DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on January 6, 2025 and July 2, 2026 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, two sill beams, upper cover plate of the battery pack, and battery pack longitudinal beams must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites “a height of a lower end surface of the subframe is greater than a height of the battery pack”. The statement does not specify which surface of the battery pack the comparison is referring to. To advance examination, the examiner has inferred from figure 10 that the surface in question is the lower surface of the battery pack.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by He et al. (CN 205524488 U), hereinafter "He-2016".
Regarding claim 1, He-2016 discloses a vehicle (“vehicle having the vehicle cabin assembly, which can improve the energy absorption ratio”, p. 1, lines 33-34), comprising:
a front longitudinal beam (main longitudinal beam 40, figs. 1, 2, and 4);
a subframe (subframe 50, figs. 1 and 4); and
a subframe front mounting point (sub-frame connecting plate 51, figs. 1, 2, and 4), the subframe front mounting point being connected with the front longitudinal beam, and in a width direction of the vehicle, the subframe front mounting point being provided on an outer side of the front longitudinal beam (“sub-frame connecting plate 51 toward the side of the cabin is fixed on the main beam 40”, p. 3, lines 57-58); and
the subframe being connected to the front longitudinal beam through the subframe front mounting point (“sub-frame connecting plate 51 is connected between the main longitudinal beam 40 … and the front sub-frame 50”, p. 3, lines 54-55).
Regarding claim 2, He-2016 discloses the vehicle according to claim 1, further comprising:
a front compartment side beam (upper side beam 30, figs. 1, 2, and 4), in the width direction of the vehicle, the front compartment side beam being connected with an outer side surface of the front longitudinal beam (figures 1 and 2 clearly show upper side beam 30 connected by way of connecting plate 51 with the surface of main longitudinal beam 40 facing the side of the vehicle), and a first end of the front compartment side beam (lower end of upper side beam 30 as visible in figure 4) being provided with the subframe front mounting point (“sub-frame connecting plate 51 is connected between the main longitudinal beam 40, the upper side frame 30 and the front sub-frame 50”, p. 3, lines 54-55).
Regarding claim 4, He-2016 discloses the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the subframe is connected below the front longitudinal beam (figure 4 shows subframe 50 connected below main longitudinal beam 40); and a front end and a rear end of the subframe have a constant height to transmit a force along a horizontal direction (figure 4 shows subframe 50 substantially level in the horizontal direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5-7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He-2016 as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Bao et al. (CN 112441119 A), hereinafter "Bao".
Regarding claim 3, He-2016 discloses the vehicle according to claim 2, wherein a height of the subframe front mounting point in an up-down direction is located below a joint of the front compartment side beam and the front longitudinal beam (figure 4 best shows connection of subframe 50 with sub-frame connecting plate 51 positioned vertically below the joint of upper side beam 30 and main longitudinal beam 40); and
an annular force transmission structure is formed among the front longitudinal beam, the front compartment side beam, and the subframe (“integral frame structure” comprising main longitudinal beam 40, upper side beam 30, and sub-frame 50 described on page 4, lines 30-34, and the force transmission path illustrated in figure 4).
He-2016 does not recite middle and rear subframe mounting points. Bao teaches a detachable electric automobile subframe (p. 1, lines 37-52, fig. 1) including a pair of side beams 3, wherein
the front longitudinal beam comprises a subframe middle mounting point (first mounting bracket 6 at the first installation point, fig. 1) and a subframe rear mounting point (second mounting bracket 7 at the second installation point, fig. 1); and
the subframe is connected to the front longitudinal beam through the subframe middle mounting point (“side beam 3 is fixedly connected to the body longitudinal beam through the first mounting bracket 6 at the first installation point”, p. 4, lines 4-5) and the subframe rear mounting point (“side beam 3 is fixedly connected to the body longitudinal beam through the second mounting bracket 7 at the second installation point”, p. 4, lines 5-6).
Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the middle and rear subframe mounting points from Bao with the vehicle disclosed by He-2016. The motivation would have been arriving at a configuration whereby “in the early stage of the collision, the sub-frame forms a main force transmission path … [and] in the middle and late stages of the collision, the sub-frame can fall off, guide the powertrain to move backwards, make full use of the collision space, avoid the powertrain from hitting the firewall, effectively solve the acceleration and intrusion problems, and meet the collision safety performance requirements” (Bao, p. 5, lines 26-31). The combination would predictably achieve the desired results.
Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses the vehicle according to claim 3, further comprising, per He-2016, an A-pillar assembly (A-pillar 10, figs. 1, 2, and 4), the front longitudinal beam comprising a front longitudinal beam front section and a front longitudinal beam rear section connected with each other (main longitudinal beam 40 front section proximate connecting plate 51 and rear section proximate A-pillar 10, fig. 4), a second end of the front compartment side beam being connected with the A-pillar assembly (“one end of the upper side rail 30 is welded to the A-pillar 10”, p. 3, line 11), the front longitudinal beam front section being connected with the front compartment side beam (“other end [of upper side beam 30] is connected to the front sub-frame 50 and the main longitudinal beam 40”, p. 3, lines 11-12), the front longitudinal beam rear section being connected with the A-pillar assembly, and the front longitudinal beam, the front compartment side beam, and the A-pillar assembly forming an annular force transmission structure (“integral frame structure” as cited in claim 3 and impact force distribution across components including A-pillar 10, as shown in figure 4).
Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses the vehicle according to claim 5, wherein the front compartment side beam comprises a lower side beam (lower section of side beam 30 comprising outer panel front section 321, fig. 3 of He-2016); a lower section of the lower side beam is connected with the front longitudinal beam front section (lower section of side beam 30 shown connected with main longitudinal beam 40 in figures 1, 2, and 4 of He-2016);
the subframe front mounting point is provided on a lower end of the lower side beam (He-2016: “sub-frame connecting plate 51 is connected between the main longitudinal beam 40, the upper side frame 30 and the front sub-frame 50”, p. 3, lines 54-55);
the subframe rear mounting point is provided on the front longitudinal beam rear section (Bao’s side beam 3 fixedly connected to the body longitudinal beam through the second mounting bracket 7 at the second installation point as applied to the combination of claim 3, p. 4, lines 5-6); and
the front longitudinal beam, the lower side beam, and the subframe form an annular force transmission structure (“integral frame structure” of He-2016 comprising main longitudinal beam 40, lower section of upper side beam 30, and sub-frame 50 described on page 4, lines 30-34 and the force transmission path illustrated in figure 4).
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses the vehicle according to claim 6, wherein per He-2016, the front compartment side beam further comprises an upper side beam (upper section of side beam 30 comprising outer panel rear section 322, fig. 3);
a rear end of the upper side beam is connected with the A-pillar assembly (“end of the upper side rail 30 is welded to the A-pillar 10”, more specifically the end opposite to front sub-frame 50, p. 3, line 11, fig. 4);
a front end of the upper side beam is connected with an upper end of the lower side beam (front end of side beam 30 comprising outer panel rear section 322 connected with upper end of outer panel front section 321, fig. 3); and the upper side beam, the lower side beam, the subframe, and the A-pillar assembly form an annular force transmission structure (plate 32 “enclosed to form an arc-shaped energy absorbing box structure” as part of the integral frame structure, p. 3, lines 20-21, figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 9, the combination discloses the vehicle according to claim 5, further comprising a cantilever (Bao, first cross beam 2, figs. 1-2), the subframe being connected to the subframe middle mounting point through the cantilever (first cross beam 2 shown connected proximate first mounting bracket 6 in Bao figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 10, the combination discloses the vehicle according to claim 5, wherein a bottom surface of the front longitudinal beam rear section is a planar structure (rear section of body longitudinal beam of Bao has a planar structure between mounting points 7 and 8, best shown in figures 1 and 2); and the planar structure is at a same height in an up-down direction of the vehicle (figure 3 of Bao shows the planar portion of the body longitudinal beam horizontally level).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He-2016 and Bao as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of He et al. (CN 209467213 U), hereinafter "He-2019".
Regarding claim 8, the combination discloses the vehicle according to claim 7, wherein the lower side beam comprises: a lower side beam body; a lower side beam upper connecting plate, the lower side beam upper connecting plate being arranged on an upper end of the lower side beam body and being connected with the front end of the upper side beam; a lower side beam lower connecting plate, the lower side beam lower connecting plate being arranged on a lower end of the lower side beam body, and the lower side beam lower connecting plate being provided with the subframe front mounting point; and a lower side beam reinforcing plate, the lower side beam reinforcing plate and the lower side beam body being connected with the front longitudinal beam. (arrangement of side beam outer panel front section 321, side beam outer panel rear section 322, and edge beam 31 being provided with connecting plate 51, as shown in figures 3 and 4 of He-2016)
The combination is silent with respect to a wheel housing. He-2019 teaches a front cabin power transmission structure (p. 1, lines 33-41, figs. 1-3) further comprising:
a wheel housing mounting plate (wheel cover 3, figs. 1-3), the wheel housing mounting plate being connected with the upper side beam (“wheel cover 3 and The cabin upper side rail 1 is connected”, p. 3, line 20, fig. 1);
a wheel housing front pillar, an upper end of the wheel housing front pillar being connected with the wheel housing mounting plate, and a lower end of the wheel housing front pillar being connected with the front longitudinal beam (leftmost force transmission chamber 31 shown in figure 2, connected to wheel cover 3 and front longitudinal beam 2); and
a wheel housing rear pillar, the wheel housing rear pillar being arranged on a rear side of the wheel housing front pillar, an upper end of the wheel housing rear pillar being connected with the wheel housing mounting plate, and a lower end of the wheel housing rear pillar being connected with the front longitudinal beam (rightmost force transmission chamber 31 shown in figure 2, connected to wheel cover 3 and front longitudinal beam 2).
Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to further add, with a reasonable expectation of success, the wheel housing structure from He-2019 to the combination. The motivation would have been to distribute front impact force across the front longitudinal beam and upper side rail via the nacelle wheel cover (He-2019, p. 3, lines 28-41). The enhanced combination would predictably achieve the desired result.
Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He-2016 and Bao as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Song et al. (WO 2021/129615 A1), hereinafter "Song".
Regarding claim 11, the combination discloses the vehicle according to claim 5, but does not recite a battery pack. Song teaches a vehicle chassis collision structure (p. 1, lines 47-54, figs. 1-3) wherein a battery pack mounting point is further provided on the bottom surface of the front longitudinal beam rear section; and the battery pack mounting point is configured to connect to a battery pack (connection of front battery pack lower guard plate 3 to bottom surface of longitudinal beam 201 rear section as shown in figures 1 and 2). Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to further add, with a reasonable expectation of success, the battery pack structure from Song to the combination. The motivation would have been to “improve the collision performance of the new energy vehicle chassis” (Song, p. 1, lines 42-43). The enhanced combination would predictably achieve the desired result.
Regarding claim 15, the combination discloses the vehicle according to claim 11, wherein in the up-down direction of the vehicle, a height of a lower end surface of the subframe is greater than a height of the battery pack (figure 20 of Song shows higher disposition of the bottom surface of subframe 5 with respect to battery pack 8; see claim 15 rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above regarding examiner’s claim interpretation).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He-2016, Bao, and Song as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Luo et al. (CN 212047578 U), hereinafter “Luo” and Hu (CN 216734484 U).
Regarding claim 12, the combination discloses the vehicle according to claim 11, but is silent regarding battery back spaced away from the subframe. Luo teaches a rear section assembly for a front longitudinal beam of a vehicle body (p. 1, lines 35-38, figs. 1-4) wherein a front end surface of the battery pack and a rear end surface of the subframe are arranged spaced away (battery pack 6 shown spaced away from subframe assembly 4 in figure 3). Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to configure, with a reasonable expectation of success, the battery pack assembly based on Luo’s teachings in order to avoid impact situations where the “battery pack collides and squeezes, causing safety problems such as battery leakage and fire”, (Luo, p. 1, lines 37-38). The enhanced combination would predictably achieve the desired result.
The combination is also silent regarding sill beams. Hu teaches a beam frame assembly for a vehicle (p. 1, lines 34-46, figs. 1-3) wherein the vehicle comprises a sill beam (sill side beam 40, p. 5, lines 7-20); two sill beams are arranged, the two sill beams are respectively arranged on two sides of the vehicle; each of the sill beams extends along a front-rear direction of the vehicle; and side edges of the battery pack facing the two sides of the vehicle are respectively connected with the two sill beams (two sill side beams 40 shown in figure 3 on two sides of the vehicle frame with the power battery 5 between them). Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to further add to the combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, the sill beams from Hu. The motivation would have been to “provide a beam frame assembly for a vehicle, which can effectively protect the power battery of the vehicle and is also beneficial to increase the capacity of the power battery” (Hu, p. 1, lines 29-30). The enhanced combination would predictably achieve the desired results.
Regarding claim 13, the combination discloses the vehicle according to claim 11, wherein at least part of an upper cover plate of the battery pack is formed as a vehicle floor (floor assembly 9 shown in Song figure 20 as an upper cover plate of battery pack 8).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He-2016, Bao, and Song as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (CN 212447793 U), hereinafter “Yang”.
Regarding claim 14, the combination discloses the vehicle according to claim 11, but does not recite battery pack longitudinal beams. Yang teaches a force transmission structure for a vehicle with a battery pack (p. 1, lines 28-52, figs. 1-4) wherein battery pack longitudinal beams (ski boards 230, fig. 1) are arranged in the battery pack; the battery pack longitudinal beams are arranged to extend along the front-rear direction of the vehicle; and at least one of the battery pack longitudinal beams is arranged corresponding to the subframe rear mounting point (arrangement of ski boards 230 corresponding to rear mounting points of subframe 310 shown in figures 2-3). Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to further add to the combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, the ski boards from Yang. The motivation would have been to “form a third force transmission path … to disperse and transmit the collision force” (Yang, p. 9, lines 30-40). The enhanced combination would predictably achieve the desired result.
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He-2016 and Bao as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Geng et al. (US 10,543,873 B2), hereinafter "Geng".
Regarding claim 16, the combination discloses the vehicle according to claim 5, but does not recite the elements forming a first reinforcing cavity. Geng teaches a front cabin frame assembly (col. 1, lines 52-67, figs. 1-7) wherein the front longitudinal beam rear section comprises: a longitudinal beam rear section outer connecting plate, the longitudinal beam rear section outer connecting plate being connected to the A-pillar assembly in an overlapping manner; a longitudinal beam rear section inner connecting plate, the longitudinal beam rear section inner connecting plate being connected with the longitudinal beam rear section outer connecting plate, and the longitudinal beam rear section inner connecting plate being connected with the A- pillar assembly; and a longitudinal beam rear section outer connection sealing plate, the longitudinal beam rear section outer connection sealing plate being connected with the A-pillar assembly; and the longitudinal beam rear section outer connecting plate, the longitudinal beam rear section inner connecting plate, and the longitudinal beam rear section outer connection sealing plate being connected and forming a first reinforcing cavity (arrangement of front beam rear sections 120, cowl outer reinforcements 90, and A-pillars 110 as shown in figure 6 along with load transfer paths indicated by the arrows).
Before the effective date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to structure the combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, based on Geng’s teachings. The motivation would have been configuring a frame assembly that provides “two load transfer paths for transferring collision energy, makes the front cabin frame could absorb the head-on collision energy effectively and results the load transfer path be more reasonable, thereby decreasing the injury of the passengers during collision, and increasing the collision safety of the entire vehicle” (Geng, col. 7, lines 33-38). The enhanced combination would predictably achieve the desired results.
Regarding claim 17, the combination discloses the vehicle according to claim 5, further comprising a first cross beam, two ends of the first cross beam being respectively connected with two A-pillar assemblies oppositely arranged, and the first cross beam being further connected with a central channel assembly (arrangement of cross beam 150, middle channel 170, and A-pillars 110 as shown in Geng figure 3).
Regarding claim 18, the combination discloses the vehicle according to claim 17, wherein the front longitudinal beam rear section is connected with the first cross beam; and the front longitudinal beam rear section comprises: a longitudinal beam rear connecting plate, the longitudinal beam rear connecting plate being connected with the first cross beam; and a longitudinal beam sealing plate rear section, the longitudinal beam sealing plate rear section being connected with the first cross beam; the longitudinal beam rear connecting plate and the longitudinal beam sealing plate rear section being arranged in a herringbone shape, the longitudinal beam rear connecting plate being configured to transmit an impact force to a side of the central channel assembly through the first cross beam, and the longitudinal beam sealing plate rear section being configured to transmit the impact force to a side of the A-pillar assembly through the first cross beam (connection of cross beam 150 to front beam rear section 120 by outer connection brackets 130 and inner connection brackets 140 as shown in Geng figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 19, the combination discloses the vehicle according to claim 17, further comprising a second cross beam, an end portion of the second cross beam being connected with the front longitudinal beam rear section, a middle part of the second cross beam being connected with the central channel assembly, a bottom surface of the second cross beam being flush with a bottom surface of the front longitudinal beam rear section, and the second cross beam being arranged below the first cross beam (arrangement of reinforcement cross beam 80, positioned vertically lower than cross beam 150, and connected with front beam rear section 120 and middle channel 170 by way of middle channel side beams 180, as shown in Geng figure 2).
Regarding claim 20, the combination discloses the vehicle according to claim 19, wherein the front longitudinal beam rear section is connected with the central channel assembly; the front longitudinal beam rear section comprises a subframe rear support plate (suspension frame 1 of Bao); the subframe rear support plate is connected with the central channel assembly; the subframe rear mounting point is provided corresponding to the subframe rear support plate (suspension frame 1 corresponding to installation point 8 as shown in Bao figures 1 and 2); and a second reinforcing cavity is defined between the central channel assembly and the second cross beam (cavity of middle channel 170 in connection with reinforcement cross beam 80 shown in Geng figure 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional art of record relates to vehicle structures having features relevant to the claimed invention.
/MOHAMMAD OMID NEYZARI/Examiner, Art Unit 3613
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613