DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Application No. 19/011,951 originally filed 01/07/2025. The amendment presented on 12/31/2025 which provides amendments to claims 1, 22, and 24 is hereby acknowledged. Currently Claims 1-24 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The Office notes that upon further search and consideration of the claims the following reference of Nakano was determined to be relevant to the claimed invention. The Office notes that Nakano discloses a process of the liquid crystal display having a predetermined reference value relating to ambient brightness (Nakano [0074]) to appropriately execute adjustments on the screen luminance in accordance with ambient brightness. (Nakano [0092]) The Office also notes that Nakano teaches the main controller 7 compares measured intensity with a reference value so that the variations in light-emitting luminance of the backlight 9 and the time-based deterioration of the light source, caused by the temperature and humidity, are determined. As Nakano teaches here that the intensity of light variations are directly related to temperature, by using the actual measured intensity of light emitted from each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B, from which influences of external light leaking from the display surface have been eliminated, it becomes possible to measure the change in light-emitting luminance of each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B and the degradation in each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B with high precision. As a result, it is possible to obtain data used for correcting drifts in chromaticity that occur due to temperature changes, with high precision. (Nakano [0121]) Thus Nakano was found to be relevant to the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ka et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0044634 A1 and further in view of Nakano U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0095402 A1 hereinafter Nakano.
Consider Claim 1:
Ka discloses a display apparatus comprising: (Ka, See Abstract.)
a display panel; a data driver which outputs a data voltage to the display panel; and (Ka, [0122], “Referring to FIG. 18, an OLED display device 400 may include a display panel 410 that includes a red pixel RPX, a green pixel GPX and a blue pixel BPX, a data driver 420 that provides data voltages VDAT to the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX, a scan driver 430 that provides a gate initialization signal GI, a gate writing signal GW and a gate compensation signal GC to the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX, an emission driver 440 that provides an emission signal EM to the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX, and a controller 450 that controls the data driver 420, the scan driver 430 and the emission driver 440.”)
a driving controller which determines a black voltage based on a driving frequency and a luminance setting value and determines an anode initialization voltage based on the driving frequency and the luminance setting value, (Ka, [0067-0070], [0068], “For example, with respect to the blue pixel BPX, the 0-gray voltage BVO of about 6.5 V may be changed to a 0-gray voltage BVO′ of about 7 V, the 255-gray voltage BV255 of about 2 V may be changed to a 255-gray voltage BV255′ of about 3 V, and the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be changed to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. In this case, the initial voltage VINT of about −3.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be increased to the initial voltage VINT′ of about −2.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. Accordingly, a difference between the initialization voltage VINT′ of the initialization bias VINT_BIAS and the data voltage of the self bias SELF_BIAS may be reduced, the difference between the luminance 210 of the display panel 100 driven at the normal driving frequency NDF and the luminance 230 of the display panel 100 driven at the low frequency LF may be reduced, and thus the luminance difference when the driving frequency is changed may not be perceived by the user.”)
wherein a first anode initialization voltage of a first pixel having a first color is different from a second anode initialization voltage of a second pixel having a second color. (Ka, [0067-0070], [0068], “However, in the display panel 100 according to embodiments, the blue pixel BPX may be designed differently from the red pixel RPX and/or the green pixel GPX such that at least one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitors and the parasitic capacitor included in the blue pixel BPX may have a size different from a size of a corresponding one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor and the parasitic capacitor included in the red pixel RPX or the green pixel GPX. Accordingly, the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be changed to a data voltage range 350, and the initial voltage VINT corresponding to the data voltage range 330 may be increased to an initial voltage VINT′ corresponding to the data voltage range 350.”)
Ka however does not appear to expressly provide for wherein the luminance setting value comprises a value representing a degree of luminance of the display panel that is set by a user or set based on an ambient luminance.
Nakano however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide for wherein the luminance setting value comprises a value representing a degree of luminance of the display panel that is set by a user or set based on an ambient luminance. (Nakano, [0074], [0092], [0121], “In this manner, in accordance with the liquid crystal display of the sixth embodiment, by using the actual measured intensity of light emitted from each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B, from which influences of external light leaking from the display surface have been eliminated, it becomes possible to measure the change in light-emitting luminance of each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B and the degradation in each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B with high precision. As a result, it is possible to obtain data used for correcting drifts in chromaticity that occur due to temperature changes, with high precision.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide modifications of the luminance setting value in terms of ambient luminance as this was a known technique in view of Nakano and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of correcting drifts in chromaticity that occur due to temperature changes, with high precision. (Nakano, [0121])
Consider Claim 2:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the black voltage is determined in a way such that a measured luminance of the display panel is less than a first target luminance. (Ka, [0067], “For example, as illustrated in FIG. 3, in a case where the red pixel RPX, the green pixel GPX and the blue pixel BPX have substantially the same sized components (e.g., the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor, the parasitic capacitor, or the like other than the organic light emitting diode), a data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be lower than a data voltage range 310 for the red pixel RPX and a data voltage range 320 for the green pixel GPX, and the initial voltage VINT should be lower by a predetermined margin than a lowest voltage level of the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX, or a 255-gray voltage BV255 for the blue pixel BPX. For example, a 0-gray voltage RV0 for the red pixel RPX may be about 7 V, a 255-gray voltage RV255 for the red pixel RPX may be about 3 V, the data voltage range 310 for the red pixel RPX may be from about 3 V to about 7 V, a 0-gray voltage GV0 for the green pixel GPX may be about 7.1 V, a 255-gray voltage GV255 for the green pixel GPX may be about 4 V, the data voltage range 320 for the green pixel GPX may be from about 4 V to about 7.1 V, a 0-gray voltage BVO for the blue pixel BPX may be about 6.5 V, a 255-gray voltage BV255 for the blue pixel BPX may be about 2 V, the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be from about 2 V to about 6.5 V, and the initial voltage VINT may be set as about −3.5 V.”)
Consider Claim 3:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses the display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the anode initialization voltage is determined in a way such that the measured luminance of the display panel is less than a second target luminance less than the first target luminance. (Ka, [0067], “For example, as illustrated in FIG. 3, in a case where the red pixel RPX, the green pixel GPX and the blue pixel BPX have substantially the same sized components (e.g., the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor, the parasitic capacitor, or the like other than the organic light emitting diode), a data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be lower than a data voltage range 310 for the red pixel RPX and a data voltage range 320 for the green pixel GPX, and the initial voltage VINT should be lower by a predetermined margin than a lowest voltage level of the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX, or a 255-gray voltage BV255 for the blue pixel BPX. For example, a 0-gray voltage RV0 for the red pixel RPX may be about 7 V, a 255-gray voltage RV255 for the red pixel RPX may be about 3 V, the data voltage range 310 for the red pixel RPX may be from about 3 V to about 7 V, a 0-gray voltage GV0 for the green pixel GPX may be about 7.1 V, a 255-gray voltage GV255 for the green pixel GPX may be about 4 V, the data voltage range 320 for the green pixel GPX may be from about 4 V to about 7.1 V, a 0-gray voltage BVO for the blue pixel BPX may be about 6.5 V, a 255-gray voltage BV255 for the blue pixel BPX may be about 2 V, the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be from about 2 V to about 6.5 V, and the initial voltage VINT may be set as about −3.5 V.”)
Consider Claim 4:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the display panel includes the first pixel having the first color, the second pixel having the second color and a third pixel having a third color, wherein at least one selected from an initial value of the first anode initialization voltage of the first pixel, an initial value of the second anode initialization voltage of the second pixel and an initial value of a third anode initialization voltage of the third pixel is different from another initial value selected therefrom, and (Ka, [0067], “For example, as illustrated in FIG. 3, in a case where the red pixel RPX, the green pixel GPX and the blue pixel BPX have substantially the same sized components (e.g., the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor, the parasitic capacitor, or the like other than the organic light emitting diode), a data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be lower than a data voltage range 310 for the red pixel RPX and a data voltage range 320 for the green pixel GPX, and the initial voltage VINT should be lower by a predetermined margin than a lowest voltage level of the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX, or a 255-gray voltage BV255 for the blue pixel BPX. For example, a 0-gray voltage RV0 for the red pixel RPX may be about 7 V, a 255-gray voltage RV255 for the red pixel RPX may be about 3 V, the data voltage range 310 for the red pixel RPX may be from about 3 V to about 7 V, a 0-gray voltage GV0 for the green pixel GPX may be about 7.1 V, a 255-gray voltage GV255 for the green pixel GPX may be about 4 V, the data voltage range 320 for the green pixel GPX may be from about 4 V to about 7.1 V, a 0-gray voltage BVO for the blue pixel BPX may be about 6.5 V, a 255-gray voltage BV255 for the blue pixel BPX may be about 2 V, the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be from about 2 V to about 6.5 V, and the initial voltage VINT may be set as about −3.5 V.”)
wherein at least one selected from an offset for changing the initial value of the first anode initialization voltage of the first pixel, an offset for changing the initial value of the second anode initialization voltage of the second pixel and an offset for changing the initial value of the third anode initialization voltage of the third pixel is different from another offset selected therefrom. (Ka, [0068], “However, in the display panel 100 according to embodiments, the blue pixel BPX may be designed differently from the red pixel RPX and/or the green pixel GPX such that at least one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitors and the parasitic capacitor included in the blue pixel BPX may have a size different from a size of a corresponding one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor and the parasitic capacitor included in the red pixel RPX or the green pixel GPX. Accordingly, the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be changed to a data voltage range 350, and the initial voltage VINT corresponding to the data voltage range 330 may be increased to an initial voltage VINT′ corresponding to the data voltage range 350. For example, with respect to the blue pixel BPX, the 0-gray voltage BVO of about 6.5 V may be changed to a 0-gray voltage BVO′ of about 7 V, the 255-gray voltage BV255 of about 2 V may be changed to a 255-gray voltage BV255′ of about 3 V, and the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be changed to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. In this case, the initial voltage VINT of about −3.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be increased to the initial voltage VINT′ of about −2.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. Accordingly, a difference between the initialization voltage VINT′ of the initialization bias VINT_BIAS and the data voltage of the self bias SELF_BIAS may be reduced, the difference between the luminance 210 of the display panel 100 driven at the normal driving frequency NDF and the luminance 230 of the display panel 100 driven at the low frequency LF may be reduced, and thus the luminance difference when the driving frequency is changed may not be perceived by the user.”)
Consider Claim 5:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein an anode initialization voltage of a red pixel is different from at least one selected from an anode initialization voltage of a green pixel and an anode initialization voltage of a blue pixel. (Ka, [0067], “For example, as illustrated in FIG. 3, in a case where the red pixel RPX, the green pixel GPX and the blue pixel BPX have substantially the same sized components (e.g., the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor, the parasitic capacitor, or the like other than the organic light emitting diode), a data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be lower than a data voltage range 310 for the red pixel RPX and a data voltage range 320 for the green pixel GPX, and the initial voltage VINT should be lower by a predetermined margin than a lowest voltage level of the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX, or a 255-gray voltage BV255 for the blue pixel BPX. For example, a 0-gray voltage RV0 for the red pixel RPX may be about 7 V, a 255-gray voltage RV255 for the red pixel RPX may be about 3 V, the data voltage range 310 for the red pixel RPX may be from about 3 V to about 7 V, a 0-gray voltage GV0 for the green pixel GPX may be about 7.1 V, a 255-gray voltage GV255 for the green pixel GPX may be about 4 V, the data voltage range 320 for the green pixel GPX may be from about 4 V to about 7.1 V, a 0-gray voltage BVO for the blue pixel BPX may be about 6.5 V, a 255-gray voltage BV255 for the blue pixel BPX may be about 2 V, the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be from about 2 V to about 6.5 V, and the initial voltage VINT may be set as about −3.5 V.”)
Consider Claim 6:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses the display apparatus of claim 5, wherein the anode initialization voltage of the red pixel is less than the anode initialization voltage of the green pixel, and wherein the anode initialization voltage of the green pixel is less than the anode initialization voltage of the blue pixel. (Ka, [0067], “For example, as illustrated in FIG. 3, in a case where the red pixel RPX, the green pixel GPX and the blue pixel BPX have substantially the same sized components (e.g., the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor, the parasitic capacitor, or the like other than the organic light emitting diode), a data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be lower than a data voltage range 310 for the red pixel RPX and a data voltage range 320 for the green pixel GPX, and the initial voltage VINT should be lower by a predetermined margin than a lowest voltage level of the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX, or a 255-gray voltage BV255 for the blue pixel BPX. For example, a 0-gray voltage RV0 for the red pixel RPX may be about 7 V, a 255-gray voltage RV255 for the red pixel RPX may be about 3 V, the data voltage range 310 for the red pixel RPX may be from about 3 V to about 7 V, a 0-gray voltage GV0 for the green pixel GPX may be about 7.1 V, a 255-gray voltage GV255 for the green pixel GPX may be about 4 V, the data voltage range 320 for the green pixel GPX may be from about 4 V to about 7.1 V, a 0-gray voltage BVO for the blue pixel BPX may be about 6.5 V, a 255-gray voltage BV255 for the blue pixel BPX may be about 2 V, the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be from about 2 V to about 6.5 V, and the initial voltage VINT may be set as about −3.5 V.”)
Consider Claim 7:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the black voltage has a same level regardless of a color of a pixel. (Ka, [0068], “However, in the display panel 100 according to embodiments, the blue pixel BPX may be designed differently from the red pixel RPX and/or the green pixel GPX such that at least one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitors and the parasitic capacitor included in the blue pixel BPX may have a size different from a size of a corresponding one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor and the parasitic capacitor included in the red pixel RPX or the green pixel GPX. Accordingly, the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be changed to a data voltage range 350, and the initial voltage VINT corresponding to the data voltage range 330 may be increased to an initial voltage VINT′ corresponding to the data voltage range 350. For example, with respect to the blue pixel BPX, the 0-gray voltage BVO of about 6.5 V may be changed to a 0-gray voltage BVO′ of about 7 V, the 255-gray voltage BV255 of about 2 V may be changed to a 255-gray voltage BV255′ of about 3 V, and the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be changed to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. In this case, the initial voltage VINT of about −3.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be increased to the initial voltage VINT′ of about −2.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. Accordingly, a difference between the initialization voltage VINT′ of the initialization bias VINT_BIAS and the data voltage of the self bias SELF_BIAS may be reduced, the difference between the luminance 210 of the display panel 100 driven at the normal driving frequency NDF and the luminance 230 of the display panel 100 driven at the low frequency LF may be reduced, and thus the luminance difference when the driving frequency is changed may not be perceived by the user.”)
Consider Claim 8:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein a first black voltage of the first pixel having the first color is different from a second black voltage of the second pixel having the second color. (Ka, [0068], “However, in the display panel 100 according to embodiments, the blue pixel BPX may be designed differently from the red pixel RPX and/or the green pixel GPX such that at least one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitors and the parasitic capacitor included in the blue pixel BPX may have a size different from a size of a corresponding one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor and the parasitic capacitor included in the red pixel RPX or the green pixel GPX. Accordingly, the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be changed to a data voltage range 350, and the initial voltage VINT corresponding to the data voltage range 330 may be increased to an initial voltage VINT′ corresponding to the data voltage range 350. For example, with respect to the blue pixel BPX, the 0-gray voltage BVO of about 6.5 V may be changed to a 0-gray voltage BVO′ of about 7 V, the 255-gray voltage BV255 of about 2 V may be changed to a 255-gray voltage BV255′ of about 3 V, and the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be changed to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. In this case, the initial voltage VINT of about −3.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be increased to the initial voltage VINT′ of about −2.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. Accordingly, a difference between the initialization voltage VINT′ of the initialization bias VINT_BIAS and the data voltage of the self bias SELF_BIAS may be reduced, the difference between the luminance 210 of the display panel 100 driven at the normal driving frequency NDF and the luminance 230 of the display panel 100 driven at the low frequency LF may be reduced, and thus the luminance difference when the driving frequency is changed may not be perceived by the user.”)
Consider Claim 9:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses the display apparatus of claim 8, wherein the display panel includes the first pixel having the first color, the second pixel having the second color and a third pixel having a third color, wherein at least one selected from an initial value of the first black voltage of the first pixel, an initial value of the second black voltage of the second pixel and an initial value of a third black voltage of the third pixel is different from another initial value selected therefrom, and wherein at least one selected from an offset for changing the initial value of the first black voltage of the first pixel, an offset for changing the initial value of the second black voltage of the second pixel and an offset for changing the initial value of the third black voltage of the third pixel is different from another offset selected therefrom. (Ka, [0068], “However, in the display panel 100 according to embodiments, the blue pixel BPX may be designed differently from the red pixel RPX and/or the green pixel GPX such that at least one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitors and the parasitic capacitor included in the blue pixel BPX may have a size different from a size of a corresponding one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor and the parasitic capacitor included in the red pixel RPX or the green pixel GPX. Accordingly, the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be changed to a data voltage range 350, and the initial voltage VINT corresponding to the data voltage range 330 may be increased to an initial voltage VINT′ corresponding to the data voltage range 350. For example, with respect to the blue pixel BPX, the 0-gray voltage BVO of about 6.5 V may be changed to a 0-gray voltage BVO′ of about 7 V, the 255-gray voltage BV255 of about 2 V may be changed to a 255-gray voltage BV255′ of about 3 V, and the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be changed to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. In this case, the initial voltage VINT of about −3.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be increased to the initial voltage VINT′ of about −2.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. Accordingly, a difference between the initialization voltage VINT′ of the initialization bias VINT_BIAS and the data voltage of the self bias SELF_BIAS may be reduced, the difference between the luminance 210 of the display panel 100 driven at the normal driving frequency NDF and the luminance 230 of the display panel 100 driven at the low frequency LF may be reduced, and thus the luminance difference when the driving frequency is changed may not be perceived by the user.”)
Consider Claim 10:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses the display apparatus of claim 8, wherein a black voltage of a red pixel is different from at least one selected from a black voltage of a green pixel and a black voltage of a blue pixel. (Ka, [0068], “However, in the display panel 100 according to embodiments, the blue pixel BPX may be designed differently from the red pixel RPX and/or the green pixel GPX such that at least one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitors and the parasitic capacitor included in the blue pixel BPX may have a size different from a size of a corresponding one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor and the parasitic capacitor included in the red pixel RPX or the green pixel GPX. Accordingly, the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be changed to a data voltage range 350, and the initial voltage VINT corresponding to the data voltage range 330 may be increased to an initial voltage VINT′ corresponding to the data voltage range 350. For example, with respect to the blue pixel BPX, the 0-gray voltage BVO of about 6.5 V may be changed to a 0-gray voltage BVO′ of about 7 V, the 255-gray voltage BV255 of about 2 V may be changed to a 255-gray voltage BV255′ of about 3 V, and the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be changed to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. In this case, the initial voltage VINT of about −3.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be increased to the initial voltage VINT′ of about −2.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. Accordingly, a difference between the initialization voltage VINT′ of the initialization bias VINT_BIAS and the data voltage of the self bias SELF_BIAS may be reduced, the difference between the luminance 210 of the display panel 100 driven at the normal driving frequency NDF and the luminance 230 of the display panel 100 driven at the low frequency LF may be reduced, and thus the luminance difference when the driving frequency is changed may not be perceived by the user.”)
Consider Claim 11:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses the display apparatus of claim 10, wherein the black voltage of the red pixel is greater than the black voltage of the green pixel, and wherein the black voltage of the green pixel is greater than the black voltage of the blue pixel. (Ka, [0068], “However, in the display panel 100 according to embodiments, the blue pixel BPX may be designed differently from the red pixel RPX and/or the green pixel GPX such that at least one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitors and the parasitic capacitor included in the blue pixel BPX may have a size different from a size of a corresponding one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor and the parasitic capacitor included in the red pixel RPX or the green pixel GPX. Accordingly, the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be changed to a data voltage range 350, and the initial voltage VINT corresponding to the data voltage range 330 may be increased to an initial voltage VINT′ corresponding to the data voltage range 350. For example, with respect to the blue pixel BPX, the 0-gray voltage BVO of about 6.5 V may be changed to a 0-gray voltage BVO′ of about 7 V, the 255-gray voltage BV255 of about 2 V may be changed to a 255-gray voltage BV255′ of about 3 V, and the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be changed to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. In this case, the initial voltage VINT of about −3.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be increased to the initial voltage VINT′ of about −2.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. Accordingly, a difference between the initialization voltage VINT′ of the initialization bias VINT_BIAS and the data voltage of the self bias SELF_BIAS may be reduced, the difference between the luminance 210 of the display panel 100 driven at the normal driving frequency NDF and the luminance 230 of the display panel 100 driven at the low frequency LF may be reduced, and thus the luminance difference when the driving frequency is changed may not be perceived by the user.”)
Consider Claim 12:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein as the driving frequency decreases, the black voltage increases. (Ka, [0070], “As described above, in the display panel 100 according to embodiments, in each of the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX, at least one transistor may be implemented with the PMOS transistor, and at least one another transistor may be implemented with the NMOS transistor. Accordingly, the leakage current in each of the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX at the low frequency driving may be reduced, and a luminance change within each frame period may be reduced. Further, in the display panel 100 according to embodiments, the red pixel RPX, the green pixel GPX and the blue pixel BPX may be differently designed such that at least one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor and the parasitic capacitor included in the blue pixel BPX may have a size different from a size of a corresponding one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor and the parasitic capacitor included in the red pixel RPX or the green pixel GPX. Thus, the data voltage range 350 for the blue pixel BPX may be similar to the data voltage range 310 for the red pixel RPX and the data voltage range 320 for the green pixel GPX, and the initial voltage VINT′ may be increased. Accordingly, when a driving frequency for the display panel 100 is changed, a difference between luminance of the display panel 100 driven at a previous driving frequency (e.g., the normal driving frequency NDF) and luminance of the display panel 100 driven at a current driving frequency (e.g., the low frequency LF) may be reduced, and the luminance difference may not be perceived by the user.”)
Consider Claim 13:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses the display apparatus of claim 12, wherein as the driving frequency decreases, the anode initialization voltage decreases. (Ka, [0070], “As described above, in the display panel 100 according to embodiments, in each of the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX, at least one transistor may be implemented with the PMOS transistor, and at least one another transistor may be implemented with the NMOS transistor. Accordingly, the leakage current in each of the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX at the low frequency driving may be reduced, and a luminance change within each frame period may be reduced. Further, in the display panel 100 according to embodiments, the red pixel RPX, the green pixel GPX and the blue pixel BPX may be differently designed such that at least one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor and the parasitic capacitor included in the blue pixel BPX may have a size different from a size of a corresponding one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor and the parasitic capacitor included in the red pixel RPX or the green pixel GPX. Thus, the data voltage range 350 for the blue pixel BPX may be similar to the data voltage range 310 for the red pixel RPX and the data voltage range 320 for the green pixel GPX, and the initial voltage VINT′ may be increased. Accordingly, when a driving frequency for the display panel 100 is changed, a difference between luminance of the display panel 100 driven at a previous driving frequency (e.g., the normal driving frequency NDF) and luminance of the display panel 100 driven at a current driving frequency (e.g., the low frequency LF) may be reduced, and the luminance difference may not be perceived by the user.”)
Consider Claim 14:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein as the luminance setting value increases, the black voltage increases. (Ka, [0070], “As described above, in the display panel 100 according to embodiments, in each of the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX, at least one transistor may be implemented with the PMOS transistor, and at least one another transistor may be implemented with the NMOS transistor. Accordingly, the leakage current in each of the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX at the low frequency driving may be reduced, and a luminance change within each frame period may be reduced. Further, in the display panel 100 according to embodiments, the red pixel RPX, the green pixel GPX and the blue pixel BPX may be differently designed such that at least one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor and the parasitic capacitor included in the blue pixel BPX may have a size different from a size of a corresponding one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor and the parasitic capacitor included in the red pixel RPX or the green pixel GPX. Thus, the data voltage range 350 for the blue pixel BPX may be similar to the data voltage range 310 for the red pixel RPX and the data voltage range 320 for the green pixel GPX, and the initial voltage VINT′ may be increased. Accordingly, when a driving frequency for the display panel 100 is changed, a difference between luminance of the display panel 100 driven at a previous driving frequency (e.g., the normal driving frequency NDF) and luminance of the display panel 100 driven at a current driving frequency (e.g., the low frequency LF) may be reduced, and the luminance difference may not be perceived by the user.”)
Consider Claim 15:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses the display apparatus of claim 14, wherein as the luminance setting value increases, the anode initialization voltage decreases. (Ka, [0068], “However, in the display panel 100 according to embodiments, the blue pixel BPX may be designed differently from the red pixel RPX and/or the green pixel GPX such that at least one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitors and the parasitic capacitor included in the blue pixel BPX may have a size different from a size of a corresponding one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor and the parasitic capacitor included in the red pixel RPX or the green pixel GPX. Accordingly, the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be changed to a data voltage range 350, and the initial voltage VINT corresponding to the data voltage range 330 may be increased to an initial voltage VINT′ corresponding to the data voltage range 350. For example, with respect to the blue pixel BPX, the 0-gray voltage BVO of about 6.5 V may be changed to a 0-gray voltage BVO′ of about 7 V, the 255-gray voltage BV255 of about 2 V may be changed to a 255-gray voltage BV255′ of about 3 V, and the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be changed to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. In this case, the initial voltage VINT of about −3.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be increased to the initial voltage VINT′ of about −2.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. Accordingly, a difference between the initialization voltage VINT′ of the initialization bias VINT_BIAS and the data voltage of the self bias SELF_BIAS may be reduced, the difference between the luminance 210 of the display panel 100 driven at the normal driving frequency NDF and the luminance 230 of the display panel 100 driven at the low frequency LF may be reduced, and thus the luminance difference when the driving frequency is changed may not be perceived by the user.”)
Consider Claim 16:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the driving controller determines the black voltage based on the driving frequency, the luminance setting value and a temperature and determines the anode initialization voltage based on the driving frequency, the luminance setting value and the temperature. (Nakano, [0121], “In this manner, in accordance with the liquid crystal display of the sixth embodiment, by using the actual measured intensity of light emitted from each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B, from which influences of external light leaking from the display surface have been eliminated, it becomes possible to measure the change in light-emitting luminance of each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B and the degradation in each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B with high precision. As a result, it is possible to obtain data used for correcting drifts in chromaticity that occur due to temperature changes, with high precision.”)
Consider Claim 17:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses the display apparatus of claim 16, wherein the black voltage has a same level regardless of a color of a pixel. (Ka, [0068], Nakano, [0101], “In the frame period F3, based on digital image data A3 inputted to the panel unit 3 from the image processor 4, an all-black image I3 is displayed over the entire face of the display surface.”)
Consider Claim 18:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses the display apparatus of claim 16, wherein a first black voltage of the first pixel having the first color is different from a second black voltage of the second pixel having the second color. (Ka, [0068], “However, in the display panel 100 according to embodiments, the blue pixel BPX may be designed differently from the red pixel RPX and/or the green pixel GPX such that at least one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitors and the parasitic capacitor included in the blue pixel BPX may have a size different from a size of a corresponding one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor and the parasitic capacitor included in the red pixel RPX or the green pixel GPX. Accordingly, the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be changed to a data voltage range 350, and the initial voltage VINT corresponding to the data voltage range 330 may be increased to an initial voltage VINT′ corresponding to the data voltage range 350. For example, with respect to the blue pixel BPX, the 0-gray voltage BVO of about 6.5 V may be changed to a 0-gray voltage BVO′ of about 7 V, the 255-gray voltage BV255 of about 2 V may be changed to a 255-gray voltage BV255′ of about 3 V, and the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be changed to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. In this case, the initial voltage VINT of about −3.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be increased to the initial voltage VINT′ of about −2.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. Accordingly, a difference between the initialization voltage VINT′ of the initialization bias VINT_BIAS and the data voltage of the self bias SELF_BIAS may be reduced, the difference between the luminance 210 of the display panel 100 driven at the normal driving frequency NDF and the luminance 230 of the display panel 100 driven at the low frequency LF may be reduced, and thus the luminance difference when the driving frequency is changed may not be perceived by the user.”)
Consider Claim 19:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses the display apparatus of claim 16, wherein as the temperature increases, the black voltage increases. (Nakano, [0121], “In this manner, in accordance with the liquid crystal display of the sixth embodiment, by using the actual measured intensity of light emitted from each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B, from which influences of external light leaking from the display surface have been eliminated, it becomes possible to measure the change in light-emitting luminance of each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B and the degradation in each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B with high precision. As a result, it is possible to obtain data used for correcting drifts in chromaticity that occur due to temperature changes, with high precision.”)
Consider Claim 20:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses the display apparatus of claim 19, wherein as the temperature increases, the anode initialization voltage decreases. (Nakano, [0121], “In this manner, in accordance with the liquid crystal display of the sixth embodiment, by using the actual measured intensity of light emitted from each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B, from which influences of external light leaking from the display surface have been eliminated, it becomes possible to measure the change in light-emitting luminance of each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B and the degradation in each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B with high precision. As a result, it is possible to obtain data used for correcting drifts in chromaticity that occur due to temperature changes, with high precision.”)
Consider Claim 22:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses a method of driving a display panel, the method comprising: (Ka, See Abstract.)
determining initial values of a black voltage for driving frequencies and luminance setting values; determining the black voltage by changing an initial value of the black voltage in a way such that a measured luminance of the display panel is less than a first target luminance; determining initial values of an anode initialization voltage for the driving frequencies and the luminance setting values; (Ka, [0067-0070], [0068], “For example, with respect to the blue pixel BPX, the 0-gray voltage BVO of about 6.5 V may be changed to a 0-gray voltage BVO′ of about 7 V, the 255-gray voltage BV255 of about 2 V may be changed to a 255-gray voltage BV255′ of about 3 V, and the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be changed to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. In this case, the initial voltage VINT of about −3.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be increased to the initial voltage VINT′ of about −2.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. Accordingly, a difference between the initialization voltage VINT′ of the initialization bias VINT_BIAS and the data voltage of the self bias SELF_BIAS may be reduced, the difference between the luminance 210 of the display panel 100 driven at the normal driving frequency NDF and the luminance 230 of the display panel 100 driven at the low frequency LF may be reduced, and thus the luminance difference when the driving frequency is changed may not be perceived by the user.”)
determining the anode initialization voltage by changing the initial values of the anode initialization voltage in a way such that the measured luminance of the display panel is less than a second target luminance less than the first target luminance; (Ka, [0067-0070], [0068], “However, in the display panel 100 according to embodiments, the blue pixel BPX may be designed differently from the red pixel RPX and/or the green pixel GPX such that at least one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitors and the parasitic capacitor included in the blue pixel BPX may have a size different from a size of a corresponding one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor and the parasitic capacitor included in the red pixel RPX or the green pixel GPX. Accordingly, the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be changed to a data voltage range 350, and the initial voltage VINT corresponding to the data voltage range 330 may be increased to an initial voltage VINT′ corresponding to the data voltage range 350.”)
generating the black voltage and the anode initialization voltage based on an input driving frequency and an input luminance setting value; determining a data voltage based on the black voltage; (Ka, [0064], “Further, in the display panel 100 according to embodiments, to further reduce the difference between the luminance of the display panel 100 in the non-driven frame period (e.g., FP2 and FP4) and the luminance of the display panel 100 in the driven frame period (e.g., FP1 and FP3), and to reduce a difference between the luminance 210 of the display panel 100 driven at the normal driving frequency NDF and the luminance 230 of the display panel 100 driven at the low frequency LF, a self bias operation that applies a self bias SELF_BIAS to each of the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX may be performed in the non-driven frame period (e.g., FP2 and FP4). For example, in a case where the display panel 100 is driven at the normal driving frequency NDF of about 60 Hz, the OLED display device may apply an initialization bias VINT_BIAS using an initialization voltage (e.g., an initialization voltage VINT in FIG. 4) to a driving transistor (e.g., a first transistor TP1 in FIG. 4) of each of the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX in each of the first, second, third and fourth frame periods FP1, FP2, FP3 and FP4. Further, in a case where the display panel 100 is driven at the low frequency LF of about 30 Hz, the OLED display device may apply the initialization bias VINT_BIAS using the initialization voltage (e.g., the initialization voltage VINT in FIG. 4) to the driving transistor (e.g., the first transistor TP1 in FIG. 4) of each of the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX in each of the first and third frame periods FP1 and FP3, and may apply the self bias SELF_BIAS using a data voltage stored in a previous frame period, or in the first frame period FP1 or the third frame period FP3 to the driving transistor (e.g., the first transistor TP1 in FIG. 4) of each of the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX in each of the second and fourth frame periods FP2 and FP4. Accordingly, since the initialization bias VINT_BIAS or the self bias SELF_BIAS is applied to the driving transistor of each pixel RPX, GPX and BPX in each frame period not only in the case where the display panel 100 is driven at the normal driving frequency NDF, but also in the case where the display panel 100 is driven at the low frequency LF, in the display panel 110 according to embodiments, the difference between the luminance 210 of the display panel 100 driven at the normal driving frequency NDF and the luminance 230 of the display panel 100 driven at the low frequency LF may be reduced compared with a conventional display panel in which the self bias SELF_BIAS is not applied.”)
outputting the data voltage to a pixel of the display panel; and (Ka, [0124] The data driver 420 may provide the data voltages VDAT to the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX in response to a data control signal DCTRL and output image data ODAT received from the controller 450. In some embodiments, the data control signal DCTRL may include, but not limited to, an output data enable signal, a horizontal start signal and a load signal.”)
outputting the anode initialization voltage to the pixel. (Ka, [0082], “The seventh transistor TN7 may apply an anode initialization voltage AVINT to the anode of the organic light emitting diode EL in response to the gate compensation signal GC. According to embodiments, the anode initialization voltage AVINT may be substantially the same as the initialization voltage VINT or may be different from the initialization voltage VINT. The seventh transistor TN7 may be referred to as a diode initializing transistor for initializing the organic light emitting diode EL. While the gate compensation signal GC is applied, the seventh transistor TN7 may initialize the organic light emitting diode EL by using the anode initialization voltage AVINT. In some embodiments, the seventh transistor TN7 may include a gate electrode coupled to the gate compensation signal line GCL through which the gate compensation signal GC is transferred, a first terminal receiving the anode initialization voltage AVINT, and a second terminal coupled to the anode of the organic light emitting diode EL.”)
Ka however does not appear to further specify that storing black voltages and anode initialization voltages for the driving frequencies and the luminance setting values in a memory, and wherein the input luminance setting value comprises a value representing a degree of luminance of the display panel that is set by a user, set based on an ambient luminance, or set based on a maximum luminance value for a maximum grayscale value.
Nakano however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide for storing black voltages and anode initialization voltages for the driving frequencies and the luminance setting values in a memory; (Nakano, [0233], “Accumulated operation time, model name codes, product serial numbers, reference values relating to light-emitting luminance and the like of the backlight (stored upon manufacturing) and the current light-emitting luminance of the backlight, which are stored in the non-volatile semiconductor memory.”)
wherein the input luminance setting value comprises a value representing a degree of luminance of the display panel that is set by a user, set based on an ambient luminance, or set based on a maximum luminance value for a maximum grayscale value. (Nakano, [0074], [0092], [0121], “In this manner, in accordance with the liquid crystal display of the sixth embodiment, by using the actual measured intensity of light emitted from each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B, from which influences of external light leaking from the display surface have been eliminated, it becomes possible to measure the change in light-emitting luminance of each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B and the degradation in each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B with high precision. As a result, it is possible to obtain data used for correcting drifts in chromaticity that occur due to temperature changes, with high precision.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide modifications of the luminance setting value in terms of ambient luminance as this was a known technique in view of Nakano and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of correcting drifts in chromaticity that occur due to temperature changes, with high precision. (Nakano, [0121])
Consider Claim 23:
Ka discloses a method of driving a display panel, the method comprising: (Ka, See Abstract.)
determining initial values of a black voltage for driving frequencies, luminance setting values…; determining the black voltage by changing an initial value of the black voltage in a way such that a measured luminance of the display panel is less than a first target luminance; determining initial values of an anode initialization voltage for the driving frequencies, the luminance setting values…; (Ka, [0067-0070], [0068], “For example, with respect to the blue pixel BPX, the 0-gray voltage BVO of about 6.5 V may be changed to a 0-gray voltage BVO′ of about 7 V, the 255-gray voltage BV255 of about 2 V may be changed to a 255-gray voltage BV255′ of about 3 V, and the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be changed to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. In this case, the initial voltage VINT of about −3.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be increased to the initial voltage VINT′ of about −2.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. Accordingly, a difference between the initialization voltage VINT′ of the initialization bias VINT_BIAS and the data voltage of the self bias SELF_BIAS may be reduced, the difference between the luminance 210 of the display panel 100 driven at the normal driving frequency NDF and the luminance 230 of the display panel 100 driven at the low frequency LF may be reduced, and thus the luminance difference when the driving frequency is changed may not be perceived by the user.”)
determining the anode initialization voltage by changing the initial values of the anode initialization voltage in a way such that the measured luminance of the display panel is less than a second target luminance less than the first target luminance; (Ka, [0067-0070], [0068], “However, in the display panel 100 according to embodiments, the blue pixel BPX may be designed differently from the red pixel RPX and/or the green pixel GPX such that at least one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitors and the parasitic capacitor included in the blue pixel BPX may have a size different from a size of a corresponding one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor and the parasitic capacitor included in the red pixel RPX or the green pixel GPX. Accordingly, the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be changed to a data voltage range 350, and the initial voltage VINT corresponding to the data voltage range 330 may be increased to an initial voltage VINT′ corresponding to the data voltage range 350.”)
generating the black voltage and the anode initialization voltage based on an input driving frequency, an input luminance setting value…; determining a data voltage based on the black voltage; outputting the data voltage to a pixel of the display panel; and outputting the anode initialization voltage to the pixel. (Ka, [0064], “Further, in the display panel 100 according to embodiments, to further reduce the difference between the luminance of the display panel 100 in the non-driven frame period (e.g., FP2 and FP4) and the luminance of the display panel 100 in the driven frame period (e.g., FP1 and FP3), and to reduce a difference between the luminance 210 of the display panel 100 driven at the normal driving frequency NDF and the luminance 230 of the display panel 100 driven at the low frequency LF, a self bias operation that applies a self bias SELF_BIAS to each of the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX may be performed in the non-driven frame period (e.g., FP2 and FP4). For example, in a case where the display panel 100 is driven at the normal driving frequency NDF of about 60 Hz, the OLED display device may apply an initialization bias VINT_BIAS using an initialization voltage (e.g., an initialization voltage VINT in FIG. 4) to a driving transistor (e.g., a first transistor TP1 in FIG. 4) of each of the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX in each of the first, second, third and fourth frame periods FP1, FP2, FP3 and FP4. Further, in a case where the display panel 100 is driven at the low frequency LF of about 30 Hz, the OLED display device may apply the initialization bias VINT_BIAS using the initialization voltage (e.g., the initialization voltage VINT in FIG. 4) to the driving transistor (e.g., the first transistor TP1 in FIG. 4) of each of the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX in each of the first and third frame periods FP1 and FP3, and may apply the self bias SELF_BIAS using a data voltage stored in a previous frame period, or in the first frame period FP1 or the third frame period FP3 to the driving transistor (e.g., the first transistor TP1 in FIG. 4) of each of the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX in each of the second and fourth frame periods FP2 and FP4. Accordingly, since the initialization bias VINT_BIAS or the self bias SELF_BIAS is applied to the driving transistor of each pixel RPX, GPX and BPX in each frame period not only in the case where the display panel 100 is driven at the normal driving frequency NDF, but also in the case where the display panel 100 is driven at the low frequency LF, in the display panel 110 according to embodiments, the difference between the luminance 210 of the display panel 100 driven at the normal driving frequency NDF and the luminance 230 of the display panel 100 driven at the low frequency LF may be reduced compared with a conventional display panel in which the self bias SELF_BIAS is not applied.”)
Ka however does not specify to consider temperature and thus does not teach determining initial values of a black voltage for driving frequencies, luminance setting values and temperatures; determining the black voltage by changing an initial value of the black voltage in a way such that a measured luminance of the display panel is less than a first target luminance; determining initial values of an anode initialization voltage for the driving frequencies, the luminance setting values and the temperatures; storing black voltages and anode initialization voltages for the driving frequencies, the luminance setting values and the temperatures in a memory; generating the black voltage and the anode initialization voltage based on an input driving frequency, an input luminance setting value and an input temperature.
Nakano however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide for storing black voltages and anode initialization voltages for the driving frequencies, the luminance setting values and the temperatures in a memory; (Nakano, [0233], “Accumulated operation time, model name codes, product serial numbers, reference values relating to light-emitting luminance and the like of the backlight (stored upon manufacturing) and the current light-emitting luminance of the backlight, which are stored in the non-volatile semiconductor memory.”)
determining initial values of a black voltage for driving frequencies, luminance setting values and temperatures; determining the black voltage by changing an initial value of the black voltage in a way such that a measured luminance of the display panel is less than a first target luminance; determining initial values of an anode initialization voltage for the driving frequencies, the luminance setting values and the temperatures; generating the black voltage and the anode initialization voltage based on an input driving frequency, an input luminance setting value and an input temperature. (Nakano, [0074], [0092], [0121], “In this manner, in accordance with the liquid crystal display of the sixth embodiment, by using the actual measured intensity of light emitted from each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B, from which influences of external light leaking from the display surface have been eliminated, it becomes possible to measure the change in light-emitting luminance of each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B and the degradation in each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B with high precision. As a result, it is possible to obtain data used for correcting drifts in chromaticity that occur due to temperature changes, with high precision.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide modifications of the luminance setting value in terms of ambient luminance as this was a known technique in view of Nakano and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of correcting drifts in chromaticity that occur due to temperature changes, with high precision. (Nakano, [0121])
Consider Claim 24:
Ka discloses an electronic apparatus comprising: (Ka, See Abstract.)
a display panel; a data driver which outputs a data voltage to the display panel; a driving controller which controls the data driver; and a host which outputs input image data and an input control signal to the driving controller, (Ka, [0121-0129], [0122], “Referring to FIG. 18, an OLED display device 400 may include a display panel 410 that includes a red pixel RPX, a green pixel GPX and a blue pixel BPX, a data driver 420 that provides data voltages VDAT to the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX, a scan driver 430 that provides a gate initialization signal GI, a gate writing signal GW and a gate compensation signal GC to the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX, an emission driver 440 that provides an emission signal EM to the red, green and blue pixels RPX, GPX and BPX, and a controller 450 that controls the data driver 420, the scan driver 430 and the emission driver 440.”)
wherein the driving controller determines a black voltage based on a driving frequency and a luminance setting value and determines an anode initialization voltage based on the driving frequency and the luminance setting value, and (Ka, [0067-0070], [0068], “For example, with respect to the blue pixel BPX, the 0-gray voltage BVO of about 6.5 V may be changed to a 0-gray voltage BVO′ of about 7 V, the 255-gray voltage BV255 of about 2 V may be changed to a 255-gray voltage BV255′ of about 3 V, and the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be changed to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. In this case, the initial voltage VINT of about −3.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 330 from about 2 V to about 6.5 V may be increased to the initial voltage VINT′ of about −2.5 V corresponding to the data voltage range 350 from about 3 V to about 7 V. Accordingly, a difference between the initialization voltage VINT′ of the initialization bias VINT_BIAS and the data voltage of the self bias SELF_BIAS may be reduced, the difference between the luminance 210 of the display panel 100 driven at the normal driving frequency NDF and the luminance 230 of the display panel 100 driven at the low frequency LF may be reduced, and thus the luminance difference when the driving frequency is changed may not be perceived by the user.”)
wherein a first anode initialization voltage of a first pixel having a first color is different from a second anode initialization voltage of a second pixel having a second color. (Ka, [0067-0070], [0068], “However, in the display panel 100 according to embodiments, the blue pixel BPX may be designed differently from the red pixel RPX and/or the green pixel GPX such that at least one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitors and the parasitic capacitor included in the blue pixel BPX may have a size different from a size of a corresponding one of the at least two transistors, the at least one capacitor and the parasitic capacitor included in the red pixel RPX or the green pixel GPX. Accordingly, the data voltage range 330 for the blue pixel BPX may be changed to a data voltage range 350, and the initial voltage VINT corresponding to the data voltage range 330 may be increased to an initial voltage VINT′ corresponding to the data voltage range 350.”)
Ka however does not appear to expressly provide for wherein the luminance setting value comprises a value representing a degree of luminance of the display panel that is set by a user, set based on an ambient luminance, or set based on a maximum luminance value for a maximum grayscale value.
Nakano however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide for wherein the luminance setting value comprises a value representing a degree of luminance of the display panel that is set by a user, set based on an ambient luminance, or set based on a maximum luminance value for a maximum grayscale value. (Nakano, [0074], [0092], [0121], “In this manner, in accordance with the liquid crystal display of the sixth embodiment, by using the actual measured intensity of light emitted from each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B, from which influences of external light leaking from the display surface have been eliminated, it becomes possible to measure the change in light-emitting luminance of each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B and the degradation in each of the backlights 9R, 9G, 9B with high precision. As a result, it is possible to obtain data used for correcting drifts in chromaticity that occur due to temperature changes, with high precision.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide modifications of the luminance setting value in terms of ambient luminance as this was a known technique in view of Nakano and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of correcting drifts in chromaticity that occur due to temperature changes, with high precision. (Nakano, [0121])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ka et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0044634 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of An et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0280127 A1 hereinafter An.
Consider Claim 21:
Ka in view of Nakano discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the display panel comprises a pixel, and wherein the pixel comprises: a first pixel switching element including a control electrode connected to a first pixel node, a first electrode connected to a second pixel node and a second electrode connected to a third pixel node; a second pixel switching element including a control electrode which receives a data writing gate signal, a first electrode which receives the data voltage and a second electrode connected to the second pixel node; a third pixel switching element including a control electrode which receives a compensation gate signal, a first electrode connected to the first pixel node and a second electrode connected to the third pixel node; a fourth pixel switching element including a control electrode which receives a data initialization gate signal, a first electrode which receives a first initialization voltage and a second electrode connected to the first pixel node; a fifth pixel switching element including a control electrode which receives an emission signal, a first electrode which receive a first pixel power voltage and a second electrode connected to the second pixel node; a sixth pixel switching element including a control electrode which receives the emission signal, a first electrode connected to the third pixel node and a second electrode connected to an anode electrode of a light emitting element; a seventh pixel switching element including a control electrode which receives a … gate signal, a first electrode which receives the anode initialization voltage and a second electrode connected to the anode electrode of the light emitting element; and the light emitting element including the anode electrode and a cathode electrode which receive a second pixel power voltage. (Ka, See Fig. 4, [0073], “Each of the red, green and blue pixels RPX1, GPX1 and BPX1 may include a storage capacitor Cst, a boost capacitor Cbst1 or Cbst2, a first transistor TP1, a second transistor TP2, a third transistor TN3, a fourth transistor TN4, a fifth transistor TP5, a sixth transistor TP6, a seventh transistor TN7 and an organic light emitting diode EL.”)
Ka in view of Nakano however does not appear to teach a separate signal for the seventh transistor going to the gate and therefore does not specify a seventh pixel switching element including a control electrode which receives a light emitting element initialization gate signal.
An however teaches that those of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the initialization transistor with it’s own gate signal and therefore teaches a seventh pixel switching element including a control electrode which receives a light emitting element initialization gate signal. (An, See Fig. 1, [0072], [0066], [0099] The fourth transistor T4 and the seventh transistor T7 are not connected to the same initialization voltage line, but are connected to different initialization voltage lines. The fourth transistor T4 may be connected to the first initialization voltage line 127, and may receive a first initialization voltage (VINT). The seventh transistor T7 may be connected to the second initialization voltage line 128, and may receive a second initialization voltage (AINT). When the fourth transistor T4 and the seventh transistor T7 are connected to the same initialization voltage line, the same initialization voltage is applied to the fourth transistor T4 and the seventh transistor T7. The organic light emitting device may be driven with a changed frequency. For example, a frequency of 120 Hz may be changed to 60 Hz, 30 Hz, or 1 Hz. When the organic light emitting device is driven with the changed frequency, deviation may be generated to a variable refresh rate (VRR) characteristic. For example, greater deviation may be generated in a region indicating a low gray. In the present exemplary embodiment, different initialization voltages may be applied to the fourth transistor T4 and the seventh transistor T7. Therefore, the deviation of the VRR characteristic may be reduced in the low gray by allowing the first initialization voltage (VINT) applied to the fourth transistor T4 to be different from the second initialization voltage (AINT) applied to the seventh transistor T7.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide separate signal lines as this was a known technique in view of An and would have been utilized for the purpose of the deviation of the VRR characteristic may be reduced in the low gray by allowing the first initialization voltage (VINT) applied to the fourth transistor T4 to be different from the second initialization voltage (AINT) applied to the seventh transistor T7. (An, [0099])
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon which is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited in a current or previous PTO-892. The prior art cited in a current or previous PTO-892 reads upon the applicants claims in part, in whole and/or gives a general reference to the knowledge and skill of persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Applicant, when responding to this Office action, should consider not only the cited references applied in the rejection but also any additional references made of record.
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests support be shown for any new or amended claims. More precisely, indicate support for any newly added language or amendments by specifying page, line numbers, and/or figure(s). This will assist The Office in compact prosecution of this application. The Office has cited particular columns, paragraphs, and/or line numbers in the applied rejection of the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within each claim, however other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing a response, should fully consider the cited reference(s) in its entirety and not only the cited portions as other sections of the reference may expand on the teachings of the cited portion(s).
Applicant Representatives are reminded of CFR 1.4(d)(2)(ii) which states “A patent practitioner (§ 1.32(a)(1) ), signing pursuant to §§ 1.33(b)(1) or 1.33(b)(2), must supply his/her registration number either as part of the S-signature, or immediately below or adjacent to the S-signature. The number (#) character may be used only as part of the S-signature when appearing before a practitioner’s registration number; otherwise the number character may not be used in an S-signature.” When an unsigned or improperly signed amendment is received the amendment will be listed in the contents of the application file, but not entered. The examiner will notify applicant of the status of the application, advising him or her to furnish a duplicate amendment properly signed or to ratify the amendment already filed. In an application not under final rejection, applicant should be given a two month time period in which to ratify the previously filed amendment (37 CFR 1.135(c) ).
/Michael J Jansen II/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626