DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 20, 21, 23 – 27, 29 - 31, 33 – 37, and 39 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Jarman (USPN 5,842,979). Jarman teach an apparatus and method for performing optical measurement of a subject at plural wavelengths to collect data for determining oxy-, deoxy-, carboxy-, and methemoglobin concentrations (Brief Summary of the Invention). Jarman generally indicate use of four wavelengths for assessing the four components of interest. As part of the analysis (Figures 2 and 5 and the descriptions thereof), values indicative of the four concentrations are further processed to yield final values for display, where constraints are imposed to provide a final result with a 100% of the hemoglobin components. The processing with the imposed constraint necessarily includes adjustment (scaling) to the carboxyhemoglobin value responsive to the methemoglobin value, as part of determination of the final values. The computed values are displayed or otherwise represented to the user (Figure 1 - displays).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 22, 28, 32, and 38 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jarman as applied to claims 20 and 30 above, and further in view of Huiku et al. (USPN 10,092,226). Jarman teach an optical measuring apparatus and method for determination of hemoglobin component concentrations, as discussed above, including adjustment to the carboxyhemoglobin value and use of plural wavelengths; however, Jarman does not particularly indicate that a predetermined value is substituted or that five or more wavelength values are measured. Huiku et al. teach a similar invention for obtaining concentrations of hemoglobin components. As in Jarman, Huiku et al. perform a computation that includes a constraint, and additionally recognize that measurements at eight wavelengths (more than five wavelengths) yield good results for assessing met- and carboxyhemoglobin levels in addition to oxy- and deoxyhemoglobin (Figure 4; column 7, line 59 – column 9, line 8). As such, it would have been within the skill level of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have implemented Jarman to measure at more than five wavelengths, as taught by Huiku et al., since both inventions are interested in measuring the same hemoglobin concentrations, Jarman recognize that at least one wavelength is measured for each component of interest but do not explicitly state that at least five wavelengths are relied upon, and Huiku et al. disclose that measurements at eight wavelengths provide information for determining the desired values. Further, as noted, Jarman discloses two manners of processing the hemoglobin data. One of skill in the art would recognize that alternate processing/assumptions could be followed, including to assign fixed values to some/all of the dyshemoglobin concentrations when certain conditions are met, consistent with known practice. As such, without a showing of criticality or unexpected results it would have been within the skill level of the art to have relied on fixed carboxyhemoglobin values in the processing, since it has generally been held to be within the skill level to substitute alternate equivalent processing expedients.
Double Patenting
Claims 20 – 39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 10 of U.S. Patent No. 9,808,188. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broader than those of the patent. Thus, any invention meeting the limitations of the patent claims would necessarily meet those of the instant application as well.
Claims 20 – 39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,299,709. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broader than those of the patent. Thus, any invention meeting the limitations of the patent claims would necessarily meet those of the instant application as well.
Claims 20, 21, 23 – 27, 29 – 31, 33 – 37, and 39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 9, 10, 13, 15, and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,089,982. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broader than those of the patent. Thus, any invention meeting the limitations of the patent claims would necessarily meet those of the instant application as well.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kuenstner (USPN 5,692,503) teaches an optical measurement arrangement in which oxy-, deoxy-, met-, and carboxyhemoglobin concentrations are determined.
/ERIC F WINAKUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791