DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 14 have been amended as per Applicant’s amendment fled on January 21, 2026. No claims have been canceled. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lius (US 2021/0042493 A1, Published February 11, 2021) in view of Bae (US 2016/0132176 A1, Published May 12, 2016).
As to claim 1, Lius discloses a display device comprising:
a first-first pixel circuit, a first-second pixel circuit, a first-third pixel circuit, and a first sensor circuit arranged sequentially in a first circuit row (Lius at Fig. 2, first to third pixel circuitry 1061, 1063, 1065, and fingerprint sensor circuitry 110 in a first row; ¶ [0036]);
a second-first pixel circuit, a second-second pixel circuit, a second-third pixel circuit, and a second sensor circuit arranged sequentially in a second circuit row following the first circuit row (Lius at Fig. 2, first to third pixel circuitry 1061, 1063, 1065, and fingerprint sensor circuitry 110 in a second row; ¶ [0036]),…
a third-first pixel circuit, a third-second pixel circuit, a third-third pixel circuit, and a third sensor circuit arranged sequentially in a third circuit row following the second circuit row (Lius at Fig. 2, first to third pixel circuitry 1061, 1063, 1065, and fingerprint sensor circuitry 110 in a third row; ¶ [0036]);
a first-first pixel electrode in a first pixel row corresponding to the first circuit row, and electrically connected to the first-first pixel circuit (Lius at Figs. 2, 7, 10, in particular, light emitting unit 1041);
a first sensor electrode in the first pixel row, and electrically connected to the first sensor circuit (Lius at Figs, 2, 7, 10, in particular, fingerprint sensor unit 108; ¶ [0038]);
a second sensor electrode in the first pixel row, and electrically connected to the second sensor circuit (Lius at Figs, 2, 7, 10, in particular, fingerprint sensor unit 108 disposed in the horizontally adjacent pixel to the first pixel; ¶ [0038]);1
a second-first pixel electrode in a second pixel row corresponding to the second circuit row, and electrically connected to the second-first pixel circuit (Lius at Figs. 2, 10, in particular, light emitting unit 1041 disposed in the second row); and
a third sensor electrode in a third pixel row corresponding to the third circuit row, and electrically connected to the third sensor circuit (Lius at Figs, 2, 7, 10, in particular, fingerprint sensor unit 108 disposed in the third row; ¶ [0038]).
Although Lius strongly implies it at Fig. 2, in particular, Lius does not expressly state that the second sensor circuit being in a same pixel column as the first sensor circuit.
However, Bae does disclose hat the second sensor circuit being in a same pixel column as the first sensor circuit (Bae at Figs. 4-5, contact sensors SN).
Lius discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Bae discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Lius the teachings of Bae for the predictable result of providing and improved aperture ratio (Bae at ¶ [0012])
As to claim 2, the combination of Lius and Bae discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the second sensor electrode is spaced apart from the first sensor electrode in a first direction, and wherein the third sensor electrode is spaced apart from the first sensor electrode in a second direction intersecting the first direction (Lius at Figs. 2, 7, in particular).2
As to claim 3, the combination of Lius and Bae discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein a gap between the first sensor electrode and the second sensor electrode is substantially equal to a gap between the first sensor electrode and the third sensor electrode (Lius at Figs. 2, 7, 10, in particular. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration/size/proportion is obvious).3
As to claim 7, the combination of Lius and Bae discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising a sensor connection electrode electrically connecting the first sensor circuit to the first sensor electrode (Lius at Fig. 2, connection between fingerprint sensor circuitry 110 and fingerprint sensor unit 108).
As to claim 8, the combination of Lius and Bae discloses the display device of claim 7, wherein the first-third pixel circuit is between the first-first pixel electrode and the first sensor circuit, and wherein the sensor connection electrode overlaps the first-third pixel circuit (Lius at Fig. 10, in particular. MPEP 2144.04(IV & VI) establishes that changes in configuration and rearrangement of parts are obvious).
As to claim 10, the combination of Lius and Bae discloses the display device of claim 7, wherein the sensor connection electrode is in a layer between the first sensor circuit and the first sensor electrode (Lius at Figs. 2-3, connection between bottom electrode BE2 and drain electrode DE of transistor T2).4
Claims 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lius and Bae as applied to claim 7 above, and in further view of Yuan (US 2022/0093704 A1, Published March 24, 2022).
As to claim 9, the combination of Lius and Bae discloses the display device of claim 7.
Lius does not disclose that the sensor connection electrode is integral with the first sensor electrode in a same layer.
However, Yuan does disclose that the sensor connection electrode is integral with the first sensor electrode in a same layer (Yuan at ¶ [0082] discloses “Therefore, the first electrodes or the second electrodes of the light sensors and the connection electrodes are disposed in the same layer and made of the same material, so that the production process is simplified, and the production cost is reduced”).
Lius discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Yuan discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Lius the teachings of Yuan the predictable result of simplifying a production process and reducing production cost (Yuan at ¶ [0082]).
Claims 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lius and Bae as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Kim2 (US 2022/0109042 A1, Published April 7, 2022).
As to claim 12, the combination of Lius and Bae discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the first-first pixel circuit comprises:
a first transistor for controlling a driving current supplied to the first-first pixel electrode (Lius at Fig. 2, T12);
a second transistor for supplying a data voltage to a first electrode of the first transistor (Lius at Fig. 2, T11).
Lius does not expressly disclose a third transistor for electrically connecting a second electrode of the first transistor to a gate electrode of the first transistor; and a fourth transistor for supplying an initialization voltage to the gate electrode of the first transistor, wherein the first and second transistors comprise a silicon-based semiconductor region, and wherein the third and fourth transistors comprise an oxide-based semiconductor region.
However, Kim2 does disclose a third transistor for electrically connecting a second electrode of the first transistor to a gate electrode of the first transistor (Kim2 at Fig. 3, transistor T3); and
a fourth transistor for supplying an initialization voltage to the gate electrode of the first transistor (Kim2 at Fig. 3, transistor T4),
wherein the first and second transistors comprise a silicon-based semiconductor region, and wherein the third and fourth transistors comprise an oxide-based semiconductor region (Kim2 at ¶ [0151] discloses “In some embodiments, the first pixel circuit part PCP1 may include the first, second, fifth, sixth and seventh transistors T1, T2, T5, T6, and T7 which are silicon-based semiconductor transistors, and the third and fourth transistors T3 and T4 which are oxide-based semiconductor transistors. For example, the first, second, fifth, sixth, and seventh transistors T1, T2, T5, T6, and T7 are the PMOS transistors and the third and fourth transistors T3 and T4 may be the NMOS transistors.”).
The combination of Lius and Bae discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kim2 discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Lius and Bae the teachings of Kim2 for the predictable result of improving display quality (Kim2 at ¶ [0028]) or reducing crosstalk (Kim2 at ¶ [0029]).
Claims 4, 5, 6, 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lius and Bae as applied to claim 2 above, and in further view of Kim (US 2022/0285460 A1, Published September 8, 2022).
As to claim 4, the combination of Lius and Bae discloses the display device of claim 2, further comprising… and a fourth sensor electrode in the third pixel row (Lius at Figs. 2, 7, fingerprint sensor unit 108 in the third row), and electrically connected to the fourth sensor circuit (Lius at Figs. 2, 7, fingerprint sensor circuitry 110).5
Lius does not disclose a fourth-first pixel circuit, a fourth-second pixel circuit, a fourth-third pixel circuit, and a fourth sensor circuit arranged in a fourth circuit row following the third circuit row.
However, Kim does disclose a fourth-second pixel circuit, a fourth-third pixel circuit, and a fourth sensor circuit arranged in a fourth circuit row following the third circuit row (Kim at Figs, 3, 4, 7, in particular, fourth pixel circuit PXC4).
The combination of Lius and Bae discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kim discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Lius and Bae the teachings of Kim for the predictable result of reducing manufacturing cost or minimizing power consumption (Kim at ¶ [0028]).
As to claim 5, the combination of Lius, Bae, and Kim discloses the display device of claim 4, wherein the fourth sensor electrode is spaced apart from the third sensor electrode in the first direction, and is spaced apart from the second sensor electrode in the second direction (Lius at Figs. 2, 7, 10, in particular. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration/size/proportion is obvious).6
As to claim 6, the combination of Lius, Bae, and Kim discloses the display device of claim 4, wherein a gap between the third sensor electrode and the fourth sensor electrode is substantially equal to a gap between the second sensor electrode and the fourth sensor electrode (Kim at Figs. 16, 17. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration/size/proportion is obvious).
The combination of Lius and Bae discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kim discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Lius and Bae the teachings of Kim for the predictable result of reducing manufacturing cost or minimizing power consumption (Kim at ¶ [0028]).
As to claim 11, the combination of Lius and Bae discloses the display device of claim 1.
Lius does not expressly disclose that a width of each of the first-first pixel circuit, the first-second pixel circuit, and the first-third pixel circuit in a first direction is greater than a width of the first sensor circuit in the first direction.
However, Kim does disclose that a width of each of the first-first pixel circuit, the first-second pixel circuit, and the first-third pixel circuit in a first direction is greater than a width of the first sensor circuit in the first direction (Kim at Fig. 4, in particular).
The combination of Lius and Bae discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kim discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Lius and Bae the teachings of Kim for the predictable result of reducing manufacturing cost or minimizing power consumption (Kim at ¶ [0028]).
As to claim 13, the combination of Lius and Bae discloses the display device of claim 1.
Lius does not disclose that the first sensor circuit comprises: a first sensor transistor comprising a gate electrode electrically connected to the first sensor electrode; a second sensor transistor supplying an initialization voltage to the gate electrode of the first sensor transistor; and a third sensor transistor electrically connecting the first sensor transistor to a read-out line, wherein the first and third sensor transistors comprise a silicon-based semiconductor region, and wherein the second sensor transistor comprises an oxide-based semiconductor region.
However, Kim does disclose that the first sensor circuit comprises: a first sensor transistor comprising a gate electrode electrically connected to the first sensor electrode (Kim at Fig. 3, transistor M1);
a second sensor transistor supplying an initialization voltage to the gate electrode of the first sensor transistor (Kim at Fig. 3, transistor M3); and
a third sensor transistor electrically connecting the first sensor transistor to a read-out line (Kim at Fig. 3, transistor M2),
wherein the first and third sensor transistors comprise a silicon-based semiconductor region, and wherein the second sensor transistor comprises an oxide-based semiconductor region (Examiner takes an official notice that silicon based semiconductor region transistors and oxide based semiconductor region transistors are well-known in the art).7
The combination of Lius and Bae discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kim discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Lius and Bae the teachings of Kim for the predictable result of reducing manufacturing cost or minimizing power consumption (Kim at ¶ [0028]).
Claims 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lius (US 2021/0042493 A1, Published February 11, 2021) in view of Bae (US 2016/0132176 A1, Published May 12, 2016) and Kim (US 2022/0285460 A1, Published September 8, 2022).
As to claim 14, Lius discloses a display device comprising:
a first-first pixel circuit, a first-second pixel circuit, a first-third pixel circuit,… and a first sensor circuit arranged sequentially in a first circuit row (Lius at Fig. 2, first to third pixel circuitry 1061, 1063, 1065, and fingerprint sensor circuitry 110 in a first row; ¶ [0036]);
a second-first pixel circuit, a second-second pixel circuit, a second-third pixel circuit,… and a second sensor circuit arranged sequentially in a second circuit row following the first circuit row (Lius at Fig. 2, first to third pixel circuitry 1061, 1063, 1065, and fingerprint sensor circuitry 110 in a second row; ¶ [0036]);
a first-first pixel electrode in a first pixel row corresponding to the first circuit row, and electrically connected to the first-first pixel circuit (Lius at Figs. 2, 7, 10, in particular, light emitting unit 1041);
a first-second pixel electrode in the first pixel row, and electrically connected to the first-second pixel circuit (Lius at Figs. 2, 7, 10, in particular, light emitting unit 1043);
a first-third pixel electrode in the first pixel row, and electrically connected to the first-third pixel circuit (Lius at Figs. 2, 7, 10, in particular, light emitting unit 1045);
a first sensor electrode in the first pixel row, and electrically connected to the first sensor circuit (Lius at Figs, 2, 7, 10, in particular, fingerprint sensor unit 108; ¶ [0038]); and
a second sensor electrode in the first pixel row and electrically connected to the second sensor circuit (Lius at Figs, 2, 7, 10, in particular, fingerprint sensor unit 108 disposed in the horizontally adjacent pixel to the first pixel; ¶ [0038]).
Although Lius strongly implies it at Fig. 2, in particular, Lius does not expressly state that the second sensor circuit being in a same pixel column as the first sensor circuit.
However, Bae does disclose hat the second sensor circuit being in a same pixel column as the first sensor circuit (Bae at Figs. 4-5, contact sensors SN).
Lius discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Bae discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Lius the teachings of Bae for the predictable result of providing and improved aperture ratio (Bae at ¶ [0012])
Lius does not disclose a first-fourth pixel circuit and a second-fourth pixel circuit
However, Kim does disclose a first-fourth pixel circuit and a second-fourth pixel circuit (Kim at Figs. 3-4, 7, in particular, fourth pixel circuit PXC4 in the first and second rows respectively).
The combination of Lius and Bae discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kim discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Lius and Bae the teachings of Kim for the predictable result of reducing manufacturing cost or minimizing power consumption (Kim at ¶ [0028]).
As to claim 15, the combination of Lius, Bae, and Kim discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein the first sensor electrode is at least partially surrounded by the first-first pixel electrode, the first-second pixel electrode, and the first-third pixel electrode (Kim at 7, in particular).
The combination of Lius and Bae discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kim discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Lius and Bae the teachings of Kim for the predictable result of reducing manufacturing cost or minimizing power consumption (Kim at ¶ [0028]).
As to claim 16, the combination of Lius, Bae and Kim discloses the display device of claim 14, further comprising:
a second-first pixel electrode in a second pixel row corresponding to the second circuit row, and electrically connected to the second-first pixel circuit (Lius at Figs. 2, 10, in particular, light emitting unit 1041 disposed in the second row);
a pixel electrode in the second pixel row, and electrically connected to the second-second pixel circuit (Lius at Figs. 2, 10, in particular, light emitting unit 1043 disposed in the second row); and
a second-third pixel electrode in the second pixel row, and electrically connected to the second-third pixel circuit (Lius at Figs. 2, 10, in particular , light emitting unit 1045 disposed in the second row).
As to claim 17, the combination of Lius, Bae, and Kim discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein the first sensor electrode and the second sensor electrode overlap the first circuit row, and do not overlap the second circuit row (Kim at Fig. 2).
The combination of Lius and Bae discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kim discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Lius and Bae the teachings of Kim for the predictable result of reducing manufacturing cost or minimizing power consumption (Kim at ¶ [0028]).
As to claim 18, the combination of Lius, Bae and Kim discloses the display device of claim 14, further comprising: a third-first pixel circuit, a third-second pixel circuit, a third-third pixel circuit, a third-fourth pixel circuit (Kim at Fig. 4, PXC4), and a third sensor circuit arranged sequentially in a third circuit row following the second circuit row (Lius at Fig. 2, first to third pixel circuitry 1061, 1063, 1065, and fingerprint sensor circuitry 110 in a third row; ¶ [0036]);8
a fourth-first pixel circuit, a fourth-second pixel circuit, a fourth-third pixel circuit, a fourth-fourth pixel circuit (Kim at Fig. 4, PXC4), and a fourth sensor circuit arranged sequentially in a fourth circuit row following the third circuit row Lius at Fig. 2, first to third pixel circuitry 1061, 1063, 1065, and fingerprint sensor circuitry 110 in a third row);9
a third sensor electrode in a third pixel row corresponding to the third circuit row, and electrically connected to the third sensor circuit (Lius at Figs, 2, 7, 10, in particular, fingerprint sensor unit 108 disposed in the third row; ¶ [0038]); and
a fourth sensor electrode in the third pixel row (Lius at Figs. 2, 7, fingerprint sensor unit 108 in the third row), and electrically connected to the fourth sensor circuit (Lius at Figs. 2, 7, fingerprint sensor circuitry 110).10
the combination of Lius and Bae discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kim discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Lius and Bae the teachings of Kim for the predictable result of reducing manufacturing cost or minimizing power consumption (Kim at ¶ [0028]).
As to claim 19, the combination of Lius, Bae, and Kim discloses the display device of claim 18, wherein the third sensor electrode and the fourth sensor electrode overlap the third circuit row, and do not overlap the fourth circuit row (Kim at Fig. 2).
the combination of Lius and Bae discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kim discloses a comparable display device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Lius and Bae the teachings of Kim for the predictable result of reducing manufacturing cost or minimizing power consumption (Kim at ¶ [0028]).
As to claim 20, the combination of Lius, Bae, and Kim discloses the display device of claim 18, wherein a gap between the first sensor electrode and the second sensor electrode is substantially equal to a gap between the first sensor electrode and the third sensor electrode (Lius at Figs. 2, 7, 10, in particular. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration/size/proportion is obvious).11
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sanjiv D. Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625
01/31/2026
1 See also Kim at Figs. 4, 7, in particular.
2 See also Kim at Figs. 4, 7, in particular.
3 See also Kim at Figs. 16-17.
4 See also Yuan at Fig. 3, in particular.
5 See also Kim at Figs. 3-4, 7, in particular.
6 See also Kim at Figs. 2, 4, 7, in particular.
7 See Kim2 at ¶ [0151].
8 See also Kim at Fig. 4
9 See also Kim at Fig. 4.
10 See also Kim at Figs. 3-4, 7, in particular.
11 See also Kim at Figs. 16-17.