DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this Office Action, the Examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Examiner in prosecuting this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0325849 A1 to Lee et al. (hereinafter "Lee") in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0012563 A1 to Lee et al. (hereinafter "Kang").
Regarding Claim 1, Lee teaches an image display method of a display device, comprising: resetting a shift path when the display device is powered on; setting a shift path for a current frame image (Figs. 1-8; Para. 42-98 of Lee; display device 10 which includes a display panel 100, a data driver 200, a scan driver 300, and a control unit 400. The display panel 100 includes a plurality of scan lines SL1 through SLn, a plurality of data lines DL1 through DLm, and a plurality of pixel regions PX… When the display device 10 is powered on after being powered off, an image shift processor 422 receives an operation start signal S_START indicating that the display device 10 has been powered on and reads the shift path value SPV from the memory 430. The image shift processor 422 may output the shifted image signal S_IMAGE by modulating the original image data IMAGE according to the shift path value SPV… image shift processor 422 may cumulatively compare the previous frame image Gn−1 and the current frame image Gn to determine whether the previous frame image Gn−1 and the current frame image Gn are identical. If the same image is continuously repeated over a number of frames, the image shift processor 422 may shift the current frame image Gn to a next location on the shift path to generate the shifted image signal S_IMAGE), wherein the shift path substantially follows a line connecting a center of an area in the display device and corners of the area in the display device (Fig. 16; Para. 116-118 of Lee; In the embodiment of FIG. 16, the reduced path RP extends from shift coordinate values (0,0) of the first shifted image S1… the reduced path RP may extend to the shifted image corresponding to the stored shift path value SPV directly from the location of the first shifted image S1 without an intermediate shifted image).
Lee does not explicitly disclose setting a shift path for a current frame image by analyzing an accumulated stress map which indicates a deterioration degree of pixels; and converting first image data of the current frame image with second image data so that the current frame image is shifted along the shift path for the current frame image.
However, Kang teaches setting a shift path for a current frame image by analyzing an accumulated stress map which indicates a deterioration degree of pixels (Figs. 1-7; Para. 50-114 of Kang; stress calculator 120 may group pixels included in the display unit 200 into a plurality of pixel blocks, calculate an average brightness value of each of the pixel blocks, and generate a stress map… the stress calculator 120 may generate the first accumulated stress map SMAP1 by including an average brightness value of the current frame image to an accumulated average brightness value of the previous frame image… stress calculator 120 may generate a first accumulated stress map SMAP1, which represents a degree of a deteriorated performance of the pixels PX included in the pixel blocks BL, based on a first image data DATA1 of a current frame image provided from the image data generator 110 (S110)); and converting first image data of the current frame image with second image data so that the current frame image is shifted along the shift path for the current frame image (Figs. 1-7; Para. 50-114 of Kang; image corrector 140 may correct (change) the first image data DATA1 to the second image data DATA2 in which display of the current frame image is shifted within the shiftable range).
Therefore, at the time when the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include setting a shift path for a current frame image by analyzing an accumulated stress map which indicates a deterioration degree of pixels; and converting first image data of the current frame image with second image data so that the current frame image is shifted along the shift path for the current frame image using the teachings of Kang in order to modify the method taught by Lee. The motivation to combine these analogous arts would have to prevent or reduce afterimages, wherein the display of an image on a display panel may be moved (e.g. shifted) after a predetermined period of time. When the display device shifts an image at a predetermined period and displays the shifted image on a display panel, the same data is prevented from being output in a specific pixel for a long time, that may prevent a specific pixel from being degraded (Para. 5-6 of Kang).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Lee and Kang teaches that the setting the shift path for the current frame image comprises: grouping the pixels into pixel blocks; calculating an average luminance value of each of the pixel blocks based on image data; and generating the accumulated stress map by accumulating the average luminance value for each pixel block (Figs. 1-6; Para. 50-109 of Kang; stress calculator 120 may group pixels included in the display unit 200 into a plurality of pixel blocks, calculate an average brightness value of each of the pixel blocks, and generate a stress map… the stress calculator 120 may generate the first accumulated stress map SMAP1 by including an average brightness value of the current frame image to an accumulated average brightness value of the previous frame image).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Lee and Kang teaches that the setting the shift path for the current frame image comprises: determining a least deteriorated pixel block based on the accumulated stress map; and setting the shift path so that the current frame image is shifted toward the least deteriorated pixel block (Claim 9; Figs. 9-11; Para. 124-154 of Kang; shift range determiner 130′ may analyze the expected accumulated stress maps P_SMAPa to P_SMAPx of all of the routes provided from the stress calculator 120′, and determine a minimum stress map, in which the degree of a deteriorated performance of the pixels PX is smallest, from among the expected accumulated stress maps P_SMAPa to P_SMAPx… the shift range determiner 130′ may determine an expected accumulated stress map, in which a brightness difference between the adjacent pixel blocks BL is relatively small, from among the expected accumulated stress maps P_SMAPa to P_SMAPx (e.g. FIG. 9) as a minimum stress map… the shift range determiner 130′ may determine a shift route for the minimum stress map as a shift route of the current frame image. The image corrector 140 may correct (e.g. change) the first image data DATA1 to the second image data DATA2 in which the current frame image is shifted in display along the shift route for the minimum stress map).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Lee and Kang teaches that the setting the shift path for the current frame image comprises: calculating a luminance difference between accumulated average luminance values of the pixel blocks included in the accumulated stress map; and setting the shift path based on the luminance difference (Figs. 5-6; Para. 87-109 of Kang; shift range determiner 130 may calculate a brightness difference of the accumulated average brightness values of adjacently disposed pixel blocks BL, compare the calculated brightness difference and the reference brightness difference, and determine a shiftable range in accordance with a compared result… when the brightness difference of the accumulated brightness average values included in the first accumulated stress map SMAP1 is larger than the reference brightness difference, the shift range determiner 130 may determine a shiftable range in which the current frame image is shifted within a broader range than a shiftable range of the previous frame image).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Lee and Kang teaches that the resetting the shift path comprises displaying an image in a screen center in response to reset of the shift path when the display device is powered on (Figs. 1-8; Para. 42-98 of Lee; When the display device 10 is powered on after being powered off, an image shift processor 422 receives an operation start signal S_START indicating that the display device 10 has been powered on and reads the shift path value SPV from the memory 430. The image shift processor 422 may output the shifted image signal S_IMAGE by modulating the original image data IMAGE according to the shift path value SPV… Accordingly, when the display device 10 is powered on after being powered off, the image shift controller 420 shifts the original image data IMAGE to an appropriate location by referring to the stored shift path value SPV, not to the start location on the preset shift path, e.g., the location represented by a shift index S1 of 1 or shift coordinate values of (0,0)… FIG. 4 illustrates an example of locations and directions for shifting an image sequentially along a preset shift path having a quadrilateral spiral pattern. Referring to FIG. 4, the preset shift path is shaped in a quadrilateral spiral pattern that winds outward from the center in the clockwise direction).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/02/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant representative’s arguments that “LEE and KANG, even in combination, do not teach or suggest the shift path which substantially follows a line connecting a center of an area in the display device and corners of the area in the display device as claimed in amended Claim 1. For example, the shift paths in LEE and KANG are not substantially follows a line connecting a center of an area in the display device and corners of the area in the display device but have a spiral shape or a zigzag shape”.
Lee teaches that a shift path substantially follows a line connecting a center of an area in the display device and corners of the area in the display device (Fig. 16; Para. 116-118 of Lee; In the embodiment of FIG. 16, the reduced path RP extends from shift coordinate values (0,0) of the first shifted image S1… the reduced path RP may extend to the shifted image corresponding to the stored shift path value SPV directly from the location of the first shifted image S1 without an intermediate shifted image). In addition, according to MPEP §2144, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968).
Therefore, the combination of Lee and Kang teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Examiner further maintains the rejections for all of the dependent claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABHISHEK SARMA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621