DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,744,777 (the ‘777 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of claims 1-5 are recited by claims 1-5 of the ‘777 patent. Therefore, in making or using the invention of claims 1-5 of the ‘777 patent, one of ordinary skill in the art would also make or use the invention of claims 1-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 10,507,285 to Dunki-Jacobs et al. (Dunki-Jacobs) in view of US Patent 9,895,487 to Duncan (Duncan).
Regarding claim 1, Dunki-Jacobs discloses a disposable fluid transfer device (208) comprising an injector support surface (surface on which injector 203 is supported) configured to receive an injection device (203) thereon, a fluid transfer port (shown in Fig. 21; the port leading into the lower end of injector 203) extending upwardly from the support surface for transfer of liquid into an injection device when received on the support surface, a lyophilized drug vial adapter (adapter holding vial 202M) configured to receive a vial containing a lyophilized drug (202M), a diluent vial adapter (adapter holder vial 202D) configured to receive a vial containing a diluent (202D), a fluid flow path (shown in Fig. 21). Dunki-Jacobs does not disclose a syringe adapter configured to receive a syringe and the fluid flow path may be placed in communication between the lyophilized drug vial adapter and syringe adapter, between the diluent vial adapter and the syringe adapter and between the syringe adapter and the fluid transfer port, and a manual valve in the fluid flow path for selectively placing the diluent vial adapter in communication with the syringe adapter, placing the lyophilized drug vial adapter in communication with the syringe adapter or placing the syringe adapter in communication with fluid transfer port. Duncan teaches a fluid transfer device including a syringe adapter (adapter to which syringe T is connected) configured to receive a syringe (T) and a fluid flow path (path connecting the vial(s), syringe(s) and fluid outlet) may be placed in communication between the drug vial adapter and syringe adapter, between the diluent vial adapter and the syringe adapter and between the syringe adapter and the fluid transfer port (by turning the valve to the various positions, each of these connections can be made; see Figs. 2, 5 and 8), and a manual valve (60) in the fluid flow path for selectively placing the diluent vial adapter in communication with the syringe adapter, placing the lyophilized drug vial adapter in communication with the syringe adapter or placing the syringe adapter in communication with fluid transfer port (Figs. 2, 5 and 8) such that the drug can be mixed without the need for a power source (see title). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Dunki-Jacobs to include a syringe, manual valve and flow path as taught by Duncan such that the drug can be mixed manually without the need for a power source or pressure cylinder.
Regarding claim 2, Dunki-Jacobs further discloses a releasable harness (see Figs. 22 and 23; the harness is not labeled but is shown in the figures securing the top of the injector 203 to the fluid transfer device 208) for holding an injection device coupled to the transfer device.
Regarding claim 3, Dunki-Jacobs further discloses an injection device (203) coupled thereto and releasably held in the coupled position.
Regarding claim 4, Dunki-Jacobs further discloses the injection device includes and internal resilient expandable member (col. 14, lines 47-49) and a filling port (shown in Fig. 21) for introducing liquid into the expandable member and wherein the fluid transfer port of the transfer device extends into the filling port when the injection device is coupled to the transfer device.
Regarding claim 5, Dunki-Jacobs further discloses the support has an upper face and a lower face (upper and lower faces shown in Fig. 22-23), the injection device being receivable against the upper face (Figs. 22-23). Dunki-Jacobs does not disclose the valve and fluid flow path being carried on the lower face of the support surface. However, there are a limited number of places the valve and flow path can be located (i.e. upper face, lower face, or a combination thereof). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to carry the valve and flow path on the lower face, since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Such a change requires only selecting one of a number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. Further, positioning the manual valve and flow path in which the valve is located on the lower face keeps the vials and injection device clear of the valve so that the valve is more easily accessible to the user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and claimed invention.
/NICOLAS A ARNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753 December 22, 2025