DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/06/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/011,441 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application is broader than the reference application. The current application recites similar limitations as the reference application such as:
Current application
Reference Application
A memory device, comprising:
an array of memory cells;
word lines respectively coupled to rows of the array of memory cells; and
a peripheral circuit coupled to the array of memory cells through the word lines and
configured to, in a first loop of a program operation:
immediately ramp up the voltage on the select word line from the first supply
voltage to a first bias voltage.
apply a post-pulse voltage on a select word line of the word lines after applying a verify voltage on the select word line;
ramp down a voltage on the select word line from the post-pulse voltage to a first
supply voltage (Vdd).
A memory device, comprising: a first memory plane comprising memory cells and word lines respectively coupled to rows of the memory cells;
and a peripheral circuit coupled to the first memory plane through the word lines and configured to, in a last loop of a program operation on the first memory plane:
after applying a verify voltage to a select word line of the word lines,
ramp up a voltage on the select word line from a first supply voltage (Vdd) to a pass voltage;
and ramp down the voltage on the select word line of the word lines from the pass voltage to the first supply voltage.
The memory device of claim 1, wherein the peripheral circuit is further configured to, in the last loop of the program operation on the first memory plane:
after applying the verify voltage to the select word line, apply a bias voltage to the select word line, the bias voltage being between the first supply voltage and the pass voltage; and
ramp down the voltage on the select word line from the bias voltage to the first supply voltage before ramping up the voltage on the select word line from the first supply voltage to the pass voltage.
The two applications are very similar. The current application is for the first loop of a program operation and the reference application is for the last loop of the program operation. However, the steps for the first loop of the program operation are claimed similar to the ones for the last loop of the program operation. It is well-known in the art to have multiple program loops to program a plurality of data. The program loops in the program operation will have the same steps and voltages. Therefore, the current application is obvious over the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-14 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Date (US 2020/0082855 A1), and further in view of Yun et al. (US 2019/01646418 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Date teaches a memory device, comprising:
an array of memory cells (Fig. 1, memory array MA);
word lines respectively coupled to rows of the array of memory cells (word lines WL); and
a peripheral circuit (Fig. 1, peripheral circuit PC) coupled to the array of memory cells through the word lines and configured to, in a first loop of a program operation:
apply a post-pulse voltage on a select word line of the word lines after applying a verify voltage on the select word line (Date teaches a program loop operation in Fig. 6. During the program operation, voltage Vpgm is applied to the selected word line WL. Date does not explicitly teach a verify operation before the program operation. However, Yun teaches a verify operation can be performed before the program operation, see Fig. 7A and 7B. );
ramp down a voltage on the select word line from the post-pulse voltage to a first supply voltage (Vdd) (first supply voltage is not defined to have a specific range for the voltage. Therefore, it is given the broadest reasonable interpretation to mean a voltage. Date teaches ramping down the program voltage to voltage V2 at time T127); and
immediately ramp up the voltage on the select word line from the first supply voltage to a first bias voltage (Fig. 6, immediately at T127 ramp up voltage on selected word line WL from V2 to Vpass).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person with the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform a verify operation before the program operation in order to detect which cells have the same data as the new data and do not need to be programmed to save time).
Regarding claim 2, Date further teaches the memory device of claim 1, wherein to immediately ramp up the voltage on the select word line, the peripheral circuit is configured to ramp up the voltage on the select word line as soon as the voltage on the select word line reaches the first supply voltage (Fig. 6, as soon as voltage V2 is reached at T127, the word line is ramped up to Vpass).
Regarding claim 3, Date further teaches the memory device of claim 1, wherein the peripheral circuit is further configured to, in a second loop of the program operation immediately after the first loop, apply a program voltage to the select word line after the first bias voltage (In a memory device, program operation includes multiple program loops and verify until the target data is written. Fig. 6 can be applied for the second program loop, where the program voltage Vpgm is applied after the first bias voltage Vpass).
Regarding claim 11, Date further teaches the memory device of claim 1, wherein the peripheral circuit is further configured to, in a third loop of the program operation; ramp down the voltage on the select word line from the post-pulse voltage to the first supply voltage; and maintain the voltage on the select word line at the first supply voltage (Fig. 7 teaches the selected word line WL can be maintained at the first supply voltage Vdd-Vth).
Regarding claims 12-14 and 19-20, the claims have similar limitations as claims 1-3 and 11 above. The claims are rejected under the same grounds of rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Currently, there are not prior art rejections for claims 4-10 and 15-18.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
After further search and consideration it is determined that the prior art of record neither anticipated nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach, the following limitation(s) in combination with the remaining claimed limitation:
With regards to claims 4 and 15, ramp down a voltage on an unselect word line of the word lines from a pass voltage to the first supply voltage; and immediately ramp up the voltage on the unselect word line from the first supply voltage to a second bias voltage not greater than the first bias voltage.
With regards to claims 7 and 17, wherein the peripheral circuit is coupled to the array of memory cells through the source line and the DSG line and is configured to, in the first loop of the program operation: ramp down a voltage on the DSG line from a select voltage to a second supply voltage (Vss) smaller than the first supply voltage; and ramp up a voltage on the source line to a third bias voltage.
With regards to claims 9 and 18, wherein the peripheral circuit is coupled to the array of memory cells through the bit line and the SSG line and is configured to, in the first loop of the program operation: ramp down a voltage on the SSG line from a select voltage to a second supply voltage (Vss) smaller than the first supply voltage; and ramp up a voltage on the bit line to a third bias voltage.
Conclusion
/Khamdan N. Alrobaie/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824