Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. §101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as directing toward non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 1 recites a system (i.e., a machine). Claim 12 recites a method (i.e., a process). Claim 20 recites a computer program product (i.e., a manufacture). Reply to Decision on Appeal of June 8, 2021
To distinguish ineligible claims that merely recite a judicial exception from eligible claims that require an implementation of judicial exception, the Supreme Court uses a two-step framework: Step One (Step 2A), determine whether the claims at issue are directed to one of those patent-ineligible concepts; and Step Two (Step 2B), if so, ask “what else is there in the claims?” to determine whether the additional elements transform the nature of the claim into a patent eligible application. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l., 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2355 (2014).
Step One (Step 2A) is a two prong test that requires the determination of whether the claims at issue are directed to an enumerated patent ineligible concept. See MPEP 2106.04.
Step 2A Prong (1) requires the determination of the specific limitations in the claim under examination (individually or in combination) that the examiner believes recites an abstract idea and determining whether the identified limitations falls within the subject matter groupings of abstract ideas enumerated. See MPEP 2106.04(a).
The enumerated patent ineligible concepts comprising:
(a) Mathematical Concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations;
(b) Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles / practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules / instructions) and
(c) Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP 2106.04(a).
If the claim recites an enumerated patent ineligible concept, then Prong (2) of Step One (Step 2A) requires the determination of whether the claim integrates the patent ineligible concept into a practical application. Individually and in combination, identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exceptions and evaluating those additional elements to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application, using one or more of the considerations laid out by the Supreme Court and the Federal Circuit. See MPEP 2106.04(d).
Under Step 2B, if the claim does not integrate the ineligible concept into a practical application and therefore directed to a judicial exception, evaluate whether the claim provides an inventive concept by determining whether there are additional elements, individually and in ordered combination, amount to significantly more than the exception itself. See MPEP 2106.04.
Step 2A Prong (1)
The “directed to” inquiry does not ask whether the claims involve a patent ineligible concept but, considered in light of the specification, whether the claim as a whole is directed to excluded subject matter or directed to an improvement to computer functionality. Enfish L.L.C. v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
Therefore, Prong (1) of Step 2A requires identifying specific limitations in the claims that recites (“describes” or “set forth”) an abstract idea and determine whether the identified limitations falls within the subject matter groupings of abstract ideas enumerated. See MPEP 2106.04 (“Thus, it is sufficient for this analysis for the examiner to identify that the claimed concept (the specific claim limitation(s) that the examiner believes may recite an exception) aligns with at least one judicial exception”).
Under Prong (1), Claim 1 recites a system, comprising:
a processor that executes computer executable components stored in memory, wherein the computer executable components comprise:
an extraction component that (1) extracts elements from an unstructured document;
a mapping component that (2) maps elements to structural roles; and
an organizing component that (3) uses the mapping to organize related content into distinct groups.
Claim 12 recites a computer-implemented method that utilizes a processor that executes computer executable components stored in memory to perform the following acts:
extracting elements from an unstructured document;
mapping elements to structural roles; and
organizing related content into distinct groups.
Claim 15 recites a computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a processor to cause the processor to:
extract elements from an unstructured document;
map elements to structural roles; and
organize related content into distinct groups.
With respect to (1), individually and considered in light of the specification US 2026/0195527 A1 at ¶46: “At 302, the method 300 extracts elements from an unstructured document. The method 300 can use a system operatively coupled to a processor (e.g., extraction component 102) to extract elements from an unstructured document. Elements can include, but are not limited to, text, images, and tables”.
Therefore, (1) corresponds to collecting information, including when limited to particular content (e.g., text, images, and tables) that does not change its character as information, are within the realm of abstract idea. Electric Power Grp., L.L.C. v. Alstom SA, 830 F.3d 1350, 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (“we have treated collecting information, including when limited to particular content (which does not change its character as information), as within the realm of abstract idea”).
With respect to (2), individually and considered in light of the specification US 2026/0195527 A1 at ¶47: “At 304, method 300 includes mapping elements to structural roles. The method 300 can use a system operatively coupled to the processor (e.g., mapping component 106) to map elements to structural roles. Structural roles can include, but are not limited to, header, title, body, and footnotes”.
With respect to (3), individually and considered in light of the specification US 2026/0195527 A1 at ¶48: “At 306, method 300 includes organizing related content into distinct groups. The method 300 can use a system operatively coupled to the processor (e.g., organizing component 110) to organize related content into distinct groups”.
Therefore, (2)-(3) correspond to analyzing information by steps people go through in their minds are essentially mental processes within the abstract idea category. Electric Power Grp., 830 F.3d at 1354 (“we have treated analyzing information by steps people go through in their minds, or by mathematical algorithms, without more, as essentially mental processes within the abstract-idea category”).
In ordered combination, steps (1)-(3) amounted to collecting data and analyzing data that are essentially mental processes. See also MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)IIIA (“a claim to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis," where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind”).
Thus, claims 1, 12, and 20 described patent ineligible subject matter enumerated under category (c) Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Step 2A Prong (2).
Under Prong (2) of Step 2A, the goal is to determine whether the claim is directed to the recited exception by evaluating whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. See MPEP 2106.04II(A).
In particular, evaluating integration into a practical application requires identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception and evaluating those additional elements, individually and in combination, to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application, using one or more of the considerations laid out by the Supreme Court and the Federal Circuit (“CAFC”). See MPEP 2106.04(d).
The Supreme Court and the CAFC distinguished between (1) computer-functionality improvements from the (2) uses of existing computers as tools in aid of processes focused on abstract ideas. Electric Power Grp., L.L.C. v. Alstom SA, 830 F.3d 1350, 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (“…we relied on the distinction made in Alice between, on one hand, computer-functionality improvement and, on the other, uses of existing computers as tools in aid of processes focused on “abstract ideas”…”).
In one example, the CAFC applied Alice inquiry to ask whether the focus of the claims is on the specific asserted improvement in computer capabilities (i.e., the self-referential table for a computer database) or instead, on a process that qualifies as an abstract idea for which computers are invoked merely as a tool. Enfish L.L.C. v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
In Enfish, the claims were specifically directed to a self-referential table for a computer database. Id. at 1337. In particular, the claim language required a four step algorithm specifically directed to a self-referential table for a computer database that improves upon prior art information search and retrieval systems by employing a flexible, self-referential table to store data. Id. at 1336-37. CAFC determined that the plain focus of the claims was on an improvement to computer functionality itself (i.e., the self-referential table for a computer database), not on economic or other tasks for which a computer is used in its ordinary capacity. Id at 1335-36.
Therefore, the focus of the claims is on a specific asserted improvement in computer capabilities (i.e., the self-referential table for a computer database), not on economic or other tasks for which a computer is used in its ordinary capacity. Id. at 1336. See also MPEP 2106.04(d)I (“an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a)”).
On the other hand, with respect to a claim for detecting and automatically analyzing events on an interconnected electric power grid in real time over a wide area, the CAFC held that such claim clearly focused on a combination of abstract ideas comprising collecting information limited to particular content and analyzing information by mental steps or by mathematical algorithms. Electric Power Grp., 830 F.3d 1350 at 1354.
Specifically, the claims specified what information in the power-grid field it is desirable to gather, analyze, and display in “real time” but they did not include any requirement for performing the claimed functions of gathering, analyzing, and displaying in real time by use of anything but entirely conventional, generic technology such that the claims failed to state an inventive concept. Id. at 1356.
Further, a process for gathering and analyzing information of a specified content, then displaying the results is not a particular assertedly inventive technology for performing those functions. Id. Even though the claims required “displaying concurrent visualization” of two or more types of information that corresponded to time-synchronized display, the displays were anything but readily available. Id at 1355.
In other words, it is a case where selecting information for collection, analysis, and display by content or source that did nothing significant to differentiate a process from ordinary mental processes. Id. at 1355. The claims did not require an arguably inventive set of components or methods, did not invoke any assertedly inventive programming, and merely required the selection and manipulation of information to provide a “humanly comprehensible” amount of information useful for users that did not transform an otherwise abstract processes of information collection and analysis. Id.
In the instant application, as an ordered combination, steps (1)-(3) amounted to collecting document data and analyzing document data that are essentially mental processes. Specifically, unlike the specifically asserted improvement to database search and retrieval in Enfish, claims 1, 12, and 20 do not specifically assert any improvement to a particular computer functionality. Rather, the claims focused analysis steps of mapping document data to structural roles (e.g., claim 6, title, body, footer) and organizing document data into groups that only required an entirely conventional computer processor implementing extraction component, mapping component, and organizing component.
Therefore, steps (1)-(3) of the instant application required no more than entirely conventional and generic technologies employed for collecting document data and analyzing document data much like the claims in Electric Power Grp.
Thus, as an ordered combination of computer components, claims 1, 12, and 20 do not integrate abstract document data collection and document data analysis into a practical application and the claims are instead directed toward patent ineligible mental processes for analyzing document data.
Step 2B Inventive Concept.
The Guideline stated that if the additional elements do not integrate the exception into a practical application, then the claim is directed to the recited judicial exception, and requires further analysis under Step 2B where it may still be eligible if it amounts to an “inventive concept”. See MPEP 2106.04IIA and MPEP 2106.05.
Further, an inventive concept can be found in the non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of known conventional pieces. BASCOM Global Internet Servs. v. AT&T Mobility, 827, F3d 1341, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
In BASCOM, the CAFC held that filtering content is an abstract idea because it is a longstanding, well-known method of organizing human behavior similar to concepts previously found to be abstract. BASCOM, 827 F.3d at 1348. However, the CAFC determined that the claims did not merely recite filtering content along with the requirement to perform it on the internet or on a set of generic computer components, nor did the claims preempt all ways of filtering content on the internet. Id. at 1350.
Rather, the inventive concept described and claimed was the installation of a filtering tool at a specific location, remote from the end-users, with customizable filtering features specific to each end user that gives the filtering tool both the benefits of a filter on a local computer and the benefits of a filter on an internet service provider “ISP” server. Id. By taking a prior art filter solution (one size fits all filter at internet service provider “ISP” server) and making it more dynamic and efficient (providing individualized filtering at the ISP server), the claimed invention improves the performance of the computer system itself. Id. at 1351.
On the other hand, implementation via computers does not offer a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2360 (“Nearly every computer will include a “communications controller” and “data storage unit” capable of performing the basic calculation, storage, and transmission functions required by the method claims”). Intellectual Ventures I L.L.C. v. Capital One Bank, 792 F.3d 1363, 1370-71 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (“Steps that do nothing more than spell out what it means to “apply it on a computer” cannot confer patent-eligibility).
Similarly, limiting an abstract idea to one field of use do not convert otherwise ineligible concept into an inventive concept. Intellectual Ventures I L.L.C. v. Erie Indem. Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1328 (Fed. Cir. 2017). Neither does adding computer functionality to increase the speed or efficiency of the process confer patent eligibility on an otherwise abstract idea. Intellectual Ventures I, 792 F.3d at 1367 (citing Bancorp Servs., LLC v. Sun Life Insurance Co. of Can., 687 F.3d 1266, 1278 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (“The fact that the required calculations could be performed more efficiently via a computer does not materially alter the patent eligibility of the claimed subject matter”)).
In the instant application, claims 1, 12, and 20 focused on steps (1)-(3) of collecting document data and analyzing document data. Unlike BASCOM that described an unconventional combination to provide both the benefits of a filter on a conventional local computer and the benefits of a filter on the conventional ISP server, the claims did not set forth any combination of components to improve a specifically asserted technology or implement a technological process.
For example, the extraction component, the mapping component, and the organizing component in claim 1 are software subroutines executed by a computer processor that loosely tied the mental processes of collecting document data and analyzing document data to a computer. Similarly, claim 12 broadly tied steps (1)-(3) to a computer while claim 20 required an entirely generic and conventional computer readable storage medium having program instructions executable by a computer processor.
That is, steps (1)-(3) are essentially mental processes required no more than a generic computer with processor and computer readable medium / memory are purely conventional and generic because nearly every computer will include a “communications controller” and “data storage unit” capable of performing the basic calculation and storage. Therefore, claims 1, 12, and 20 requiring computer implementations do not offer a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a computer.
Therefore, claims 1, 12, and 20 do not supply an inventive concept.
Other dependent claims failed to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide an inventive concept.
In particular, dependent claims 2-4 and 13-14 further described the extracting / collecting process of step (1) and thus correspond to collecting data. While claims 3 and 13 recited OCR, however, OCR technology is merely used as a tool for collecting document data without any specifically asserted improvement to OCR technology itself.
Dependent claims 5-6 and 15-16 further described the mapping / analyzing process of step (2) and thus correspond to analyzing data.
Dependent claims 7 and 17 further described the organizing / analyzing process of step (3) and thus correspond to analyzing data.
Dependent claims 8 and 18 required training an AI model to perform the mapping of step (2) while claims 9 and 19 required training an AI model to perform the grouping of step (3). However, the claims do not specifically assert a particular structure for the AI model, how the AI model was trained to perform a technological process, or even how the AI model is used.
In an exemplary patent eligible automation claim, in McRO, the CAFC noted that prior art method of generating morph weight set with values between “0” and “1” for computer animation of facial expressions are manually determined. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games America, Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1304-5 (Fed. Cir. 2016). The claimed improvement in McRO allows computers to produce “accurate and realistic lip synchronization and facial expressions in animated characters” that previously could only be produced by human animators through the automated use of rules, rather than artists, to set the morph weights and transitions between phonemes. Id. at 1313.
Specifically, the claims were directed to the incorporation of claimed rules, not the use of the computer that improved existing technological process by allowing automation of further tasks that goes beyond merely organizing existing information into a new form. Id. at 1314-15.
In particular, the claimed process used a combined order of specific rules that renders information into a specific format that is then used and applied to create a sequence of synchronized, animated characters that prevent pre-emption of all processes for achieving automated lip-synchronization of 3-D characters. Id. at 1315. Therefore, the CAFC held that the ordered combination of claimed steps, using unconventional rules that relate sub-sequences of phonemes, timing, and morph weight sets is patent eligible. Id. at 1302-3.
In the instant application, claims 8-9 and 18-19 broadly required using AI model to automate step (2) of mapping document data to structural roles and to assign contextual tags to grouped / analyzed document data. However, unlike the incorporated rules setting morph weights and transitions between phonemes to automate an otherwise manual process in McRO, the claims do not recite any particular means or method how a trained AI model is utilized to automate what is essentially a mental process or even such automation would go beyond merely organizing existing document data into a new form.
Similarly, claims 10-11 requiring an output component for preparing LLM word embeddings, which are methods of calculating mathematical vectors to execute a language model query. These steps are akin to the computation / calculation of morph weights McRO. However, lacking a specifically asserted LLM structure with particular means and method of how a language model query is actually automated / executed, claims 10-11 failed to provide a patent eligible automation claim.
For the above reasons, claims 1-20 are patent ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) NOVELTY; PRIOR ART.—A person shall be entitled to a patent unless—
(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention; or
(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
(b) EXCEPTIONS.—
(1) DISCLOSURES MADE 1 YEAR OR LESS BEFORE THE EFFECTIVE FILING DATE OF THE CLAIMED INVENTION.—A disclosure made 1 year or less before the effective filing date of a claimed invention shall not be prior art to the claimed invention under subsection (a)(1) if—
(A) the disclosure was made by the inventor or joint inventor or by another who obtained the subject matter disclosed directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor; or
(B) the subject matter disclosed had, before such disclosure, been publicly disclosed by the inventor or a joint inventor or another who obtained the subject matter disclosed directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor.
(2) DISCLOSURES APPEARING IN APPLICATIONS AND PATENTS.—A disclosure shall not be prior art to a claimed invention under subsection (a)(2) if—
(A) the subject matter disclosed was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor;
(B) the subject matter disclosed had, before such subject matter was effectively filed under subsection (a)(2), been publicly disclosed by the inventor or a joint inventor or another who obtained the subject matter disclosed directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor; or
(C) the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gune et al. (US 2026/0080699 A1).
Regarding Claim 1-11, according to MPEP 2181I, examiner will apply 35 USC 112(f) to a claim limitation if it meets the following 3-prong analysis:
In particular, claim 1 recited “an extraction component that extracts…”, “mapping component that maps…” and “an organizing component that uses the mapping to organize…”.
Here, “component” is a nonce word substitute for “means”. Further, “component” is modified by functional terms like “that”. Finally, the claimed functions of the respective “extraction component”, “organizing component” contained no structure, material, or acts for performing the respective functions of “extracts elements from an unstructured document”, “maps elements to structural roles”, and “organize related content into distinct groups”.
Therefore, interpretation under 35 USC 112(f) in view of the specification at Fig. 3 is applicable to claim 1: step 302 for extraction component, step 304 for mapping component, step 306 for organizing component.
Regarding Claims 1, 12, and 20, Gune discloses a system (Figs. 1 and 9.1), comprising:
a processor that executes computer executable components stored in memory, wherein the computer executable components (¶98, computer processor 902 executing software instructions stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium) comprise:
an extraction component that extracts elements from an unstructured document (Fig. 1, ¶24, masked image generator 115 / processing module applies visual overlays to text regions identified within text image data to generate mask image corresponding to image 110 / visual representation of a document page arranged in unstructured format per ¶22; see extraction module 505 per ¶77);
a mapping component that maps elements to structural roles (¶34, Fig. 1, machine learning pipeline 152 may output structured results that are used for information extraction, document understanding, or query response generation; ¶¶35-36, machine learning models 155 outputs structured data that represent predicted labels comprising task-specific output layers / network heads 158; e.g., ¶¶37-38, classifier 160 supports multi-class or multi-label classification based on whether regions of masked image 135 are assigned to a single category or multiple overlapping categories such as table, paragraph, form, log, image, etc.); and
an organizing component that uses the mapping to organize related content into distinct groups (¶41, clustering 170 is a network head configured to group regions of masked image into clusters based on visual, spatial, or semantic similarity to group similar entities such as tables, forms, or paragraphs into distinct clusters).
Further regarding claim 20, Gune discloses a computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith,1 the program instructions executable by a processor to cause the processor to implement the system of claim 1 and method of claim 12 (¶98, computer processor 902 executing software instructions stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium).
Regarding Claim 2, Gune discloses wherein the extraction component is configured to parse content from a PDF document format (¶50, acquiring a rendered PDF file; ¶67, using PDF parsing techniques to extract textual content and associated spatial metadata from the input image).
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Gune discloses wherein the extraction component uses optical character recognition or OpenCV libraries to decipher text within images (¶67, text extraction process utilizes OCR to extract textual content and associated spatial metadata from the input image).
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, Gune discloses wherein the extraction component uses spatial data from tables within the document to infer logical relationship of a subset of the elements (¶22, image 110 / document page 108 includes tables arranged in unstructured formats and accessed for processing by optical character recognition, masking, classification, or extraction; ¶¶26-27, OCR engine 118 generates text unit data / elements associated with spatial location of each text unit / text location data 122; ¶29, mask generator 128 applies bounding boxes to regions of the image corresponding to the spatial coordinates defined in the text location data; e.g., Fig. 6 and ¶82, colored coded bounding boxes for tables, paragraphs, forms; i.e., bounding boxes define logical relationship between a subset of text unit / elements forming tables, paragraphs, forms in a document page).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Gune discloses wherein the mapping component uses font information comprising size, style, or distribution to determine structural role of a text element (¶¶25-26, OCR engine 118 detects text units rendered in various fonts, sizes, and orientations to output structured data such as text unit data 120 that includes font attributes to refine the identification and grouping of text units; e.g., ¶59, a network head of the machine learning model classifying a set of text units within the text unit data as a table, a paragraph, a form, a log , a figure, and/or an image etc.).
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Gune discloses wherein the mapping component assigns document elements to structural categories comprising title, body, or footer as a function of structural indicators (¶52, generate mask data for text unit data such as a structured mask object for each text unit including metadata / text content; ¶59, classifying the set of text units within the text unit data to store classification results in a structured format that links each set of text units to corresponding predicted collection type and associated metadata; ¶64, metadata includes document title; i.e., classify text unit data as corresponding to a title).
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Gune discloses wherein the organizing component infers logical coherence among grouped elements by analyzing font consistency or spatial arrangement across sections (¶42, grouping / clustering based on shared visual, spatial, or semantic characteristics; ¶60, text units are grouped based on spatial proximity, semantic similarity, layout structure etc.).
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, Gune discloses an artificial intelligence component that trains an artificial intelligence model on mapped elements to respective structural roles (¶¶34-35, machine learning pipeline 152 uses various learning techniques to train machine learning models 155 for classification based on labeled or unlabeled training data).
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, Gune discloses wherein an artificial intelligence component trains an artificial intelligence model to assign contextual tags to grouped elements based on semantic content and structural role (¶35, machine learning models 155 trained to perform classification and contextual embedding generation; ¶41, machine learning model 155 with clustering network head 170 to group regions of mask image into clusters based on semantic similarity; ¶60, text units are grouped based on semantic similarity and layout structure).
Regarding Claim 10, Gune discloses an output component that prepares large language model (LLM) word embeddings from the organized distinct groups (¶45, contextual embedding generator 182 produces vector representations that capture semantic, structural, and contextual information by generating embeddings that reflect content type, layout, surrounding context of each region to support content-aware search by generating embeddings that are indexed and compared against query embeddings).
Regarding Claim 11, Gune discloses wherein the output component further uses the prepared LLM word embeddings to execute a language model query (¶46, LM 185 being a LLM configured to process textual content and generate answers based on contextual embeddings and user queries).
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2011/0270604 A1 discloses relation extraction in text by determining syntactic and semantic relationship between sentences and in response to a query, apply a classifier to identify relational pattern of interest in the text.
US 2018/0336183 A1discloses ingesting documents, analyze document structure to identify structural document elements that have a relationship with document data object to embed the document data object as a vector data structure, thereby enabling a system to respond to queries about the document.
US 12217318 B2 discloses receiving documents (Fig. 3, step 312), apply deep learning based text detection and recognition operations including OCR to the documents (Fig. 3, step 318), and applying a trained model to extract document features such as word, sentence, paragraph, section, and text characteristic data indicating a font, a style, a size associated with any text data (Fig. 3, step 320).
/RICHARD Z ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2654
08/13/2026
1 Specification, US 2026/0195527 A1 at ¶96: “A computer readable storage medium, as that term is used in the present disclosure, is not to be construed as storage in the form of transitory signals per se, such as radio waves or other freely propagating electromagnetic waves, electromagnetic waves propagating through a waveguide, light pulses passing through a fiber optic cable, electrical signals communicated through a wire, and/or other transmission media”.