate state).
Rider does not explicitly teach wherein the power usage data provides less accuracy than power metering data of the device with respect to an amount of power utilized by the device
However, Sadwick teaches wherein the power usage data provides less accuracy than power metering data of the device with respect to an amount of power utilized by the device (Paragraph [0029]: The power monitoring system includes one or more power meters, such as a watthour meter, that may be installed in a home or other facility to monitor overall power consumption, and installed in every outlet, every light dimmer, every switch, etc., or in selected locations. The power meters may be adapted merely to monitor power usage or may be adapted to control power usage as well by dimming or reducing the power output through the power meter. Paragraph [0030]: The results from the power meters may be accessed and viewed via any suitable interface. In one embodiment, the power meters may be accessed using a web server that gathers data from the power meter. Paragraph [0031]: The power consumption reported by the power monitoring system may be compared with the main electricity meter to the house or other facility if desired and allow various levels of decision making to take place along with auditing and power/energy management control, data analysis, and evaluation, etc. Paragraph [0038]: In summary, the power monitoring system is a monitoring as well as control system, in enough depth to enable power consumption comparisons with the main kilowatt hour meter for a building. Examiner’s note: The power monitoring system uses power meters which are adapted to monitor power usage, and from which data is gathered to determine power consumption of devices, where the power data is comparable to a kilowatt hour meter. This suggests that the power usage data provided by the power meter associated with the power monitoring system is different from the kilowatt hour meter that provides power metering data of the device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the power usage data provides less accuracy than power metering data of the device with respect to an amount of power utilized by the device, as taught by Sadwick in the system of Rider, so that the power monitoring system can use the power usage data gathered from the power meters associated with it, to monitor and control power consumption of devices (Sadwick: Paragraphs [0029], [0030], [0031], [0038]).
The combination of Rider and Sadwick does not explicitly teach wherein the instruction causes at least one of a light emitting diode (LED) of the device to be deactivated or a brightness level of the LED to be adjusted.
However, Guan teaches wherein the instruction causes at least one of a light emitting diode (LED) of the device to be deactivated or a brightness level of the LED to be adjusted (Paragraph [0109]: In some embodiments, the control signal may be generated based on instructions stored in, for example, a computer or another device that may communicate with or be part of the control system 100. Merely by way of example, the instruction may specify a condition and a corresponding control signal to be generated. Paragraph [0121]: The control signal may be transmitted to the computing circuit 1207. Based on the control signal, the computing circuit 1207 may control the regulation circuit 1209 so that the power of a desired magnitude may be delivered to the LED lamp 1203. Paragraph [0122]: The monitoring circuit 1210 may adjust the magnitude of the power based on, for example, the power consumption of the LED lamp 1203. Paragraph [0129]: A control signal may be inputted via the control panel, the dimmer adaptor 250, or a remote control (not shown in the figure), etc. A control signal may be generated based on an instruction stored in, for example, a computer or another device that may communicate with or be part of the control system 100. The control signal may include, for example, a dimming signal to dim the LED lamp, a brightening signal to brighten the LED lamp, an initiation signal to turn on the LED light, a termination signal to turn off the LED lamp, or the like, or any combination thereof.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the instruction causes at least one of a light emitting diode (LED) of the device to be deactivated or a brightness level of the LED to be adjusted, as taught by Guan in the combined system of Rider and Sadwick, so that by monitoring the power consumption of the LED device, the power consumption of the LED can be reduced by lowering the intensity/brightness of the light, and the power setting can be at a desired value (Guan: Paragraphs [0097], [0109], [0121], [0122], [0129]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Rider, Sadwick, and Guan teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating the instruction comprises: (see rejection for claim 1);
Rider further teaches generating the instruction based on the power usage data obtained from a plurality of devices (Paragraph [0050]: Additionally or alternatively, in some embodiments, the power management device 110 analyzes, in block 406, the local power status data (e.g., a current power consumption level and/or power state) received from each of the computing device(s) 150. Paragraph [0054]: In block 416, the power management device 110 controls (e.g., adjusts) the power consumption level of one or more of the computing devices 150. To do so, in some embodiments, the power management device 110 transmits one or more power control instructions to the computing device(s) 150 for subsequent execution and/or implementation. For example, the power management device 110 may transmit a shutdown instruction 418 (e.g., an instruction to cause initiation of a shutdown or power down process on the computing device(s) 150), a boot instruction 420 (e.g., an instruction to cause initiation of a boot and/or power up process on the computing device(s) 150), a wake instruction 422 (e.g., an instruction to cause initiation of a process to wake up the computing device(s) 150 from a sleep state), a sleep or hibernate instruction 424 (e.g., an instruction to cause initiation of a process to place the computing device(s) 150 to sleep and/or in a hibernate state).
and historical data obtained from a plurality of devices Paragraph [0052]: Other power management rules may require the power management device 110 to adjust the power consumption level of one or more of the computing devices 150 based on, or otherwise as a function of, the determined activity of the user(s) and/or historical context data associated with the user(s). Also see paragraph [0030].)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Rider, Sadwick, and Guan teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2 (see rejection for claim 2);
Rider further teaches wherein the plurality of devices includes the device (Paragraph [0016]: The power management device 110 may be embodied as, or otherwise include, any type of computing device capable of performing the functions described herein including, but not limited to a server computer, a desktop computer, a laptop computing device, a smart television, a smart appliance, a home automation gateway device, a programmable logic controller, a consumer electronic device, a wireless access point, a network switch, a network router, a mobile computing device, a mobile phone, a smart phone, a tablet computing device, a personal digital assistant, and/or other type of computing device. The illustrative power management device 110 includes a processor 112, a memory 114, an input/output (I/O) subsystem 116, communication circuitry 120, a data storage 122, and a power management controller 128. Of course, the power management device 110 may include other or additional components, such as those commonly found in a computer (e.g., various input/output devices), in other embodiments. Additionally, in some embodiments, one or more of the illustrative components may be incorporated in, or otherwise from a portion of, another component. For example, the memory 114, or portions thereof, may be incorporated in the processor 112 in some embodiments.)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Rider, Sadwick, and Guan teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: (see rejection for claim 1);
Rider further teaches determining a problem with the device based on the power usage data (Paragraph [0050]: Additionally or alternatively, in some embodiments, the power management device 110 analyzes, in block 406, the local power status data (e.g., a current power consumption level and/or power state) received from each of the computing device(s) 150. Paragraph [0054]: In block 416, the power management device 110 controls (e.g., adjusts) the power consumption level of one or more of the computing devices 150. To do so, in some embodiments, the power management device 110 transmits one or more power control instructions to the computing device(s) 150 for subsequent execution and/or implementation. For example, the power management device 110 may transmit a shutdown instruction 418 (e.g., an instruction to cause initiation of a shutdown or power down process on the computing device(s) 150), a boot instruction 420 (e.g., an instruction to cause initiation of a boot and/or power up process on the computing device(s) 150), a wake instruction 422 (e.g., an instruction to cause initiation of a process to wake up the computing device(s) 150 from a sleep state), a sleep or hibernate instruction 424 (e.g., an instruction to cause initiation of a process to place the computing device(s) 150 to sleep and/or in a hibernate state. Paragraph [0051]: For example, in block 410, the power management device 110 may transmit a notification that includes global (e.g. system-wide) power status data (e.g., the global status information 710 of FIG. 7A) to the user's mobile computing device 160. In some embodiments, the global status information 710 may also include one or more graphical and/or text-based controls 714 to enable the user to turn off or otherwise place one or more of the computing devices 150 in a “power savings mode” (e.g., sleep, hibernate, etc.).)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Rider, Sadwick, and Guan teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: (see rejection for claim 1);
Rider further teaches predicting power usage of the device based on the power usage data (Paragraph [0030]: As such, the historical context management module 210 may be configured to update (e.g., revise, replace, etc.) the previously established contextual pattern and/or establish (e.g., generate, create, etc.) a new contextual pattern as a function of the differences. Paragraph [0036]: For example, in embodiments wherein the historical context management module 210 determines that the current context of the user differs from a previously established contextual pattern, the global policy enforcement module 214 may update (e.g., revise, adjust, etc.) a power management policy based on, or otherwise as a function of, the differences. Thereafter, the global policy enforcement module 214 may transmit a power management policy update to the computing devices 150 based on the revised power management policy. Paragraph [0052]: Other power management rules may require the power management device 110 to adjust the power consumption level of one or more of the computing devices 150 based on, or otherwise as a function of, the determined activity of the user(s) and/or historical context data associated with the user(s).)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Rider, Sadwick, and Guan teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein receiving the power usage data comprises: (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Rider and Sadwick does not explicitly teach receiving the power usage data periodically in accordance with a predetermined period.
However, Guan teaches receiving the power usage data periodically in accordance with a predetermined period (Paragraph [0122]: The monitoring circuit 1210 may monitor the power delivered to the regulation circuit 1209. The monitoring may be performed real time. The monitoring may be performed continuously, periodically, or irregularly. For instance, the monitoring may be performed continuously when the LED lamp 1203 is on. As another example, the monitoring may be performed every 5 seconds, or every 10 seconds, or every 15 seconds, or every 20 seconds, or every 30 seconds, or every minute, or every 2 minutes, etc. The monitoring circuit 1210 may adjust the magnitude of the power based on, for example, the power consumption of the LED lamp 1203. The LED lamp 1203 is used here as an exemplary load device. The monitoring circuit 1210 as disclosed herein may be used to monitor power consumption of another load device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving the power usage data periodically in accordance with a predetermined period, as taught by Guan in the combined system of Rider and Sadwick, so that the device power usage can be determined, and accordingly, power settings can be applied (Guan: Paragraphs [0121], [0122], [0129]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Rider, Sadwick, and Guan teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the power usage data comprises (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Rider and Sadwick does not explicitly teach at least one of: a voltage of the functional circuit; a current of the functional circuit; an apparent power of the functional circuit; an active power of the functional circuit; a reactive power of the functional circuit; a power factor of the functional circuit; an overcurrent of the functional circuit; an over voltage of the functional circuit; or an under voltage of the functional circuit.
However, Guan teaches a voltage of the functional circuit; a current of the functional circuit (Paragraph [0122]: The monitoring circuit 1210 may adjust the magnitude of the power based on, for example, the power consumption of the LED lamp 1203. The LED lamp 1203 is used here as an exemplary load device. The monitoring circuit 1210 as disclosed herein may be used to monitor power consumption of another load device. The power consumption may be calculated based on, for example, the current through and the voltage across the lamp 1203.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a voltage of the functional circuit; a current of the functional circuit, as taught by Guan in the combined system of Rider and Sadwick, so that the device power usage can be determined based on the current/voltage of the device circuit, and accordingly, power settings can be applied (Guan: Paragraphs [0121], [0122], [0129]).
Regarding claim 8, Rider teaches a system, comprising: one or more memories; and at least one processor each coupled to at least one of the one or more memories and configured to perform operations comprising: (Paragraph [0016]: The illustrative power management device 110 includes a processor 112, a memory 114, an input/output (I/O) subsystem 116, communication circuitry 120, a data storage 122, and a power management controller 128. Of course, the power management device 110 may include other or additional components, such as those commonly found in a computer.)
receiving power usage data of a functional circuit of a device; generating, based on the power usage data, an instruction to adjust a function performed by the functional circuit of the device; and transmitting the instruction to the device (see rejection for claim 1);
Rider does not explicitly teach wherein the power usage data provides less accuracy than power metering data of the device with respect to an amount of power utilized by the device.
However, Sadwick teaches wherein the power usage data provides less accuracy than power metering data of the device with respect to an amount of power utilized by the device (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the power usage data provides less accuracy than power metering data of the device with respect to an amount of power utilized by the device, as taught by Sadwick in the system of Rider, so that the power monitoring system can use the power usage data gathered from the power meters associated with it, to monitor and control power consumption of devices (Sadwick: Paragraphs [0029], [0030], [0031], [0038]).
The combination of Rider and Sadwick does not explicitly teach wherein the instruction causes at least one of a light emitting diode (LED) of the device to be deactivated or a brightness level of the LED to be adjusted.
However, Guan teaches wherein the instruction causes at least one of a light emitting diode (LED) of the device to be deactivated or a brightness level of the LED to be adjusted (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the instruction causes at least one of a light emitting diode (LED) of the device to be deactivated or a brightness level of the LED to be adjusted, as taught by Guan in the combined system of Rider and Sadwick, so that by monitoring the power consumption of the LED device, the power consumption of the LED can be reduced by lowering the intensity/brightness of the light, and the power setting can be at a desired value (Guan: Paragraphs [0097], [0109], [0121], [0122], [0129]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Rider, Sadwick, and Guan teaches the system of claim 8, wherein generating the instruction comprises: (see rejection for claim 8);
Rider further teaches generating the instruction based on the power usage data and historical data obtained from a plurality of devices (see rejection for claim 2).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Rider, Sadwick, and Guan teaches the system of claim 9 (see rejection for claim 9);
Rider further teaches wherein the plurality of devices includes the device (see rejection for claim 3).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Rider, Sadwick, and Guan teaches the system of claim 8, the operations further comprising: (see rejection for claim 8);
Rider further teaches determining a problem with the device based on the power usage data (see rejection for claim 4).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Rider, Sadwick, and Guan teaches the system of claim 8, the operations further comprising: (see rejection for claim 8);
Rider further teaches predicting power usage of the device based on the power usage data (see rejection for claim 5).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Rider, Sadwick, and Guan teaches the system of claim 8, wherein receiving the power usage data comprises: (see rejection for claim 8);
The combination of Rider and Sadwick does not explicitly teach receiving the power usage data periodically in accordance with a predetermined period.
However, Guan teaches receiving the power usage data periodically in accordance with a predetermined period (see rejection for claim 6);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving the power usage data periodically in accordance with a predetermined period, as taught by Guan in the combined system of Rider and Sadwick, so that the device power usage can be determined, and accordingly, power settings can be applied (Guan: Paragraphs [0121], [0122], [0129]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Rider, Sadwick, and Guan teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the power usage data comprises (see rejection for claim 8);
The combination of Rider and Sadwick does not explicitly teach at least one of: a voltage of the functional circuit; a current of the functional circuit; an apparent power of the functional circuit; an active power of the functional circuit; a reactive power of the functional circuit; a power factor of the functional circuit; an overcurrent of the functional circuit; an over voltage of the functional circuit; or an under voltage of the functional circuit.
However, Guan teaches a voltage of the functional circuit; a current of the functional circuit (see rejection for claim 7);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a voltage of the functional circuit; a current of the functional circuit, as taught by Guan in the combined system of Rider and Sadwick, so that the device power usage can be determined based on the current/voltage of the device circuit, and accordingly, power settings can be applied (Guan: Paragraphs [0121], [0122], [0129]).
Regarding claim 15, Rider teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one computing device, causes the at least one computing device to perform operations comprising: (Paragraph [0012]: The disclosed embodiments may be implemented, in some cases, in hardware, firmware, software, or any combination thereof. The disclosed embodiments may also be implemented as instructions carried by or stored on one or more transitory or non-transitory machine-readable (e.g., computer-readable) storage medium, which may be read and executed by one or more processors. A machine-readable storage medium may be embodied as any storage device, mechanism, or other physical structure for storing or transmitting information in a form readable by a machine (e.g., a volatile or non-volatile memory, a media disc, or other media device).
receiving power usage data of a functional circuit of a device; generating, based on the power usage data, an instruction to adjust a function performed by the functional circuit of the device; and transmitting the instruction to the device (see rejection for claim 1);
Rider does not explicitly teach wherein the power usage data provides less accuracy than power metering data of the device with respect to an amount of power utilized by the device.
However, Sadwick teaches wherein the power usage data provides less accuracy than power metering data of the device with respect to an amount of power utilized by the device (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the power usage data provides less accuracy than power metering data of the device with respect to an amount of power utilized by the device, as taught by Sadwick in the system of Rider, so that the power monitoring system can use the power usage data gathered from the power meters associated with it, to monitor and control power consumption of devices (Sadwick: Paragraphs [0029], [0030], [0031], [0038]).
The combination of Rider and Sadwick does not explicitly teach wherein the instruction causes at least one of a light emitting diode (LED) of the device to be deactivated or a brightness level of the LED to be adjusted.
However, Guan teaches wherein the instruction causes at least one of a light emitting diode (LED) of the device to be deactivated or a brightness level of the LED to be adjusted (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the instruction causes at least one of a light emitting diode (LED) of the device to be deactivated or a brightness level of the LED to be adjusted, as taught by Guan in the combined system of Rider and Sadwick, so that by monitoring the power consumption of the LED device, the power consumption of the LED can be reduced by lowering the intensity/brightness of the light, and the power setting can be at a desired value (Guan: Paragraphs [0097], [0109], [0121], [0122], [0129]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Rider, Sadwick, and Guan teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein generating the instruction comprises: (see rejection for claim 15);
Rider further teaches generating the instruction based on the power usage data and historical data obtained from a plurality of devices (see rejection for claim 2).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Rider, Sadwick, and Guan teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16 (see rejection for claim 16);
Rider further teaches wherein the plurality of devices includes the device (see rejection for claim 3).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Rider, Sadwick, and Guan teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, the operations further comprising: (see rejection for claim 15);
Rider further teaches determining a problem with the device based on the power usage data (see rejection for claim 4).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Rider, Sadwick, and Guan teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, the operations further comprising: (see rejection for claim 15);
Rider further teaches predicting power usage of the device based on the power usage data (see rejection for claim 5).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Rider, Sadwick, and Guan teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein receiving the power usage data comprises: (see rejection for claim 15);
The combination of Rider and Sadwick does not explicitly teach receiving the power usage data periodically in accordance with a predetermined period.
However, Guan teaches receiving the power usage data periodically in accordance with a predetermined period (see rejection for claim 6);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving the power usage data periodically in accordance with a predetermined period, as taught by Guan in the combined system of Rider and Sadwick, so that the device power usage can be determined, and accordingly, power settings can be applied (Guan: Paragraphs [0121], [0122], [0129]).
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461