DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: IMPROVING IMAGE QUALITY DURING DRIVE FREQUENCY TRANSISTION OF A DISPLAY DEVICE.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/03/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US PGPub 2023/0075226) in view of Zhang et al. (US PGPub 2025/0131880).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a display device (fig. 2, display device 160), comprising:
a display panel (fig. 2, display panel 250) including a pixel ([0057], “pixel of the display panel 250”);
a data driver (fig. 2, source driver 220) connected to the pixel through a data line, the data driver generating a first data voltage for a low driving frequency ([0055], “the source driver 220 may generate output data supplied to the display panel 250, in response to the source control signal” and [0056], “A signal corresponding to the output data may be supplied to the source driver 220, under the control of a timing controller inside the display driving circuit 210” where the signal is output during a normal driving frequency and during a low driving frequency); and
a scan driver (fig. 2, gate driver 230) connected to the pixel through a gate line, the scan driver generating a first scan signal for the low driving frequency having a low-frequency scan-on time, generating a second scan signal for the high driving frequency having a high-frequency scan-on time different from the low-frequency scan-on time, and providing the first scan signal or the second scan signal to the pixel ([0096], “when the duty-ratio difference is equal to or greater than the first reference value, the display driving circuit 210 may insert a bridge frame BF at the time point to change the operating frequency and may correct the duty ratio for the at least one of the light emitting control signal PCS included in the bridge frame BF, in operation 940. For example, when the duty-ratio difference is equal to or greater than the first reference value, the duty-ratio difference has a greater value. Accordingly, it is difficult to prevent the flicker phenomenon through the method as in illustrated FIG. 4A. The display driving circuit 210 may insert the bridge frame BF at the time point to change the operating frequency and may set (or adjust) the lengths (or times) of pulses included in the light emitting control signal PCS in the bridge frame BF through the method as illustrated in FIG. 5 or 6. The display driving circuit 210 may correct the duty ratio in a frame right after the time point to change the operating frequency through the method as illustrated in FIG. 5 or 6, and may perform the operation 930 again”).
While Lee discloses improving the problem of flicker by inserting a bridge frame during transition from one frequency to another frequency, however other solutions to the problem of flicker are known including having multiple gamma voltages for different frequencies. In a similar field of endeavor of display devices, Zhang discloses a low frequency gamma voltage and a high frequency gamma voltage; wherein the low-frequency scan-on time is determined when a difference between a low-frequency gamma voltage range of a low-frequency gamma voltage and a target gamma voltage range calculated based on a high-frequency gamma voltage range of a high-frequency gamma voltage is within a reference range ([0100], “gamma adjustment is performed on refresh frames (and the normal driving mode) of the LTPO display module in the low frequency driving mode, and hold frames use the gamma of refresh frames, and an image quality difference of different frequencies is reduced by adjusting a related voltage of the hold frames. However, due to same setting of anode reset voltages of different gray scales under the same DBV Band, brightness differences of high gray scale and low gray scale display patterns in a frequency switching process are different, and it is difficult to meet the image quality display requirements of LTPO adaptively refreshing frequency by using same voltage setting. Therefore, using different voltage adjustment designs for different gray scales in the same DBV Band is an effective guarantee to improve the image quality of the LTPO display module”).
In view of the teachings of Lee and Zhang, it would have been obvious to include the gamma voltages of Zhang, within the device of Lee, for the purpose of improving image quality during a frequency switching process (Zhang: [0100]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Lee and Zhang further discloses wherein the target gamma voltage range is equal to the high-frequency gamma voltage range (Zhang: [0100], “gamma adjustment is performed on refresh frames (and the normal driving mode) of the LTPO display module in the low frequency driving mode, and hold frames use the gamma of refresh frames, and an image quality difference of different frequencies is reduced by adjusting a related voltage of the hold frames”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lee and Zhang further discloses wherein the low-frequency gamma voltage range is defined from a first reference low-frequency gamma voltage corresponding to a first reference grayscale to a second reference low-frequency gamma voltage corresponding to a second reference grayscale higher than the first reference grayscale (Zhang: [0102], “a driving mode of the display panel includes a low frequency driving mode and a normal driving mode, the low frequency driving mode including a refresh frame stage configured to write data to the pixel unit and a hold frame stage configured to hold the data written to the pixel unit, and the display method includes: in the low frequency driving mode, acquiring a current DBV band and a pattern to be displayed; quantizing the pattern to be displayed to get an average picture level, wherein the average picture level is positively correlated with a brightness of a pixel unit by which the pattern to be displayed is started and negatively correlated with a brightness of the display panel when displaying an all-white pattern; determining a corresponding anode reset voltage according to the current DBV band and the average picture level; and in the hold frame stage, outputting the corresponding anode reset voltage to the pixel drive circuit to reset an anode of the light emitting element”), and
wherein the target gamma voltage range is defined from a first reference high-frequency gamma voltage corresponding to the first reference grayscale to a second reference high-frequency gamma voltage corresponding to the second reference grayscale (Zhang: [0100], “However, due to same setting of anode reset voltages of different gray scales under the same DBV Band, brightness differences of high gray scale and low gray scale display patterns in a frequency switching process are different, and it is difficult to meet the image quality display requirements of LTPO adaptively refreshing frequency by using same voltage setting. Therefore, using different voltage adjustment designs for different gray scales in the same DBV Band is an effective guarantee to improve the image quality of the LTPO display module”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lee and Zhang further discloses wherein the low-frequency scan-on time decreases by an offset when the low-frequency gamma voltage range is higher than the target gamma voltage range, and wherein the low-frequency scan-on time increases by the offset when the low-frequency gamma voltage range is lower than the target gamma voltage range (Lee: [0072], “The first region 401, the second region 402, or the third region 403 may be classified based on a first brightness value BR1, a second brightness value BR2, a first illuminance value IL1, or a second illuminance value IL2. The flicker sensitivity may be increased in the first region 401. The first region 401 may include a low brightness state or a low illuminance state. The first region 401 may include a portion having a brightness less than the first brightness value BR1 and having an illuminance less than the second illuminance value IL2, or a portion having a brightness less than the second brightness value BR2 and having an illuminance less than the first illuminance value IL1 The flicker sensitivity may be increased in the third region 403. The third region 403 may include a higher brightness state or a lower illuminance state. The third region 403 may include a portion having a brightness greater than the second brightness value BR2 or an illuminance greater than the second illuminance value IL2. The third region 403 may include a high brightness mode (HBM) region. The flicker sensitivity in the second region 402 is lower than the flicker sensitivity in the first region 401, and higher than the flicker sensitivity in the third region 403. The second region 402 may include a portion having a brightness between the first brightness value BR1 and the second brightness value BR2 and an illuminance between the first illuminance value IL1 and the second illuminance value IL2. For example, the first brightness value BR1 and the first illuminance value IL1 may be experimentally determined, based on whether flicker occurs. As another example, the second brightness value BR2 may be determined as a maximum brightness value of the display device 160. For example, the second illuminance value IL2 may be determined depending on a condition of entering into the high brightness mode (HBM)”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lee and Zhang further discloses wherein the offset is determined based on a difference between the low-frequency gamma voltage range and the target gamma voltage range (Lee: [0062], “When the duty-ratio difference between the duty ratio of pulses right before and after the target time point to change the operating frequency, and the duty ratio in each frame is equal to or greater than a reference value (e.g., 5%), a flicker phenomenon may be viewed by a user on the display panel 250. A method for controlling the display device 160 to reduce (or prevent) the flicker phenomenon will be described below with reference to FIGS. 4A, 4B, and 5 to 9”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Lee and Zhang further discloses wherein the offset has a predetermined value (Lee: [0062], “For example, the pulse width of the light emitting control signal PCS in the frame FA may be “a” (e.g., 2.1 ms), and the pulse width of the light emitting control signal PCS in the frame FB may be “b” (e.g., 2.8 ms). The duty ratio (or the ratio between “a” to “b”; the duty ratio of pulses=the length of a high-level pulse/(the length of a low-level pulse+the length of the high-level pulse; (b/(a+b))*100=2.8/(2.1+2.8)*100=57.1%)) of pulses right before and after the target time point to change the operating frequency may be changed to be different from the duty ratio in the frame FA. In each frame, the duty ratio of the light emitting control signal PCS may be set to a specified ratio (e.g., 50%). When the duty-ratio difference between the duty ratio of pulses right before and after the target time point to change the operating frequency, and the duty ratio in each frame is equal to or greater than a reference value (e.g., 5%), a flicker phenomenon may be viewed by a user on the display panel 250”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lee and Zhang further discloses further comprising:
an emission driver (Zhang: fig. 1, light emitting driver) connected to the pixel through an emission signal line (Zhang: fig. 1, light emitting driver connected to Pxij), the emission driver generating an emission signal based on an emission start signal having an emission cycle that varies depending on a driving frequency (Zhang: [0037], “The light emitting driver may generate a transmit signal to be provided to the light emitting signal lines E1, E2, E3, . . . , and Eo by receiving the clock signal, the transmit stop signal, etc., from the timing controller. For example, the light emitting driver may sequentially provide a transmit signal with an off-level pulse to the light emitting signal lines E1 to Eo”); and
a controller (Zhang: fig. 1, timing controller) generating the emission start signal (Zhang: [0037], “the timing controller may provide the data driver with a gray scale value and a control signal which are suitable for a specification of the data driver, provide the scan driver with a clock signal and a scan start signal, etc., which are suitable for a specification of the scan driver, and provide the light emitting driver with a clock signal and a transmit stop signal, etc., which are suitable for a specification of the light emitting driver”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Lee and Zhang further discloses wherein a buffer frame is inserted between a low-frequency frame driven at the low driving frequency and a high-frequency frame driven at the high driving frequency when the driving frequency changes between the low driving frequency and the high driving frequency (Lee: [0077] and fig. 5, “the display driving circuit 210 may insert a bridge frame BF between the frame FA and the frame FB”), and
wherein a buffer emission cycle of the emission start signal in the buffer frame is calculated based on a low-frequency emission cycle of the emission start signal in the low- frequency frame and a high-frequency emission cycle of the emission start signal in the high- frequency frame (Lee: [0077], “The difference between the duty ratio of the adjacent pulses of the light emitting control signal PCS and the specific duty ratio may be set to be less than the second reference value, between the frame FA and the bridge frame BF, and between the bridge frame BF and the frame FB, and the flicker phenomenon may be reduced (or prevented) when the operating frequency is changed”).
Claim 9 is within the scope of the combination of claims 1, 7 and 8 and is therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Lee and Zhang further discloses wherein the buffer emission cycle is an average value of the low-frequency emission cycle and the high-frequency emission cycle (Lee: [0077], “The difference between the duty ratio of the adjacent pulses of the light emitting control signal PCS and the specific duty ratio may be set to be less than the second reference value, between the frame FA and the bridge frame BF, and between the bridge frame BF and the frame FB”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Lee and Zhang further discloses wherein the buffer emission cycle is obtained by multiplying a weighted value to an average value of the low-frequency emission cycle and the high-frequency emission cycle (Lee: [0077], “For example, the length (or time) of one pulse of the light emitting control signal PCS in the frame FA may be “a” (e.g., 2.1 ms), the length (or time) of one pulse of the light emitting control signal PCS in the frame FB may be “b” (e.g., 4.2 ms), and the length (or time) of one pulse of the light emitting control signal PCS in the bridge frame BF may be 2.8 ms. According to various embodiments, the display driving circuit 210 may employ the method for correcting the duty ratio as illustrated in FIG. 4A, with respect to the bridge frame BF. The display driving circuit 210 may set the length (or time) of each of pulses of the light emitting control signal PCS to a value ranging from “m1” to “m8” in the bridge frame BF. The display driving circuit 210 may set “m1” to “m8” to sequentially increase from “m1” to “m8”, between “a” and “b”. Alternatively, the display driving circuit 210 may change at least two values of “m1” to “m8” and set the remaining values to be equal to “b”. The pulses corresponding to at least two values, which are different from “b”, among “m1” to “m8” may not adjacent to each other”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Lee and Zhang further discloses wherein the buffer emission cycle when the driving frequency changes from the low driving frequency to the high driving frequency is different from the buffer emission cycle when the driving frequency changes from the high driving frequency to the low driving frequency (Lee: [0062], “For example, the pulse width of the light emitting control signal PCS in the frame FA may be “a” (e.g., 2.1 ms), and the pulse width of the light emitting control signal PCS in the frame FB may be “b” (e.g., 2.8 ms). The duty ratio (or the ratio between “a” to “b”; the duty ratio of pulses=the length of a high-level pulse/(the length of a low-level pulse+the length of the high-level pulse; (b/(a+b))*100=2.8/(2.1+2.8)*100=57.1%)) of pulses right before and after the target time point to change the operating frequency may be changed to be different from the duty ratio in the frame FA. In each frame, the duty ratio of the light emitting control signal PCS may be set to a specified ratio (e.g., 50%). When the duty-ratio difference between the duty ratio of pulses right before and after the target time point to change the operating frequency, and the duty ratio in each frame is equal to or greater than a reference value (e.g., 5%), a flicker phenomenon may be viewed by a user on the display panel 250”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Lee and Zhang further discloses wherein the buffer frame is inserted when a difference between the low driving frequency and the high driving frequency is higher than a threshold frequency (Lee: [0076], “The duty-ratio difference is equal to or greater than a specific value (or the degree beyond the range for the method for correcting the duty ratio of FIG. 4A). The flicker phenomenon may not be solved through the method for correcting the duty ratio as illustrated in FIG. 4A). The duty-ratio difference may refer to the difference between the duty ratio of adjacent pulses (e.g., a high-level pulse and a low-level pulse) of the light emitting control signal PCS, and the specific duty ratio (e.g., 50%)”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lee and Zhang further discloses wherein the buffer frame is selectively inserted when the driving frequency changes from the low driving frequency to the high driving frequency or when the driving frequency changes from the high driving frequency to the low driving frequency (Lee: [0077], “the display driving circuit 210 may insert a bridge frame BF between the frame FA and the frame FB”).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lee and Zhang further discloses wherein an inserting time of the buffer frame is delayed by a delay time duration from a transition time of the driving frequency (Lee: [0077], “For example, the length (or time) of one pulse of the light emitting control signal PCS in the frame FA may be “a” (e.g., 2.1 ms), the length (or time) of one pulse of the light emitting control signal PCS in the frame FB may be “b” (e.g., 4.2 ms), and the length (or time) of one pulse of the light emitting control signal PCS in the bridge frame BF may be 2.8 ms”).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Lee and Zhang further discloses an electronic apparatus (Lee: fig. 1, electronic device 101) including a display device which displays an image (Lee: [0038], “The display device 160 may visually provide information to the outside (e.g., a user) of the electronic device 101”) and a processor which controls the display device (Lee: [0032], “The processor 120 may be configured to execute, for example, software (e.g., a program 140) to control at least one other component (e.g., a hardware or software component) of the electronic device 101 coupled with the processor 120, and may perform various data processing or computation”), the electronic apparatus comprising: the limitations of the display device of claim 1 and therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang et al. (US PGPub 2022/0343871) discloses a brightness compensation method of the display equipment (fig. 2).
Wu et al. (US PGPub 2024/0242655) discloses “FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram of gamma voltage compensation” ([0099]).
/EJF/
/BENJAMIN C LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2629