DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/05/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 are cancelled.
Claims 11, 13, 15-16, 19 and 20 are amended.
Claims 21-30 are new.
Claims 11-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see arguments, filed 04/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101, claims 1 and 5 under 35 U.S.C 112(b) and claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 102 under Devereaux et al have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Trundle et al. (WO 2021/003264 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Trundle (WO 2021/003264).
As per claim 11, Trundle discloses a security alarm (Fig. 1) (i.e., monitoring system) assembly comprising:
one or more dwelling sensors, each said one or more dwelling sensors configured to sense a condition in a dwelling; [¶0031-¶0032]
a security alarm system in communication with the one or more dwelling sensors; and
a processor (item# 104- i.e., server) in communication with the security alarm system, the processor configured to receive data (item# 111) indicative of a number and type of said one or more dwelling sensors, data (111) indicative of said condition sensed by each said one or more dwelling sensors in said dwelling, data indicative of an extent to which the security alarm system is activated, and data indicative of an extent to which one or more of the security alarm system [[or]] and the one or more dwelling sensors are monitored by a professional company or a person occupying the dwelling, and calculate a risk profile based on said data received by the processor, said risk profile not including any identifying information of the dwelling or the person occupying the dwelling; [see ¶0031-¶0032, esp. ¶0032 where it is determined whether the dweller is a smoker, ¶0033]
wherein the security alarm assembly is configured to send the risk profile so determined to an insurance provider or broker and obtain an insurance quote based on the same.[¶0031-¶0035, see ¶0035]
As per Claim 12, Trundle discloses including a communication module configured to enable the processor to communicate with and receive data from one or more smart home devices, with the processor being configured to calculate the risk profile in part based thereon.(item# 142)(item#144) [¶0057-¶0058]
As per Claim 13, Trundle discloses wherein the processor is configured to adjust the risk profile based
As per Claim 14, Trundle discloses wherein the one or more dwelling sensors comprise a temperature sensor, a motion sensor, an optical sensor, a door sensor, a window sensor, a smoke detector, a carbon monoxide (CO) sensor, a water leak sensor, a water flow sensor and/or a humidity sensor, and wherein the one or more smart home devices comprise a smart hub, a smart refrigerator, a smart air conditioning system, a smart oven, a smart cooker, a smart shower, a smart mattress, a smart thermostat, a smart speaker, a smart display, a smart doorbell, a smart lock, a smart plug, and/or a smart lighting system. [¶0031-¶0032]]
As per Claim 15, Trundle discloses wherein the one or more dwelling sensors comprise at least one water leak sensor. [¶0031-¶0032; ¶0034]
As per Claims 16, Trundle discloses, wherein assembly is configured to create to create a geofence and/or virtual perimeter about a person’s dwelling or property, with the processor being configured to selectively communicate with and/or ping various components of the assembly based on whether a designated said person enters or exits the geofence, with the processor making determinations and/or communicating information to the person, based on the same. [¶00123], [¶00133]
As per Claim 17, Trundle discloses, wherein the assembly includes a sliding risk scale (i.e., risk tolerance) within/along which a given said risk profile is determined/adjusted. [¶0043]
As per Claim 18, Trundle discloses a computer program product comprising a medium (item# 342)carrying computer readable instructions which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to execute a method of determining a risk profile for a dwelling[¶00128], the method comprising:
determining whether the dwelling is being monitored by a security alarm system and adjusting a base line said risk profile in response thereto; [¶0031-¶0035]
determining a type and extent of dwelling sensors within the dwelling and further adjusting the risk profile in response thereto; [¶0031-¶0035]
receiving data from said dwelling sensors and further adjusting the risk profile in response thereto[¶0041]; and
sending the risk profile so determined to an insurance provider and obtaining an insurance quote based on the same. [¶0031-¶0035, see ¶0035]
As per Claim 19, Trundle discloses a computer program product according to claim 18, including determining whether the dwelling sensors include at least one water leak detector and if so, lowering the risk profile.
As per Claim 20, Trundle discloses a computer program product according to comprising an application software in communication with the dwelling sensors, a security alarm system and one or more smart home devices, with the application software enabling centralized monitoring of the dwelling sensors, the security alarm system and the one or more smart home devices. [¶00128],
As per Claim 21, Trundle discloses wherein the processor is part of the security alarm system or wherein the processor is part of one or more of a computing device and a mobile device. (Item# 104),
As per Claim 22, Trundle discloses, including an application software, with the one or more dwelling sensors and the security alarm system being capable of being centrally monitored thereby and/or with the application software being configured to enable an operator thereof to one or more of adjust, control or activate one or more of the security alarm system, the dwelling sensors, and one or more smart home devices. (item# 342)(item# 352)[¶0128]
As per Claim 23, Trundle discloses, wherein the processor is configured to adjust the risk profile based the extent to which the one or more smart homes devices are monitored. [¶0041]
As per Claim 24, Trundle discloses, wherein the processor is configured to adjust the risk profile based the extent to which the one or more smart home devices are used. [¶0041]
As per Claim 25, Trundle discloses, wherein the processor is configured to adjust the risk profile based the extent to which the at least one water leak sensor is monitored. [¶0031-¶0034]
As per Claim 26, Trundle discloses, wherein the processor is configured to adjust the risk profile based the extent to which the at least one water leak sensor is used. [¶0031-¶0034]
As per Claim 27, Trundle discloses including determining whether and tracking the extent to which the at least one water leak detector is monitored professionally or by a person occupying the dwelling, and adjusting the risk profile in response thereto. [¶0031-¶0034]
As per Claim 28, Trundle discloses including determining a number of said water leak detectors and adjusting the risk profile in response thereto. [¶0031-¶0034]
As per Claim 29, Trundle discloses, including determining a number and type of smart home devices within the dwelling and further adjusting the risk profile in response thereto. [¶0041]
As per Claim 30, Trundle discloses, including adjusting the risk profile in part based on the extent to which the dwelling sensors, the security alarm system and the one or more smart home devices are monitored. [¶0041]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DANIEL S. FELTEN
Examiner
Art Unit 3692
/DANIEL S FELTEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3692