DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 20 recites “A computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having computer readable program code embodied therewith, wherein the computer readable program code when executed by a processor performs operations…”
The Examiner is reading “computer readable storage medium” to be non-transitory, because the specification states, “A computer readable storage medium, as that term is used in the present disclosure, is not to be construed as storage in the form of transitory signals per se, such as radio waves or other freely propagating electromagnetic waves, electromagnetic waves propagating through a waveguide, light pulses passing through a fiber optic cable, electrical signals communicated through a wire, and/or other transmission media,” ¶ 0051.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 12, 15-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng (US 20240289150 A1) in view of Dawkins (US 20140033201 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ng teaches a method, comprising:
storing, in a memory, a virtual machine identifier of a virtual machine of a hypervisor (
Ng discloses, “A virtual machine manager (e.g., a hypervisor) controls the scheduling of the different virtual machines for execution and provides an interface between the virtual machines and the server hardware so that each virtual machine (VM) can operate as if that VM were executing on its own dedicated hardware,” ¶ 0001,
“To address these and other potential security issues, the processing system 100 maintains a first device table 120-1, also referred to herein as hypervisor accessible tables (HDTs) 120-1, that is accessible to the hypervisor 116 and one or more device tables 120-2, also referred to herein as secure device tables (SDTs), that are accessible to the security module 110 and the IOMMU 112 but that are not accessible to the hypervisor 116. The HDT 120-1, in at least some implementations, is maintained by the hypervisor 116 in a portion of the memory 104 accessible to the hypervisor 116. However, the SDT 120-2 is maintained by the security processor 110 in a secure region 118 of the memory 104 that is accessible to the security processor 110 and the IOMMU 112 but not the hypervisor 116,” ¶ 0029,
“In at least some implementations, the security module 110 generates and maintains the SDTs 120-2. For example, when the security module 110 assigns a VMID or an ASID to a VM 114, the security module 110 stores the VMID or ASID in the entry of the SDT 120-2 associated with the VM 114,” ¶ 0032.
Here, the disclosed “memory 104” stores identifiers of virtual machines associated with a hypervisor.
The claimed “virtual machine identifier” is mapped to the disclosed “VMID”, which is an identifier associated with a virtual machine. A VMID is stored in the SDT 120-2 (secure device table), which, according to FIG. 1 of Ng, is stored in secure region 118, which is stored in memory 104. Thus, the VMID is stored in memory.
The VM 114 is a “virtual machine of a hypervisor” because the disclosed “hypervisor” manages the disclosed “VM” and controls its scheduling.
This aligns with paragraphs 2 and 20 of the present application’s specification, which state “A hypervisor is a type of software, firmware, or hardware that creates one or more virtual machines and allows the one or more virtual machines to run on a single physical computational device… The hypervisor may allocate underlying physical computing resources such as central processing unit, memory, and storage to the individual virtual machines as and when required,” and “A virtual machine controlled by a hypervisor may store data in a datastore associated with the virtual machine, where the datastore may be created based on storage elements allocated to the virtual machine by a storage controller,” respectively.),
wherein a storage from the memory has been allocated for a datastore of the virtual machine of the hypervisor (
“An ASID identifies the memory address spaces allocated to the VM 114 associated with the corresponding entry of the SDT 120-2. For example the security processor 110 defines one or more memory address spaces based on, for example, the memory 104, registers and other storage locations of I/O devices 106, or a combination thereof and assigns a respective ASID to each memory address space. Such ASIDs, for example, include a unique identifier for each memory address space. During a provisioning process, the security processor 110 then allocates one or more memory address spaces to respective VMs 114,” ¶ 0031.
The “storage” is mapped to the disclosed “memory address space” that is allocated, from the memory 104, for data to be used by the virtual machine. This data, to be used by the virtual machine, is a datastore.
This aligns with paragraph 20 of the present application’s specification, which states “Virtual machines are used in many different computing environments. A virtual machine controlled by a hypervisor may store data in a datastore associated with the virtual machine, where the datastore may be created based on storage elements allocated to the virtual machine by a storage controller.”);
in response to receiving, by a storage controller, a request for an input/output operation on the storage that has been allocated, determining, by the storage controller, whether the request includes the virtual machine identifier stored in the memory (
Ng discloses, “An I/O device 106, in at least some implementations, accesses memory 104 assigned to a VM 114 by generating direct memory access (DMA) requests to read data from the memory 104, write data to the memory 104, or a combination thereof,” ¶ 0026, “In at least some implementations, an I/O device 106 submits a device request 124 to access a VM 114. The IOMMU 112 receives the device request 124 and determines (e.g., based on a descriptor included with the device request 124) the VM 114 that is targeted by the device request 124,” ¶ 0033, and “The IOMMU 112 then compares the VMID (or device identifier) in the device request 124 with the VMID (or device identifiers) stored at the VM identifier field 208 (or device ID field 206) of the entry of the SDT 120-2. If the entry includes a VM identifier that matches the VM identifier included in the device request, the IOMMU 112 determines that the requesting I/O device 106 is assigned to the targeted VM 114. Otherwise, the IOMMU 112 determines that the requesting I/O device 106 is not assigned to the targeted VM 114 and prevents execution of the device request 124, as described above with respect to FIG. 1,” ¶ 0039.
The claimed “request for an input/output operation” is mapped to the disclosed “device request 124”, which is submitted for accessing a virtual machine for reading/writing data from/to the memory 104.
The claimed “storage controller” is mapped to the disclosed IOMMU, which receives the device request 124 and determines whether the request includes a VMID that matches a VMID stored in memory.);
and in response to determining that the request does not include the virtual machine identifier stored in the memory, preventing the input/output operation from being executed on the storage that has been allocated (
Ng discloses, “If the entry includes a VM identifier that matches the VM identifier included in the device request, the IOMMU 112 determines that the requesting I/O device 106 is assigned to the targeted VM 114. Otherwise, the IOMMU 112 determines that the requesting I/O device 106 is not assigned to the targeted VM 114 and prevents execution of the device request 124, as described above with respect to FIG. 1,” ¶ 0039.
Here, if the device request does not include the VMID associated with the targeted VM, the device request to access the virtual machine is prevented.).
Ng does not explicitly teach storing, in a storage controller, a virtual machine identifier of a virtual machine of a hypervisor, wherein a storage from the storage controller has been allocated for a datastore of the virtual machine of the hypervisor. This is because Ng does not explicitly teach that the memory is part of the storage controller.
However, Dawkins teaches that the memory is part of the storage controller (
Dawkins discloses, “A storage controller comprising: a memory; and a processor operable to…,” Claim 8, and “When VMM 112 instantiates VM 114 on server 110, the VMM directs storage controller 130 to designate a storage volume 137 from the storage capacity of storage array 135, and allocates the storage volume to the VM,” ¶ 0011.
After the combination of Ng with Dawkins, the storage controller, or IOMMU, from Ng, is specified to comprise Ng’s memory 104, as specified by Dawkins.).
Ng and Dawkins are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of virtual machine management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ng to incorporate the teachings of Dawkins and provide storing, in a storage controller, a virtual machine identifier of a virtual machine of a hypervisor, wherein a storage from the storage controller has been allocated for a datastore of the virtual machine of the hypervisor. Doing so would help allow the storage controller to have direct, faster access to the virtual machine identifiers.
Claims 8 and 15 are a storage controller claim (¶ 0039 of Ng) and a computer program product claim (¶ 0051 of Ng), respectively, corresponding to the method Claim 1. In addition, Claim 8 also recites a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, wherein the processor performs operations, the operations comprising… (Ng discloses, “To implement the confidential computing environment and to execute the sets of instructions and corresponding operations, the processing system 100 includes a processor 102, a memory 104, and one or more input/output (I/O) devices, such as I/O device 106… The memory 104 includes one or more memory devices configured to store and retrieve data based on commands (e.g., store and load commands) received from the processor 102,” ¶ 0016.). In addition, Claim 15 also recites a computer readable storage medium having computer readable program code embodied therewith, wherein the computer readable program code when executed by a processor performs operations, the operations comprising… (Ng discloses, “The software includes one or more sets of executable instructions stored or otherwise tangibly embodied on a non-transitory computer readable storage medium. The software can include the instructions and certain data that, when executed by the one or more processors, manipulate the one or more processors to perform one or more aspects of the techniques described above,” ¶ 0051.). Therefore, Claims 8 and 15 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 2, Ng in view of Dawkins teaches the method of claim 1, the method further comprising:
providing an indication that a fraudulent access is being attempted via the request (
Ng discloses, “The IOMMU 112 receives the device request 124 from the I/O device 106, indicating a request to access memory on behalf of the VM 114. It is further assumed that the SDT 120-2 indicates that the requesting I/O device 106 is not bound to the VM 114, that the device request 124 targets a portion of the memory 104 that has not been assigned to the VM 114, or both. Accordingly, the IOMMU 112 prevents execution of the device request 124 and indicates (via the message 502) that the device request 124 has been denied,” ¶ 0045.
Here, the device request 124 is denied and a “message 502” (indication) is used to indicate that a fraudulent access was attempted via the request, but was denied.).
Claims 9 and 16 are a storage controller claim and a computer program product claim, respectively, corresponding to the method Claim 2. Therefore, Claims 9 and 16 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 5, Ng in view of Dawkins teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the storage controller uses trusted virtual machine identifiers of a plurality of virtual machines to determine whether the input/output operation is to be processed on the storage controller (
Ng discloses, “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of the SDT 120-2 in accordance with some implementations. In the depicted example, the SDT 120-2 includes a plurality of entries (e.g., entry 202 and entry 204), wherein each entry is assigned to a different I/O device 106 (or VM 114). Each entry of the SDT 120-2 includes secure device control information 122-2 stored in one or more fields, including a device identifier field 206, a VM identifier field 208, an assigned memory field 210, and a VM binding indicator field 212,” ¶ 0036,
“The IOMMU compares the VM identifier included in the device request 124 to the VMID included in the VM identifier field 208 to determine if the requesting I/O device 106 is requesting access to the VM 114… If the IOMMU 112 determines that the requesting I/O device 106 is attempting to access a VM 114 that the requesting device 106 is not assigned to or securely bound to, or is attempting to access memory 104 that is not assigned to the targeted VM 114, the IOMMU 112 does not execute the device request 124. Otherwise, IOMMU 112 executes the device request 124,” ¶ 0037.
Here, the IOMMU (“storage controller”) uses a list of VMIDs already included in VM identifier fields of entries of a secure device table in memory (this list of VMIDs is mapped to the claimed “trusted virtual machine identifiers”). Each entry of the secure device table is assigned to a different virtual machine.
If the VMID of the device request 124 to access the VM does not match any of the VMIDs already included in VM identifier fields of entries of the secure device table, than the device request 124 is denied.
After the combination of Ng with Dawkins, the memory is specified to be a part of the IOMMU (“storage controller”), as specified by Dawkins, so it is determined whether the device request 124 is to be performed on the IOMMU based on whether there is a match between the VMID of the device request and the VMIDs already included in VM identifier fields of entries of the secure device table.).
Claims 12 and 19 are a storage controller claim and a computer program product claim, respectively, corresponding to the method Claim 5. Therefore, Claims 12 and 19 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 5.
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng (US 20240289150 A1) in view of Dawkins (US 20140033201 A1) and Mitra (US 20210232682 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Ng in view of Dawkins teaches the method of claim 2. Ng in view of Dawkins does not teach the method further comprising: performing a data backup in the storage controller, in response to providing the indication.
However, Mitra teaches the method further comprising:
performing a data backup in the storage controller, in response to providing the indication (
Mitra discloses, “Initially, the malware cataloger 210 generates (310) the malware catalog 220 as discussed above in conjunction with the FIG. 2. Then, the filter driver 230 transmits (315) a write received at the VM to outside of the VM to the detection engine 240. Next, the detection engine 240 computes (320) a fingerprint for each incoming write 280 to the VM. If (330) there is no match, then the detection engine 240 computes (320) a fingerprint for the next incoming transmitted (315) write 280 to the VM. In an embodiment, the detection engine 240 operates asynchronously with respect to the virtual machine. For example, the virtual machine can continue to receive input/output during the operation of method 300. If (330) there is a match, then the timer 250 increases (340) a counter. If (350) the counter is less than a threshold (e.g., less than 50% of incoming writes over a predetermined time), then the detection engine 240 returns to transmitting (315). Otherwise, if (350) the counter is greater than a threshold, the notifier 270 takes action (360), such as stopping (disabling or powering off) the VM, notifying a user via email, pop-up, text message, recorded voice call, etc., blocking source address of the malware, and/or reverting the VM to a pre-malware stage as discussed in conjunction with FIGS. 4 and 5 by reverting to a prior version of the VM using a snapshot… In an embodiment, if a counter breaches a threshold then action (360) is taken,” ¶ 0074.
Here, if the number of potentially malicious accesses reaches a threshold, then a data backup is performed in order to restore the data of a VM to a pre-malware stage.
After the combination of Ng in view of Dawkins, with Mitra, the IOMMU from Ng in view of Dawkins would be configured to perform a data backup, as specified by Mitra, in response to the message indicating that fraudulent access has been attempted by a request.).
Ng in view of Dawkins, and Mitra are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of virtual machine management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ng in view of Dawkins to incorporate the teachings of Mitra and provide the method further comprising: performing a data backup in the storage controller, in response to providing the indication. Doing so would help ensure the data is reverted to an uncompromised state to maintain security and integrity (Mitra discloses, “reverting the VM to a pre-malware stage as discussed in conjunction with FIGS. 4 and 5 by reverting to a prior version of the VM using a snapshot,” ¶ 0074.).
Claims 10 and 17 are a storage controller claim and a computer program product claim, respectively, corresponding to the method Claim 3. Therefore, Claims 10 and 17 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 3.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng (US 20240289150 A1) in view of Dawkins (US 20140033201 A1), Khatri (US 20170017515 A1), and Bshara (US 10404674 B1).
Regarding Claim 4, Ng in view of Dawkins teaches the method of claim 1. Ng in view of Dawkins does not teach the method further comprising: performing out-of-band communication between the storage controller and a host computational device that executes the hypervisor to secure the virtual machine identifier for the storage controller.
However, Khatri teaches the method further comprising:
performing out-of-band communication between the storage controller and a host computational device (
Khatri discloses, “A method comprising: receiving, at a management controller of a host system, a deployment template from a management system coupled to the management controller, wherein the deployment template is received out of band from a processing device of the host system,” Abstract.
Here, out-of-band communication is performed between a management controller and a processing device of the host system (“host computational device”).
After the combination of Ng in view of Dawkins, with Khatri, the IOMMU (“storage controller”) from Ng in view of Dawkins would be configured to perform out-of-band communication with a host computational device as specified by Khatri.).
Ng in view of Dawkins, and Khatri are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of virtual machine management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ng in view of Dawkins to incorporate the teachings of Khatri and provide the method further comprising: performing out-of-band communication between the storage controller and a host computational device. Doing so would help allow for increased security of both the storage controller and the host computational device using the out-of-band communication.
Ng in view of Dawkins and Khatri does not teach a host computational device that executes the hypervisor to secure the virtual machine identifier for the storage controller.
However, Bshara teaches a host computational device that executes the hypervisor to secure the virtual machine identifier for the storage controller (
Bshara discloses, “In some implementations, the host device 102 may include a host operating system 108 executing on hardware 106. For example, the hardware 106 may include processors, memories, controllers, or any suitable components. A hypervisor 110 may be configured to execute on the host operating system 108, and to manage a plurality of virtual machines on the host device 102, e.g., a first virtual machine (VM) 112a, a second VM 112b, or an N.sup.th VM 112n,” Col 3, Lines 14-22, and “In step 604, the hypervisor 212 may send a first VMID associated with the first VM to the memory controller 216. For example, the hypervisor 212 may send the VMID 402 equal to ‘1’ associated with the first VM 214a to the apparatus 300,” Col 13, Lines 57-61.
Here, the host device executes the hypervisor because the hypervisor must run on the host operating system, which is part of the host device.
The hypervisor sends a virtual machine identifier, or VMID, to a controller. This is synchronization of the virtual machine identifier because after the sending of the VMID, both the hypervisor and the controller now have the same VMID. The synchronization is an example of to secure the virtual machine identifier for the storage controller, according to paragraph 37 of the present application’s specification, which states “FIG. 4 illustrates a block diagram 400 that depicts out-of-band communication between a host computational device 102 and a storage controller 104, in accordance with certain embodiments. The out-of-band communication synchronizes a trusted virtual machines identifier list between the host computational device 102 and the storage controller 104 (as shown via reference numeral 402).”
After the combination of Ng in view of Dawkins and Khatri, with Bshara, the out-of-band communication between the storage controller and host device is specified to be synchronization of the virtual machine identifiers between the storage controller and host device, as specified by Bshara.).
Ng in view of Dawkins and Khatri, and Bshara are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of virtual machine management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ng in view of Dawkins and Khatri to incorporate the teachings of Bshara and provide a host computational device that executes the hypervisor to secure the virtual machine identifier for the storage controller. Doing so would help allow for ensuring that both the host device and the controller have the same virtual machine identifiers, thus preserving data integrity/consistency.
Claims 11 and 18 are a storage controller claim and a computer program product claim, respectively, corresponding to the method Claim 4. Therefore, Claims 11 and 18 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 4.
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng (US 20240289150 A1) in view of Dawkins (US 20140033201 A1) and DeSanti (US 20180341509 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Ng in view of Dawkins teaches the method of claim 1. Ng in view of Dawkins does not teach wherein the virtual machine identifier is included in a Fibre Channel frame.
However, DeSanti teaches wherein the virtual machine identifier is included in a Fibre Channel frame (
DeSanti discloses, “…during a Fibre Channel session, exchanging Fibre Channel frames, each indicating the fabric VM identifier, with a Fibre Channel destination port connected to the switched fabric.,” ¶ 0092.).
Ng in view of Dawkins, and DeSanti are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of virtual machine management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ng in view of Dawkins to incorporate the teachings of DeSanti and provide wherein the virtual machine identifier is included in a Fibre Channel frame. Doing so would help allow for efficient and/or faster data transport using the Fibre Channel frames for suitable situations.
Claims 13 and 20 are a storage controller claim and a computer program product claim, respectively, corresponding to the method Claim 6. Therefore, Claims 13 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 6.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng (US 20240289150 A1) in view of Dawkins (US 20140033201 A1) and Kim (US 20250117243 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Ng in view of Dawkins teaches the method of claim 1, the method further comprising:
uniquely assigning a memory storage (
Ng discloses, “For secure guest requests, the IOMMU checks the SDT to confirm that the memory to be accessed by the I/O device is owned by the VM to which the device is bound. If the memory is not owned by the VM or if the I/O device is not bound to the VM, the IOMMU does not execute the device request,” ¶ 0014, “As the VMID includes a unique identifier for a VM 114, a field in the SDT 120-2 including the VMID indicates the VM corresponding to the related entry of SDT 120-2. An ASID identifies the memory address spaces allocated to the VM 114 associated with the corresponding entry of the SDT 120-2,” ¶ 0031.
Here, storage in the form of “memory address spaces”, represented by the ASID, is assigned to the VM, and thus also assigned to the VMID.
The IOMMU (“storage controller”) controls the memory address spaces associated with the VM by determining whether access requests from I/O devices are allowed to access the VM and its memory.).
Ng in view of Dawkins does not teach that the memory storage is a storage disk.
However, Kim teaches that the memory storage is a storage disk (
Kim discloses, “FIG. 10 is a view illustrating the structure of a VM controller for supporting an in-memory disk according to an embodiment of the present disclosure,” ¶ 0037.
Here, the memory storage comprises storage disks.
After the combination of Ng in view of Dawkins, with Kim, the memory storage allocated to a virtual machine, from Ng in view of Dawkins, is specified to be a storage disk, as specified by Kim.).
Ng in view of Dawkins, and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of virtual machine management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ng in view of Dawkins to incorporate the teachings of Kim and provide that the memory storage is a storage disk. Doing so would help preserve the data inside the storage disk to avoid data loss. In addition, it would have been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. The use of a memory disk for storage replaces the use of the memory storage as taught in Ng in view of Dawkins. The results are predictable, because the memory disk from Kim accomplishes the same purpose of the memory storage in Ng in view of Dawkins.
Claim 14 is a storage controller claim corresponding to the method Claim 7. Therefore, Claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Natanzon et al. (US 10409986 B1): Ransomware Detection In A Continuous Data Protection Environment
/ANDREW NMN SUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2195
/Aimee Li/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2195