DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/06/2025 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 15, and 17 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai (US PgPub No. 2016/0344924).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai teaches a method for synchronizing multi-sensor output (abstract), comprising: sampling, by a first sensor device, a first sensor data (paragraph 0021; video camera to store the video stream into the main buffer first); receiving, by the first sensor device, a second sensor data from a second sensor device prior to the sampling of the first sensor data (paragraphs 0021 and 0031 - 0032; pre-roll buffer to provide unlimited operation against a finite amount of memory); receiving, by the first sensor device, a third sensor data from the second sensor device during the sampling of the first sensor data (paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip); creating, by the first sensor device, an associated sensor data, comprising associating the first sensor data with the second sensor data and the third sensor data (paragraphs 0015, 0025, 0027; figure 3C – 3D and claim 1 of Tsai); and outputting, by the first sensor device, the associated sensor data (Paragraph 0025, 0027 also claim 1 of Tsai).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Tsai teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tsai teaches creating the associated sensor data comprises: identifying the second sensor data as a pre-sampling data (paragraphs 0021 and 0031 - 0032; pre-roll buffer to provide unlimited operation against a finite amount of memory); and identifying the third sensor data as a post-sampling data (paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip); and sampling the first sensor data is performed in synchronization with an acquisition signal (paragraph 0021; video camera to store the video stream into the main buffer first in synchronization with paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 2, Tsai teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tsai teaches wherein: the first sensor device comprises an image sensor (paragraph 0021; video camera); the first sensor data comprises an image data (paragraphs 0006, 0021; video capture; also figures 3A – 3D); the second sensor device comprises a microphone (paragraphs 0024 - 0027); and the second sensor data comprises a first audio data and the third sensor data comprises a second audio data (audio in paragraphs 0021 and 0031 - 0032; pre-roll buffer to provide unlimited operation against a finite amount of memory and paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 3, Tsai teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tsai teaches wherein identifying the second sensor data as the pre-sampling data comprises storing, in a memory of the image sensor, the first audio data for output prior to output of the image data (paragraphs 0021 and 0031 - 0032; pre-roll buffer to provide unlimited operation against a finite amount of memory).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 4, Tsai teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tsai teaches wherein identifying the third sensor data as the post-sampling data comprises storing, in the memory, the second audio data for output subsequent to the output of the image data (paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip; also paragraphs 0015, 0025, 0027; figure 3C – 3D and claim 1 of Tsai).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 4, Tsai teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tsai teaches wherein: the image data comprises a plurality of rows of pixel data (figure 2 item 21, camera capturing video); and identifying the third sensor data as the post-sampling data comprises storing, in the memory, the second audio data for interleaved output with the plurality of rows of pixel data (paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip along with camera data from item 21 of figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 3, Tsai teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tsai teaches wherein: identifying the second sensor data as the pre-sampling data comprises: generating a first data packet comprising the first audio data (paragraph 0021; video camera to store the video stream including audio into the main buffer first); and identifying the first data packet as the pre-sampling data (paragraphs 0021 and 0031 - 0032; pre-roll buffer to provide unlimited operation against a finite amount of memory); identifying the third sensor data as the post-sampling data comprises: generating a second data packet comprising the second audio data (paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip); and identifying the second data packet as the post-sampling data (paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip); and outputting the associated sensor data comprises transmitting the associated sensor data as separate data packets including the first data packet, the second data packet, and a third data packed comprising the image data (Paragraph 0025, 0027 also figure 3C – 3D and claim 1 of Tsai).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Tsai teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tsai teaches wherein: the first sensor data comprises a plurality of sequential data segments (paragraph 0021; video camera to store the video stream into the main buffer first); and associating the first sensor data with the third sensor data comprises arranging the third sensor data between at least two sequential data segments of the first sensor data (paragraphs 0015, 0025, 0027; figure 3C – 3D and claim 1 of Tsai).
Regarding claim 9, Tsai teaches an image sensor (figure 2 item 21, camera capturing video), comprising: a pixel array (figure 2 item 21, camera capturing video) adapted to generate an image data (paragraphs 0006, 0021; video capture; also figures 3A – 3D); an input adapted to receive a plurality of sensor data from a second sensor device (paragraphs 0021 and 0031 - 0032; pre-roll buffer to provide unlimited operation against a finite amount of memory); a memory adapted to store at least some of the plurality of received sensor data (figure 2 item 22 also paragraph 0025 buffer); and an output circuitry (figure 2 item 20) adapted to: retrieve a first sensor data from the memory in response to an acquisition signal (paragraph 0021; video camera to store the video stream into the main buffer first in synchronization with paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip), wherein the first sensor data is received from the second sensor device prior to the acquisition signal (paragraphs 0021 and 0031 - 0032; pre-roll buffer to provide unlimited operation against a finite amount of memory); acquire the image data in synchronization with the acquisition signal (paragraphs 0021 and 0031 - 0032; pre-roll buffer to provide unlimited operation against a finite amount of memory); retrieve a second sensor data from the memory, wherein the second sensor data is received from the second sensor device while acquiring the image data (paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip); and transmit the first sensor data, the image data, and the second sensor data (paragraphs 0015, 0025, 0027; figure 3C – 3D and claim 1 of Tsai), comprising: identifying the first sensor data as a pre-sampling sensor data (paragraphs 0021 and 0031 - 0032; pre-roll buffer to provide unlimited operation against a finite amount of memory); and identifying the second sensor data as a post-sampling sensor data (paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip).
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, Tsai teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tsai teaches wherein identifying the first and the second sensor data comprises transmitting the first sensor data, the image data, and the second sensor data in a predetermined order (paragraphs 0015, 0025, 0027; figure 3C – 3D and claim 1 of Tsai).
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 10, Tsai teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tsai teaches wherein: identifying the first sensor data comprises transmitting the first sensor data prior to transmitting the image data (paragraphs 0021 and 0031 - 0032; pre-roll buffer to provide unlimited operation against a finite amount of memory); and identifying the second sensor data comprises transmitting the second sensor data subsequent to transmitting the image data (paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip; also paragraphs 0015, 0025, 0027; figure 3C – 3D and claim 1 of Tsai).
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 10, Tsai teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tsai teaches wherein: identifying the first sensor data comprises transmitting the first sensor data prior to transmitting the image data (paragraphs 0021 and 0031 - 0032; pre-roll buffer to provide unlimited operation against a finite amount of memory); and identifying the second sensor data comprises transmitting the second sensor data interleaved with the image data ((paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip along with camera data from item 21 of figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 12, Tsai teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tsai teaches wherein transmitting the second sensor data interleaved with the image data comprises including the second sensor data at an end of at least one pixel row of the image data (paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip along with camera data from item 21 of figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, Tsai teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tsai teaches wherein: identifying the first sensor data comprises: generating a first data packet comprising the first sensor data (paragraph 0021; video camera to store the video stream including audio into the main buffer first); and identifying the first data packet as the pre-sampling sensor data (paragraphs 0021 and 0031 - 0032; pre-roll buffer to provide unlimited operation against a finite amount of memory); and identifying the second sensor data comprises: generating a second data packet comprising the second sensor data (paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip); and identifying the second data packet as the post-sampling sensor data (paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip).
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, Tsai teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tsai teaches wherein: the second sensor device comprises a microphone (paragraphs 0024 - 0027); and the first sensor data comprises a first audio data and the second sensor data comprises a second audio data (audio in paragraphs 0021 and 0031 - 0032; pre-roll buffer to provide unlimited operation against a finite amount of memory and paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip).
Regarding claim 17, Tsai teaches a sensor device (figure 2 item 21, camera capturing video), comprising: a sensing apparatus (figure 2) adapted to periodically generate a first sensor data based on received stimuli (paragraphs 0021 and 0031 - 0032; pre-roll buffer to provide unlimited operation against a finite amount of memory); an input adapted to receive a plurality of second sensor data from an external sensor device (paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip); a memory adapted to store the plurality of second sensor data (paragraph 0021; video camera to store the video stream into the main buffer first in synchronization with paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip); and an output circuitry (figure 2 item 20) adapted to: retrieve a first set of the plurality of second sensor data from the memory in response to a periodic generation of the first sensor data, wherein the first set is received from the external sensor device prior to the periodic generation (paragraphs 0021 and 0031 - 0032; pre-roll buffer to provide unlimited operation against a finite amount of memory); retrieve a second set of the plurality of second sensor data from the memory, wherein the second set is received from the external sensor device during the periodic generation (paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip); and transmit an associated sensor data comprising the first set of second sensor data, the generated first sensor data, and the second set of second sensor data (paragraphs 0015, 0025, 0027; figure 3C – 3D and claim 1 of Tsai).
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 17, Tsai teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tsai teaches wherein the associated sensor data comprises: the first set of second sensor data identified as a pre-sampling sensor data (paragraphs 0021 and 0031 - 0032; pre-roll buffer to provide unlimited operation against a finite amount of memory); and the second set of second sensor data identified as a post-sampling sensor data (paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip).
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 18, Tsai teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tsai teaches wherein the output circuitry is further configured to: retrieve a third set of the plurality of second sensor data from the memory, wherein the third set of second sensor data is received from the external sensor device subsequent to the periodic generation and prior to a second periodic generation of first sensor data (paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0019, 0025 - 0027; voice command when to start a clip; also paragraphs 0015, 0025, 0027; figure 3C – 3D and claim 1 of Tsai).
Regarding claim 20, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 19, Tsai teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Tsai teaches wherein: the sensing apparatus comprises an image sensor (paragraph 0021; video camera) configured to transmit the associated sensor data in a first image frame (paragraph 0021; video camera to store the video stream into the main buffer first); and the output circuitry is configured to generate a second image frame related to the second periodic generation, wherein the second image frame comprises the third set of second sensor data identified as a pre-sampling sensor data (paragraphs 0021 and 0031 - 0032; pre-roll buffer to provide unlimited operation against a finite amount of memory).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US PgPub No. 2016/0344924) in view of Shajaan (US PgPub No. 2009/0003629).
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 15, Tsai teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, Tsai fails to teach an output adapted to provide a clock signal to the second sensor device, wherein the input receives the sensor data from the second sensor device in response to the provided clock signal. Shajaan, on the other hand teaches an output adapted to provide a clock signal to the second sensor device, wherein the input receives the sensor data from the second sensor device in response to the provided clock signal.
More specifically, Shajaan teaches an output adapted to provide a clock signal to the second sensor device, wherein the input receives the sensor data from the second sensor device in response to the provided clock signal (paragraph 0021).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Shajaan with the teachings of Tsai because Shajaan teaches in at least abstract and paragraph 0042 that using the invention improves the signal-to-noise ratio, thereby improves the processing of data in Tsai.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sarin (US patent No. 9,031,847) teaches a system with sampling multiple times and combining.
Usman Khan
/USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
07/27/2026