DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claim(s) 1-16, in the reply filed on 07/27/2026 is acknowledged.
2. Claim(s) 1-16 will be examined. Claim(s) 17-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-5, 7-13 AND 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over MEYLER et al. (US 20220168786 A1) in view of PHILIPPRON et al. (BE 1028374 A1).
Regarding claim 1, MEYLER discloses a laser-based cleaning system (400, 420) for cleaning a surface (700) of a moving part (700 on 900), the laser-based cleaning system (figs. 6 and 9-10) comprising:
an emitter (420 on 400) to emit a laser beam;
a mounting (robot 400) to
a controller [0088] (not illustrated) [0072-0086] [0032-0033] [0078-0079] [0086] [0096-0102] (reference’s claims 1,7-8 and 19) coupled to at least the emitter (420) [0088] and the mounting (400) [0088], the controller being configured to control the emitter to emit a laser beam of sufficient power [0080] to clean the surface and to control the mounting to
(figs 6 and 9-10; part/mould 70 is moved (by robot gripper 300) to cleaning station 900, for cleaning via robot 400 with laser source 420; detector 600 detects/images part/mould 700 and robot arms 300 and 400)
[0072-0088]
[0032-0033] [0044] [0050] [0056]
[0033 Note “move the laser in a cleaning pattern”]
[0072] [0078-0079]
[0086]
[0096-0105]
[0115-0116]
[0016 Note laser is moved up and down to achieve a total clean ]
(reference’s claims 1, 7-8 and 19).
But MEYLER fails to explicitly disclose a mounting to pivotably mount the emitter; and the mounting to pivot the emitter.
PHILIPPRON, however, discloses a laser cleaning system (abstract) with a head for a laser emitter and
a mounting (pg. 4) to pivotably mount (pg. 4) the emitter; and the mounting to pivot the emitter (pg. 4) during laser scanning and laser cleaning of a surface (pgs. 3-4, and 8-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of MEYLER, with a mounting to pivotably mount the emitter; and the mounting to pivot the emitter, as taught by PHILIPPRON, to use as another degree of freedom for a mounting for a laser head so that it is pivotable during laser cleaning (pg. 4) to increase degrees of freedom of movement to thereby enable irradiation of a larger surface (pg. 8).
Regarding claim 9, MEYLER discloses a self-cleaning system (figs. 6 and 9-10), comprising:
a moving part (700 on 900) having a surface; and
a laser-based cleaning system (400, 420) comprising:
an emitter (420) to emit a laser beam;
a mounting (robot 400) to
a controller [0088] (not illustrated) [0072-0086] [0032-0033] [0078-0079] [0086] [0096-0102] (reference’s claims 1,7-8 and 19) coupled to at least the moving part (robot 300 gripping 700 and/or 700 on 900) [0088], the emitter (420) [0088] and the mounting (robot 400) [0088],
the controller being configured to control the emitter (420) to emit a laser beam of sufficient power [0080] to clean the surface and to control the mounting (robot 400) to
(figs 6 and 9-10; part/mould 70 is moved (by robot gripper 300) to cleaning station 900, for cleaning via robot 400 with laser source 420; detector 600 detects/images part/mould 700 and robot arms 300 and 400)
[0072-0088]
[0032-0033] [0044] [0050] [0056]
[0033 Note “move the laser in a cleaning pattern”]
[0072] [0078-0079]
[0086]
[0096-0105]
[0115-0116]
[0016 Note laser is moved up and down to achieve a total clean ]
(reference’s claims 1, 7-8 and 19).
But MEYLER fails to explicitly disclose a mounting to pivotably mount the emitter; and the mounting to pivot the emitter.
PHILIPPRON, however, discloses a laser cleaning system (abstract) with a head for a laser emitter and
a mounting (pg. 4) to pivotably mount (pg. 4) the emitter; and the mounting to pivot the emitter (pg. 4) during laser scanning and laser cleaning of a surface (pgs. 3-4, and 8-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of MEYLER, with a mounting to pivotably mount the emitter; and the mounting to pivot the emitter, as taught by PHILIPPRON, to use as another degree of freedom for a mounting for a laser head so that it is pivotable during laser cleaning (pg. 4) to increase degrees of freedom of movement to thereby enable irradiation of a larger surface (pg. 8).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, MEYLER discloses that the moving part (700 on 900) is at least one of a rotating part (700) [0086] and a linearly moving part [0038 Note tray].
Regarding claims 3 and 11, MEYLER discloses that the emitter comprises:
an emitter (420) portion to emit the laser beam; and
a sensor portion (600) to sense a cleanliness state of the surface (700) [0083-0088] , to generate data reflective of the cleanliness state and to forward the data to the controller, wherein the controller is further configured to control the emitter and the mounting (robot 400) (reference’s claims 1, 7-8, and 19) in accordance with at least the data [0098-01012] [0114-0116].
Regarding claims 4 and 12, MEYLER discloses that the mounting (robot 400) is movable relative to the moving part (700 on 900) and the controller [0088] (not illustrated) [0072-0086] [0032-0033] [0078-0079] [0086] [0096-0102] (reference’s claims 1,7-8 and 19) is further configured to control movements of the mounting (400) [0098-01012] [0114-0116]. .
Regarding claims 5 and 13, MEYLER discloses that the controller [0088] (not illustrated) [0072-0086] [0032-0033] [0078-0079] [0086] [0096-0102] (reference’s claims 1,7-8 and 19) is receptive of information (via 600) relating to the moving part (700 on 900) and controls the emitter (420) and the mounting (robot 400) in accordance with at least the information, and the information comprises at least one or more of a cleanliness condition of the surface [0082-0088], dimensions of the surface [0082-0088], a position of the surface [0082-0088],
Regarding claims 7 and 15, MEYLER discloses that
the moving part (700 on 900) is one of multiple moving parts (fig. 10, tray holds 900s, 700s) [0075],
each having a surface to be cleaned, and the controller [0088] (not illustrated) [0072-0086] [0032-0033] [0078-0079] [0086] [0096-0102] (reference’s claims 1,7-8 and 19) controls the emitter (420) and the mounting (robot 400) to clean same portions [0083 Note predetermined clearing pattern] of each surface of the multiple moving parts (700) [0038] before cleaning next portions [0083 Note predetermined clearing pattern] of each surface of the multiple moving parts [0054 Note the cleaning of the objects (i.e. 700s) is repeatable]
[0083 Note each 700 can be cleaned with the same “predetermined cleaning pattern”, so that “same portions” of each 700, are cleaned first and then “next portions” of each 700 are cleaned next, in the cleaning pattern per each 700].
Regarding claims 8 and 16, MEYLER discloses that the moving part (700 on 900) is one of multiple moving parts (fig. 10, tray holds 900s, 700s) [0075],
each having a surface to be cleaned, and the controller [0088] (not illustrated) [0072-0086] [0032-0033] [0078-0079] [0086] [0096-0102] (reference’s claims 1,7-8 and 19) controls the emitter (420) and the mounting (robot 400) to clean each portion of each surface of each of the multiple moving parts before [0038] [0083] [0084] cleaning a portion of a surface of a next one of the multiple moving parts.
2. Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over MEYLER et al. (US 20220168786 A1) in view of PHILIPPRON et al. (BE 1028374 A1); hereinafter “the combined references”, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in light of HWANG et al. (US 20240335083 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 6 and 11, MEYLER discloses the controller [0088] (not illustrated) [0072-0086] [0032-0033] [0078-0079] [0086] [0096-0102] (reference’s claims 1,7-8 and 19) generates
But the combined references fail to disclose use of an artificial intelligence (AI) model to model a cleanliness condition.
HWANG, however, discloses use of an artificial intelligence (AI) model to model a cleanliness condition [0239].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine/modify the invention of the combined references, with an artificial intelligence (AI) model to model a cleanliness condition, as taught by HWANG, to use for inferring object contamination conditions in addition to imaging for object cleaning [0237-0240].
Conclusion
/ANDREW SMYTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878