DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: as discussed below.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a diffraction component” in combination of “split” recited in claim 1.
Although the Specification discloses microstructure for the diffraction component, it is determined that the Specification of the present application fails to disclose what kind of microstructure can split the primary X-ray beam in to a plurality of sub X-ray beams in a matrix form.
Because of this reason, the 112(a) and (b) rejections are set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As discussed above.
Claims 1 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zavalij (US 2023/0194445 A1), and further in view of Mayo (US 2006/0104414 A1).
With respect to independent claim 1, Zavalij teaches in Fig. 2 an X-ray reflection analysis system applying multiple X-ray beams, comprising:
at least one X-ray source device 12 configured to generate a primary X- ray beam;
a diffraction component 32 configured to split the primary X-ray beam into a plurality of sub X-ray beams 16 in a matrix form;
at least one sensor 46A, 46B configured to receive a plurality of sensing signals respectively generated after a to-be-measured object 20 is irradiated by the sub X-ray beams; and
a processing device 60 configured to analyze the plurality of sensing signals to generate a plurality of analysis results, but is silent with a processing device configured to control the X-ray source device to generate the primary X-ray beam.
Mayo, a pertinent art, teaches in paragraph [0030] a control computer 74 in order to control X-ray beam. In view of this, it would be obvious at the time of the claimed invention was filed to modify the teaching of Zavalij in order to control X-ray source in order to perform X-ray diffraction measurements. This is in consistency with the Supreme Court Decision of the KSR. V. International Co.: applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to dependent claim 11, Zavalij teaches in Fig. 2 wherein a quantity of the least one sensor is plural 46A, 46B, and at least a portion of the sensors are arranged in a manner corresponding to the matrix form as shown in Fig. 2.
With respect to dependent claim 18, Zavalij teaches in Fig. 2 wherein each of the at least one X-ray source device includes an X-ray generator 12 and a plurality of optical elements 14, 34, the X-ray generator, the plurality of optical elements, and the to-be-measured object are arranged along an optical path, the diffraction component is further arranged on the optical path between any two of the X-ray generator, the plurality of optical elements, and the to- be-measured object as shown in Fig. 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 10 and 12 – 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and (b) paragraphs, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to dependent claim 2, the prior art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest:
wherein the diffraction component has an incident surface and includes a plurality of diffraction components arranged along the incident surface, each of the plurality of diffraction unit has a first length in a first direction and a second length in a second direction.
With respect to dependent claim 12 – 17, the prior art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest:
wherein each of the sensors includes at least one of: a reflective light sensor configured to acquire the sensing signals generated by reflection after the to-be-measured object is irradiated by the plurality of sub X-ray beams; a diffractive light sensor, configured to acquire the sensing signals generated by diffraction after the to-be-measured object is irradiated by the plurality of sub X-ray beams; a scattering light sensor configured to acquire the sensing signals generated by scattering after the to-be-measured object is irradiated by the plurality of sub X-ray beams; and a fluorescence sensor configured to acquire the sensing signals generated by excitation after the to-be-measured object is irradiated by the plurality of sub X-ray beams.
Conclusion
KIHO KIM, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/Kiho Kim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884