This Office Action is responsive to the Amendment filed July 29, 2026.
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, and 17 have been amended; claims 6, 7, 13, 14, and 20 have been canceled; claims 21-25 have been newly added; and the title has been amended. Claims 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, and 21-25 are pending and are rejected. No new matter has been entered.
Specification
The objection to the title of the invention set forth in the prior Office Action is acknowledged as addressed by Applicant's amendment of the title in the Amendment filed July 29, 2026. Subject to confirmation that the substitute title is descriptive of the claimed invention (see header table above), the objection to the specification is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vinciarelli et al. (“Vinciarelli”) (US No. 9,112,422).
In regard to claim 1, Vinciarelli discloses a device/system/method comprising: an alternating current (AC) input (as shown in Fig. 3, which is reproduced below for ease of reference and convenience, Vinciarelli discloses routinely used with AC front-end/PFC stages. See col. 12:54 thru col. 13:6: a driver circuit having an input for receiving power from an input source and a driver output; an output circuit having an AC input and an output for supplying a DC output voltage to a load, the output circuit being disposed outside of the first package; a power transformer having a first winding for electrical connection to the driver output of the driver circuit and a second winding for electrical connection to the AC input of the output circuit);
a direct current (DC) output (in Vinciarelli, supplying DC output. See col. 12:54 thru col. 13:6: a driver circuit having an input for receiving power from an input source and a driver output; an output circuit having an AC input and an output for supplying a DC output voltage to a load, the output circuit being disposed outside of the first package); power blocks (in Vinciarelli, multiple parallel converter modules/power trains. See figure 5, col. 10:10-53 a multi-cell power converter includes: a plurality of input cells having inputs connected in parallel with an input, and connected to drive parallel respective primary windings of a transformer with power received from the input, the input cells forming a power-sharing array of cells in which if one of the input cells fails, the converter continues to process power through remaining functional input cell or cells; a plurality of output circuits to receive power from respective secondary windings of the transformer, the output circuits having outputs that are connected in parallel to provide an output voltage to a load, the output circuits forming a power-sharing array in supplying power to the output in which if one of the output circuits fails); and a controlling chip/controller configured to detect a fault in one of the power blocks and isolate the power block with the fault while allowing power to flow through other power blocks (in Vinciarelli, controller monitors for faults and disables switches to isolate the faulty module while others continue supplying power. See col. 5:1-16, col. 8:8-27: operating the switches as rectifiers to provide full-wave rectification of the alternating current at an output of the full-bridge rectifier circuit, connecting the output of the full-bridge rectifier circuit to an output of the power converter, monitoring selected circuit conditions, determining from the selected circuit conditions whether a predetermined fault is present, disabling the switches in response to a determination that the predetermined fault is present); Vinciarelli further discloses, (col. 1:28-54), a power-sharing array comprising a plurality of power converters (e.g., converters 12, 17) with inputs and outputs connected in parallel, wherein respective fault detection control circuits (14, 18) open respective disconnect switches (15, 16, 19, 20) to isolate a faulty converter while the remaining converter(s) continue to supply the load, and, (col. 2:49-61), that the non-faulty, remaining modules maintain output to the system power bus following such isolation - disclosing that the isolation of the power block does not reduce a power capacity of the device due to use of one or more redundant blocks, as now recited in amended claim 1.
In regard to claims 2, 9, 16, Vinciarelli further discloses isolation devices on the power blocks, wherein the isolation devices are configured to block power flowing through the power block following a command from the controlling chip (in Vinciarelli, controller commands disabling of switches/FETs to isolate the faulty block. See col. 17:30-61: each switch controller 55, 56, 112, 122, 132, 142 may include a disable input (not shown) for receiving a disable signal in response to which each switch controller would turn OFF its respective switch(es) for over-riding normal operation. Referring to FIG. 6, a power converter 85, similar to the converter 80 of FIG. 3, is shown including an input circuit 50 coupled to an output circuit 100 via transformer 81. The power converter 85 as shown includes a fault-detection circuit 84 having a plurality of inputs 86, 87 for monitoring operating conditions, such as voltage transitions and voltages across one or more switches, output voltage, input voltage, temperature, etc. in the converter for detecting faults such as a switch failure, over-temperature, over voltage, etc.).
In regard to claim 8, Vinciarelli recites a system comprising a memory and a processor configured to perform processes commensurate in scope with the device of claim 1, including the “does not reduce a power capacity of the system . . . due to use of one or more redundant blocks” limitation. Vinciarelli discloses a controller/processor architecture performing the recited detecting and isolating functions (col. 5:1-16; col. 8:8-27), and discloses the capacity-preservation limitation (col. 1:28-54 and col. 2:49-61), for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1 and in the Response to Arguments, below. The rejection of claim 8 is maintained.
In regard to claim 15, Vinciarelli recites a method commensurate in scope with the device of claim 1 and the system of claim 8, including the limitation of “maintaining a power capacity of the power supply, notwithstanding the isolation of the power block, due to a use of one or more redundant blocks.” Vinciarelli discloses the recited detecting and isolating steps (col. 5:1-16; col. 8:8-27) and the capacity-maintenance limitation (col. 1:28-54 and col. 2:49-61), for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1. The rejection of claim 15 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 10-11, 17-18, 21-25 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Vinciarelli et al. (“Vinciarelli”).
In order to expedite and avoid piecemeal prosecution, the following rejection is made to the extent that the claims are understood, by considering those elements which are understood and interpreting their function in a manner which is consistent with the recited goals of the claims, and then applying the best available art.
The examiner relies on the entire teachings of Vinciarelli reference; the applicant should carefully consider the entire teachings of the above-mentioned references to better understand the examiner’s position.
In regard to claims 3, 10, 17, even though Vinciarelli does not expressly disclose the power blocks may include: electromagnetic interference (EMI) filter blocks; power factor correction (PFC) blocks; and DC-DC blocks. However Vinciarelli’s modular architecture parallel power blocks (i.e. converter modules/power trains (see figure 1, col. 1:29-54) are applied to conventional AC-DC designs/architectures. It is standard staged architecture in Vinciarelli’s AC-DC modules and industry practice and it is well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) at the time of the invention for such power blocks in an AC-DC device to comprise: electromagnetic interference (EMI) filter blocks to suppress conducted and radiated emissions and meet regulatory standards such FCC/EN Class B); power factor correction (PFC) blocks to shape input current, achieve high power factor >0.95; and DC-DC blocks for isolation, voltage transformation, and regulation to the final DC output.
In regard to claims 4, 11, 18 Vinciarelli teaches per-module input/output isolation via commanded switch control (see col. 1:29-54). It would have been obvious to a POSITA to implement dedicated first isolation devices before and second isolation devices after each stage (EMI, PFC, DC-DC) for granular fault isolation, as this is routine in hot-swap and redundant modular power systems.
Claim 21 depends from claim 1 and recites that the power blocks are sized such that a number of the power blocks that remain operational after the isolation, relative to a total number of the power blocks, defines a fraction of a rated power that the device maintains following the fault. Vinciarelli discloses, (col. 1:28-54), that its power-sharing array is “scaled with extra modules” such that the system continues to operate, and to deliver a defined portion of its rated output, after isolation of one or more faulty converters. The relationship recited in claim 21 is an inherent mathematical consequence of a parallel, power-sharing array of substantially identical converter modules, in which each module contributes a proportionate share of the total rated output; sizing such an array to include one or more redundant modules, such that isolation of a faulty module leaves a known, calculable fraction of rated capacity available from the remaining modules, would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art configuring a fault-tolerant, modular power-sharing array of the type taught by Vinciarelli.
Claim 22 depends from claim 3 and recites that a count of the EMI filter blocks, a count of the PFC blocks, and a count of the DC-DC blocks are unequal, and that a power block type having a higher failure rate is provided with a greater number of redundant blocks than a power block type having a lower failure rate. Vinciarelli does not expressly disclose unequal block counts weighted by failure rate. The Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art of power-supply reliability engineering that different classes of power-conversion components exhibit different failure rates (for example, electrolytic capacitors and active switching devices commonly used in PFC and DC-DC stages are generally recognized as exhibiting higher failure rates than passive EMI filter components), and that redundancy in a fault-tolerant system is conventionally allocated in proportion to the relative failure rate of each component type so as to achieve a target overall system reliability at minimum cost and complexity. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply this well-known principle to Vinciarelli's modular, redundant power-block architecture by providing unequal counts of EMI, PFC, and DC-DC blocks weighted toward whichever block type exhibits the higher failure rate.
Claim 23 depends from claim 8 and recites operating the power block and the other power blocks in parallel and dividing a power flow evenly among the other power blocks that remain operational after the isolation. Vinciarelli discloses, (col. 10:10-53), that its output circuits have outputs “connected in parallel to provide an output voltage to a load, the output circuits forming a power-sharing array in supplying power to the output,” such that the disclosed converters inherently operate in parallel and share the load among themselves. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to operate Vinciarelli's power block and the other, remaining power blocks in parallel with even load sharing, consistent with Vinciarelli's own express disclosure of a “power-sharing array.”
Claim 24 depends from claim 8 and recites isolating a non-faulty power block that is over a capacity of the system while maintaining the power capacity of the system. Vinciarelli discloses, (col. 17:30-61), a controller capable of commanding the disabling of the switches associated with any given power block via a disable input on each switch controller, independent of whether the targeted block is itself experiencing a fault condition. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use this same commanded-disable capability to isolate a non-faulty power block that is providing power in excess of the system's required capacity, while continuing to meet the system's required power capacity through the remaining operational blocks, as a routine and predictable application of Vinciarelli's already-disclosed per-block isolation and power-sharing architecture to the well-known objective of light-load efficiency optimization in N+1 redundant power-sharing systems. The Examiner takes an Official Notice that it is well-known light-load efficiency practice.
Claim 25 depends from claim 15 and recites that the detecting comprises monitoring a parameter of the power block selected from the group consisting of voltage, current, temperature, frequency, and power factor against a predefined threshold, and isolating the power block before the power block fails completely based on the parameter. Vinciarelli discloses a fault-detection circuit (84) having a plurality of inputs (86, 87) for monitoring operating conditions, including “voltage transitions and voltages across one or more switches, output voltage, input voltage, temperature, etc. in the converter[,] for detecting faults such as a switch failure, over-temperature, over voltage, etc.” (col. 17:line 65 et seq.), and further discloses determining from the monitored conditions whether a “predetermined fault is present” and disabling the associated switches “in response to a determination that the predetermined fault is present” (col. 8:8-27). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to set Vinciarelli's predetermined fault thresholds at a level that triggers isolation in advance of complete component failure, since predictive fault detection is a well-known and routine reliability-engineering practice for protecting power semiconductor devices from cascading or catastrophic failure.
Claims 5, 12, 19 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Vinciarelli in view of Frederick et al. (“Frederick”) (US No. 7,636,011).
The examiner relies on the entire teachings of Vinciarelli and Frederick references; the applicant should carefully consider the entire teachings of the above-mentioned references to better understand the examiner’s position.
In regard to claims 5, 12, 19, Vinciarelli does not expressly disclose ORing FET as second isolation device for DC-DC blocks. In the same field of endeavor, Frederick explicitly discloses using a commanded Field-Effect Transistor (ORing FET) as the isolation device on the output of each power module/DC-DC block. The controller turns off the ORing FET upon fault detection to block power flow and isolate the faulty block while others continue (as shown in Fig. 2, which is reproduced below for ease of reference and convenience, Frederick discloses the ORing element may include a field effect transistor (FET), a first bi-polar transistor and a second bi-polar transistor. The FET may be electrically connected between an output of the power supply module and a power bus. The ORing circuit may selectively connect and isolate the power supply module from the power bus. In addition, multiple power supply modules and ORing elements may be combined to form a single power systemCol. 2:8-25; col. 4:38-63: when the various power supply modules 202 are operating properly, they may provide a voltage at input 108 that is, at least slightly, higher than the voltage at output 110 and the power bus 204. Accordingly, the FET's 102 (not shown in FIG. 2) of the respective ORing elements 100 are in an active or saturation state, allowing forward current between the power supply modules 202 and the power bus 204. If a power supply module 202 fails, then it may draw the input 108 of its corresponding ORing element 100 low. As a result, the FET 102 of the ORing element will be transitioned to an off state, preventing the failed power supply module 202 from drawing down the voltage at the power bus 204).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use Frederick’s ORing FET as the second isolation device after each DC-DC block in Vinciarelli’s system for efficient, low-loss isolation in parallel/redundant outputs and predictable advantages including significantly low power dissipation and high efficiency, fast and reliable fault isolation with reverse current blocking.
Examiner's note:
If Applicant traverses any statement of Official Notice set forth above, documentary evidence will be provided in the next Office Action (MPEP § 2144.03(C)).
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passages as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Response to Applicant's Amendment and Arguments
Applicant's amendment and arguments, filed in reply to the Office Action mailed 05/14/2026, amends independent claims 1, 8, and 15 to add the limitation that the isolation of the power block does not reduce a power capacity of the device/system/power supply due to use of one or more redundant blocks (moved from original dependent claims 13 and 20, now canceled); cancels claims 6, 7, 13, 14, and 20; and adds new claims 21-25. Applicant's remarks traverse the § 102 rejection of claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 15, and 16, and the § 103 rejection of claims 4, 11, and 18 (and, derivatively, claims 5, 12, and 19). Applicant's remarks have been fully considered but are not persuasive, for the reasons below.
A. Traversal of the § 102 rejection of claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 15, and 16
Applicant argues that Vinciarelli does not disclose the newly added capacity-preservation limitation, principally on the ground that the passage [col. 1:28-54] does not use the phrase “full rated power,” and that [col. 17:65-18:31] expressly states that the converter 90 “may continue to operate, albeit at a reduced power throughput capacity, after a fault” - the opposite of the amended claim language. This argument is not persuasive. Anticipation does not require that the reference use the identical words of the claim; it is sufficient that the disclosure, understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art, describes the claimed function. Vinciarelli's disclosure of a power-sharing array “scaled with extra modules” for the express purpose of continuing operation after a converter fault (col. 1:28-54), and of the remaining converters maintaining output to the system power bus (col. 2:lines 49-61), is properly understood to preserve the array's rated output notwithstanding the loss of a converter, because that is the acknowledged design purpose of provisioning redundant, load-sharing modules in the first instance. The passage [col. 17:65-18:31] is directed to a distinguishable aspect of Vinciarelli's disclosure - fault tolerance among the internal input and output cells (e.g., 50A/50B, 100A-100D) within a single converter (converter 90) - and does not detract from the separate, array-level redundancy embodiment of [column 1 and column 2] relied upon for this limitation. Vinciarelli is not limited to a single embodiment, and a rejection under § 102 may rely on whichever disclosed embodiment satisfies the claim language; that a different, distinguishable embodiment elsewhere in the same reference behaves differently does not render the relied-upon embodiment's disclosure inadequate. For at least these reasons, the rejection of claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 15, and 16 is maintained.
B. Traversal of the § 103 rejection of claims 4, 11, and 18 (and 5, 12, 19)
Applicant argues that Vinciarelli teaches away from first-and-second isolation devices before and after each of the EMI, PFC, and DC-DC stages, citing Vinciarelli's statements that its full-bridge fault-tolerant output circuit “eliminate[s] the need for a disconnect switch” (col. 15:1-4) and “eliminates the need for an external fault detection and isolation circuit” (col. 16:38-44). This argument is not persuasive. The cited passages describe a design efficiency available in one particular embodiment of Vinciarelli's output circuit - a full-bridge rectifier configuration in which the rectifying switches themselves may additionally serve an isolation function - but do not criticize, discredit, or discourage the use of dedicated isolation devices generally, nor do they teach that first-and-second isolation devices before and after other, distinct functional stages would be unsuitable or contrary to Vinciarelli's purpose. A reference does not teach away from a modification merely because its own preferred embodiment renders a particular implementation unnecessary in that specific context; a teaching away requires that the reference criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the claimed solution. See In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195 (Fed. Cir. 2004); MPEP § 2145(X)(D). The use of dedicated isolation devices before and after individual power-conversion stages for stage-level fault isolation remains well understood in the art independent of Vinciarelli's full-bridge-specific simplification, as corroborated by Frederick's disclosure of a commanded ORing FET used for isolation at the output of a power module. For at least these reasons, the rejection of claims 4, 11, and 18, and of claims 5, 12, and 19 depending therefrom, is maintained.
C. Claims 3, 10, and 17
Applicant's remarks assert that claims 3-5, 10-12, and 17-19 are allowable “at least by virtue of their dependence from an allowable base claim,” but present no substantive argument directed to the § 103 rejection of claims 3, 10, and 17 apart from that dependency. Because independent claims 1, 8, and 15 remain rejected for the reasons set forth in Part A above, this argument is moot, and because no argument has been presented that is specific to the block-type limitation itself, the rejection of claims 3, 10, and 17 is maintained for the reasons of record.
D. Basis for finality of this action - 37 C.F.R. § 1.113; MPEP § 706.07(a)
This action is properly made FINAL. Under 37 C.F.R. § 1.113(a) and MPEP § 706.07(a), a second or subsequent action on the merits may be made final where the claims are not amended in a way that necessitates a new ground of rejection not necessitated by the amendment. That standard is met here for three independent reasons.
First, the capacity-preservation limitation newly added to independent claims 1, 8, and 15 is not new to the prosecution record: it is the identical limitation of original dependent claims 13 and 20, which were already rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Vinciarelli using the same citations (col. 1:28-54; col. 2:49-61) applied to the amended independent claims in this action. No new prior art search, and no new reference, was required to extend this already-applied ground to the amended independent claims; the amendment merely relocated a previously-rejected limitation upward in the claim tree.
Second, the § 103 rejection of claims 4, 11, and 18 is unchanged from the prior action and relies on the same combination of Vinciarelli and Vinciarelli/Frederick already of record; Applicant's teaching-away argument is addressed using only the previously-cited passages and does not implicate any new ground.
Third, although new claims 21-25 present claim scope not previously examined, each is rejected using Vinciarelli alone, already of record, supplemented in claims 22 and 24 only by the Examiner's official notice of matters admitted to be well known in the art. The taking of official notice of a well-known engineering principle, subject to Applicant's right to traverse under MPEP § 2144.03, does not constitute the introduction of a new prior art reference or a new search, and accordingly does not preclude finality as to the new claims.
Because no new ground of rejection has been introduced that was not already of record or necessitated by Applicant's own amendment, this action is properly made final under 37 C.F.R. § 1.113(a).
Conclusion
Claims 1-5, 8-12, 12-19, 21-25 are rejected. Claims 6, 7, 13, 14, and 20 are cancelled.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.136(a).
A SHORTENED STATUTORY PERIOD FOR RESPONSE TO THIS FINAL ACTION IS SET TO EXPIRE THREE MONTHS FROM THE DATE OF THIS ACTION. IN THE EVENT A FIRST RESPONSE IS FILED WITHIN TWO MONTHS OF THE MAILING DATE OF THIS FINAL ACTION AND THE ADVISORY ACTION IS NOT MAILED UNTIL AFTER THE END OF THE THREE-MONTH SHORTENED STATUTORY PERIOD, THEN THE SHORTENED STATUTORY PERIOD WILL EXPIRE ON THE DATE THE ADVISORY ACTION IS MAILED, AND ANY EXTENSION FEE PURSUANT TO 37 C.F.R. § 1.136(a) WILL BE CALCULATED FROM THE MAILING DATE OF THE ADVISORY ACTION. IN NO EVENT WILL THE STATUTORY PERIOD FOR RESPONSE EXPIRE LATER THAN SIX MONTHS FROM THE DATE OF THIS FINAL ACTION.
Communications via Internet e-mail regarding this application, other than those under 35 U.S.C. 132 or which otherwise require a signature, may be used by the applicant and should be addressed to [raymond.phan@uspto.gov].
All Internet e-mail communications will be made of record in the application file. PTO employees do not engage in Internet communications where there exists a possibility that sensitive information could be identified or exchanged unless the record includes a properly signed express waiver of the confidentiality requirements of 35 U.S.C. 122. This is more clearly set forth in the Interim Internet Usage Policy published in the Official Gazette of the Patent and Trademark on February 25, 1997 at 1195 OG 89.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be directed to the TC 2100 central telephone number is (571) 272-2100.
/RAYMOND N PHAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175