DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on March 03, 2025 and August 04, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: This claim recites the limitation “the amplitude” in line 15. This is the first appearance of the limitation and should be amended to “a amplitude”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: This claim recites the limitation “the shutdown period of time” in line 19. This is the first appearance of the limitation and should be amended to “a shutdown period of time”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: This claim recites the limitation “the amplitude” in line 20. This is the first appearance of the limitation and should be amended to “a amplitude”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: This claim recites the limitation “the shutdown period of time” in lines 24-25. This is the first appearance of the limitation and should be amended to “a shutdown period of time”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: This claim recites the limitation “the amplitude” in line 14 of page 4. This is the first appearance of the limitation and should be amended to “a amplitude”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 9, 11 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oliver et al. US2019/0116652 (called Oliver hereinafter and applicant disclosed art).
Regarding independent claim 1, Oliver teaches a method (Fig. 4C) for detecting a power loss of AC power to a circuit (Fig. 4C; para [0109-0112]), wherein the circuit includes a short-term power source (Fig. 4B; para [0113]; capacitive supply 470) for maintaining power to the circuit for a shutdown period of time following the power loss of AC power (para [0113]; capacitive supply 470 can maintain power for a period of time), the AC power having an expected amplitude, expected frequency and an expected period of 1/frequency (para [0111]; the AC power signal has an amplitude, frequency and period expected to power the devices), the method comprising:
detecting zero-crossings of the AC power (Fig. 4C; para [0111]);
determining a zero-crossing count of zero-crossings that are detected over a count period of time (Fig. 4C; para [0111]), wherein the count period of time has a duration that covers a multiple “n” of the expected period of the AC power, where “n” is a positive integer (Fig. 4C; para [0111]; absence of zero crossing detected over a specified period of time);
determining when the zero-crossing count is less than an expected zero-crossing count over the count period of time (Fig. 4C; para [0111]), wherein the expected zero-crossing count corresponds to a number of zero-crossings that are expected to occur over the count period of time assuming the AC power is not lost (Fig. 4C; para [0111]; absence of zero crossing detected over a specified period of time, for example, two or more zero voltage crossings);
when the zero-crossing count is less than the expected zero-crossing count over the count period of time (Fig. 4C; para [0111]), comparing the amplitude of the AC power to the expected amplitude (Fig. 4C; para [0112]; AC power is lost if a lower and/or declining DC voltage level is detected), and:
when the amplitude of the AC power is less than the expected amplitude by at least a threshold margin (Fig. 4C; para [0113-0115]), performing one or more shut down actions during the shutdown period of time to prepare the circuit for loss of AC power (Fig. 4C; para [0113-0115]; when detecting a power loss, power can be disconnected from part of the controller circuit 210 and/or a hard power up reset is performed);
when the amplitude of the AC power is not less than the expected amplitude by at least the threshold margin (Fig 4C; para [0114]), resetting the zero-crossing count (Fig. 4C; para [0114]; zero cross timer is reset, thus the count is reset); and
when the zero-crossing count is not less than the expected zero-crossing count over the count period of time (Fig 4C; para [0111 and 0114]), resetting the zero-crossing count (Fig 4C; para [0111 and 0114]; when the process of Fig. 4C finishes and restarts, the zero cross timer is reset, thus the count is reset as well).
Regarding claim 4, Oliver teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the count period of time is offset so as to begin between two successive expected zero-crossings of the AC power assuming the power was not lost (Fig. 4C; para [0111]; first successive expected zero-crossing is the first measured two zero voltage crossing at about 20 msec and the second successive expected zero-crossing is the second measured two zero voltage crossing at about 20 msec after the first successive expected zero-crossing. Thus, the second measured two zero voltage crossing is the offset count period of time).
Regarding claim 5, Oliver teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the multiple “n” is programmable, and is greater than 1 (Fig. 4C; para [0111]; the specified period of time may be adjusted and may cover multiple periods of the AC power signal).
Regarding claim 6, Oliver teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the short-term power source comprises a capacitor (Fig. 4B; para [0113]; capacitive supply 470).
Regarding claim 9, Oliver teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches wherein performing one or more shut down actions during the shutdown period of time to prepare the circuit for loss of power comprises one or more of: saving one or more current state parameters of the circuit to a non-volatile memory; sending an alarm; and closing and/or opening one or more relays (para [0114]; step 414 stores configuration and other data in memory).
Regarding independent claim 11, Oliver teaches a circuit (Figs. 4A-4C; para [0109-0112]), comprising:
an AC power port (Fig. 4A; AC power input to 102 and 104) for receiving AC power to power the circuit, the AC power having an expected amplitude, expected frequency and an expected period of 1/frequency (para [0111]; the AC power signal has an amplitude, frequency and period expected to power the devices);
a short-term power source (Fig. 4B; para [0113]; capacitive supply 470) for maintaining power to the circuit for a shutdown period of time following a loss of AC power (para [0113]; capacitive supply 470 can maintain power for a period of time);
a controller (Fig. 4A; processor 216) operatively coupled to the AC power port and the short-term power source (Figs. 4A-4C), the controller configured to:
detect zero-crossings of the AC power at the AC power port (Fig. 4A; para [0111]);
determine a zero-crossing count of zero-crossings that are detected over a count period of time (Fig. 4C; para [0111]), wherein the count period of time has a duration that covers a multiple “n” of the expected period of the AC power, where “n” is a positive integer (Fig. 4C; para [0111]; absence of zero crossing detected over a specified period of time);
determine when the zero-crossing count is less than an expected zero-crossing count over the count period of time (Fig. 4C; para [0111]), wherein the expected zero-crossing count corresponds to a number of zero-crossings that are expected to occur over the count period of time assuming the AC power is not lost (Fig. 4C; para [0111]; absence of zero crossing detected over a specified period of time, for example, two or more zero voltage crossings);
when the zero-crossing count is less than the expected zero-crossing count over the count period of time (Fig. 4C; para [0111]), compare the amplitude of the AC power to the expected amplitude (Fig. 4C; para [0112]; AC power is lost if a lower and/or declinging DC voltage level is detected), and
when the amplitude of the AC power is less than the expected amplitude by at least a threshold margin (Fig. 4C; para [0113-0115]), perform one or more shut down actions during the shutdown period of time to prepare the circuit for loss of AC power (Fig. 4C; para [0113-0115]; when detecting a power loss, power can be disconnected from part of the controller circuit 210 and/or a hard power up reset is performed);
when the amplitude of the AC power is not less than the expected amplitude by at least the threshold margin (Fig 4C; para [0114]), reset the zero-crossing count (Fig. 4C; para [0114]; zero cross timer is reset, thus the count is reset); and
when the zero-crossing count is not less than the expected zero-crossing count over the count period of time (Fig 4C; para [0111 and 0114]), reset the zero-crossing count (Fig 4C; para [0111 and 0114]; when the process of Fig. 4C finishes and restarts, the zero cross timer is reset, thus the count is reset as well).
Regarding claim 15, Oliver teaches the circuit of claim 11, and further teaches wherein the multiple “n” is programmable, and is greater than 1 (Fig. 4C; para [0111]; the specified period of time may be adjusted and may cover multiple periods of the AC power signal).
Regarding independent claim 16, Oliver teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that when executed by one or more processors causes the one or more processors (Figs. 4A-4C; para [0079]) to:
receive indications of detected zero-crossings of an AC power source (Fig. 4A; para [0111]; AC supply power 102), wherein the AC power source has an expected amplitude, expected frequency and an expected period of 1/frequency (para [0111]; the AC power signal has an amplitude, frequency and period expected to power the devices);
determine a zero-crossing count of zero-crossings that are detected over a count period of time (Fig. 4C; para [0111]), wherein the count period of time has a duration that covers a multiple “n” of the expected period of the AC power, where “n” is a positive integer (Fig. 4C; para [0111]; absence of zero crossing detected over a specified period of time);
determine when the zero-crossing count is less than an expected zero-crossing count over the count period of time (Fig. 4C; para [0111]), wherein the expected zero-crossing count corresponds to a number of zero-crossings that are expected to occur over the count period of time assuming the AC power is not lost (Fig. 4C; para [0111]; absence of zero crossing detected over a specified period of time, for example, two or more zero voltage crossings); and
when the zero-crossing count is less than the expected zero-crossing count over the count period of time (Fig. 4C; para [0111]), compare the amplitude of the AC power to the expected amplitude (Fig. 4C; para [0112]; AC power is lost if a lower and/or declinging DC voltage level is detected), and when the amplitude of the AC power is less than the expected amplitude by at least a threshold margin (Fig. 4C; para [0113-0115]), perform one or more shut down actions during a shutdown period of time to prepare for loss of AC power (Fig. 4C; para [0113-0115]; when detecting a power loss, power can be disconnected from part of the controller circuit 210 and/or a hard power up reset is performed).
Regarding claim 17, Oliver teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 16, and further teaches wherein when the amplitude of the AC power is not less than the expected amplitude by at least the threshold margin (Fig 4C; para [0111-0112 and 0114-0115]; AC power loss detection through voltage measurements), reset the zero-crossing count (Fig. 4C; para [0111-0112 and 0114-0115]; zero cross timer is reset, thus the count is reset).
Regarding claim 18, Oliver teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 16, and further teaches wherein when the zero-crossing count is not less than the expected zero-crossing count over the count period of time (Fig 4C; para [0111 and 0114]), reset the zero-crossing count (Fig 4C; para [0111 and 0114]; when the process of Fig. 4C finishes and restarts, the zero cross timer is reset, thus the count is reset as well).
Regarding claim 19, Oliver teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 16, and further teaches wherein the one or more shut down actions comprises one or more of: saving one or more current state parameters to a non-volatile memory; sending an alarm; and closing and/or opening one or more relays (para [0114]; step 414 stores configuration and other data in memory).
Regarding claim 20, Oliver teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 16, and further teaches wherein the multiple “n” is programmable, and is greater than 1 (Fig. 4C; para [0111]; the specified period of time may be adjusted and may cover multiple periods of the AC power signal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 7-8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliver in view of Stenberg et al. US2019/0383866 (called Stenberg hereinafter and applicant disclosed art).
Regarding claim 2, Oliver teaches the method of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein detecting zero-crossings of the AC power comprises detecting both positive and negative zero-crossings.
Stenberg teaches wherein detecting zero-crossings of the AC power comprises detecting both positive and negative zero-crossings (Fig. 4; para [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as described by Oliver with identifying of zero crossing transition between positive and negative value (and vice versa) as described by Stenberg for the purpose of identifying the number of measured zero crossing events to identify power interruption (para [0034]).
Regarding claim 3, Oliver and Stenberg teach the method of claim 2, Stenberg further teaches wherein the expected zero-crossing count corresponds to the number of positive and negative zero-crossings that are expected to occur over the count period of time assuming the AC power is not lost (Fig. 4; para [0034]; measuring the zero crossing events with identified positive to negative value and negative to positive value).
Regarding claim 7, Oliver teaches the method of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the detecting zero-crossings of the AC power comprises issuing a zero-crossing interrupt for each detected zero-crossing, wherein determining the zero-crossing count of the zero-crossings that are detected over the count period of time comprises counting the zero-crossing interrupts that are issued over the count period of time.
Stenberg teaches wherein the detecting zero-crossings of the AC power comprises issuing a zero-crossing interrupt for each detected zero-crossing (para [0034]), wherein determining the zero-crossing count of the zero-crossings that are detected over the count period of time comprises counting the zero-crossing interrupts that are issued over the count period of time (para [0034-0035]; the number of zero crossings corresponds to a number of no power interruptions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as described by Oliver with identifying of zero crossing transition between positive and negative value (and vice versa) as described by Stenberg for the purpose of identifying the number of measured zero crossing events to identify power interruption (para [0034]).
Regarding claim 8, Oliver and Stenberg teach the method of claim 7, Stenberg further teaches comprising issuing count period interrupts at a period that corresponds to the multiple “n” of the expected period of the AC power, wherein the count period of time is defined between two successive count period interrupts (Fig. 4; para [0032]; counting zero crossing during periods 432,436,448,452 with the first successive count period comprising periods 432 and 436 and the second successive count period comprising periods 448 and 452).
Regarding claim 14, Oliver teaches the circuit of claim 11, but fails to teach wherein the controller is configured to detect both positive and negative zero-crossings, and the expected zero-crossing count corresponds to the number of positive and negative zero-crossings that are expected to occur over the count period of time assuming the AC power is not lost.
Stenberg teaches wherein the controller is configured to detect both positive and negative zero-crossings (Fig. 4; para [0034]), and the expected zero-crossing count corresponds to the number of positive and negative zero-crossings that are expected to occur over the count period of time assuming the AC power is not lost (Fig. 4; para [0034]; measuring the zero crossing events with identified positive to negative value and negative to positive value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as described by Oliver with identifying of zero crossing transition between positive and negative value (and vice versa) as described by Stenberg for the purpose of identifying the number of measured zero crossing events to identify power interruption (para [0034]).
Claim(s) 10 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliver in view of Siu et al. US8536998 (called Siu hereinafter).
Regarding claim 10, Oliver teaches the method of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the circuit is a smart socket that includes one or more sockets, one or more relays for controlling AC power to the one or more sockets and a wireless interface for receiving wireless messages from a remote device.
Siu teaches wherein the circuit is a smart socket (Fig. 1; smart wall socket) that includes one or more sockets (Fig. 1; sockets 5), one or more relays for controlling AC power to the one or more sockets (Fig.5; Column 5 lines 51-55; relays 39) and a wireless interface for receiving wireless messages from a remote device (Fig.5; Column 5 lines 51-55; transceiver 43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as described by Oliver with the smart wall socket as described by Siu for the purpose of allowing monitoring of physical phenomena such as human presence/state detection, security, environmental monitoring, and energy management (Column 1 line 66 to Column 2 line 8).
Regarding claim 12, Oliver teaches the circuit of claim 11, but fails to teach comprising one or more sockets, one or more relays for controlling AC power to the one or more sockets, and a wireless interface for receiving wireless messages from a remote device.
Siu teaches comprising one or more sockets (Fig. 1; smart wall socket with sockets 5), one or more relays for controlling AC power to the one or more sockets (Fig.5; Column 5 lines 51-55; relays 39), and a wireless interface for receiving wireless messages from a remote device (Fig.5; Column 5 lines 51-55; transceiver 43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as described by Oliver with the smart wall socket as described by Siu for the purpose of allowing monitoring of physical phenomena such as human presence/state detection, security, environmental monitoring, and energy management (Column 1 line 66 to Column 2 line 8).
Regarding claim 13, Oliver and Siu teach the circuit of claim 12, Oliver further teaches wherein the one or more shut down actions comprises one or more of: saving one or more current state parameters of the circuit to a non-volatile memory; sending an alarm to the remote device via the wireless interface; and closing and/or opening one or more relays (para [0114]; step 414 stores configuration and other data in memory).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bedell et al. discloses “Method and apparatus for adjusting an ambient light threshold” (see US2012/0313535)
Barna et al. discloses “Wireless lighting control systems and methods” (see US2017/0171950)
Nate et al. discloses “Zero-crossing detection circuit” (see US2022/0034946)
/DAVID B FREDERIKSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858