DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 12-15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by as being unpatentable over Hayes (US 2008/0099064).
** Examiner notes that “as measured using stylus profilometry” does not actually require preforming stylus profilometry to measure the surface roughness. Rather, it only requires that, if a stylus profilometry measuring method is used, the measured surface roughness is 12 microns to 40 microns. Nonetheless, para 46 of Hayes discloses using stylus profilometry. See below. Additionally, the roofing substrate is not part of the membrane. In claim 12, the roofing substrate is not part of the product, and thus the membrane only has to be capable of being installed on the substrate. **
As to claim 12-15, Hayes discloses a roofing (para 41) membrane (encapsulant layer) comprising at least polyurethane and/or a thermoplastic polyolefin (e.g. polyethylene, para 24) and/or epoxy (para 24) and further comprising: a top surface, wherein the top surface (fig 1, top surface of encapsulant layer) is exposed to an external environment (top surface necessarily exposed); a bottom surface (fig 1), wherein the bottom surface is a plasma-treated surface having a surface roughness of 12 to 40 microns as measured using stylus profilometry (para 45-46); and an adhesive layer comprises of polyurethane and/or epoxy (para 68), wherein the adhesive layer directly contacts the bottom surface (para 67-70); wherein, when the roofing membrane is capable of being installed on a roofing substrate (inherent for any roofing membrane), the adhesive layer directly contacts a roofing substrate; wherein the roofing membrane has a thickness of 1 mil to 100 mils (para 8-9, 20-39, 43-46, 67-72). Specifically, para 67 says the adhesive is on the modified surface of the roofing membrane (encapsulant layer). Additionally, and/or alternatively, para 67 discloses application of the adhesive to the solar cell layers. Because the solar cell layers are then laminated to the modified surface of the roofing membrane, an adhesive layer will be formed on the modified surface of the roofing membrane.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes in view of Shiao et al. (US 2012/0124921).
As to claim 16, Hayes discloses a roofing membrane, wherein the roofing membrane has: a top surface, wherein the top surface is exposed to an external environment; a bottom surface, wherein the bottom surface is a plasma-treated surface having a surface roughness of 12 to 40 microns as measured using stylus profilometry; wherein the roofing membrane has a thickness of 1 mil to 100 mils; and an adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer directly contacts the bottom surface of the roofing membrane (see citations with detailed in the claim 12 rejection above).
Hayes does not disclose a roofing substrate wherein the adhesive layer directly contacts said roofing substrate.
Shiao discloses a roofing system comprising a roofing membrane 110/310/410 with an adhesive layer, said adhesive layer 130/330/430 (para 49-50) directly contacting the roofing substrate 120/320/420 (para 39-66, fig 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Hayes such that the roofing system comprising a roofing substrate wherein the adhesive layer directly contacts said roofing substrate as taught by Shiao above as such produces a strong bond capable of withstanding the humidity-freeze cycle test, thermal cycle test, and damp-heat test requirements (para 50).
As to claim 17, Hayes discloses the roofing membrane comprising at least polyurethane and/or a thermoplastic polyolefin (e.g. polyethylene, para 24) and/or epoxy (para 24). Shiao discloses the membrane can be a thermoplastic polyolefin (para 41).
As to claim 18-19, Shiao discloses the roofing substrate comprises at least a thermoplastic polyolefin and/or silicone (para 48).
As to claim 20, both Shiao and Hayes discloses the membrane is a thermoplastic polyolefin (see claim 17 above) and Shiao discloses the roofing substrate comprises a thermoplastic polyolefin (para 48).
As to claim 21, Hayes discloses the adhesive can be polyurethane (para 68) and Shiao discloses and EVA and/or polyolefin adhesive (para 56).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746