DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for No. 19/009,250 on January 3, 2025. Please note Claims 1-22 are pending and have been examined.
America Invents Act
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ji et al.
( US 2020/0413508 A1 ).
Ji teaches in Claim 1:
A method for applying local dimming on a boot display ( Figure 4, [0110]-[0111] discloses generating backlight control information in response to the display device being awakened ), comprising:
receiving local dimming data during an initialization procedure ( Figures 4 and 5, [0112] discloses the backlight control information includes brightness information of at least one strip, of many strips, (read as local dimming data) which are partitions over the panel. Please note Figure 4, [0114]+ discloses this is done during S302, during initialization of the backlight controller );
sending the local dimming data to a backlight driver during an Mboot program to enter the initialization procedure ( [0058] discloses various system boot instructions initiated when the display device is powered on. At this time, boot instructions start running the operating system, including the steps S301+ as shown in Figure 4 ); and
turning on backlights based on the local dimming data during the initialization procedure. ( Figure 4, [0117]+ disclose outputting the backlight control information to the backlight controller in response to the competition of initialization of the backlight controller, such that the backlight is operated, i.e. turning on the strips that were determined earlier )
Ji teaches in Claim 2:
The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the local dimming data is read from a storage device or calculated based on an input image. ( [0127] discloses the local dimming data can be generated int a kernel and can obtain the data from separate files of the data, i.e. stored in a storage device )
Ji teaches in Claim 3:
The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the local dimming data comprise local dimming backlight duty. ( Figure 3, [0100] disclose the control process after startup includes generating a PWM duty ratio for each light strip, integrating the duty ratio value, etc )
Ji teaches in Claim 4:
The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the step of receiving local dimming data during the initialization procedure comprises:
off-line calculating the local dimming data based on an input image during a previous boot-up; storing the local dimming data in a storage device during the previous boot-up; and reading the local dimming data from the storage device during the initialization procedure. ( Figure 3, [0106] discloses outputting the previously generating light strip brightness information to the backlight controller 202. Figure 6, [0141] disclose comparing the real-time dynamic refresh data with backup data in the previous execution cycle first to compare to a set threshold. To clarify, the previous data is stored and accessed/read during the initialization aspects detailed in S302 in Figure 4. Respectfully, Examiner does not see the aspects of on-line calculation being well defined here. There are aspects of dynamic processing (on-line) as well as reading the previously stored data (off-line). To emphasize on this, [0061] discloses details of a preload mode, i.e. off-line )
Ji teaches in Claim 5:
The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the step of receiving local dimming data during the initialization procedure comprises:
on-line calculating the local dimming data based on an input image during the previous boot-up; storing the local dimming data in a storage device during the previous boot-up; and reading the local dimming data from the storage device during the initialization procedure. ( Figure 3, [0106] discloses outputting the previously generating light strip brightness information to the backlight controller 202. Figure 6, [0141] disclose comparing the real-time dynamic refresh data with backup data in the previous execution cycle first to compare to a set threshold. To clarify, the previous data is stored and accessed/read during the initialization aspects detailed in S302 in Figure 4. Respectfully, Examiner does not see the aspects of on-line calculation being well defined here. There are aspects of dynamic processing (on-line) as well as reading the previously stored data (off-line). To clarify, [0062] discloses network interfaces to run the operations, i.e. on-line )
Ji teaches in Claim 6:
The method as claimed in claim 5, wherein the step of on-line calculating the local dimming data based on the input image during the previous boot-up is executed by software or hardware. ( [0077] discloses communication between system software and hardware and [0068] discloses software and/or programs for an operating system, including the kernel detailed above )
Ji teaches in Claim 7:
The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the step of receiving local dimming data during the initialization procedure comprises:
initializing software for local dimming during the initialization procedure; and calculating the local dimming data based on an input image by the software during the initialization procedure. ( Figure 3, [0100] disclose the control process after startup includes generating a PWM duty ratio for each light strip, integrating the duty ratio value, etc. [0051] discloses an example of an image collector which can collect user or environment data to adapt the display parameters, such as the local dimming data. [0005] and [0056] disclose examples of software control )
Ji teaches in Claim 8:
The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the step of receiving local dimming data during the initialization procedure comprises:
initializing hardware for local dimming during the initialization procedure; and calculating the local dimming data based on an input image by the hardware during the initialization procedure. ( Figure 3, [0100] disclose the control process after startup includes generating a PWM duty ratio for each light strip, integrating the duty ratio value, etc. [0051] discloses an example of an image collector which can collect user or environment data to adapt the display parameters, such as the local dimming data. [0051] discloses the image collector can be a camera or webcam, an example of hardware )
Ji teaches in Claim 9:
The method as claimed in claim 6, wherein the step of on-line calculating the local dimming data based on the input image during the previous boot-up, comprises:
executing an Mboot program to enter the initialization procedure during the previous boot-up; and on-line calculating the local dimming data based on the input image in the initialization procedure during the previous boot-up. ( Figure 3, [0106] discloses outputting the previously generating light strip brightness information to the backlight controller 202. Figure 6, [0141] disclose comparing the real-time dynamic refresh data with backup data in the previous execution cycle first to compare to a set threshold. To clarify, the previous data is stored and accessed/read during the initialization aspects detailed in S302 in Figure 4. Respectfully, Examiner does not see the aspects of on-line calculation being well defined here. There are aspects of dynamic processing (on-line) as well as reading the previously stored data (off-line). To clarify, [0062] discloses network interfaces to run the operations, i.e. on-line. To further expand on this for Claim 9, it is clear that a previous cycle would include all of the operations done in the current cycle, i.e. the steps of Figure 4 of initialization (Mboot), calculating the strip values, etc )
Ji teaches in Claim 10:
The method as claimed in claim 6, wherein the step of on-line calculating the local dimming data based on the input image during the previous boot-up, comprises:
executing a Kernel program to enter a main procedure during the previous boot- up; and on-line calculating the local dimming data based on the input image in the main procedure during the previous boot-up. ( [0068], [0076], [0127] discloses a kernel can generate the local dimming data. Please note the previous cycles were stored and can be compared, as detailed in [0141] )
Ji teaches in Claim 11:
An electronic device to apply local dimming on a boot display ( Figure 4, [0110]-[0111] discloses generating backlight control information in response to the display device being awakened ), comprising:
a backlight driver ( Figure 2, [0097] disclose a backlight controller 103 to control a backlight 104 );
a processor, electrically connected to the backlight driver ( Figure 2, [0098] discloses a main controller 101 which can start the backlight controller 103 for initialization ), configured to receive local dimming data during the initialization procedure ( Figures 4 and 5, [0112] discloses the backlight control information includes brightness information of at least one strip, of many strips, (read as local dimming data) which are partitions over the panel. Please note Figure 4, [0114]+ discloses this is done during S302, during initialization of the backlight controller ), and
to send the local dimming data to the backlight driver during an Mboot program to enter the initialization procedure ( [0058] discloses various system boot instructions initiated when the display device is powered on. At this time, boot instructions start running the operating system, including the steps S301+ as shown in Figure 4 );
wherein the backlight driver is configured to turn on backlights based on the local dimming data during the initialization procedure. ( Figure 4, [0117]+ disclose outputting the backlight control information to the backlight controller in response to the competition of initialization of the backlight controller, such that the backlight is operated, i.e. turning on the strips that were determined earlier )
Ji teaches in Claim 12:
The electronic device as claimed in claim 11, further comprising:
a microcontroller, electrically connected between the backlight driver and the processor, configured to receive the local dimming data during the initialization procedure, and to send the local dimming data to the backlight driver during the Mboot program to enter the initialization procedure. ( Figure 2, [0098] discloses a backlight control MCU 102 between the main controller 101 (interpreted processor) and backlight controller 103. As shown, this receives the data from the main controller (including the local dimming data) and provides this to the backlight controller )
Ji teaches in Claim 13:
The electronic device as claimed in claim 11, wherein the local dimming data is read from a storage device or calculated based on an input image. ( [0127] discloses the local dimming data can be generated int a kernel and can obtain the data from separate files of the data, i.e. stored in a storage device )
Ji teaches in Claim 14:
The electronic device as claimed in claim 11, wherein the local dimming data comprise local dimming backlight duty. ( Figure 3, [0100] disclose the control process after startup includes generating a PWM duty ratio for each light strip, integrating the duty ratio value, etc )
Ji teaches in Claim 15:
The electronic device as claimed in claim 11, wherein
the processor off-line calculates the local dimming data based on an input image during the previous boot-up; the processor stores the local dimming data in a storage device during the previous boot-up; and the processor reads the local dimming data from the storage device during the initialization procedure. ( Figure 3, [0106] discloses outputting the previously generating light strip brightness information to the backlight controller 202. Figure 6, [0141] disclose comparing the real-time dynamic refresh data with backup data in the previous execution cycle first to compare to a set threshold. To clarify, the previous data is stored and accessed/read during the initialization aspects detailed in S302 in Figure 4. Respectfully, Examiner does not see the aspects of on-line calculation being well defined here. There are aspects of dynamic processing (on-line) as well as reading the previously stored data (off-line). To emphasize on this, [0061] discloses details of a preload mode, i.e. off-line )
Ji teaches in Claim 16:
The electronic device as claimed in claim 11, wherein
the processor on-line calculates the local dimming data based on an input image during the previous boot-up; the processor stores the local dimming data in a storage device during the previous boot-up; and the processor reads the local dimming data from the storage device during the initialization procedure. ( Figure 3, [0106] discloses outputting the previously generating light strip brightness information to the backlight controller 202. Figure 6, [0141] disclose comparing the real-time dynamic refresh data with backup data in the previous execution cycle first to compare to a set threshold. To clarify, the previous data is stored and accessed/read during the initialization aspects detailed in S302 in Figure 4. Respectfully, Examiner does not see the aspects of on-line calculation being well defined here. There are aspects of dynamic processing (on-line) as well as reading the previously stored data (off-line). To clarify, [0062] discloses network interfaces to run the operations, i.e. on-line )
Ji teaches in Claim 17:
The electronic device as claimed in claim 16, wherein the local dimming data are calculated by software or hardware configured by the processor. ( [0077] discloses communication between system software and hardware and [0068] discloses software and/or programs for an operating system, including the kernel detailed above )
Ji teaches in Claim 18:
The electronic device as claimed in claim 11, wherein
the software for local dimming is initialized during the initialization procedure; and the local dimming data are calculated based on an input image by the software during the initialization procedure. ( Figure 3, [0100] disclose the control process after startup includes generating a PWM duty ratio for each light strip, integrating the duty ratio value, etc. [0051] discloses an example of an image collector which can collect user or environment data to adapt the display parameters, such as the local dimming data. [0005] and [0056] disclose examples of software control )
Ji teaches in Claim 19:
The electronic device as claimed in claim 11, wherein
the hardware for local dimming is initialized during the initialization procedure; and the local dimming data are calculated based on an input image by the hardware during the initialization procedure. ( Figure 3, [0100] disclose the control process after startup includes generating a PWM duty ratio for each light strip, integrating the duty ratio value, etc. [0051] discloses an example of an image collector which can collect user or environment data to adapt the display parameters, such as the local dimming data. [0051] discloses the image collector can be a camera or webcam, an example of hardware )
Ji teaches in Claim 20:
The electronic device as claimed in claim 16, wherein
the processor executes an Mboot program to enter the initialization procedure during the previous boot-up; and the processor on-line calculates the local dimming data based on the input image in the initialization procedure during the previous boot-up. ( Figure 3, [0106] discloses outputting the previously generating light strip brightness information to the backlight controller 202. Figure 6, [0141] disclose comparing the real-time dynamic refresh data with backup data in the previous execution cycle first to compare to a set threshold. To clarify, the previous data is stored and accessed/read during the initialization aspects detailed in S302 in Figure 4. Respectfully, Examiner does not see the aspects of on-line calculation being well defined here. There are aspects of dynamic processing (on-line) as well as reading the previously stored data (off-line). To clarify, [0062] discloses network interfaces to run the operations, i.e. on-line. To further expand on this for Claim 9, it is clear that a previous cycle would include all of the operations done in the current cycle, i.e. the steps of Figure 4 of initialization (Mboot), calculating the strip values, etc )
Ji teaches in Claim 21:
The electronic device as claimed in claim 16, wherein
the processor executes a Kernel program to enter a main procedure during the previous boot-up; and the processor on-line calculates the local dimming data based on the input image in the main procedure during the previous boot-up. ( [0068], [0076], [0127] discloses a kernel can generate the local dimming data. Please note the previous cycles were stored and can be compared, as detailed in [0141] )
Ji teaches in Claim 22:
The electronic device as claimed in claim 11, wherein the backlight driver comprises a plurality of backlight driving integrated circuits (ICs); wherein the number of backlight driving ICs is equal to the number of backlight partitions. ( Figure 2, [0096] discloses each light strip can be independently controller by the backlight controller, i.e. independent partitions and each partition can be independently controller to better present the images. Respectfully, each strip is a separate element, as shown, and indicative of an IC, of which there are a plurality since there are a plurality of strips )
Conclusion
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621