DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 – 2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 6 – 9 should read “wherein the control unit is configured to execute update processing of updating, when the own vehicle is parked at the predetermined parking position by a second manual parking operation after the registered route is stored, the registered route based on information on the manual parking operation.” to provide clarity to the claim. Specifically, the “manual parking operation” recited in lines 7–8, which occurs after the registered route is stored, should be distinguished from the “manual parking operation” recited in line 3.
Claim 2, line 3 – 5 should read “store, when the own vehicle is parked at the predetermined parking position by [[a]]the second manual parking operation after the registered route is stored, as a post-registration manual parking route, a route along which the own vehicle has traveled until the own vehicle is parked at the predetermined parking position by the second manual parking operation;” for the same reason as in claim 1 above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
As per claim 1,
Line 1 – 2, “a control unit configured to store, as a registered route, a route along which an own vehicle has traveled …”
Line 6 – 7, “wherein the control unit is configured to execute update processing of updating …”
Claim 2, line 1 – 3, “wherein the control unit is configured to: store, …”
Claim 3, line 1 – 3, “wherein the control unit is configured to: store the post-registration manual parking route …”
Claim 4, line 2 – 3, “the control unit is configured to average the registered route …”
Claim 5, “wherein the control unit is configured to execute exclusion processing of deleting abnormal data …”
The “control unit” is described as a microcomputer. (Specification of publication, par. [0032], “ The parking assist ECU 10 is a control unit which includes, as a principal component, a microcomputer including a CPU 11, a ROM 12, a RAM 13, and an interface 14.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng, Yo-hong (English Translation of CN116279437A; hereinafter Feng) in view of Murai et al. (Publication No. 20240140402 A1).
Regarding to claim 1, Feng teaches A parking assist apparatus, comprising a control unit configured to store, as a registered route, a route along which an own vehicle has traveled until the own vehicle is parked at a predetermined parking position by a manual parking operation, ([Par. 0070], “the driver can activate the "parking route learning" function of the target vehicle at the starting point of the parking route, and then park the target vehicle in the target parking space. Accordingly, the target vehicle can learn the driver's parking route on its own and remember it. After the driver's parking route is learned, the target vehicle can generate a memory parking route based on the memorized driver parking route,” and to execute automatic parking control of parking the own vehicle at the predetermined parking position by causing the own vehicle to travel along the registered route, ([Par. 0070], “automatically park the target vehicle into the target parking space or automatically park the target vehicle out of the target parking space according to the memorized parking route.”)
Feng teaches to learn manual parking operation and execute automatic parking as described above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the control unit is configured to execute update processing of updating, when the own vehicle is parked at the predetermined parking position by a manual parking operation after the registered route is stored, the registered route based on information on the manual parking operation.
However, Murai teaches wherein the control unit is configured to execute update processing of updating, when the own vehicle is parked at the predetermined parking position by a manual parking operation after the registered route is stored, the registered route based on information on the manual parking operation. ([Par. 0072], “In addition, safety region setter 140 may store the safety region of the first manual parking (the region of the broken line) in storage 120, and perform a process of adding the region overlapping the vehicle body (the region of the solid line) to the safety region with time when the second manual parking is performed. In addition, the multiple manual parking of two or more times may not necessarily continuously performed, and the manual parking may be restarted (continued) on another day. In addition, safety region setter 140 may further add the range where the vehicle has passed at the time of exiting to the safety region. For example, the occupant may select a cancel of learning permission for permitting learning (addition of the safety region) such that learning is performed for each manual parking when there is a learning permission.”; [Par. 0103], “After the parking path is calculated, storage 120 stores the learning point, the safety region, the parking path and the learning permission. In addition, in the case where the learning permission is stored, the safety region based on the second and subsequent manual driving can be added to the safety region up to that point by automatically continuing the manual parking (step S105, NO) when returning to the learning point and proceeding to the determination at step S105.”)
It would have been obvious to modify Feng to incorporate the teaching of Murai so that the learned parking route can be updated based on subsequent manual parking operations. Murai teaches that parking-related information learned during manual parking may be updated using later manual parking operations (see, e.g., Murai Par. [0099], [0072]). Incorporating this teaching into Feng would allow the stored parking route to be refined using additional manual parking data, thereby improving the accuracy and robustness of the learned parking route used for automatic parking.
Regarding to claim 2, the combination of Feng and Murai teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Murai further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to: store, when the own vehicle is parked at the predetermined parking position by a manual parking operation after the registered route is stored, as a post-registration manual parking route, a route along which the own vehicle has traveled until the own vehicle is parked at the predetermined parking position by the manual parking operation; ([Par. 0072], “In addition, safety region setter 140 may store the safety region of the first manual parking (the region of the broken line) in storage 120, and perform a process of adding the region overlapping the vehicle body (the region of the solid line) to the safety region with time when the second manual parking is performed. In addition, the multiple manual parking of two or more times may not necessarily continuously performed, and the manual parking may be restarted (continued) on another day. In addition, safety region setter 140 may further add the range where the vehicle has passed at the time of exiting to the safety region. For example, the occupant may select a cancel of learning permission for permitting learning (addition of the safety region) such that learning is performed for each manual parking when there is a learning permission.”; [Par. 0103], “After the parking path is calculated, storage 120 stores the learning point, the safety region, the parking path and the learning permission. In addition, in the case where the learning permission is stored, the safety region based on the second and subsequent manual driving can be added to the safety region up to that point by automatically continuing the manual parking (step S105, NO) when returning to the learning point and proceeding to the determination at step S105.” This is interpreted as the second and subsequent manual driving parking route can be used to update the calculated parking path.) and
update, in the update processing, the registered route through use of the post- registration manual parking route. ([Par. 0103], “After the parking path is calculated, storage 120 stores the learning point, the safety region, the parking path and the learning permission. In addition, in the case where the learning permission is stored, the safety region based on the second and subsequent manual driving can be added to the safety region up to that point by automatically continuing the manual parking (step S105, NO) when returning to the learning point and proceeding to the determination at step S105.”)
Regarding to claim 3, the combination of Feng and Murai teaches the apparatus of claim 3.
Murai further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to:
store the post-registration manual parking route each time the own vehicle is parked at the predetermined parking position by a manual parking operation after the registered route is stored, to thereby accumulate the post-registration manual parking route; ([Par. 0072], “In addition, safety region setter 140 may store the safety region of the first manual parking (the region of the broken line) in storage 120, and perform a process of adding the region overlapping the vehicle body (the region of the solid line) to the safety region with time when the second manual parking is performed. In addition, the multiple manual parking of two or more times may not necessarily continuously performed, and the manual parking may be restarted (continued) on another day. In addition, safety region setter 140 may further add the range where the vehicle has passed at the time of exiting to the safety region. For example, the occupant may select a cancel of learning permission for permitting learning (addition of the safety region) such that learning is performed for each manual parking when there is a learning permission.”; [Par. 0103], “After the parking path is calculated, storage 120 stores the learning point, the safety region, the parking path and the learning permission. In addition, in the case where the learning permission is stored, the safety region based on the second and subsequent manual driving can be added to the safety region up to that point by automatically continuing the manual parking (step S105, NO) when returning to the learning point and proceeding to the determination at step S105.” This is interpreted as the second and subsequent manual driving parking route can be used to update the calculated parking path.) and
update, in the update processing, the registered route through use of the accumulated post-registration manual parking routes. ([Par. 0103], “After the parking path is calculated, storage 120 stores the learning point, the safety region, the parking path and the learning permission. In addition, in the case where the learning permission is stored, the safety region based on the second and subsequent manual driving can be added to the safety region up to that point by automatically continuing the manual parking (step S105, NO) when returning to the learning point and proceeding to the determination at step S105.”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 – 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/STEVEN VU NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3668