DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because it is directed to a program which is software. Examiner suggests amending the claim to include a structure.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-6 recite limitations that been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it they use a generic placeholders “unit” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, the claim have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D11 and further in view of D2.2
With regard to claim 1, D1 teach a first score calculation unit that calculates a first score indicating a likelihood of a character string, or the first score for each of a plurality of candidate character strings which are candidates for character strings included in an input image (see abstract, ¶ 38: template probability representing the likelihood of the string); a character region estimation unit that estimates a region corresponding to each character included in the candidate character string among regions of the input image (see abstract, ¶ 37: character probabilities determined, implicit that character regions are segmented; ¶ 115: assessing the sequence of characters; see also ¶ 26: character segmentation); a second score calculation unit that calculates a second score indicating a consistency of characters included in the candidate character string on the see abstract, ¶¶ 37, 176-180: character probabilities); and a selection unit that selects one or more character strings from among the plurality of candidate character strings on the basis of the calculated first score and the calculated second score (see abstract, ¶ 39: selection based combined string probabilities and character probabilities).
D1 fails to explicitly teach wherein the second score is based on the region estimated by the character region estimation, however D2 teach the missing feature (see ¶ 84: score based on position coordinates).
One skilled in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. In particular, D1 teaches determining strings based on combined string template probabilities and character probabilities. Meanwhile, D2 teaches determining character score based on the position information. It would have been obvious to incorporate known teachings of determining character score or probabilities based on position information as taught by D2 into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable results. The motivation would have been to enhance text recognition by determining scores based on position information.
With regard to claim 2, D1 teach character recognition device according to claim 1, wherein the first score calculation unit calculates the first score of the candidate character string included in a partial input image which is a part of the input image (see abstract, ¶¶ 37-39: string template probabilities, where the string comprises at least a part of the handwritten image).
With regard to claim 4, D2 teach character recognition device according to any one of claims 1, wherein the second score calculation unit calculates the second score on the basis of the characters included in the candidate character string and the region estimated by the character region estimation unit (see ¶ 84: character score calculated based on the region coordinates).
With regard to claim 5, D2 teach character recognition device according to claim 4, wherein the second score calculation unit calculates the second score on the basis of a likelihood that some character exists in the region of the input image (see ¶ 84: character score based on character existing at a particular location).
With regard to claim 6, D2 teach character recognition device according to any one of claims 1, wherein the input image includes a plurality of character input regions, and the second score calculation unit calculates the second score on the basis of the region corresponding to each character included in the candidate character string and the character input regions (see ¶ 84: score calculated for each character in the character string).
With regard to claims 7-8, see discussion of claim 1.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D2 and further in view of D3.3
With regard to claim 3, D1 fails to explicitly teach wherein the second score calculation unit calculates the second score on the basis of an amount by which regions corresponding to the characters included in the candidate character string overlap each other. However, D3 teach the missing feature (see § 1 ¶ 4: score or penalty calculated for overlapping characters; see also fig. 7).
One skilled in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. In particular, D1 teaches evaluating text strings based on combined string template probabilities and character probabilities. Meanwhile, D3 teach evaluating score for overlapping characters. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to incorporate known teachings of overlapping character recognition as taught by D3 into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable and enhanced recognition of text with overlapping character regions.
Pertinent Art
Bai et al.4 relates to method and apparatus for recognizing character string in images.
Conclusion
/AVINASH YENTRAPATI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
1 US Publication No. 2005/0226512.
2 US Publication No. 2018/0189562.
3 Baek, Youngmin, et al. "Cleval: Character-level evaluation for text detection and recognition tasks." 2020 IEEE/CVF Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition Workshops (CVPRW). IEEE, 2020.
4 US Publication No. 2018/0025256.