DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, & 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (US 20230058388).
As to claim 1, Zhu discloses a method for optically compensating a display device (active display region 20 utilized with gamma optical probe) [fig. 2 & para. 74, 46-47, & 116] including a plurality of pixels, a first pixel area (second display region a2) [figs. 2 & 4 & para. 74 & 77-79] including a plurality of first pixels of the pixels, and a second pixel area (first display region, normal display region outside second display region a2) [fig. 2-3 & para. 74 & 77-79] including a plurality of second pixels of the pixels, method comprising:
performing, sequentially, a first optical compensation (generation of first gamma data set) [fig. 1 & para. 52-53, 57, 61, 47, 116, & 111] for each of a plurality of first test voltages for gradations (analog data voltages of each color of sub-pixels corresponding to grayscales corresponding to predetermined gamma data set corresponding to gamma curve) [fig. 1 & para. 52-53, 57, 61, 47, 116, & 111] of a first range (predetermined gamma data set corresponding to gamma curve) [fig. 1 & para. 62-66] applied to each of the pixels (first gamma debugging to generate firs gamma data set) [fig. 1 & para. 62-66 & 111]; and
performing, sequentially, a second optical compensation (generation of second gamma data set) [fig. 1 & para. 59, 52-53, 61-66, 47, 116, & 111] for each of a plurality of second test voltages (adjusted analog data voltages corresponding to each color sub-pixels of first gamma dataset) [fig. 1 & para. 57-59, 52-53, 47, 61-66, 116, & 111] for gradations of a second range (first gamma data set) [fig. 1 & para. 59, 62-66, 47, 116, & 111] applied to a first pixel of the first pixel area (display region a2, sub-pixel) [fig. 1 & para. 59, 62-66, & 111].
As to claim 2, Zhu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the performing the first optical compensation for each of the plurality of first test voltages includes correcting a first test voltage of the plurality of first test voltages for a gradation of the gradations of the first range so that each of the pixels emits light of a target luminance for the gradation (desired luminance corresponding to gradation corresponding to analog data voltages) [fig. 1 & para. 52-53, 57, 61, 47, 116, & 111].
As to claim 3, Zhu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the performing the first optical compensation for each first test voltage of the plurality of first test voltages includes:
applying a first test voltage for a gradation of the gradations of the first range to each of the pixels (analog data voltage corresponding to gradation of predetermined gamma data set) [fig. 1 & para. 52-53, 57, 61, 47, 116, & 111];
measuring a luminance of light emitted from the pixels (gamma debugging, utilizing gamma optical probe) [fig. 1 & para. 52-53, 57, 61, 47, 116, & 111];
comparing the luminance of light emitted from the pixels to a target luminance for the gradation of the gradations of the first range (gamma debugging, adjusting analog data voltage to achieve desired luminance) [fig. 1 & para. 52-53, 57, 61, 47, 116, & 111]; and
determining a corrected first test voltage for the gradation based on the comparison (adjusted analog data voltage that achieved desired luminance) [fig. 1 & para. 52-53, 57, 61, 47, 116, & 111].
As to claim 4, Zhu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the performing the second optical compensation for each second test voltage of the plurality of second test voltages includes correcting a second test voltage of the plurality of first test voltages for a second gradation among the gradations of the second range so that a first pixel of the first pixel area emits light of a target luminance for the gradation (target luminance) [fig. 1 & para. 57-59, 52-53, 47, 61-66, 116, & 111].
As to claim 5, Zhu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the performing the second optical compensation for each second test voltage of the plurality of second test voltages includes:
applying a second test voltage for a second gradation among the gradations of the second range to the first pixel, and applying a corrected first test voltage for a first gradation among the gradations of the first range to a second pixel of the first pixel area (first gamma data set analog data voltage adjusted and utilized for second gamma data set) [fig. 1 & para. 57-59, 52-53, 47, 61-66, 116, & 111];
measuring a luminance of light emitted from the pixels of the first pixel area (gamma debugging, utilizing gamma optical probe) [fig. 1 & para. 57-59, 52-53, 47, 61-66, 116, & 111]; and
correcting the second test voltage for the second gradation so that the luminance of light emitted from the pixels of the first pixel area becomes a reference luminance (target luminance) [fig. 1 & para. 57-59, 52-53, 47, 61-66, 116, & 111], wherein the second test voltage associated with the reference luminance is a corrected second test voltage (adjusted analog data voltage utilized to generate third gamma data set) [fig. 1 & para. 57-59, 52-53, 47, 61-66, 116, & 111].
As to claim 7, Zhu discloses the method of claim 5, wherein in the first pixel area, the first pixel and the second pixel are alternately arranged in a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction [fig. 4].
As to claim 14, Zhu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a number of pixels arranged per unit area in the second pixel area is greater than a number of pixels arranged per unit area in the first pixel area [para. 74 & 77-79].
As to claim 15, Zhu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the display device further includes a camera (under screen-camera provided below second display region a2) [para. 72-74], and wherein the camera is disposed to overlap the first pixel area [para. 72-74].
As to claim 16, Zhu discloses a method for optically compensating a display device (active display region 20 utilized with gamma optical probe) [fig. 2 & para. 74, 46-47, & 116] including a first pixel area (second display region a2) [figs. 2 & 4 & para. 74 & 77-79] and a second pixel area (first display region, normal display region outside second display region a2) [fig. 2-3 & para. 74 & 77-79] in which a number of pixels arranged per unit area is greater than that of the first pixel area [fig. 2-3 & para. 74 & 77-79], the method comprising:
applying a first test voltage (analog data voltage for red sub-pixel in a2 corresponding to grayscale) [fig. 1 & para. 57-59, 52-53, 47, 61-66, 116, & 111] for a first gradation among a first range (range of red first gamma data set) [fig. 1 & para. 57-59, 52-53, 47, 61-66, 116, & 111] of a plurality of gradations to a first pixel of the first pixel area;
applying a second test voltage (analog data voltage for blue sub-pixel in a2 corresponding to grayscale) [fig. 1 & para. 57-59, 52-53, 47, 61-66, 116, & 111] for a second gradation among of a second range (range for blue of first gamma data set) [fig. 1 & para. 57-59, 52-53, 47, 61-66, 116, & 111] of the plurality of gradations to a second pixel of the first pixel area;
measuring a luminance of light emitted from the pixels of the first pixel area (adjusting analog data voltage to match luminance and chrominance targets) [para. 116]; and
correcting the second test voltage for the second gradation so that a measured luminance of light emitted from the pixels of the first pixel area becomes a reference luminance (generating second gamma data set based on measurements) [fig. 1 & para. 57-59, 52-53, 47, 61-66, 116, & 111].
As to claim 17, Zhu discloses the method of claim 16, wherein applying the first test voltage includes correcting the first test voltage so that the first pixel emits light of a target luminance for the first gradation (adjusting analog data voltage to meet target luminance) [fig. 1 & para. 57-59, 52-53, 47, 61-66, 116, & 111].
As to claim 18, Zhu discloses method of claim 17, wherein applying the second test voltage includes correcting the second test voltage for the second gradation so that a second pixel emits light of a target luminance for the second gradation (adjusting analog data voltage to meet target luminance) [fig. 1 & para. 57-59, 52-53, 47, 61-66, 116, & 111].
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. (US 20220051617).
As to claim 19, Hwang discloses a display device [abstract] comprising:
a pixel unit (display panel 100) [figs. 1-2 & para. 47] including a first pixel area (second pixel region ca) [figs. 1-2 & 4 & para. 47] and a second pixel area (first pixel region da) [figs. 1-3 & para. 47] in which a number of pixels arranged per unit area is greater than that of the first pixel area [para. 47]; and
a data driver (drive ic 300) [fig. 6 & para. 84-86] supplying data voltages (data voltage) [fig. 4 & para. 84-86 to the pixels through data lines (data lines dl) [fig. 6 & para. 84-86] connected to the pixels,
wherein the data driver provides the data voltages (data voltages) [fig. 6 & para. 84-86] for a gradation of a first range to the pixels of the first pixel area [fig. 14 & para. 161-164], and provides the data voltages for a gradation of a second range to the pixels of the first pixel area [fig. 15 & para. 167-169].
As to claim 20, Hwang discloses the display device of claim 19, wherein the display device further includes a camera (imaging module) [figs. 1-2 & para. 48], and wherein the camera is disposed to overlap the first pixel area [figs. 1-2 & para. 48].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 & 8-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DAVID TUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622