DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed on 07/10/2026. Claims 1-4 are currently pending with claims 1-4 being amended.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims submitted on 07/10/2026 overcome the claim objections set forth in the previous Office action except for those set forth in the claim objection section.
Response to Arguments
Examiner notes wherein Applicant argues the newly amended limitations, which have not been addressed by the prior art of record. As such, Examiner has augmented the below rejection(s) in view of the prior art of record to address the newly amended limitations.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/10/2026 with respect to the interpretation of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amended claims do not recite a structure which is capable of performing the claimed functionality. The terms used as a substitute for means are non-structural with no specific/accepted structural meaning. Therefore, the claim limitations of “timekeeper”, “abnormality detector”, and “notifier” will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Applicant’s arguments/amendments, see communications, filed 07/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nose et al. (US 20240399590 A1) who suggests the monitoring of time information with respect to the position of the robotic arm while moving between expected positions in order to identify errors within the operation.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, “timekeeper” will be interpreted under 112(f) because of the following three-prong analysis:
Prong 1: The claim uses the nonce term “timekeeper”. This alone is not a known term/structure in the art which would be capable of performing the claimed functionality.
Prong 2: The claim uses functional language to modify the nonce term.
Prong 3: Sufficient structure for performing the function is not recited within the claim.
This limitation is being interpreted according to the specification (paragraph 0019) as a processing device/computer.
Regarding claim 1, “abnormality detector” will be interpreted under 112(f) because of the following three-prong analysis:
Prong 1: The claim uses the nonce term “detector”. This alone is not a known term/structure in the art which would be capable of performing the claimed functionality.
Prong 2: The claim uses functional language to modify the nonce term.
Prong 3: Sufficient structure for performing the function is not recited within the claim.
This limitation is being interpreted according to the specification (paragraph 0019) as a processing device/computer.
Regarding claim 3, “notifier” will be interpreted under 112(f) because of the following three-prong analysis:
Prong 1: The claim uses the nonce term “notifier”. This alone is not a known term/structure in the art which would be capable of performing the claimed functionality.
Prong 2: The claim uses functional language to modify the nonce term.
Prong 3: Sufficient structure for performing the function is not recited within the claim.
This limitation is being interpreted according to the specification (paragraph 0023) as a monitor, warning light, or buzzer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norihiko et al. (JP 2013110200 A), hereinafter Norihiko in view of Uchiyama et al. (US 20160184997 A1), hereinafter Uchiyama.
Regarding claim 1, Norihiko teaches:
1. (Currently Amended) A substrate transport system having:
a transport section that transports a substrate so that the substrate (Page 2, Paragraph 7, "A transfer arm device 200 is provided in the container 112 of the transfer chamber 110. The transfer arm device 200 can carry the wafer W in and out of the process chamber 120. Specifically, the transfer arm device 200 includes a flexible transfer arm 210 that is supported on a base 220 by a motor 202 so as to be rotatable. Here, the transfer arm 210 is configured by a link mechanism in which a plurality of (for example, two) links 230 are connected. A pick (end effector) 240 that holds the wafer W is provided at the tip of the link 230. The pick 240 moves forward and backward as the transfer arm 210 bends and stretches.") …
an [[a]] A sensor that detects presence of the substrate …
a B sensor that detects presence of the substrate (Page 3, Paragraphs 9 and 10, "FIG. 1 shows an example in which the imaging device 130 is supported on the ceiling wall 114 of the transfer chamber 110 by a support member 132. Specifically, an observation window (viewport) 116 is provided on the ceiling wall 114, and the imaging device 130 is arranged so that the inside of the transfer chamber 110 can be viewed from there. In addition, the support method of the imaging device 130 may be supported so as to turn together with the transfer arm device 200, or may be supported so as not to turn.
The imaging device 130 may be any device that can capture an image displayed on the mirror unit 300. For example, a CCD (Charge Coupled Device) camera can be mentioned." as well as Page 5, Paragraph 8, "Control for detecting the state of the wafer W from the image of the edge of the wafer W by the imaging device 130 will be described. The imaging device 130 is connected to the control unit 140 as described above, and can capture the above-described image of the mirror unit 300. The image in this case is as shown in the right column of FIGS. 5 (a) to 5 (c) as described above. The control unit 140 detects the presence / absence of the wafer W, a positional deviation, and the like from the image of the imaging apparatus 130, that is, the image of the edge of the wafer W (here, the peripheral curve (edge line)).") …
and
an abnormality detector (Page 3, Paragraphs 5 and 6, "By the way, when the wafer W is carried in / out by the transfer arm device 200 described above, the wafer W may be displaced due to an error in the transfer accuracy or a rapid change in temperature. In particular, when the positional deviation is large, there is a possibility that the wafer W hits the loading / unloading port of the chamber and is damaged or the wafer is dropped.
For this reason, it is preferable to detect the state of the wafer W and correct it when a positional deviation occurs. In this case, if a large number of sensors are provided in the vicinity of the pick 240 or the entrance / exit of the chamber to directly detect the presence / absence or displacement of the wafer W, the number of sensors increases as the detection position is increased. When the temperature of the wafer 120 or the wafer W becomes high (for example, 200 ° C. or higher), there is a high possibility that a sensor or a drive system for driving the sensor is damaged by heat when the pick 240 is loaded.") … and an image obtained by the photographing, (Page 3, Paragraphs 9 and 10, "FIG. 1 shows an example in which the imaging device 130 is supported on the ceiling wall 114 of the transfer chamber 110 by a support member 132. Specifically, an observation window (viewport) 116 is provided on the ceiling wall 114, and the imaging device 130 is arranged so that the inside of the transfer chamber 110 can be viewed from there. In addition, the support method of the imaging device 130 may be supported so as to turn together with the transfer arm device 200, or may be supported so as not to turn.
The imaging device 130 may be any device that can capture an image displayed on the mirror unit 300. For example, a CCD (Charge Coupled Device) camera can be mentioned." as well as Page 5, Paragraph 8, "Control for detecting the state of the wafer W from the image of the edge of the wafer W by the imaging device 130 will be described. The imaging device 130 is connected to the control unit 140 as described above, and can capture the above-described image of the mirror unit 300. The image in this case is as shown in the right column of FIGS. 5 (a) to 5 (c) as described above. The control unit 140 detects the presence / absence of the wafer W, a positional deviation, and the like from the image of the imaging apparatus 130, that is, the image of the edge of the wafer W (here, the peripheral curve (edge line)).") wherein
…
Norihiko does not specifically discuss performing operations in an ordered sequence, using elapsed time data to identify issues in the operation, or the sensors used to detect the substrate being laser sensors. However, Uchiyama, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… reaches A position, B position, C position, the B position, and the A position in this order, (Paragraphs 0012, "The apparatus includes: a movement coordinate acquiring unit for acquiring first coordinate values being each of position coordinates of movement destinations of an end effector of the robot; an imaging controlling unit for controlling an operation of the imaging device so as to capture an image of a target at each of the movement destinations of the end effector; an image detecting unit for detecting second coordinate values being position coordinates of the target based on the image of the target captured at each of the movement destinations; an operation setting accepting unit for accepting selections of a plurality of operations which the robot controller is made to execute out of a plurality of operations including at least an operation of moving the end effector to the first coordinate values or an operation of moving the end effector to the second coordinate values, and accepting a setting of an execution sequence of the plurality of operations the selections of which have been accepted; and a program generating unit for generating an operation program corresponding to each of the plurality of operations, the selections of which have been accepted in the operation setting accepting unit, in accordance with the execution sequence the setting of which has been accepted." Examiner Note: This demonstrates that it is well known to control a robotic system to perform a series of ordered actions in order to achieve a plurality of positions in a defined sequence.) … that has reached the A position, … that has reached the B position, (Paragraph 0012, "an imaging controlling unit for controlling an operation of the imaging device so as to capture an image of a target at each of the movement destinations of the end effector; an image detecting unit for detecting second coordinate values being position coordinates of the target based on the image of the target captured at each of the movement destinations;" as well as Paragraph 0036, " In the third and thirteenth aspects, settings of operation conditions including at least a kind of operation and an operation sequence are accepted with respect to each imaging trigger or processing switching command which is received from the robot controller, the imaging trigger indicating timing for starting to capture the image of the target by the imaging device. Hence it is possible to change the operation condition in accordance with the imaging trigger or the processing switching command, and detect position coordinates of the target on the image, which is obtained by capturing the image of the target at appropriate timing in accordance with the operation conditions and on which the target is displayed.") …
However, Nose, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… a timekeeper timekeeper (Paragraphs 0072-0073, “As shown in FIG. 3, the table holds, as the time information, a required time for the hand 14 (monitoring target) to reach each of the operation positions from the initial position (reference position). The controller 301 determines, in step S202 (second determination process) in FIG. 6, an operational abnormality of the robot arm 10, based on whether or not the difference between a required time up to the timing when the operation position has been acquired from the robot arm 10 and a required time associated with the operation position in the table exceeds a predetermined threshold. Accordingly, in a case where the movement speed of the robot arm 10 has decreased or the robot arm 10 has become unable to move any more since the robot arm 10 has come into contact with some obstacle or the like, the determination in step S202 becomes NO, and an operational abnormality of the robot arm 10 is determined. Therefore, an operational abnormality of the robot arm 10 can be appropriately determined.
As shown in FIG. 7, the controller 301 further executes a process (S301, S302: third determination process) of determining an operational abnormality of the robot arm 10, based on whether or not a detection result indicating that the hand 14 (monitoring target) has reached the monitoring position within a predetermined time after start of operation of the hand 14 (monitoring target) has been obtained from the object sensors 41a, 41b. Accordingly, for example, also when the monitoring device 30 has not been able to appropriately receive the operation position (hand position) from the robot arm 10 due to communication failure or the like, an operational abnormality of the robot arm 10 can be appropriately determined through the process in FIG. 7.”)
However, Otogawa, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… each of the A sensor and the B sensor is a laser sensor. (Page 4, Paragraph 2, “There are various types of non-contact type substrate detection sensors 5, for example, there are a type using a laser beam, a type using a light emitting diode, a type using an ultrasonic wave, etc., which are optimal depending on the purpose and situation. The type is selected. In addition to the function of detecting the presence or absence of a substrate or the like, there is a type that can measure the distance between the substrate detection sensor 5 and the substrate or the like, but it is sufficient to use at least a function that detects the presence or absence of a substrate or the like.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic transport system and methods of operation as taught by Norihiko with the functionality of operating using ordered sequences of destination positions as taught by Uchiyama and with monitoring the state of the system/target using laser sensors as taught by Otogawa as well as with the use of time information as taught by Nose. Monitoring the system for accuracy in order to determine calibration of the system is well known. Incorporating these sensors to detect the presence of the substrate is well known in the art. Incorporating the functionality of an order sequence allows for distinct processing steps to occur at each location and monitoring the elapsed time would ensure that the system runs smoothly and that the product is handled without risking damage.
Regarding claim 2, wherein all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Norihiko further teaches:
2. (Currently Amended) The substrate transport system as described in claim 1, wherein the abnormality detector (Page 3, Paragraphs 5 and 6, "By the way, when the wafer W is carried in / out by the transfer arm device 200 described above, the wafer W may be displaced due to an error in the transfer accuracy or a rapid change in temperature. In particular, when the positional deviation is large, there is a possibility that the wafer W hits the loading / unloading port of the chamber and is damaged or the wafer is dropped.
For this reason, it is preferable to detect the state of the wafer W and correct it when a positional deviation occurs. In this case, if a large number of sensors are provided in the vicinity of the pick 240 or the entrance / exit of the chamber to directly detect the presence / absence or displacement of the wafer W, the number of sensors increases as the detection position is increased. When the temperature of the wafer 120 or the wafer W becomes high (for example, 200 ° C. or higher), there is a high possibility that a sensor or a drive system for driving the sensor is damaged by heat when the pick 240 is loaded.") …
Norihiko does not specifically discuss utilizing temporal data during the operation of the system. However, Nose, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… at a timing determined based on the elapsed time measured by the timekeeper (Paragraphs 0072-0073, “As shown in FIG. 3, the table holds, as the time information, a required time for the hand 14 (monitoring target) to reach each of the operation positions from the initial position (reference position). The controller 301 determines, in step S202 (second determination process) in FIG. 6, an operational abnormality of the robot arm 10, based on whether or not the difference between a required time up to the timing when the operation position has been acquired from the robot arm 10 and a required time associated with the operation position in the table exceeds a predetermined threshold. Accordingly, in a case where the movement speed of the robot arm 10 has decreased or the robot arm 10 has become unable to move any more since the robot arm 10 has come into contact with some obstacle or the like, the determination in step S202 becomes NO, and an operational abnormality of the robot arm 10 is determined. Therefore, an operational abnormality of the robot arm 10 can be appropriately determined.
As shown in FIG. 7, the controller 301 further executes a process (S301, S302: third determination process) of determining an operational abnormality of the robot arm 10, based on whether or not a detection result indicating that the hand 14 (monitoring target) has reached the monitoring position within a predetermined time after start of operation of the hand 14 (monitoring target) has been obtained from the object sensors 41a, 41b. Accordingly, for example, also when the monitoring device 30 has not been able to appropriately receive the operation position (hand position) from the robot arm 10 due to communication failure or the like, an operational abnormality of the robot arm 10 can be appropriately determined through the process in FIG. 7.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic transport system and methods of operation as taught by Norihiko with the functionality of monitoring the state of the system/target using time information as taught by Nose. Providing a time related trigger to perform the imaging would save resources and ensure that the system efficiently monitors for accuracy in operation.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norihiko in view of Uchiyama, Nose, and Otogawa and in further view of Koga et al. (US 20250121498 A1), hereinafter Koga.
Regarding claim 3, wherein all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Norihiko further teaches:
3. (Currently Amended) The substrate transport system as described in claim 1, having … when the abnormality detector (Page 3, Paragraphs 5 and 6, "By the way, when the wafer W is carried in / out by the transfer arm device 200 described above, the wafer W may be displaced due to an error in the transfer accuracy or a rapid change in temperature. In particular, when the positional deviation is large, there is a possibility that the wafer W hits the loading / unloading port of the chamber and is damaged or the wafer is dropped.
For this reason, it is preferable to detect the state of the wafer W and correct it when a positional deviation occurs. In this case, if a large number of sensors are provided in the vicinity of the pick 240 or the entrance / exit of the chamber to directly detect the presence / absence or displacement of the wafer W, the number of sensors increases as the detection position is increased. When the temperature of the wafer 120 or the wafer W becomes high (for example, 200 ° C. or higher), there is a high possibility that a sensor or a drive system for driving the sensor is damaged by heat when the pick 240 is loaded.")
Norihiko does not specifically discuss a notification section for alerting an operator to an abnormality. However, Koga, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… a notifier (Paragraphs 0029-0030, "FIG. 3 is a functional block diagram of the robot controller 50 and the higher level controller 60. As illustrated in FIG. 3, the robot controller 50 includes an operation control unit 151 controlling operation of the robot 10 (and the hand 30) in accordance with a command from the teaching device 40 or an operation program 155, an image processing unit 152 executing control of the image capture devices 71 to 73 and image processing on a captured image, and an abnormality detection processing unit 153 performing, in response to sensing of abnormality in a detection operation by any of the image capture devices 71 to 73, control in such a way as to return the robot 10 to the position at the time of detection of the abnormality. An information recording unit 154 acquires and records the position of the robot 10 at the time of detection of the abnormality and other information. The abnormality detection processing unit 153 also has a function of transmitting, in response to sensing of abnormality in a detection operation by any of the image capture devices 71 to 73, a signal indicating the sensing of the abnormality to the higher level controller 60.
The higher level controller 60 includes a control unit 161 controlling operation sequences of the robot controller 50 and the conveyor controller 20 in accordance with a control program 164 and an abnormality processing unit 162 performing, in response to reception of a signal indicating sensing of the aforementioned abnormality from the robot controller 50, control in such a way as to return the conveyor 25 to the position at the time of detection of the abnormality. An information recording unit 163 acquires and records the position of the conveyor 25 at the time of detection of the abnormality and other information." S QWLL a Paragraph 0069, "For example, the aforementioned operation (C2) may be achieved by the information recording unit 154 in the robot controller 50 acquiring detailed information about an abnormality when the abnormality is sensed by operating in coordination with the image processing unit 152 or the operation control unit 151 and the abnormality detection processing unit 153 displaying the detailed information about the abnormality acquired by the information recording unit 154 on the teaching device 40. FIG. 8 illustrates an example of details of an abnormality being displayed on a display screen of the teaching device 40 (the display unit 41) by the abnormality detection processing unit 153 when abnormality in a detection operation by an image capture device is sensed. In this example, an error display screen 145 presenting a message to the effect that the cause of the abnormality is a target object being undetected by the image capture device (a camera #2 in this example) is displayed. In this case, an operator can appropriately pursue adjustment of the position of the robot 10 in the operation program, adjustment of an operation timing of the robot 10, adjustment of the installation position of the image capture device, etc. with detailed information about the abnormality presented here as a lead.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic transport system and methods of operation as taught by Norihiko with the notification capabilities as taught by Koga. This would ensure that an abnormality is addressed efficiently while allowing an operator to monitor a plurality of systems or perform other work.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norihiko in view of Uchiyama and Koga and in further view of Werner et al. (DE 102009015769 A1), hereinafter Werner.
Regarding claim 4, wherein all the limitations of claim 3 are discussed above, Norihiko further teaches:
4. (Currently Amended) The substrate transport system as described in claim 3, having:
… that transports a second substrate so that the second substrate (Page 2, Paragraph 7, "A transfer arm device 200 is provided in the container 112 of the transfer chamber 110. The transfer arm device 200 can carry the wafer W in and out of the process chamber 120. Specifically, the transfer arm device 200 includes a flexible transfer arm 210 that is supported on a base 220 by a motor 202 so as to be rotatable. Here, the transfer arm 210 is configured by a link mechanism in which a plurality of (for example, two) links 230 are connected. A pick (end effector) 240 that holds the wafer W is provided at the tip of the link 230. The pick 240 moves forward and backward as the transfer arm 210 bends and stretches.") …
a second A sensor that detects presence of the second substrate that … and a second B sensor that detects presence of the second substrate that (Page 3, Paragraphs 9 and 10, "FIG. 1 shows an example in which the imaging device 130 is supported on the ceiling wall 114 of the transfer chamber 110 by a support member 132. Specifically, an observation window (viewport) 116 is provided on the ceiling wall 114, and the imaging device 130 is arranged so that the inside of the transfer chamber 110 can be viewed from there. In addition, the support method of the imaging device 130 may be supported so as to turn together with the transfer arm device 200, or may be supported so as not to turn.
The imaging device 130 may be any device that can capture an image displayed on the mirror unit 300. For example, a CCD (Charge Coupled Device) camera can be mentioned." as well as Page 5, Paragraph 8, "Control for detecting the state of the wafer W from the image of the edge of the wafer W by the imaging device 130 will be described. The imaging device 130 is connected to the control unit 140 as described above, and can capture the above-described image of the mirror unit 300. The image in this case is as shown in the right column of FIGS. 5 (a) to 5 (c) as described above. The control unit 140 detects the presence / absence of the wafer W, a positional deviation, and the like from the image of the imaging apparatus 130, that is, the image of the edge of the wafer W (here, the peripheral curve (edge line)).") … the abnormality detector (Page 3, Paragraphs 5 and 6, "By the way, when the wafer W is carried in / out by the transfer arm device 200 described above, the wafer W may be displaced due to an error in the transfer accuracy or a rapid change in temperature. In particular, when the positional deviation is large, there is a possibility that the wafer W hits the loading / unloading port of the chamber and is damaged or the wafer is dropped.
For this reason, it is preferable to detect the state of the wafer W and correct it when a positional deviation occurs. In this case, if a large number of sensors are provided in the vicinity of the pick 240 or the entrance / exit of the chamber to directly detect the presence / absence or displacement of the wafer W, the number of sensors increases as the detection position is increased. When the temperature of the wafer 120 or the wafer W becomes high (for example, 200 ° C. or higher), there is a high possibility that a sensor or a drive system for driving the sensor is damaged by heat when the pick 240 is loaded.") … and an image obtained by the second photographing, (Page 3, Paragraphs 9 and 10, "FIG. 1 shows an example in which the imaging device 130 is supported on the ceiling wall 114 of the transfer chamber 110 by a support member 132. Specifically, an observation window (viewport) 116 is provided on the ceiling wall 114, and the imaging device 130 is arranged so that the inside of the transfer chamber 110 can be viewed from there. In addition, the support method of the imaging device 130 may be supported so as to turn together with the transfer arm device 200, or may be supported so as not to turn.
The imaging device 130 may be any device that can capture an image displayed on the mirror unit 300. For example, a CCD (Charge Coupled Device) camera can be mentioned." as well as Page 5, Paragraph 8, "Control for detecting the state of the wafer W from the image of the edge of the wafer W by the imaging device 130 will be described. The imaging device 130 is connected to the control unit 140 as described above, and can capture the above-described image of the mirror unit 300. The image in this case is as shown in the right column of FIGS. 5 (a) to 5 (c) as described above. The control unit 140 detects the presence / absence of the wafer W, a positional deviation, and the like from the image of the imaging apparatus 130, that is, the image of the edge of the wafer W (here, the peripheral curve (edge line)).") and
… when the abnormality detection unit detects the presence of an abnormality in transport of the second substrate. (Page 3, Paragraphs 5 and 6, "By the way, when the wafer W is carried in / out by the transfer arm device 200 described above, the wafer W may be displaced due to an error in the transfer accuracy or a rapid change in temperature. In particular, when the positional deviation is large, there is a possibility that the wafer W hits the loading / unloading port of the chamber and is damaged or the wafer is dropped.
For this reason, it is preferable to detect the state of the wafer W and correct it when a positional deviation occurs. In this case, if a large number of sensors are provided in the vicinity of the pick 240 or the entrance / exit of the chamber to directly detect the presence / absence or displacement of the wafer W, the number of sensors increases as the detection position is increased. When the temperature of the wafer 120 or the wafer W becomes high (for example, 200 ° C. or higher), there is a high possibility that a sensor or a drive system for driving the sensor is damaged by heat when the pick 240 is loaded.")
Norihiko does not specifically discuss the system being one of a plurality of systems performing the same function or performing operations in an ordered sequence, using time information to identify issues in the operation, or a notification section for alerting an operator to an abnormality. However, Werner, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… a second transport section … (Page 2, Paragraph 8, "By dividing the functionality of the assembly of a particular product or product spectrum into several, ie at least two, robot modules, the failure of one of the robot modules can be compensated by the remaining robot modules. This is also possible if the functionality of a robot module is divided into several sub-functionalities, which in turn are each distributed redundantly on several robot modules of the production line. In this way, even with a failure of one of the robot modules a continuous, uninterrupted operation of the transport system and thus the production line is guaranteed. The robot module can be removed from the loading line in case of service in order to carry out the service or replacement." as well as Page 5, Paragraph 10, "In 1 is the production line according to the invention 1 for loading substrates 2 with components 3 , in particular for the production of electronic assemblies, shown schematically in plan view. The production line 1 is modular and has a transport system 4 which is used to transport the substrates 2 is formed in a transport direction T. Furthermore, the production line points 1 several robot modules 10 which, for processing or for handling the substrates 2 provided and in the transport direction T on both sides of the transport system 4 are coupled. However, it is also possible to use the robotic modules 10 in the transport direction T only on one side to the transport system 4 to dock. Upstream or downstream areas of the production line, such as a printed circuit board printer or a soldering oven, are not shown in the figures.")
However, Otogawa, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… each of the second A sensor and the second B sensor is a laser sensor, … (Page 4, Paragraph 2, “There are various types of non-contact type substrate detection sensors 5, for example, there are a type using a laser beam, a type using a light emitting diode, a type using an ultrasonic wave, etc., which are optimal depending on the purpose and situation. The type is selected. In addition to the function of detecting the presence or absence of a substrate or the like, there is a type that can measure the distance between the substrate detection sensor 5 and the substrate or the like, but it is sufficient to use at least a function that detects the presence or absence of a substrate or the like.”)
However, Nose, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… wherein the timekeeper timekeeper (Paragraphs 0072-0073, “As shown in FIG. 3, the table holds, as the time information, a required time for the hand 14 (monitoring target) to reach each of the operation positions from the initial position (reference position). The controller 301 determines, in step S202 (second determination process) in FIG. 6, an operational abnormality of the robot arm 10, based on whether or not the difference between a required time up to the timing when the operation position has been acquired from the robot arm 10 and a required time associated with the operation position in the table exceeds a predetermined threshold. Accordingly, in a case where the movement speed of the robot arm 10 has decreased or the robot arm 10 has become unable to move any more since the robot arm 10 has come into contact with some obstacle or the like, the determination in step S202 becomes NO, and an operational abnormality of the robot arm 10 is determined. Therefore, an operational abnormality of the robot arm 10 can be appropriately determined.
As shown in FIG. 7, the controller 301 further executes a process (S301, S302: third determination process) of determining an operational abnormality of the robot arm 10, based on whether or not a detection result indicating that the hand 14 (monitoring target) has reached the monitoring position within a predetermined time after start of operation of the hand 14 (monitoring target) has been obtained from the object sensors 41a, 41b. Accordingly, for example, also when the monitoring device 30 has not been able to appropriately receive the operation position (hand position) from the robot arm 10 due to communication failure or the like, an operational abnormality of the robot arm 10 can be appropriately determined through the process in FIG. 7.”)
However, Uchiyama, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… reaches second A position, second B position, second C position, the second B position, and the second A position in this order, (Paragraphs 0012, "The apparatus includes: a movement coordinate acquiring unit for acquiring first coordinate values being each of position coordinates of movement destinations of an end effector of the robot; an imaging controlling unit for controlling an operation of the imaging device so as to capture an image of a target at each of the movement destinations of the end effector; an image detecting unit for detecting second coordinate values being position coordinates of the target based on the image of the target captured at each of the movement destinations; an operation setting accepting unit for accepting selections of a plurality of operations which the robot controller is made to execute out of a plurality of operations including at least an operation of moving the end effector to the first coordinate values or an operation of moving the end effector to the second coordinate values, and accepting a setting of an execution sequence of the plurality of operations the selections of which have been accepted; and a program generating unit for generating an operation program corresponding to each of the plurality of operations, the selections of which have been accepted in the operation setting accepting unit, in accordance with the execution sequence the setting of which has been accepted." Examiner Note: This demonstrates that it is well known to control a robotic system to perform a series of ordered actions in order to achieve a plurality of positions in a defined sequence.) … has reached the second A position, … has reached the second B position, (Paragraph 0012, "an imaging controlling unit for controlling an operation of the imaging device so as to capture an image of a target at each of the movement destinations of the end effector; an image detecting unit for detecting second coordinate values being position coordinates of the target based on the image of the target captured at each of the movement destinations;" as well as Paragraph 0036, " In the third and thirteenth aspects, settings of operation conditions including at least a kind of operation and an operation sequence are accepted with respect to each imaging trigger or processing switching command which is received from the robot controller, the imaging trigger indicating timing for starting to capture the image of the target by the imaging device. Hence it is possible to change the operation condition in accordance with the imaging trigger or the processing switching command, and detect position coordinates of the target on the image, which is obtained by capturing the image of the target at appropriate timing in accordance with the operation conditions and on which the target is displayed.") …
However, Koga, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… the notifier (Paragraphs 0029-0030, "FIG. 3 is a functional block diagram of the robot controller 50 and the higher level controller 60. As illustrated in FIG. 3, the robot controller 50 includes an operation control unit 151 controlling operation of the robot 10 (and the hand 30) in accordance with a command from the teaching device 40 or an operation program 155, an image processing unit 152 executing control of the image capture devices 71 to 73 and image processing on a captured image, and an abnormality detection processing unit 153 performing, in response to sensing of abnormality in a detection operation by any of the image capture devices 71 to 73, control in such a way as to return the robot 10 to the position at the time of detection of the abnormality. An information recording unit 154 acquires and records the position of the robot 10 at the time of detection of the abnormality and other information. The abnormality detection processing unit 153 also has a function of transmitting, in response to sensing of abnormality in a detection operation by any of the image capture devices 71 to 73, a signal indicating the sensing of the abnormality to the higher level controller 60.
The higher level controller 60 includes a control unit 161 controlling operation sequences of the robot controller 50 and the conveyor controller 20 in accordance with a control program 164 and an abnormality processing unit 162 performing, in response to reception of a signal indicating sensing of the aforementioned abnormality from the robot controller 50, control in such a way as to return the conveyor 25 to the position at the time of detection of the abnormality. An information recording unit 163 acquires and records the position of the conveyor 25 at the time of detection of the abnormality and other information." S QWLL a Paragraph 0069, "For example, the aforementioned operation (C2) may be achieved by the information recording unit 154 in the robot controller 50 acquiring detailed information about an abnormality when the abnormality is sensed by operating in coordination with the image processing unit 152 or the operation control unit 151 and the abnormality detection processing unit 153 displaying the detailed information about the abnormality acquired by the information recording unit 154 on the teaching device 40. FIG. 8 illustrates an example of details of an abnormality being displayed on a display screen of the teaching device 40 (the display unit 41) by the abnormality detection processing unit 153 when abnormality in a detection operation by an image capture device is sensed. In this example, an error display screen 145 presenting a message to the effect that the cause of the abnormality is a target object being undetected by the image capture device (a camera #2 in this example) is displayed. In this case, an operator can appropriately pursue adjustment of the position of the robot 10 in the operation program, adjustment of an operation timing of the robot 10, adjustment of the installation position of the image capture device, etc. with detailed information about the abnormality presented here as a lead.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic transport system and methods of operation as taught by Norihiko with the plurality of robotic modules as taught by Werner as well as with the functionality of operating using ordered sequences of destination positions as taught by Uchiyama and with monitoring the state of the system/target using laser sensors as taught by Otogawa as well as with the use of time information as taught by Nose as well as with the notification capabilities as taught by Koga. This would ensure that an abnormality is addressed efficiently while allowing an operator to monitor a plurality of systems or perform other work. The use of a plurality of robotic modules as taught by Werner demonstrates that it is well known to provide a plurality of systems each of which perform the desired functionality. This ensures efficient operation of the production process without undesirable pauses due to equipment failure. Monitoring the system for accuracy in order to determine calibration of the system is well known. Incorporating these sensors to detect the presence of the substrate is well known in the art. Incorporating the functionality of an order sequence allows for distinct processing steps to occur at each location and monitoring the elapsed time would ensure that the system runs smoothly and that the product is handled without risking damage.
Conclusion
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the referencesapplied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations arerepresentative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657