DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
As concerns claim 13, the claim recites “the bracket” which can be read alternatively as referring to either the “energy storage supporting bracket” or the “vehicle bracket arrangement”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Bohmer et al (US 2023/004478) .
As concerns the following, Bohmer et al (US 2023/004478) discloses:
1. A vehicle bracket arrangement for suspending a protection plate (18) for an energy storage system, the vehicle bracket arrangement comprising:
a bracket (52) comprising a bracket cavity; and
a bushing arrangement (54, with elastic body 66 and inner and outer sleeves not shown; see Paragraph [0028]) comprising a first part (outer sleeve) arranged in, and rotationally fixed to, the bracket cavity, the first part comprising a central cavity, a second part (66) arranged in the central cavity of the first part, and a third part (inner sleeve) arranged in the second part;
wherein the third part comprises an aperture configured to receive a fastener element (56) for connecting a protection plate to the bracket.
2. The vehicle bracket arrangement of claim 1, wherein the first part of the bushing arrangement comprises a first abutment portion arranged in abutment with a bracket abutment portion of the bracket cavity. (Figure 5, element 52 illustrates having a curved upper shape which would hold the bushing securely in place)
8. The vehicle bracket arrangement of claim 1, wherein the second part is vulcanized to the third part. (Paragraph [0029] "The elastic body 66 may be bonded to and molded into the inner sleeve and may be a cylindrical shape.")
9. The vehicle bracket arrangement of claim 1, wherein the first part is made from a plastic material, the second part is made from a rubber material (Paragraph [0028]) and the third part is made from a metallic material (Paragraph [0028]).
10. The vehicle bracket arrangement of claim 1, wherein the bracket (52) comprises an elongated portion (when viewing the bracket as shown in Figure 3 along a longitudinal axis) extending between a first end portion (upper section that comprises cavity) and a second end portion (lower edge where 60 extend outward, perpendicularly), wherein the bracket cavity is arranged at the first end portion of the elongated portion. (Figure 3)
11. The vehicle bracket arrangement of claim 1, wherein the second part comprises a second abutment portion arranged in abutment with a surface of the first part. (As both parts, upper and lower portions of bracket 52 meet in the middle, this language is found to be anticipated)
12. The vehicle bracket arrangement of claim 11, wherein the second abutment portion (comprising both flanges 60) is arranged on a plurality of radially protruding portions of the second part. (As both flanges extend outward, this claim is found to be anticipated as well.)
13. A frame structure (16 and 18) for suspending an energy storage system of a vehicle, the frame structure comprising:
an energy storage supporting bracket (36) configured to suspend an energy storage system, the energy storage supporting bracket comprising a frame connecting surface (Figure 3) connectable to a frame (14) of the vehicle; and
the vehicle bracket arrangement (at least 52) of claim 1, wherein the bracket is connected to the energy storage supporting bracket at an opposite position of the frame structure compared to the frame connecting surface. (Figure 3)
14. The frame structure of claim 13, wherein the frame structure (16) further comprises a protection plate (18) and a fastener element (bolts shown in Figure 3) connecting the protection plate to the bracket via the third part of the bushing arrangement.
15. A vehicle, comprising the vehicle bracket arrangement of claim 1. (Figure 1)
16. A vehicle, comprising the frame structure of claim 13. (Figure 1)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As concerns claim 3, Bohmer discloses the claimed first abutment portion and bracket abutment portion, however fails to specify or disclose any respective oblong shape as claimed.
As concerns claim 5, Bohmer discloses the claimed first abutment portion however fails to specify or anticipate any protruding clip portion or groove portion of the bracket abutment portion as claimed.
As concerns claim 6, Bohmer discloses the various parts of the bracket, however fails to specify where the third part comprises a protruding portion as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/AARON L LEMBO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679