DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 7,400,306) in view of Kubota et al. (US 5,748,165).
As to claim 1 and 19, Hu discloses a display device (see abstract) comprising: a display panel (Fig. 1, (10), and Fig. 2, (30) comprising pixels (Fig. 1, (18) connected to data lines (Fig. 1, (14-1 to 14m) and scan lines (Fig. 1, (12-1 to 12n), wherein the pixels are divided into first and second unit areas (col. 3, lines 44-57); a scan driver configured to provide scan signals to the scan lines (Fig. 1, (12); and a scan output unit (Fig. 1, (16, 16’)) connected between the scan driver (Fig. 1, (12) and the display panel (Fig. 1, (10) and configured to output the scan signals to the first and second unit areas (col. 4, lines 3-21), wherein the scan output unit (Fig. 1, (16’) is configured to output a first scan signal received from the scan driver to a first pixel (Fig. 1, (1-1) in the first unit area of the pixels during a first period (col. 3, line 61-col. 4, lines 3-12) and to output the first scan signal to a second pixel (Fig. 1, (2-1) in the second unit area of the pixels during a second period following the first period (col. 3, line 61-col. 4, 2, and col. 4, 12-21).
However, Hu does not specifically disclose outputting a first scan signal to a first pixel during a first period of a first horizontal period, and outputting the first scan signal to a second pixel during a second period of the horizontal period following the first period of the horizontal period.
Analogous art Kubota discloses a display device comprising a display panel (Figs. 1 and 2) comprising outputting a first scan signal to a first pixel (first pixel on the left connected to scan line (GL1j)) during a first period (Fig. 6, (first 1 field, on the left) of a first horizontal period (IH LINE) (col. 17, lines 26-38), and outputting the first scan signal to a second pixel (first pixel on the left connected to scan line (GL2J)) during a second period (1 field, after the first field, or to the right of the 1 field) of the horizontal period (1H LINE) (col. 17, lines 26-38) following the first period of the horizontal period (col. 17, lines 26-38). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the first scan signal, as taught by Kubota, in the device of Hu, so that the supply voltage can be changed over quickly, and also the noise due to changeover of the supply voltage can be reduced (col. 30, lines 57-59).
As to claim 19, Hu, as anticipated by Kubota, does not specifically disclose, further, an electronic device comprising: a processor; and a display device configured to display an image based on input image data received from the processor. However, Kubota discloses an input outside video signal (FIG. 1, VIDEO SIGNAL). Examiner take Official Notice as to the processor and the display device configured to display an image based on input image data received from the processor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the processor, in the device of Hu and Kubota, since it is commonly known for a processor, or computer, to be the source of the outside input image data to be received by, and displayed by a display device.
As to claim 2, Hu further discloses a data driver (Fig. 1, (14) connected to the pixels (18) through the data lines (14-1-14-M). However, Hu, further, does not specifically disclose the data driver is configured to provide a first data voltage to the first pixel through a first data line of the data lines during the first period and to provide a second data voltage to the second pixel through a second data line of the data lines during the second period.
Kubota, further, discloses the data driver (Fig. 1, (123), and Figs. 7A-7B) is configured to provide a first data voltage to the first pixel through a first data line of the data lines (SLi) during the first period (col. 17, lines 11-25) and to provide a second data voltage to the second pixel through a second data line of the data lines (SLi+1) during the second period (col. 17, lines 11-25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the first and second data voltages, as taught by Kubota, in the device of Hu, so the scanning line driving circuits can be lowered in breakdown voltage, so that it is effective for saving cost (col. 18, lines 32-33).
As to claim 6, further, Hu discloses the scan output unit comprises a demultiplexer/multiplexer (Fig. 1, (16) configured to receive the first scan signal from the scan driver (Fig. 1, (12) and to output the first scan signal to the first (1-1) and second pixels (2-1) in response to a selection signal (col. 2, line 52-col. 3, line 2).
As to claim 7, further, Hu discloses demultiplexer/multiplexer (Fig. 1, (16) is configured to receive the first scan signal from the scan driver (Fig. 1, (12) through one of the scan lines (12-1-12-N) during the first and second periods (col. 2, line 52-col. 3, line 2), is configured to output the first scan signal to a first sub-scan line (12-1)connected to the first pixel (1-1) in response to the selection signal having a first logic level during the first period(col. 2, line 52-col. 3, line 2), and is configured to output the first scan signal to a second sub-scan line (12-2)connected to the second pixel (2-1)in response to the selection signal having a second logic level during the second period(col. 2, line 52-col. 3, line 2).
As to claim 8, Hu, further discloses the first (Fig. 1, (1-1) and second pixels (Fig. 1, (2-1) are in a same pixel row (pixels (1-1) and (2-1) being controlled by the same scan line (12-1) can be considered to be both in the same row), the first pixel is connected to a first data line of the data lines (14-1) and connected to the demultiplexer (16-1) through the first sub-scan line (12-11) (col. 3, lines 11-43), and the second pixel is connected to a second data line of the data lines (14-2) and connected to the demultiplexer (16-2) through the second sub-scan line 12-12) (col. 3, lines 11-43).
As to claim 9, further, Hu discloses the scan output unit (Fig. 1, (16’) is configured to receive a second scan signal from the scan driver (Fig. 1, (12), to output the second scan signal to a third pixel (Fig. 1, (3-1) in the first unit area of the pixels during a first period (col. 3, line 61-col. 4, lines 3-12), and to output the second scan signal to a fourth pixel (Fig. 1, (4-1) in the second unit area of the pixels during a second period following the first period (col. 3, line 61-col. 4, lines 3-12) .
However, Hu does not specifically disclose outputting a second scan signal to a third pixel during a first period of a second horizontal period following the first horizonal period, and outputting the second scan signal to a fourth pixel during a second period of the second horizontal period following the first period of the second horizontal period.
Analogous art Kubota, further, discloses a display device comprising a display panel (Figs. 1 and 2) comprising outputting a second scan signal to a third pixel (first pixel on the left connected to scan line (GL1j+1)) during a first period (Fig. 6, (first 1 field, on the left) of a first horizontal period (IH LINE) (col. 17, lines 26-38), and outputting the second scan signal to a fourth pixel (first pixel on the left connected to scan line (GL2J+1)) during a second period (1 field, after the first field, or to the right of the 1 field) of the second horizontal period (1H LINE) (col. 17, lines 26-38) following the first period of the second horizontal period (col. 17, lines 26-38). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the second scan signal, as taught by Kubota, in the device of Hu, so that the supply voltage can be changed over quickly, and also the noise due to changeover of the supply voltage can be reduced (col. 30, lines 57-59).
As to claim 10, Hu discloses, further, the first and second pixels (Fig. 1, (1-1, 2-1) are in a first pixel row(12-1), and the third and fourth pixels (Fig. 1, (3-1, 4-1) are in a second pixel row that is different from the first pixel row (12-2).
As to claim 11, Hu discloses, further, the first (Fig. 1, (1-1) and third pixels (Fig. 1, (3-1) are connected to a first data line of the data lines (Fig. 1, (14-1), and the second (Fig. 1, (2-2) and fourth pixels (Fig. 1, (4-2) are connected to a second data line of the data lines (Fig. 1, (14-4)(fourth data line from left to right).
As to claim 12, Hu, further, discloses the scan output unit comprises a demultiplexer (16) configured to receive the second scan signal from the scan driver (Fig. 1, (102) and to output the second scan signal to the third (3-1) and fourth pixels (4-1) in response to a selection signal.
4. Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 7,400,306) in view of Kubota et al. (US 5,748,165), as applied to claims 1 and 2, and further in view of Japan Publication (JP 7133612 B2) (Applicant name not available).
As to claim 3, Hu, as anticipated by Kubota, further, does not specifically disclose a flexible film, wherein the display panel further comprises a pad unit on one side of the display panel and comprises a first data pad connected to the first pixel through the first data line of the data lines and a second data pad connected to the second pixel through the second data line of the data lines, and the flexible film contacts the pad unit.
(JP 7133612 B2) discloses a flexible film (Fig. 5, (510), wherein the display panel (Fig. 4,(10) further comprises a pad unit (Figs. 4 and 10, (110) on one side of the display panel (Figs. 4, (10) and comprises a first data pad (Fig. 6, (DP1) leftmost) connected to the first pixel (PC)(upper left pixel) through the first data line of the data lines (DLo)(leftmost) and a second data pad (DP1)(third from left to right) connected to the second pixel (PC)(third from left to right) through the second data line of the data lines (DLl)(third from left to right), and the flexible film contacts the pad unit (“the output bonding portion of the flexible circuit film 510, the third pad portion 230 , the link line portion 250 , the second pad portion 210 , the routing portion 400 and the first pad portion 110 . It can be supplied to the corresponding data line DL.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the data pads, as taught by (JP 7133612 B2), in the device of Hu and Kubota, so that no boundary portion is apparent between adjacent display devices and a sense of continuity and immersion in the image is perceived.
As to claim 4, Hu, as anticipated by Kubota, further, does not specifically disclose the data driver is on the flexible film, and the flexible film comprises a first data output line connected to the first data pad and a second data output line connected to the second data pad.
(JP 7133612 B2), further, discloses the data driver (Fig. 5, (530)(“ driver integrated circuit 530 can be a data driver integrated circuit or a source driver integrated circuit”). is on the flexible film (Fig. 5, (510), and the flexible film (510) comprises a first data output line connected to the first data pad and a second data output line connected to the second data pad (“Data signals pass through the output channel of the driving integrated circuit 530 , the output bonding portion of the flexible circuit film 510 , the third pad portion 230 , the link line portion 250 , the second pad portion 210 , the routing portion 400 and the first pad portion 110 . It can be supplied to the corresponding data line DL”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the data driver, as taught by (JP 7133612 B2), in the device of Hu and Kubota, so that a more compact device is achieved saving real estate and pricing.
As to claim 5, Hu, as anticipated by Kubota and (JP 7133612 B2), further, does not specifically disclose flexible film comprises first and second layers, the first data output line is included in the first layer, and the second data output line is included in the second layer. Examiner takes Official Notice as to the flexible film comprises first and second layers, the first data output line is included in the first layer, and the second data output line is included in the second layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the flexible film with two layers, each connecting to a different output line or data pad, in the device of Hu, Kubota and (JP 7133612 B2) since it would help have all the wiring in a more orderly manner and help avoid crosstalk amongst the cables.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 7,400,306) in view of Kubota et al. (US 5,748,165), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0057458).
As to claim 13, Hu, as anticipated by Kubota, further, does not specifically disclose the scan driver comprises a plurality of scan stages configured to output the scan signals.
Kim discloses the scan driver comprises a plurality of scan stages configured to output the scan signals (Fig. 5, SST1-SST4)[0250]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the scan stages, as taught by Kim, in the device of Hu and Kubota, so that a manufacturing efficiency of the display device may be improved while improving or securing an operation characteristic of the display device [0027].
As to claim 14, further, Hu, as anticipated by Kubota, does not specifically disclose the pixels are further connected to emission control lines, and the display device further comprises an emission driver configured to provide emission control signals to the emission control lines.
Kim, further, discloses the pixels (Fig. 2B, (PXL) are further connected to emission control lines [0057], and the display device further comprises an emission driver (Fig. 8, (ED) configured to provide emission control signals to the emission control lines [0071]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the emission control driver, as taught by Kim, in the device of Hu and Kubota, to supply a light emission control signal to the light emission control lines [0007].
As to claim 15, further, Hu, as anticipated by Kubota, does not specifically disclose comprising an emission output unit connected between the emission driver and the display panel and is configured to output the emission control signals to the first and second unit areas.
Kim, further, discloses an emission output unit (Fig. 9, (240)) connected between the emission driver (Fig. 9, (210, 220, 230) and the display panel and is configured to output the emission control signals to the first and second unit areas (Fig. 8, (EAS1, EST2)[0196, 0214]. ]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the emission output unit, as taught by Kim, in the device of Hu and Kubota, to supply a light emission control signal to the light emission control lines [0007].
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 7,400,306) in view of Kubota et al. (US 5,748,165) and Kim et al. (US 2021/0057458, Kim ‘58 hereafter), and further in view of Kim et al. (US 10,204,544, Kim ’44 hereafter).
As to claim 16, Hu, as anticipated by Kubota and Kim ‘58, does not specifically disclose, further, the emission output unit is configured to output a first emission control signal received from the emission driver to the first pixel during the first period and to output the first emission control signal to the second pixel during the second period.
Kim ’44, discloses the emission output unit (Fig. 4, (350, 355) is configured to output a first emission control signal received from the emission driver to the first pixel during the first period (col. 9, lines 34-45) (Fig. 8, EM (N-2) and to output the first emission control signal to the second pixel during the second period (col. 9, lines 46-56)(Fig. 8, EM-1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the emission output unit, as taught by Kim ‘44, in the device of Hu and Kubota, and Kim ’58, so that power consumption of the scan driving circuit may be decreased and manufacturing cost of the display apparatus may be decreased (col. 16, lines 42-44).
As to claim 17, Hu, as anticipated by Kubota and Kim ’58, does not specifically disclose, further, the emission output unit comprises a demultiplexer configured to receive the first emission control signal from the emission driver and to output the first emission control signal to the first and second pixels in response to a selection signal.
Kim ’44 discloses, further, the emission output unit comprises a demultiplexer (Fig. 9, (350, 355) (together function the same way as a demultiplexer) configured to receive the first emission control signal from the emission driver and to output the first emission control signal to the first and second pixels in response to a selection signal (col. 9, lines 34-56). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the demultiplexer, as taught by Kim ‘44, in the device of Hu and Kubota, and Kim ’58, so that power consumption of the scan driving circuit may be decreased and manufacturing cost of the display apparatus may be decreased (col. 16, lines 42-44).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 18 is allowable since certain key features of the claimed invention are not taught or fairly suggested by the prior art. In claim 18, “the emission output unit is configured to receive the first emission control signal from the emission driver through one of the emission control lines during the first and second periods, is configured to output the first emission control signal to a first sub-emission control line connected to the first pixel in response to the selection signal having a first logic level during the first period, and is configured to output the first emission control signal to a second sub-emission control line connected to the second pixel in response to the selection signal having a second logic level during the second period.”. The closest prior art of record, Kim et al. (US 10,204,544), see above rejection for reference, singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render the above underlined limitations obvious, together with all the other limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakao et al. (US 9,905,156) discloses in FIG. 4, gate lines are bundled for each group of pixels having the same polarity and joined to each other in order to implement the column conversion driving. In addition, each group of gate lines bundled for each polarity is provided individually with E, F, G, H, I and J thin-film transistors denoted by reference numerals 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 and 15 respectively so that, in the same way as the first embodiment, it is possible to prevent the electric charge held in the pixel from being again accumulated in a gate-electrode/channel capacitor C.sub.ch in the holding period through a resistor R.sub.off between the channel area and the source-drain areas. Thus, it is possible to reduce the power consumption of the liquid-crystal display device and provide the liquid-crystal display device with high precision.(col. 8, lines 11-25).
/RICARDO OSORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625