DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al., [US 2018/0368278]. Chen`278 teaches of a slide rail device (fig. 1) comprising: a first slide rail unit (fig. 8 for instance) including a first slide rail (22) that has a stop block (36); and a second slide rail unit (fig. 6 for instance) including a second slide rail (24) that is moveably disposed on the first slide rail, and a reinforcement member (58) that is disposed on the second slide rail and that has at least one reinforcement body part (such as (62) for instance) extending along the second slide rail, and an engagement part (such as (64) for instance) protruding from the at least one reinforcement body part and engageable with the stop block [0045]. As to Claim 2, the second slide rail is movable relative to the first slide rail between an initial position (as spatially shown in fig. 2 for instance) and an extended position (such as fig. 1 for instance); when the second slide rail is in the initial position, the at least one reinforcement body part completely overlaps the first slide rail (as observed when relating figures 2, 6 & 7 together), and the engagement part is spaced apart from the stop block (shown); and when the second slide rail is in the extended position, a portion of the at least one reinforcement body part does not overlap and extends out from the first slide rail (fig. 1), and the engagement part is engaged with the stop block [0045]. As to Claim 3, the first slide rail includes a rail plate (viewed as the main elongated body of the rail) that is elongated in a longitudinal direction, and that has a first end and a second end opposite to each other in the longitudinal direction (viewed as the distal ends with the left side being a first end and the right side being a second end as depicted in fig. 2 orientation), and two side walls (viewed as the upper and lower flanges) that are disposed between the first end and the second end of the rail plate, and that respectively and transversely extend from a top side and a bottom side of the rail plate (shown); the first slide rail unit further includes two ball strips (29, 31) that are respectively and moveably disposed on the side walls, and two blocking members (represented as the end blocks along the ends of the strips as shown in fig. 3 for instance) that are respectively fixed to the side walls and that are adjacent to the first end of the rail plate; the second slide rail unit further includes two abutment members (represented as the end abutments along the top and bottom sides of the second slide rail’s second end – note fig. 2 depiction along right end of (24) for instance) that are respectively and co-movably disposed on a top side and a bottom side of the second slide rail; the second slide rail is movable along an axis extending in the longitudinal direction between the initial position and the extended position; when the second slide rail is moved toward the extended position, the abutment members respectively drive movement of the ball strips toward the first end (as would be conventional in the art); and when the second slide rail is in the extended position, the ball strips respectively abut against the blocking members. As to Claim 4, the rail plate further has a sliding surface (viewed as the main surface along the rail plate) that extends from the first end to the second end, and that faces the second slide rail; the stop block is formed on the sliding surface (fig. 3); the second slide rail has a first surface (48a) that faces the sliding surface; and the reinforcement member is disposed on the first surface (note figs. 7 & 10 for instance). As to Claim 5, the at least one reinforcement body part includes a plurality of reinforcement body parts (can be viewed as the reinforcing segments (60) for instance) that are spaced apart from each other and that are arranged along the second slide rail; and the engagement part protrudes from one of the reinforcement body parts (middle segment). Regarding Claim 6, again Chen`278 teaches of a slide rail device (fig. 1) comprising: a first slide rail unit (fig. 8 for instance) including a first slide rail (22) that has a stop block (36); a second slide rail unit (fig. 6 for instance) including a second slide rail (24) that is moveably disposed on the first slide rail, and a reinforcement member (58) that is disposed on the second slide rail and that has at least one reinforcement body part (such as (62) for instance) extending along the second slide rail, and an engagement part (such as (64) for instance) protruding from the at least one reinforcement body part and engageable with the stop block [0045]; and a third slide rail (viewed as the rail / wall forming a side of chassis (12) for instance) movably disposed on the second slide rail (fig. 2). As to Claim 7, the second slide rail is movable relative to the first slide rail between an initial position (as spatially shown in fig. 2 for instance) and an extended position (such as fig. 1 for instance); when the second slide rail is in the initial position, the at least one reinforcement body part completely overlaps the first slide rail (as observed when relating figures 2, 6 & 7 together), and the engagement part is spaced apart from the stop block (shown); and when the second slide rail is in the extended position, a portion of the at least one reinforcement body part does not overlap and extends out from the first slide rail (fig. 1), and the engagement part is engaged with the stop block [0045]. As to Claim 8, the first slide rail includes a rail plate (viewed as the main elongated body of the rail) that is elongated in a longitudinal direction, and that has a first end and a second end opposite to each other in the longitudinal direction (viewed as the distal ends with the left side being a first end and the right side being a second end as depicted in fig. 2 orientation), and two side walls (viewed as the upper and lower flanges) that are disposed between the first end and the second end of the rail plate, and that respectively and transversely extend from a top side and a bottom side of the rail plate (shown); the first slide rail unit further includes two ball strips (29, 31) that are respectively and moveably disposed on the side walls, and two blocking members (represented as the end blocks along the ends of the strips as shown in fig. 3 for instance) that are respectively fixed to the side walls and that are adjacent to the first end of the rail plate; the second slide rail unit further includes two abutment members (represented as the end abutments along the top and bottom sides of the second slide rail’s second end – note fig. 2 depiction along right end of (24) for instance) that are respectively and co-movably disposed on a top side and a bottom side of the second slide rail; the second slide rail is movable along an axis extending in the longitudinal direction between the initial position and the extended position; when the second slide rail is moved toward the extended position, the abutment members respectively drive movement of the ball strips toward the first end (as would be conventional in the art); and when the second slide rail is in the extended position, the ball strips respectively abut against the blocking members. As to Claim 9, the rail plate further has a sliding surface (viewed as the main surface along the rail plate) that extends from the first end to the second end, and that faces the second slide rail; the stop block is formed on the sliding surface (fig. 3); the second slide rail has a first surface (48a) that faces the sliding surface; and the reinforcement member is disposed on the first surface (note figs. 7 & 10 for instance). As to Claim 10, the at least one reinforcement body part includes a plurality of reinforcement body parts (can be viewed as the reinforcing segments (60) for instance) that are spaced apart from each other and that are arranged along the second slide rail; and the engagement part protrudes from one of the reinforcement body parts (middle segment).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., [US 9,861,197] in view of Chen `278. Chen `197 teaches of a slide rail device (fig. 4) comprising: a first slide rail unit (shown as the left slide unit in fig. 4 for instance) including a first slide rail (14) that has a stop block (shown as the central structure along the right side end of (14) as oriented in fig. 4 for instance); and a second slide rail unit (shown as the middle slide unit in fig. 4 for instance) including a second slide rail (16) that is moveably disposed on the first slide rail, and a reinforcement member (28) that is disposed on the second slide rail and that has at least one reinforcement body part (such as the main elongated body part for instance) extending along the second slide rail. Chen `197 teaches applicant’s basic inventive claimed slide rail device as outlined {mapped} above, but does not show an engagement part protruding from the at least one reinforcement body part and engageable with the stop block as prescribed by applicant. As to this aspect, Chen `278 is cited as an evidence reference for the known technique of forming an engagement part (such as (64) for instance) so as to protrude from a reinforcement body part (62) of a reinforcement member (58) and engage a stop block (36) in an analogous art. Accordingly, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Chen `197 so as to incorporate an engagement part along the reinforcement member in view of Chen `278’s teaching, with a reasonable expectation of success, because this arrangement would enhance the versatility of the prior art’s device by providing an alternative coupling means by which the first and second slide rails are engaged together when the second rail is extended and then coupled to the first rail – as dependent upon the needs and/or preferences of an end user. Regarding Claim 2, as modified, the second slide rail is movable relative to the first slide rail between an initial position (as spatially shown in fig. 4 for instance) and an extended position (such as fig. 3 for instance); when the second slide rail is in the initial position, the at least one reinforcement body part completely overlaps the first slide rail (as observed when viewing figure 4), and the engagement part is spaced apart from the stop block (shown); and when the second slide rail is in the extended position, a portion of the at least one reinforcement body part does not overlap and extends out from the first slide rail (fig. 5), and the engagement part would be engaged with the stop block. Regarding Claim 3, as modified, the first slide rail includes a rail plate (viewed as the main elongated body of the rail) that is elongated in a longitudinal direction, and that has a first end and a second end opposite to each other in the longitudinal direction (viewed as the distal ends with the right side being a first end and the left side being a second end as depicted in fig. 4 orientation), and two side walls (viewed as the upper and lower flanges) that are disposed between the first end and the second end of the rail plate, and that respectively and transversely extend from a top side and a bottom side of the rail plate (shown); the first slide rail unit further includes two ball strips (shown as the upper and lower ball strips in the channels of figs. 3-4 for instance) that are respectively and moveably disposed on the side walls, and two blocking members (represented as the end blocks along the ends of the strips as shown along the right side end in fig. 4 for instance) that are respectively fixed to the side walls and that are adjacent to the first end of the rail plate; the second slide rail unit further includes two abutment members (represented as the end abutments along the top and bottom sides of the second slide rail’s second end – note fig. 4 depiction along the left side end of (16) for instance) that are respectively and co-movably disposed on a top side and a bottom side of the second slide rail; the second slide rail is movable along an axis extending in the longitudinal direction between the initial position and the extended position; when the second slide rail is moved toward the extended position, the abutment members respectively drive movement of the ball strips toward the first end (as would be conventional in the art); and when the second slide rail is in the extended position, the ball strips respectively abut against the blocking members. Regarding Claim 4, as modified, the rail plate further has a sliding surface (viewed as the main surface along the rail plate) that extends from the first end to the second end, and that faces the second slide rail; the stop block is formed on the sliding surface (fig. 4); the second slide rail has a first surface (shown in plain view as depicted in fig. 4) that faces the sliding surface; and the reinforcement member is disposed on the first surface (note figs. 4 & 7 for instance). Regarding Claim 5, as modified, the at least one reinforcement body part includes a plurality of reinforcement body parts (described as being one elongated plate or other structure extending for a certain length (col. 3) – implying the aspect of multiple plates to form a certain length for example) that are spaced apart from each other and that are arranged along the second slide rail; and the engagement part would protrude from one of the reinforcement body parts. Regarding Claim 6, again, Chen `197 teaches of a slide rail device (fig. 4) comprising: a first slide rail unit (shown as the left slide unit in fig. 4 for instance) including a first slide rail (14) that has a stop block (shown as the central structure along the right side end of (14) as oriented in fig. 4 for instance); and a second slide rail unit (shown as the middle slide unit in fig. 4 for instance) including a second slide rail (16) that is moveably disposed on the first slide rail, and a reinforcement member (28) that is disposed on the second slide rail and that has at least one reinforcement body part (such as the main elongated body part for instance) extending along the second slide rail; and a third slide rail (18) movably disposed on the second slide rail (note figs. 4-5). Chen `197 teaches applicant’s basic inventive claimed slide rail device as outlined {mapped} above, but does not show an engagement part protruding from the at least one reinforcement body part and engageable with the stop block as prescribed by applicant. As to this aspect, Chen `278 is cited as an evidence reference for the known technique of forming an engagement part (such as (64) for instance) so as to protrude from a reinforcement body part (62) of a reinforcement member (58) and engage a stop block (36) in an analogous art. Accordingly, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Chen `197 so as to incorporate an engagement part along the reinforcement member in view of Chen `278’s teaching, with a reasonable expectation of success, because this arrangement would enhance the versatility of the prior art’s device by providing an alternative coupling means by which the first and second slide rails are engaged together when the second rail is extended and then coupled to the first rail – as dependent upon the needs and/or preferences of an end user. Regarding Claim 7, as modified, the second slide rail is movable relative to the first slide rail between an initial position (as spatially shown in fig. 4 for instance) and an extended position (such as fig. 3 for instance); when the second slide rail is in the initial position, the at least one reinforcement body part completely overlaps the first slide rail (as observed when viewing figure 4), and the engagement part is spaced apart from the stop block (shown); and when the second slide rail is in the extended position, a portion of the at least one reinforcement body part does not overlap and extends out from the first slide rail (fig. 5), and the engagement part would be engaged with the stop block. Regarding Claim 8, as modified, the first slide rail includes a rail plate (viewed as the main elongated body of the rail) that is elongated in a longitudinal direction, and that has a first end and a second end opposite to each other in the longitudinal direction (viewed as the distal ends with the right side being a first end and the left side being a second end as depicted in fig. 4 orientation), and two side walls (viewed as the upper and lower flanges) that are disposed between the first end and the second end of the rail plate, and that respectively and transversely extend from a top side and a bottom side of the rail plate (shown); the first slide rail unit further includes two ball strips (shown as the upper and lower ball strips in the channels of figs. 3-4 for instance) that are respectively and moveably disposed on the side walls, and two blocking members (represented as the end blocks along the ends of the strips as shown along the right side end in fig. 4 for instance) that are respectively fixed to the side walls and that are adjacent to the first end of the rail plate; the second slide rail unit further includes two abutment members (represented as the end abutments along the top and bottom sides of the second slide rail’s second end – note fig. 4 depiction along the left side end of (16) for instance) that are respectively and co-movably disposed on a top side and a bottom side of the second slide rail; the second slide rail is movable along an axis extending in the longitudinal direction between the initial position and the extended position; when the second slide rail is moved toward the extended position, the abutment members respectively drive movement of the ball strips toward the first end (as would be conventional in the art); and when the second slide rail is in the extended position, the ball strips respectively abut against the blocking members. Regarding Claim 9, as modified, the rail plate further has a sliding surface (viewed as the main surface along the rail plate) that extends from the first end to the second end, and that faces the second slide rail; the stop block is formed on the sliding surface (fig. 4); the second slide rail has a first surface (shown in plain view as depicted in fig. 4) that faces the sliding surface; and the reinforcement member is disposed on the first surface (note figs. 4 & 7 for instance). Regarding Claim 10, as modified, the at least one reinforcement body part includes a plurality of reinforcement body parts (described as being one elongated plate or other structure extending for a certain length (col. 3) – implying the aspect of multiple plates to form a certain length for example) that are spaced apart from each other and that are arranged along the second slide rail; and the engagement part would protrude from one of the reinforcement body parts.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure – see the attached Form PTO-892 showing various slide rail devices with blocking and/or reinforcement members.
JOH
May 30, 2026
/James O Hansen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637